Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Tredstep Donatello Field Boot - Plus Size

Tredstep Ireland Ltd.
- Item #21650
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Now available for riders with fuller calves, Tredstep presents the "rebirth" of beautiful classically designed boots reinterpreted to offer the rider unparalleled performance, comfort, and fit. Incorporating the first ever design of a top class boot which flexes with the rider, enhancing the effectiveness and comfort of the riding experience. This innovation is enveloped in exquisite leather and beautiful lines offering unsurpassed sophisticated luxury.
 
The Tredstep Donatello Field Boot is a classically beautiful boot with exceptional fit and comfort for top rate performance. A Slim contoured fit is ensured by the rear stretch panel and top gusset. This Tredstep innovative design supports a comfortable flexion of the ankle which reduces the break in time of the boot. The Donatello is handcrafted using premium full grain nappa leather and supple leather lining. It has a classic European topline, side spur rests, rolled toe cap and swagger tab with a full length heavy duty YKK coil zipper. It is fitted with a moulded sport high impact cushioning footbed with a dry-lex moisture wicking top layer, and a forked Bartoli composite mid sole with an advanced shank providing stability and reducing foot fatigue. A neatly trimmed ribbed outsole provides balance and stability at all times.
 
Imported.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    91% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Tredstep Donatello Field Boot - Plus Size is rated 4.6667 out of 5 by 33.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love these boots! I love these boots so much! They are well made, fit my fat calf, and look great! . They have either stretched slightly or my calf got slightly smaller as they are a little bit loose around my knee but steal look great. They Also broke in well. I have had a grand total of one blister.
    Date published: 2014-10-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love! Finally a boot that fits bigger calves and isn't custom made! Love these boots, very comfortable and break in easily. I did find the wides were way too big and I could slip a hand down them. I ordered the plus and with a little wear and stretching they zip up easily and fit perfectly.
    Date published: 2014-10-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from one fuzzy calf and one not so much WOW!!!!!!!!! I ordered short plus size calf to fit the big one . my original plan was to have the thin one altered BUT I tried them on OMG it fits fatty and a bit looser on thinny but who cares they are sooo soft on the ankles and my misshapen feet are really comfy . like stepping into favorite slippers even the first step was painless Im 65 and that has never happened ever. The skinny leg will be fine as well. Now if they only made short plus dress boots ,I would truly be greatful.....
    Date published: 2014-10-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice looking I bought these to replace my fuller fillies. I have a big calf and they actually fit! They stretched the more I rode in them to fit super comfy. They are much nicer looking then my fuller fillies. Nicer leather and sleeker look then my fuller fillies. When I fist got them they where a bit tight but they stretched perfectly. Very pleased. And suggest them over the fuller fillies field boot.
    Date published: 2014-09-26
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Sadly, did not fit I was SO excited to order these boots as I thought I'd finally found "The Ones". I'm short (5'1") with fat legs (18" calf) and I also broke my leg last year, resulting in a left ankle that tends to swell throughout the day. When these boots arrived, I delightedly tore into the box and I made sure to try them on while my previously injured leg was at a normal size. I was horribly disappointed to find that while the foot fit marvelously, I Could. Not. Get. Them. Zipped. I have no idea if the calf fit because I couldn't even get the zipper anywhere near up my ankle. And imagine my surprise when I saw that, even if they had zipped up, they would have been a couple of inches too short, even on my stubby legs. They would have had to have gone back for the regular height anyway, even if the ankle wasn't an issue. I very sadly sent them back. For someone with a wider calf but tiny ankle, they would probably work. But I wouldn't recommend the short height, unless you're only about 4'6".
    Date published: 2014-09-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally a wide calf boot! I just received these boots about a week ago and was so excited to get them! They fit wonderfully, zipped right up over my 19" calves! I rode in them today and they are wonderful! True to size and comfortable. Would definitely recommend for any wide calf rider. Looking forward to wearing these for long time!
    Date published: 2014-09-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love my new boots A young woman at smart pak helped me get the right size and ordered them for me. I had to use a couple of applications of boot stretcher to get them on, but now they fit like a custom pair of boots. I thought I was going to have to ride in half chaps at the schooling show, and now I am so excited to feel finished in tall boots. I wouldn't order them over the internet. Go to the store and have someone help you get the right size. Love my boots. I don't know how they will hold up, but the leather is nice and of good quality
    Date published: 2014-08-27
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointing Fit despite High Quality I was initially very excited to see I could FINALLY get a pair of stock boots for voluptuous calves, only to be extremely disappointed after trying them on. The look and quality of the boot is excellent, but the boots fit very awkwardly. While the ankles and calves fit well, the top gaped open, to the point where I could run my hand down the side. The foot bed was comfortable, but I also found the boots to be very short (even when using my correct measurements). I fell between sizes in both width and height, and am very sad I am returning them for a refund as going down a calf size will be too small, and going up a height size will be way too tall. I wish they would make a boot for 17 - 18in. width and more height options.Advice for the future buyer: Order down a calf size and up a height size. I would also round up the foot size (ex/ I wear a size 10, and the 10.5 fit me very well).Despite the disappointment with the boots, I am happy that Smartpak offers full refunds and free returns… Fingers crossed it doesn't take too long to process the refund!
