Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Troxel Intrepid Helmet

Troxel Helmets
- Item #21207
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Troxel Intrepid Helmet provides an ultralight, low profile design created for the performance-oriented rider.

Favorite Features

  • Woven honeycomb mesh keeps debris out of strategically placed vents while channeling fresh air throughout the helmet interior 
  • Dri-Lex® adding maximizes moisture diffusion and optimizes performance for all-day comfort
  • Self-adjusting CinchFit Pro adjusts to the movement of the rider for an unmatched level of comfort and stability during demanding hours in the saddle 
  • Geometric Soft-Tip visor is engineered with shatterproof plastics for maximum durability 
  • Troxel's matte Duratec finish provides an understated look 
  • ASTM/SEI certified

Sizing It Up

S (up to 6 7/8)
M (7-7 1/4)
L (7 1/4-7 3/4)

Helmets Comparison Chart

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Troxel Intrepid Helmet is rated 4.3333 out of 5 by 30.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice helmet for the price This helmet fits really well and is comfortable. I have gotten compliments on how nice it looks. I just wish it had a few more vents- not quite as cool as my previous vented helmet. Can't beat the price!
    Date published: 2014-08-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable for someone who doesn't like helmets I am one of those people who has never willingly worn a helmet so I took a long time researching helmets to find one that I was confident in buying, I have been very happy with the light weight and low profile, I can almost forget that it is even up there.
    Date published: 2014-08-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this helmet! I bought this helmet on National Helmet Awareness Day and I am so glad I did! It's VERY hot her here in the summer and this helmet's lightweight design allows for increased airflow for every day riding / training. It is also completely adjustable and fits me well.
    Date published: 2014-08-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great helmet, super comfortable and airy I originally ordered this a month ago but the medium didn't fit. They definitely run a little small so if you are on the large end of a size you might want to try a size larger. Besides having to wait over a week for them to process the return and get my new one sent out it has been great! I love the low profile and how it looks like an expensive helmet. It looks like some of the styles that are popular now as show helmets. It is super ventilated and I love the cinch fit system. So comfy!
    Date published: 2014-08-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great helmet; great price! I bought this as a schooling helmet for it's lightness and ventilation. It's very customizable due to the adjustable cinch strap and option flip folds inside. I also appreciate it's lower profile.
    Date published: 2014-07-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bought this a couple of weeks ago for my granddaughter and she loves it.Fits very well, is comfortable and very nice looking
    Date published: 2014-06-27
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice Helmet but not meant for wide heads I have always liked troxel helmets, and so far they have all fit me. Unfortunately, this one didn't. Both the M and L were putting pressure on my temples which hurt. I have a wide head, so I think this was made more specifically for people without wide heads. Other than that, it looked like a very nice helmet, but we have returned both due to the fact that they didn't fit well.
    Date published: 2014-06-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great helmet, even greater value! I bought this helmet with a gift card as an everyday helmet. I liked it so much I wore it to all of my shows this season in lieu of my show helmet. Time to buy a second for special occasions!
    Date published: 2014-06-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good for Schooling I bought this helmet to replace my old one of 7 years (same model). I like the snug fit around the head. The chin strap is a little awkward to fit correctly. Can easily become twisted. My husband has the same helmet and the chin strap fits him horribly with his larger sized head. Otherwise I am a fan of this helmet. I like the grey color also.
    Date published: 2014-04-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Light, airy, nice fit and look! I used to swear by the Troxel Legacy Gold helmet for schooling. I ordered the Intrepid in a small (same size I wore in the Legacy Gold). The Intrepid runs larger than the Legacy Gold but the fantastic customizable fit system (padding plus auto-fit back) made the Intrepid work perfectly. I love the air vents. Looks nice enough to wear to local shows as well.
    Date published: 2014-04-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very nice! I bought this product a few weeks ago. It breathes great and makes me feel very safe
    Date published: 2014-04-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Light weight, love the style! I love this helmet. I have a pretty small head, but smalls are usually a little too tight so I got a medium, which fits comfortably. It is very light weight and looks attractive. I get complements all the time. Great price! I like the cinch-fit, however it comes down really far in the back, so I typically wear my hair to the side rather than in a pony tail at the very base of my head, which I find uncomfortable. I have not had it long, so I can't comment on its durability. 
