Product Image

Nu-Hoof Maximizer

Select The Best
- Item #10112
Form: Crumble
Maintenance Dose: 1 SmartPak Well

Scientifically formulated with high biotin and all the key nutrients for a healthy hoof. Direct-fed microbials for better assimilation. Organic zinc and added copper and iodine.

View our Hoof Supplement Comparison Chart

Order This Product In:

    Ships every 28 days
  edit
Maintenance Dose
  edit
Custom Dose  cancel
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on SmartPaks over $40
Congrats, you earned free shipping!

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on orders over $75
Congrats, you earned free shipping!
You Might Also Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Nu-Hoof Maximizer is rated 4.6078 out of 5 by 51.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for the price My horse has bad feet. I had him on the Ultra Smarthoof and then the Glanzen 3 and also on the Smartpak Senior. I own five horses, with all five on at least some supplement, so this was getting expensive and I needed to cut down. I went to the Nu-Hoof Maximizer after comparing it to other brands and decided it would be the best thing to do for the money. My horse has been on it three months now, and his feet have remained in the terrific shape they were in when on the Glanzen 3. If you need a hoof supplement that's more economical, I believe in this one.
    Date published: 2014-03-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-10-05
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Horses wouldn't eat it Loved the formula/ingredients - powder form - my horses ate around it and left the powder. Only one to actually ingest was the pony who doesn't need it! Wish it were pellet form!
    Date published: 2011-09-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from We have good luck with this product. It keeps our horse's hoofs happy and our farrier too.
    Date published: 2011-08-10
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from not great I bought it for all three of my horses and they all wont eat it.
    Date published: 2011-08-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Think this is working! I can't see what is inside my mare's hooves, but the outside is perfect, xrays look good, and I am able to ride her like a normal horse again - after 2 yrs post surgical laminitis, which almost ended our times together. Of course, all other feed considerations/activities suited to this mare are very important - but this supplement seems to be a big factor. Farrier says, "Looks Great!".
    Date published: 2011-08-10
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from wont buy this again very nasty smelling stuff,my horse will not touch this and wont even drink out of a water bucket that he dropped some of this supplement in.would not recommend this.
    Date published: 2011-07-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! I am giving my two-year-old, Smokey, this product to improve his hoof structure as I begin his training, as he has small feet. I have used Nu-Hoof before and know it is a high-quality product.
    Date published: 2011-05-17
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from My horse wouldn't eat it. I liked the ingredients but my horse wouldn't eat it even if I tried to get it to stick to his grain with oil. I would try it again if they came out with a pellet.
    Date published: 2011-04-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Laminitis survivor in top shape! This is the product I selected, after much research, and I have found it to be extremely palatable to my mare. Her post surgical laminitis is under control, with diet emphasis, and I look to Nu-Hoof Maximizer to give her feet the extra care they need now.
    Date published: 2011-03-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fabulous product, ok in taste... This is a really great product! The only thing that I would change is that they came out with a pelleted form. My horse really does not like the granuals, so I have to make sure that he eats them. But this product has REALLY helped my horses feet, and it is a GREAT price!
    Date published: 2010-12-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great supplement! I recent rescued a 4 year old tb mare of the track with some serious hoof issues. She had deep cracks and little new growth. After just a month on this product my farrier noticed a big difference. I was able to switch her from glue on to nail in shoes and her new hoof growth is crack free! I have used select's nu-flex product with my older tb... their suppliments are a great quality for the money.
    Date published: 2010-12-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from FABULOUS! I have been feeding this product to my horse for a month & I can already see a difference. Instead of his hooves becoming all cracked when he is close to shoeing, they look like a normal horses hooves! I am SO happy!!
    Date published: 2010-09-13
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Awful for finicky eaters I had a constant battle getting my horse to eat this supplement. It is a crumble and it doesn't mix into the feed well. I did have my horse on strategy, but had to switch to a sweet feed because I couldn't get him to eat it any other way. He still will spit some of his feed out when he eats the parts that the Nu Hoof is stuck to. The supplement smells awful as well.
    Date published: 2010-07-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Used for years & will continue permanently Our horse had very thin hoof wall and brittle hoofs. It was very hard to take her on trail rides without her suffering. We finally tried Nu Hoof Maximizer a little over 2 years ago..Within months her hoof wall got thicker and stronger. She now does not have sore feet after being ridden. We take her on quite a few trail rides now and we do not need to use shoes at all. It is amazing to see her run and jump like a pony again. She is currently 16 years old and going strong. We mix the powder in applesauce to make it more tasty for her. We will continue to use Nu Hoof Maximizer permanently.
    Date published: 2010-04-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Product I havn't been useing this for very long so I'm not excatly sure on the results yet. However the taste and texture of this product does not seem to bother my horse.. He eats it.
