Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

SmartPak Classic Fly Mask

SmartPak
- Item #21109
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The SmartPak Classic Fly Mask is just what your horse needs to keep summer's pests at bay at a price you'll love!

Favorite Features

  • Durable PVC mesh that holds its shape and keeps flys off your horse's sensitive face 
  • Soft mesh ears provides extra protection from pests in sensitive areas  
  • Fleece edging ensures a comfortable fit on the horse's face
  • Wide VELCRO® brand closure keeps the mask securely in place

Imported.

Sizing It Up

Cob, Horse.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Classic Fly Mask is rated 4.2754 out of 5 by 69.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stays on This fly mask holds the record for staying on my horse. He is playful, as is his pasturemate, and he was coming in every day without his mask. I had given up on putting one on him until I decided to give this one a shot. I think it is the double Velcro that does the trick.
    Date published: 2014-09-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from so far so good Decided to try this mask based on positive reviews. Overall it is holding up although I don't expect more than 1 season from any mask. The ears on every brand I have tried just don't last when the rest of the product is still good.The ear covering needs to be made from the same tough fabric as the face covering.
    Date published: 2014-08-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from More room for the eyes Compared to the Cashel crusader fly mask, which has always been my go-to, this fly mask gave my mare noticeably more room around her eyes, which helped with how itchy her face was getting. The ears started to fray pretty quickly so I'm not sure how long it will hold up (have had it about three weeks so far), but if it lasts a couple of months it'll be well worth it even if I have to replace it more often for the increased comfort it's given my mare compared to cashel's.
    Date published: 2014-08-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic My horse is always trying to find a way to rip off his fly mask- and he has gone through several- this one is the longest lasting one yet and it has yet to be demolished! It's Velcro strap is really secure
    Date published: 2014-08-22
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice mask, except the ears! This mask would be great if it had no ears or the ears were made of a more sturdy construction. Perhaps if on a horse in a smooth box stall, it would be OK, but not for a horse in a pipe or living outside. My mare is easy on her fly masks and very much appreciates them, but the soft material of the ears just is not conducive to horse life! They started tearing immediately, and this allowed debris to enter the holes while the horse was rolling or laying down, and this would cause lots of head rubbing... I've seen a few of these on horses with the ears cut out with scissors, and that seems to remedy the issue until you buy a new mask (if having ears is a priority). It lasted 2 months at most. Her previous Cashel mask lasted over a year.
    Date published: 2014-08-20
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from more than the basics I bought this mask a month ago, and it's helped my horse out a ton. No more runny eyes! I really like the mask for what it is, but within the first week the ear was torn (young horses are tough on their clothes!).Very sturdy construction everywhere else, and the fleece around the nose is super soft.
    Date published: 2014-08-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This mask stays on!!!! Love this mask! I have a TB who rolls off most masks. I decided to try the Smartpak Flymask and it is wonderful. Heavy duty velcro closure - ears big enough to accommodate his Warmblood size ears. Definitely exceeds other masks.
    Date published: 2014-08-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice with great velcro closure! I haven't had this mask long enough for a true test of time, but the mask seems very sturdy. LOVE the envelope style velcro closure! I have 13 horses who love to pull off fly masks and this one has held up and stayed on! The horse size runs a little small, but I have large quarter horses so it may just be my guys.
    Date published: 2014-08-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally found a mask that STAYS ON!!! We have been using this mask for about 3 weeks and we are so pleased that it has stayed on and has not fallen apart. In the website photo the material looked sturdy and the Velcro closure looked like it would keep the mask on securely so we thought we would give it a try and we are very glad that we did. One of our horses is very tough on masks and the last mask we bought him lasted only a few days. He is a Thoroughbred/Percheron cross and the horse size fits him very well. The extra width between the ears and the length in the ears make for a great fit. We also like that the seams on the front of the mask keep the material well away from his eyes. If this mask makes it through the end of the season we will be purchasing these for our other horses when we replace their masks.
    Date published: 2014-07-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stays on! I have two TB geldings who have a long history of removing their fly masks (and, apparently, burying them so they are never found). A month into these masks, they have not taken them off, and their faces and ears are fly-free. The masks seem to be holding up well, with no rubs on the horses.I did find that the ears are a bit widely spaced, but it's easy enough to stitch a fold in that section (so they didn't end up with inadvertent lop ears). The Velcro under the jaw was almost impossible to unfasten the first couple of weeks, but is becoming easier to manage. Will be glad to see a warmblood size (this was much too small for my Morgan/TB mare).
    Date published: 2014-07-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fly Mask I'm so happy with this product for my Thoroughbred horse, it fits him great!!! I also bought one for my warmblood mare, but on her it's a bit small. I wish it came in a large horse size, otherwise, it's a very well made item and the custom monogram is the envy of the barn!!
    Date published: 2014-07-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not Flimsy This fly mask seems to be well made - not flimsy at all. The heavy-duty Velcro keeps the mask on in the pasture!
    Date published: 2014-06-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Quality I bought this item at the beginning of the month and it has been on my horse every day since. It is well made and great value for the price.
    Date published: 2014-06-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fly Mask, Great Price I have been using this fly mask for over a month for my 15.3 TB mare, who has a fairly refined head. It fits her nicely, except the ears are extra long -- she looks like a big rabbit when she wears it. That doesn't make me like it any less, though. I love the big velcro area, which keeps it secure and in place while she is out with her girlfriends. I think it probably would not fit a horse with a very large head, however.
    Date published: 2014-06-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great fit Received this fly mask last month. Have used it everyday since. Excellent construction with great fit
