Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Lister Star Clippers

Wahl Clipper Corp
- Item #11344
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Small, lightweight, durable corded Lister Star Clipper with wrist strap designed for body clipping. Permanent magnet motor ensures low noise and constant speed regardless of load. Advanced triangulated grip, full-width clipper, replaceable filter.

Best of all, you DO NOT need to dip the Star Clippers in kerosene for cleaning like you did with old, heavy clippers. Comes with 1 Lister A2F stainless steel blade.

Lister Star Clippers can be used to clip horses, dogs, and cattle and to shear sheep.

We also carry the Replacement Blades.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Lister Star Clippers is rated 4.4762 out of 5 by 21.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Light, Fast & Quiet Do the math: If your horse is cooperative, then you can pay for clippers easily in one season. I have a Fell-pony-of-a-hairy beast-Friesian, so I need power! I tried the gold standard Oster clippers and they did a great job, but the heft, vibration and noise bothered me - my horse didn't really care. So I read the reviews and decided to try the Lister Star Clippers.Pros: Light-weight, quiet, easy to use, clips very quickly, evenly, powerful; has a wrist strap so if the clipper slips from your hand you won't drop itI did a trace body clip involving full neck, chest and part of his trunk in about 45 minutes.Cons: Despite claims blades run cool, I found they ran quite hot and did not cool easily; you need to use a blade cooler; clipper motor and blades require light machine oil every 10 minutes so horse hair sticks on everything because of oil transfers- I thought it was quite messy. A hoof brush was handy to clean the clipper often. Finally, Lister Star Clippers require special blades and if you chip them, the clippers may not run at all - you might want a spare blade on hand - an added cost.
    Date published: 2012-11-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great clippers These are a great pair of clippers. They stayed relatively cool and ate up my horse's thick hair like it was nothing. And it left her velvety soft! They are easy to use and much lighter and quieter than some of the huge clippers, but work just as well (if not better). They are also easier to hold on to for people with little hands like me!
    Date published: 2012-10-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Clipper I bought these clippers for my very hairy draft cross. He needs to be body clipped a few times from fall to summer and these clippers were up to the task! Worked quickly and smoothly. Not too heavy, and didn't get too hot. Also price was much more reasonable than similar clippers. Would definitely recommend!
    Date published: 2012-09-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best clippers I've been clipping horses for 25 years and have used all the brands. I was recently looking for a lighter pair of big clippers that would also cut well. I bought the Lister Star clippers and they are wonderful! Light in the hand, no lines on the horse, and very easy to hand. I oil and dip the blades frequently to keep them running cool. The fine blades cut very close, so I only use the medium blades. I highly recommend these clippers.
    Date published: 2012-03-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Purchase I bought these clippers to use the first time that I clipped my horse. He had been clipped by a friend about 10 years ago, but had not been body clipped since. These clippers were easy for a beginner-clipper to use, and they did a great job! My horse tolerated them well because they are quieter than most clippers. Definitely a worthwhile purchase!
    Date published: 2012-01-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEST CLIPPERS EVER I have researched and decided to purchase these clippers. I can't say enough good things about them. They are quieter than most and are so lightweight, which makes them so easy to manuever. They did a wonderful job on my pony!!
    Date published: 2011-12-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from the BEST clippers! These are the best body clippers I have ever used. They are speedy, relatively quiet, and stay cool. They are easy to clean, cut quickly and accurately, and are maneuverable enough to clip everywhere except around the eyes/ears, and the tendon areas of the lower legs. The blades are awesome too, I have done 6 full clips on one set of blades, and the blades are still sharp. I rave about these clippers to anyone who will listen!
    Date published: 2011-11-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lister clippers I have used the big sunbeam and oster clippers for years. I purchased these clippers and will never go back to my heavy models. They are lightweight and my small hands do not cramp up , even when clipping my large draft crosses. A great clipper for women.
    Date published: 2010-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent clippers! I bought these last season and have used them a total of 5 times on my horse so far. They are lightweight, easy to handle and quiet. My horse gets lots of compliments on his haircut. I don't know if they would hold up to clipping multiple horses a day, but for the occasional clip, they are great!
    Date published: 2009-03-01
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good for a while I clip horses for people in the winter, and a good pair of clippers are a must. These worked ok for a while. I only got through 6 horses before they quit working. I found out it was the motor, and didn't bother getting them fixed. They didn't clip that well in the first place.
    Date published: 2008-07-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them! After researching clippers, I bought these to use on all the horses at my barn...as my second pair. Now NO ONE will use the first--I might as well only own one pair of clippers. They are THE BEST. Perfect job every time, comfortable to use, and the horses love them, too. I'm selling my old ones, and getting another pair of Star Clippers.
    Date published: 2006-10-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from These clippers are the best I've used! They are the perfect fit for your hand, super quiet, and they don't ever get too hot. These clippers are definitely worth the money!
    Date published: 2005-06-15
    • 2015-03-05T08:39CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_20
    • loc_en_US, sid_1344, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    In Loving Memory
    You were a loving and patient partner. From our early days learning dressage together, to your "retirement" years of tearing around the field and stirring up all the youngsters, you always brought your kindness, your heart, and your spirit. Thank you for everything, Wes. You are missed.

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.