Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Deo Lotion

Item #11518
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Deo Lotion is easy to use and environmentally safe. Deo Lotion is made with 100% natural ingredients. Deo Lotion Fly Repellent prevents any contact- no more flies, horseflies or gnats spoiling your ride! Deo Lotion is offered in concentrate, gel or roll on.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    90% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Deo Lotion is rated 4.6525 out of 5 by 141.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from good value I always try to find "natural" flysprays and this one is one of the stronger, more long-lasting ones. It is a good value, being a concentrate so I will definitely use it again.
    Date published: 2011-07-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fly Protection My horse is skittish with sprays, so application of this gel lotion has been great for him. I am able to apply to all of his sensitive spots without a fuss. Even better, it works so well against those nasty and persistent NJ flies.
    Date published: 2011-06-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It Really Works! My horse is sensitive to chemical fly repellents but I had not had much success with natural products. Until I tried Deo -- I apply Deo morning and night and I am pleased to say that it repels face flies and gnats as well as the chemical based products -- and no flaking skin!
    Date published: 2011-06-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from deodorant gel It works great, especially applied between front and hind legs and underside. Sprays just do not do it there. The quality rating of ONE STAR is for the sponge provided: it disintegrates readily. Not a big deal.
    Date published: 2011-06-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic For My Sensitive Chestnut I just love DEO Lotion. My chestnut is very sensitive to insects and many bugsprays. This does the trick. It keeps bugs at bay and isn't too harsh. An added plus is the price. Since you dilute the DEO Lotion 1:7 with water, it is very cost effective. So far, I have not found another spray that works as well as DEO Lotion does at protecting the horses from horseflies and deerflies!
    Date published: 2011-06-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Deo Lotion Best fly spray ever... Used it in Germany.... brought it home, still worked like a charm. Then I couldn't get it anymore... my current horse is allergic to flys and fly spray... but not this stuff! THANK YOU SmartPak for carrying it. I LOVE it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Date published: 2011-05-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Deo is my secret weapon I have been using Deo lotion for years. It has never irritated my horses, or myself. It actually repels flies; without an oily, dirty film, and it smells great. What more can you ask? I am going to try the gel this year, since I end up wiping the roll-on onto my hand to put it on anyway.
    Date published: 2011-04-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Product - Don't put in Spray Bottle! I found this product works best if I dilute in another bottle that I can pour onto my hand & I use it on my horse's face and legs. I just smear all of her.It will clog ANY spray bottle - even those that say lifetime guarantee.
    Date published: 2011-03-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bought before I've used this before and love it. It's hard to find anymore but works great.
    Date published: 2011-01-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from best fly gel ever I bought the deo gel because the girls at my barn used it. it is awesom. you can wipe it anywhere. the flies are gone for hours.better than the most expensive fly spray i have ever bought.
    Date published: 2010-09-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from economical"natural" option We are always searching for a "natural" product in one of my "green" barns-we switched to this after our latest was causing skin flaking,during the summer, plus the "desperate to survive" Fall flies are out. So far we are doing well in conjunction with a riding fly mask and fly wisk. No complaints about sensitivity among our several horses(7)
    Date published: 2010-09-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Deo Lotion! This product works! It smells good and is easy to apply. It doesn't irritate my horse's skin either! You can mix the concentrate at different levels, depending upon the time of year and the level of insects. Try it, you'll like it!
    Date published: 2010-09-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from By Far the Best Fly Spray Ever!! Deo-Lotion is, by far, the best fly spray I've ever used. I have a flea-bitten gray with very sensitive skin. If I use regular fly spray on him, his skin peels like crazy. I can safely use this fly spray on him. Whenever I trail ride with my friends, we laugh about how this spray probably protects everyone within a 5-mile radius, and it actually has a pleasent smell. I love it. It's the only fly spray I use. I've tried others, including other natural brands, and I always come back to this one. I highly recommend it to everyone!
    Date published: 2010-09-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not a miracle, but works well enough I've tried every kind of fly spray under the sun. I love that this is all natural. It smells great. It is not long lasting, but I know it works for a short time. I sprayed my horse one night (I do put it on heavily) and then took him outside for a quick graze. The flies were buzzing around him, but wouldn't land. I do love that I can many bottles out of 1 liter of concentrate.