    Date published: 2014-06-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice flymask Quality product and the Velcro is think and very strong! Runs a little big and since the Velcro piece is not very long it's hard to adjust. Just slightly too big on my TB so it won't stay on, but too small on my WB to close.
    Date published: 2014-06-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My pony is happy! I bought this for my daughter's medium pony about a month ago. The nats were driving her nuts but now with the SmartPak Classic Fly Mask she can stay out 24/7. I bought the cob size for her which fits well except for the ears...they're huge! ( but I must say she does have tiny welsh ears!)
    Date published: 2014-05-20
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Major disappointment Although I purchased this fly mask a month ago, I have only needed it the past ten days. I noticed today the stitching has come apart where the inner Velcro edge is. This is a major disappointment. Certainly not what I would expect from Smart Pac. I called this afternoon and was advised to clean mask and send back to Smart Pac for a full refund or replacement, which I will do.
    Date published: 2014-05-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from a bargain for the quality This fly mask is very well made and fits my Arabian because there is enough range of adjustment in the throat velcro strap to allow for his jaw/brow. I also was pleased that the material used is not scratchy as his skin is very sensitive
    Date published: 2014-05-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Durable and stays in place My horse has worn everyday this now for the past three weeks. The design is very good. It is a tiny bit snug under throat latch and he does not have a large head. I especially like the double velcro closure.
    Date published: 2014-05-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good purchase I bought this fly mask a little over a month ago for my two horses. It's done a great job of protecting their eyes and ears from the flys. My only complaint is that the ears are quite large, so the ends are starting to fray a little bit. Other than that, it seems to be of great quality.
    Date published: 2014-05-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Odd fit, couldn't keep it, :( I've used Cashel masks, and thought this design looked similar, but with a heavy duty velcro. Some reviews stated that it ran large, so I gave the horse size a try for my draft X. The overall fit was great, even in the ears but the velcro didn't even come close to meeting. I'm not sure what shape of face this was designed for. . . .I'd love if a warmblood size was offered!!
    Date published: 2014-04-23
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Nice looking mask but WAY too small I liked the looks of this mask and I ordered 5 but after trying it on 3 normal horse sized heads - I gave up and returned them all - just too small under the throat - the velco barely met on 2 of them and not at all on one and these are not big-headed horses. I would have also liked the nose to be longer.
    Date published: 2014-04-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nicely made but too small I was really hoping this would fit as my horse managed to lose (as in never been found...) two cashel masks last year. The fit wasn't even close to meeting under the jaw. He's about 15:2, a TWH with the typical larger head but other "horse" sized masks have fit. Wish there were a large horse size and I'd try another one! Free return shipping was awesome.
    Date published: 2014-04-22
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Had potential, but runs too small This mask had everything I was looking for, including a great eye dart design that gives much more clearance than any other mask available. It seems very durable and well made, and I didn't mind that the ears were a little long or that the Velcro was incredibly grippy (in fact, I considered that a big plus!). But the horse-sized mask was too small for my quite average-sized 16-hand TB; I could not even get the edges to meet beneath his jaw, and he does not have a large head. Unfortunately, I had to send it back.
    Date published: 2014-04-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good value The Velcro on this mask is so strong I have trouble getting it off my horse. (I have very arthritic hands)The mask fit my horse great but the Velcro battle was too much on a daily basis. I ended up trading fly masks with a friend who's horse gets his ripped off by his neighbor on a regular basis. It's been 2 months now and the mask is still on her horse and in one piece!
    Date published: 2013-11-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product and decent price I have been a Cashel fly mask user for years but may be changing my opinion. The last two Cashel masks I purchased only lasted one season which has not been typical of the previous ones. So I decided to give one of these a try. I really like the eye darts as they keep their shape better and give them more room. My guy isn't very hard on masks so it has stayed in good shape so far. He has only gotten it off once. Holy velcro batman! It takes two hands and lots of pulling to get the double-velcro loose to take it off. The ears are really long and pointed but other than looking odd, don't hurt anything. Overall I'm pretty pleased with it and am interested to see how it holds up next season.I would also love to see a long nose version of this mask!
    Date published: 2013-10-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Fly Mask I'm extremely happy with this fly mask. It was an impulse buy because they had a promo for free customization so I had my horse's name put on it. I am happy to say the quality is great and the embroidery is perfect. After a month there are no tears or rips and the Velcro is still holding strong. My only complaint is it is slightly smaller that what I would prefer for him (he's a 16 hand dutch warmblood). Other than that I absolutely love this fly mask and I have a good feeling that it will last much longer than most masks.
    Date published: 2013-09-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE this mask! This mask is a great value - I'm reviewing for my second time because I just purchased a second! As I said in a previous review, it runs a bit large, but I haven't had problems with bugs crawling up the 2-3 fingers width of "gap" nor has my mare tried to take it off - she loves this mask! Hasn't rubbed her already tiny forelock. Ears are a little large on her, and are susceptible to damage by velcro but is a great value for it's features.
    Date published: 2013-08-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fly Mask Love this fly mask.I like the room around the eyes,does not push in on their eyes at all.I will order these masks again for sure.
    Date published: 2013-08-09
    • 2015-03-05T09:04CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_65
    • loc_en_US, sid_11109, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    In Loving Memory
    You were a loving and patient partner. From our early days learning dressage together, to your "retirement" years of tearing around the field and stirring up all the youngsters, you always brought your kindness, your heart, and your spirit. Thank you for everything, Wes. You are missed.

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.