Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Winter Lined Rancher

SSG Riding Gloves
- Item #11278

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Genuine North American deerskin gloves for roping, riding and working. The Winter Lined Ranchers have a polar fleece lining for added warmth and feature a gun cut finger treatment.

No finger seams on the palm side of the Winter Lined Rancher make for a far more comfortable feeling. Elasticized wrist gives you an easy on and off glove.

Imported.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Winter Lined Rancher is rated 4.5077 out of 5 by 65.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Winter Gloves! Working outside in New England, I've been through many pairs of winter work gloves, and these are the best I've found. I only wish SPak carried them in black!
    Date published: 2014-01-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice, cozy, lite work glove These are quite cozy for medium work or riding.  The fleece and outside are soft.  Not tough enough on the outside for heavy work and your hands may sweat then. Not waterproof so don't carry buckets with them. Attractive, nicely made; good value for light duty.
    Date published: 2013-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great gloves Great for working! I feed 40+ horses everyday and these are the warmest gloves ever. Not too bulky, I am easily able to work the lead rope and gate latches. Super soft outside, and very warm inside. Measured 6.5 inches so I ordered up to a size 7 because I have longish fingers and wanted to be able to wear liners if needed. 
    Date published: 2013-12-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best winter gloves!!! Love these gloves! They are warm, cozy, soft, and durable. Plus they can hold up to real barn work!
    Date published: 2013-11-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Warm glove, but bulky. This is a great glove for doing chores around the barn, but definitely not for riding (which is not an advertised use). I wish I had bought the black instead of the yellow, as the yellow gets dirty very quickly and shows the dirt easily. Thick and warm.
    Date published: 2013-10-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice gloves Very nice gloves, just be aware that they fit smaller because of the fleece lining.
    Date published: 2013-04-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Winter Lined Rancher Gloves These gloves are super warm an I use then when I have to feed about 50 horses. They seem pretty durable so far. I had to exchange a size 7 for a size 6. Love these gloves!
    Date published: 2013-03-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from So Warm Best glove i have ever bought for the winter time. It keeps my hands warm and dry. Perfect fit. Soft lining, i can work and ride without having to change my gloves. They are the best!
    Date published: 2013-02-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-02-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Women's Work Glove Great gloves for the smaller hands. Soft & Supple, Warm & Comfortable. Not the bulky, stiff gloves like the cheaper types.
    Date published: 2013-02-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Winter Lined Rancher these gloves are super comfy and very durable. They kept myhamds nice and toasty, even my fingers, as I was feeding and bring horses in. Very good buy for such a low price.
    Date published: 2013-02-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't survive winter without them! I have used these gloves for several winters now and truly appreciate them! They are great for barn work but I also ride in them. Once they are broken in they conform nicely to your hand for a great fit and they still have enough room if it's a "hand warmer" type of day.
    Date published: 2013-01-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Brand Forever These are fabulous work gloves. They are very nimble to be so warm, and incredibly long-lasting. This is my second pair of winter ones, and I have owned several pairs of the unlined ones. They are tough enough to pull up weeds with thorns, and survive months of barn work. If they only had some Kevlar on the thumbs, I think they would last forever! These will remain my go-to work gloves, and they are worth every penny I paid for them.
    Date published: 2013-01-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Like em I use these for barn chores and my hands stay warm even when temps are in the low teens. I thought the fit was pretty accurate and they do facilitate better dexterity than others I've used in the past. The fingers are already showing wear so I "think" they'll last 1-2 seasons. Time will tell. Over all , I'm glad I bought them and will purchase again as needed.
    Date published: 2013-01-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-12-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-11-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great gloves The fit is great, but these gloves are not super durable. I am very busy in the barn and these gloves only last about 1-2 months for me. But they are comfortable and easy to work in.
    Date published: 2012-02-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from comfy but already wearing through Loved how soft, warm, and supple these were, but they don't hold up to chores as well as riding - I've already worn one finger through and have only had them a few months...I have been using them daily, though. It's probably the nice soft leather that is both a benefit for riding and a drawback for toughness.
    Date published: 2012-02-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Solid working gloves Great for around the barn. Soft deerskin helps feeling of smaller objects, like zippers. Would not use for riding since not waterproof. Was surprised I had to size up to an 8 (I am a woman) - 7 was too short & tight in the fingers.
    Date published: 2012-02-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Riding & Barn Work Glove! I have been a long time fan of SSG gloves (also because they actually fit my tiny size 6-ish hands better than any other brand!). When I saw the Winter Rancher gloves, I was drawn in by their lush fleece lining and soft leather exterior.They are super warm, but not water resistant or waterproof, so be mindful when using them for barn chores. Also, I wouldn't recommend these gloves for leading an excitable horse or lunging, as there is no friction or gripping on the fingers or palm. Other than that, they are super useful, and I use them mainly for stall work, etc. and riding.
    Date published: 2012-02-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from just what I was looking for Warm and supple - keeping my fingers toasty in the 30s for both chores & riding, without sacrificing feel. Seem to be tough enough that they'll hold up to the chores as well - time will tell.
    Date published: 2011-12-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-11-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-10-14
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not as expected I ordered these gloves, desperate to find proper protection for my hands when working around the stable. We have been experiencing a very severe winter here in the high desert, and I hoped these gloves would keep my hands warm. Unfortunately, the ends of my fingers still get numb.The gloves are well made and a reasonable fit, but don't work well for me.
    Date published: 2011-01-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good winter work gloves I have used the SSG Rancher gloves for a few years now and usually go through two pairs each winter. They are great work gloves - a little bulky for riding.In the past they seemed to be generously sized. This year the new gloves seemed to be a little skimpier for the size...maybe my hands grew but at my age I don't think so!
    Date published: 2010-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-12-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great gloves! Can't have too many pairs. Warm and durable and practical! Like the lining too!
    Date published: 2010-12-14
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Pros & Cons These are great for the in between seasons but here in the Northeast these will not be warm enough by the end of December, January & February. There is enough room for some silk liners so I might try that and see if I can wear these longer. I like the feel of these and I can work well in them. As for the Con the wrist is open and short. You can see this plainly in the photo where the shirt is inside the glove. For a winter glove an open wrist means a cold wrist. An open wrist means lots of hay and other debris get stuck in them. It would be nice if these were a little longer to sit under your jacket and have a closed, thicker elastic band of some sort to help keep the cold and hay out of them.
    Date published: 2010-12-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these gloves! I wear these gloves constantly! Very, very warm! My one complaint is that they only last a couple months when worn hard!
    Date published: 2010-11-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really Great work/Riding Gloves These are great work/riding gloves. They seem to hold up well. They are warm but also thin enough to feel the reins.The only draw back is that they don't come in black!
    Date published: 2010-11-30
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.