    Date published: 2014-07-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Plus size fits better than the Full. I tried all the Tredstep boots (Raphael, Da Vinci, Donatello) as I have size 9 foot and a calf that is a little over 16" so the full size should fit. The problem I found with the full size is the ankle and lower leg was too small and the calf was too big.The plus size version of this boot fits my lower leg and ankle perfectly. The calf measured smaller than the full sized Donatello, but it stretches to give that little extra needed.The leather is much nicer than I expected for the price and the break in was fast and painless with some socks to add a little padding around the ankle.I have not had these boots long enough to rate the durability but if carefully maintained I hope they will last several years of daily use.
    Date published: 2014-06-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from they fit!! Fit my wide calf perfectly, leather felt "broken in" , was able to ride in these only after two days of owning and they felt great!! Finally a boot that looks great and feels great for us wide calf ladies!!
    Date published: 2014-06-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boots! I bought these boots a week ago and showed in 5 days later. They were comfortable, looked good, painless, and easy to zip up!
    Date published: 2014-06-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from love these boots So after a long,long time looking for short boots, I had almost given up and was considering custom made boots,but could not justify the price. I am short,just 5ft,and have short legs,heel to back of knee 15in. I could never find a boot that short,I have a full calf,and had a pair of mountain horse reg calf,that I could zip up,but rubbed my knee pit very badly…was just going to give in and get customs,when a friend said there must be a boot out there for you,so I went on Smartpak and there they were,I was so happy...and it gets better,because these boots are so soft and fit perfectly I love them,my daughters laughed at me for getting so excited about a pair of boots!!These boots are great,soft,fit true to size,are good in calf,very strong zip,very well made.
    Date published: 2014-06-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these boots! I've tried a few tall boots over the last few months and I felt a little like Goldie Locks...too small, too big, or just really cheap quality leather. These boots fit well, are easy to break in (no blisters or rubs the first time I rode in them!)...AND they look good!
    Date published: 2014-05-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Calf sizing does change with foot I have a 17" calf and a size 6.5 (37) foot. Based on the size chart, I'd be a "plus". When I ordered them, I couldn't zip them more than 3 inches above my ankle! I got the wide, and they zip nicely, but the top is loose. It shouldn't interfere with riding, though. The foot bed is very comfy, and no pinched ankles as I break them in.
    Date published: 2014-05-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Gorgeous boot! I have short legs and wide calves so I was extremely happy to find these. The leather is absolutely gorgeous. I wish there was a size between the Plus and the Wide since my measurements fell right in between. I ordered the Plus Size first but it wouldn't zip up and I had to exchange them for the Wide which honestly are a way too big except in the ankle area where they are very snug. I had to use the little lifts provided in order to get my ankle into the right position before I could zip them up. I'm hoping the ankles will drop as the boot is still a little too tall and hitting me in the back of the knee. Not noticeable while riding but definitely bothering me when walking around. Even though they're too big I'm keeping them since they're the only off the shelf boots that remotely fit.
    Date published: 2014-05-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SO much nicer than the photos The stock photos really do not do these boots justice. The ankle is way more tapered and elegant than shown, and the stitching nicer. I have calves that measure a whopping 20" and this is the first stock boot that has been wide enough and tall enough--they zipped up without a problem. The footbed does run narrow, I am considering exchanging these for a 10.5 instead of the 9.5-10. Can't comment on the durability since they just came today, but at least they saved me from having to go custom!THANK YOU SMARTPAK AND TREDSTEP for making these! Finding correctly fitting tall boots has been a 12 year struggle and I am so thrilled to no longer have to sacrifice height or style.
    Date published: 2014-05-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good pair of shoes I bought a couple of pairs from smartpak an those didnt fit me . when i saw these i wanted to try them. So, i got these an i been wearing them for a couple of weeks now an i love them. Water does not come through the shoe an they do not make my feet numb to the point where they are asleep like my padduct books do. Thank you Smartpak for making a shoe that is for bigger legged riders.