    Date published: 2010-08-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing! We've been using this product since we first read about in Horse Journal, in the 80s, when it was called "Clac." It's the absolute best; it's only drawback is that it's water-based, but that's okay! We just re-apply as needed. Over the years trail riding, we've discovered it works quite well on PEOPLE and DOGS, too!! Better than anything else we've ever tried, and glad that SmartPak is now selling it.
    Date published: 2010-07-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Couldn't believe it All natural fly repellent? That WORKS? Blasphemy! Not quite, though! Of all the fly sprays I've used, in the past, generally my best results have been with sprays that seem to have the longest list of possible negative effects and warnings.Worry, no longer! Deo Lotion is natural, doesn't seem to contain any of the harmful toxicity that the other heavy-hitting sprays do, but still works just as well!My favorite part of this, beyond the fact that it actually works, is that it comes in a roll-on form that makes it easy to apply to those touchy places most horses hate having dealt with. Before I'd have to spray some in my hand or on a rag and wipe on-this, just swipe and go.Super simple, efficient, and cuts out a battle with a horse that's going "There is no way you're coming near my face with that rag, lady. You're out of your mind!"
    Date published: 2010-07-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Best Fly Spray! This is my first time trying this fly spray and I have to say I've falled in love with it. I love that it is all natural, so I don't have to worry about spraying chemicals on my horse. Also, the price is fantastic because it is a concentrate. I would defintately recommend this fly spray to anyone.
    Date published: 2010-07-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Good Product It works......I would recommend for anyone whose horse has problems with flies.
    Date published: 2010-07-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite fly spray I love this spray mix. I do not like using all those chemicals in other sprays, plus they all only work temporary, so why put all that stuff in the environment. I love smell of this spray with all the oils! It has been may favorite for years. Glad SmartPak started selling it.
    Date published: 2010-06-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Best of its kind I've found this to work the best of all the "all natural" sprays. Also, I have highly sensitive skin and airways yet find I don't react to this at all.
    Date published: 2010-06-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Best This product is one of the best fly spray concentrates out there!!!
    Date published: 2010-06-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far so good! I've only been using the product the last two weeks but it seems to be working better then the prior product I was using. It doesn't irritate my gelding's sensitive skin and he'll stand quietly when sprayed with this. Besides keeping the flies off, his coat has already gotten shiner. Very happy with purchase.
    Date published: 2010-06-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pleasant to Use I love the smell of this product and it seems to be keeping the spring ticks under control.
    Date published: 2010-05-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from good for being natural This is the only spray I have used that keeps the flies off without causing harm the animal around the barn like the cats and dogs.
    Date published: 2010-04-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the best fly protectant on the market. I have tried others and they all failed. This product is the best. I have even lightly sprayed my clothing and have not been bothered with flying insects while riding. Plus it is made with all natural ingredients. It doesn't get any better than that!
    Date published: 2010-04-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great natural fly spray I've been using this stuff for years, and it's one of the best natural blends I've found. Works well particularly early in the season - gnats, mosquitoes, small stuff. Deer flies and horse flies are slightly deterred, but still work their way through it.
    Date published: 2010-04-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Choice This is the best natural fly repellent I have used. I have tried all kinds natural and chemical. This is the ONLY natural product that my horse did not have a reaction to. I always thought that the natural ones might not work as well, but this works even better than some of the chemicals. I love the smell of it too. I highly recommend it, especially for sensitive skinned horses.
    Date published: 2009-09-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the GEL The Deo Gel stays where you put it until you wash it off. The nice thing is that you don't have to cover every inch of the horse, rather put it on certain areas like the legs with one swipe and it covers the whole leg. The only thing I have found it not work for are the Bombers.
    Date published: 2009-09-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Deo Lotion Love the stuff, don't know if the horse does.Been using it for years.
    Date published: 2009-09-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from best so far This is the best fly spray that I've used so far. It even deters those gigantic moose-flies that we get around here...
    Date published: 2009-08-24
    • 2015-03-03T07:40CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_4, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_15, tr_126
    • loc_en_US, sid_1518, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    In Loving Memory
    You were a loving and patient partner. From our early days learning dressage together, to your "retirement" years of tearing around the field and stirring up all the youngsters, you always brought your kindness, your heart, and your spirit. Thank you for everything, Wes. You are missed.

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.