    Date published: 2013-11-19
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Back to the drawing board, Troxel! First of all, I love Troxel helmets. I have a Venture helmet that I really like, but I wanted something a little less fancy for schooling. I liked the looks of the Intrepid- lower profile, light weight, easy to wipe clean. I ordered one (from a different website), and boy, was I disappointed! First, the helmet looks cheap, cheap, cheap- like a $30 helmet. Second, and even worse, the large is not a large at all! I had a headache just from trying on this helmet! I love the CinchFit on my Venture helmet, but no way, no how, was this helmet as comfortable as my old helmet. I honestly thought that Troxel has mislabeled a medium as a large. Might be a great helmet for some people, but watch out if you have a truly large (7 1/2) head! I had to return it, at my expense. Lesson learned- buy sized items from SmartPak!
    Date published: 2013-10-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I needed a new helmet I needed a new helemet and I had a troxel before this one but I needed to replace it after 3 1/2 years! Sp far this product fits great for my round head and it was fairley cheep but looks great and is comfy. My sister is going to get this one too after seeing mine.
    Date published: 2013-09-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great helmet for the price. This helmet is very comfortable and lightweight. I have a small head but the small looks funny. Lol. I bought a medium and it fits good.
    Date published: 2013-07-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Helmet This is a great helmet. First off I LOVE the Cinch-Fit, I have tried other Troxel helmets with the GPSII and GPSIII they always left me with pressure points. NOT the cinch-fit, it has even pressure all the way around and feels SECURE. The design of this helmet is excellent as well with the super low profile and LIGHT weight. I am a hat size 7 so I ordered the medium 7-7 1/4 it fits me great on the largest setting so I would recommend if you are a 7 1/4 move up to the large. A few other minor things I love about this helmet is that the harness is attached to the edge of the helmet. I always hated the harness being between the liner and the helmet. Also albiet minor but annoying the velcro on the Intrepid is sewn into the helmet, all my other Troxels it was always just stuck to the inside so when it got hot and you pulled out the liner the velcro came with it. Bottom line GREAT purchase, GREAT helmet THANKS TROXEL and Smartpak for your always excellent customer service!
    Date published: 2013-07-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love! I got this helmet so that I can keep my speed air for shows. I would rather fall and crack a $50 than a $500 one!!I love this helmet. It's a little more long oval than the GPA, but it very light and has a nice profile. On the styling, the only detail I do not like is there is no nape protection like we are used to seeing on all the big name helmets. Other than that, the features are nice. I am a 6 7/8 - 7 size head and I got the small. It fits very nicely. The ventilation is decent, nothing like the speed air, but not like the GR8 either. I don't think my friends will be so quick to make fun of me for buying a troxel!Love that the liner is removable. I'm quite impressed and I know troxel makes quality stuff so I am not concerned about the durability!
    Date published: 2013-06-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Helmet! I bought this helmet to replace the Troxel Avalon. The avalon is twice as much but I like this helmet better. The main difference is the avalon had silver decoration and the cinch in the back is a velvet looking material whereas it is plastic on this one but still looks nice. This helmet has a smooth surface which is easy to clean- the sandpapery finish on the avalon made it hard to get stuff off and rag lint would stick to it. It has a sleek profile, I wear it in the show ring and at home. Compared to the avalon the size medium was a tad smaller which ended up fitting me better. I love this helmet especially for the price!
    Date published: 2013-06-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Versatile & Stylish Helmet fits comfortably, removeable padding easy to replace, and I like the finish. I ride both Hunter & Western and the helmet adapts to either discipline. Helmet is lightweight, which is another plus. Seems sturdy, but time & use will determine durability.
    Date published: 2013-04-08
    • 2015-03-06T08:24CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_27
    • loc_en_US, sid_11207, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    In Loving Memory
    You were a loving and patient partner. From our early days learning dressage together, to your "retirement" years of tearing around the field and stirring up all the youngsters, you always brought your kindness, your heart, and your spirit. Thank you for everything, Wes. You are missed.

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.