    Date published: 2014-05-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these boots! I've never had boots that fit me off the rack. I haven't ridden in these yet but I have put them on and worn them around the house to begin break in, and they clearly will break in very easily. Note: They are a little tight in the ankle and calf in the beginning but loosen up well if you take your time. Pay close attention to shoe size--I found foot runs a little narrow but I am between sizes in European sizes. I luckily had a chance to try the foot size before ordering. They are also a tiny bit on the tall side (I got talls) but it is a welcome relief from all other brands which are too short. Leather is super soft. My only concern is that I want to make sure they hold up, but they are for shows only and they are quite comfortable right now, so I am looking forward to using them!
    Date published: 2014-05-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally boots that fit! Finally boots that fit my small feet and big calves!! I found the foot size pretty true (if anything perhaps they fit a bit small, but will stretch as they get broken in). The initial zip up was a bit difficult (especially on my right leg which has a much bigger calf), but after getting them done up and wearing them around the house for 30min they were much easier to get in and out of. They currently rub into my 'knee-pit' a bit, but hope that a slight slouch after being broken in will fix that.
    Date published: 2014-04-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Boot Update! I received my boots 3 weeks ago and was very pleased with the workmanship, comfort level in a non-riding situation, fit of boots, and price. I have since had the opportunity to ride in them numerous times, and my original assessment still holds. These are simply a wonderful pair of boots! I have had zero issues with rubs, they have dropped slightly in an appropriate manner, and the zippers are great. Virtually no break in time was required. Very comfortable indeed! Such a difference from other brands. I would highly recommend these to anyone needing a wider calf size, especially given the great price. Goodbye custom costs! Thank you again Smartpak (and Tredstep) for bringing us such a great product!
    Date published: 2014-04-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love These! I purchased these last week, got them last night (4/2/14). Tried them on and kept them on for a few hours. Already breaking down perfectly. Love the nice soft leather. Much better quality boot than the ones I had.
    Date published: 2014-04-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Boots I was really impressed with these boots. The quality seems to be great, the leather is soft, and the boots are absolutely beautiful. My calf measurement is 17.5", right in between plus and wide, so I sized up, being used to boots and half chaps that always seem to fit smaller than the size charts indicate. But, they were way too big in the calf - I could zip them up over my jeans and still put my hand down the side.I returned the boots because the "wide" calf was too wide. I think the "plus" calf would do nicely, but I'm not going to reorder because the foot didn't fit well. I not only have wide calves, I have wide feet, and the boots were uncomfortably tight in the foot. But again, these are really attractive boots and I definitely recommend them to anyone who needs a wider calf boot.
    Date published: 2014-04-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great fit, great price!!! These boots are great, they zipped up without a problem and I have a 19" calf. It was so nice not to have to once again return another boot that doesn't fit. Also they come in a tall which is nice so they won't look short when they drop. The ankles are slim and the foot fit perfectly the leather is nice and soft but heavy duty enough that they seem like they will last of a while.The only reason I give it 4 stars instead of 5 is because the leather gussets that they put down the back looks like it sticks out a little so I am not sure that the profile isn't that flattering. Not enough for me to return them. But I don't understand why a boot company just can't make a bigger calved boots without a gusset and just charge for the difference for the extra leather.
    Date published: 2014-04-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful boot! I purchased a pair of Tredstep boots for my daughter last year, and really liked theDonatello boot. Unfortunately, they were unavailable in my calf size. I was thrilled to see this new product at Smartpak, and immediately ordered a pair. They arrived yesterday, and are exactly as advertised. The fit is true to size and perfect in foot, calf and height. The leather is luxurious and oh so soft! They look so terrific on that they could pass for a custom fit. The manufacturer even provides heel risers and an extra set of laces with the boots. I wore the boots around the house last night to get a feel for them, and am most pleased to report that break in time should be minimal due to the comfortable soft leather and excellent fit. I can't speak for durability right now, but they are well made and have good heavy zippers. If they hold up like my daughter's Tredstep boots, then no worries. Hers look like new with proper care after a year of use. Kudos to Tredstep for thinking of us "larger legged ladies," and great job Smartpak for introducing these boots to us. I simply cannot wait to show in these boots! Thank you!!!!
    Date published: 2014-03-28
    • 2015-03-04T08:34CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_32
    • loc_en_US, sid_11650, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    In Loving Memory
    You were a loving and patient partner. From our early days learning dressage together, to your "retirement" years of tearing around the field and stirring up all the youngsters, you always brought your kindness, your heart, and your spirit. Thank you for everything, Wes. You are missed.

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.