    Date published: 2010-04-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from good ingredients I like this product because it has good levels of things that are important for hoof health and it doesn't have corn, which my horse is allergic to. It smells kinda funny, but my horse doesn't seem to mind.
    Date published: 2010-04-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I LOVE this product! I've already reviewed this product but I can repeat myself. I can't recommend it enough! I have a 9 year old paint who had horrible feet for most of his life. I was told by a number of farriers that I'd just have to deal with it. Then he went seriously lame. I had the vet out to find a cause but he couldn't find anything to point to as a cause. I then got a second opinion. After asking a few questions he asked the most important ones. Do you shoe him in winter and is he lame in the winter? The answer to both was no. We pulled his shoes that night and he was noticeably better the next day. The problem with him being barefoot was his feet chipped and cracked and he was ouchy on gravel or rocky ground. With the use of this product and a good barefoot hoofcare specialist he has been sound for the last 4 years. When I ride him on rough trails I do use boots on his front. So far so good. As a commercial used to say, "Try it you'll like it!"
    Date published: 2010-09-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Positive results I tried Nu-Hoof & the results were amazing! His hoof walls were so flakey and brittle & his sole was deformed & degenerating. He would loose his shoes in 3-4 wks. Now his shoes stay on 6-7 wks. with no problem. I used a different product as maintenance, but found ourselves back to sq. one. He was able to go barefoot last winter with no problem. We're hoping for a possible barefoot summer. No cutting corners again. Thank you Nu-Hoof!
    Date published: 2010-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This really works! My 9 yo Paint gelding has been on this for over a year and his feet have never looked better. For years I was told that I'd just have to deal with the fact that my horse had bad feet. We tried shoes, pads, anything the farrier suggested with horrible results. Finally he became so lame he refused to walk to get to the hay in the pasture. At that point I figured I had nothing to lose so I tried a barefoot specialist to trim his feet and started him on Nu-Hoof Maximizer. He's been barefoot and sound for almost 2 years now! I do use boots on his front when we trail ride on rough terrain but otherwise his feet are in their natural state. I recommend this to everyone. My daughter is now using it on her off the track TB with good results. Here's another horse we were told couldn't go barefoot but he is and he's doing great.
    Date published: 2010-01-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My blacksmith told me to use this We have really seen a big difference in my horses feet.
    Date published: 2010-01-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product! I started using this product on a tender footed mare. After 2 weeks there was improvement in her movement. I chose this item due to the high biotin content and I have had good luck w/ other Select the Best products. The only drawback is I have to mix this supplement w/ a little bit of sweet feed to make sure my mare eats all of it.
    Date published: 2009-12-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product I like this hoof supplement because it has enough of the biotin and other minerals in it to really make it work. Most other products lack enough of the biotin. My vet told me that you need at least 28 mg of biotin for the product to have any effect or else you are wasting your money. I have noticed a distinct improvement in the hooves of every horse I put on this product within 2-3 months. Also because it is a crumble it is very palatable and they all eat it. I wish the price was a bit lower, but I also think it is a good value. Even my farrier has commented on the improvement in my current TB's feet over the past 3 months. When I got him his walls were thin and shelly and we couldn't keep shoes on him even with quarter clips. Now he never looses his shoes and his walls have improved tremendously.
    Date published: 2009-12-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Licks his bowl clean! My horse has only been on this for a few weeks so to soon to tell how well it works. However, I was concerned if he would eat it. He's a very picky eater. Well he licks his bowl clean. Some other products we have tried he would leave all the powder stuff behind and you would have to go and clean out his feed bowl. So Thank You Nu-Hoof.
    Date published: 2009-10-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2009-09-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEST VALUE for the Money I really like Nu Hoof Maximizer. For starters, it has enough biotin in it to make a difference and it contains Manganese, which is necessasry for the bioavailability of the biotin. It is also much less expensive than some other products, such as Farrier's Formula, which is riding on its name in my opinion, and does nothing, except to empty your pocketbook. It helps that Nu Hoof Maximizer is a crumble or pellet so it is palletable.
    Date published: 2009-09-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great deal This hoof supplement contains an impressive 30 mg biotin per scoop and is one of the best priced hoof supplements out there. I have been amazed at the change in the hoof walls after using this product. I am an equine veterinarian and I have recommended this product to my clients.
    Date published: 2009-08-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helped resolve white line disease Moe is an OTTB that had a crippling case of white line disease when he arrived at our farm. My vet recommended Nu-Hoof Maximizer and in conjunction with other measures, Moe is now totally sound. His coat looks good, too.
    Date published: 2009-07-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2009-07-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2009-05-29
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.