Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Horseware Competition Jacket

Horseware Ireland
- Item #21008
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Horseware Competition Jacket is a lightweight stretchy softshell competition jacket. Bonded with contrasted light fabric for ultimate movement. Breathability 1000mvp, Waterproofness 3000mm.

Favorite Features

  • Lightweight shell is breathable and moves with you, freeing you to perform your best
  • Contrast red lining and red/silver zips on front pockets adds stylish flair
  • Horseware logo buttons add subtle detail (spare button included on care label)
  • Vent in back for comfortable riding
  • Ladies jacket has a vertical style line on front for a more fitted shape
  • Machine washable for easy care

85% Polyester, 3% spandex, 12% PU. Machine washable.
Imported.

Sizing It Up 

XS (4)
S (6)
M (8)
L (10)
XL (12)

You Might Like
    out of 5
    87% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Horseware Competition Jacket is rated 4.6087 out of 5 by 46.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Material is classy as are the features I did not want to spend a fortune on one of the new soft shell coats and was delighted to find this one!
    Date published: 2014-10-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice lines & Lightweight I bought one of these at Rolex 2013 as I live and show in the southeast, and it is no fun to wear wool in high temps & severe humidity. It has nice lines and its fit is flattering. The fact that it is washable and then quickly air dries is great as well. I wear a size 6 normally and the small fit me well.
    Date published: 2014-09-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome product for the price! This jacket fits great, slim-fit, waisted. I got the xs and it was perfect for my fit; 32D chest, 5'8", and I'm usually difficult to find a good fit. The blue is really pretty. It's thin and cool, great for hot weather shows. I love it! Can't beat the price!
    Date published: 2014-09-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent for price I bought this jacket and like it very much. I am 5' 2" and an embarrassing 135 pounds and the medium fit well. I am short waisted and it probably won't work on those of you who are long waisted, it is quite short. The jacket is comfortable and washes beautifully, dries quickly. I ended up returning the coat, however, as I wanted a dark navy jacket and the navy is more of a French blue.
    Date published: 2014-09-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solid coat for the money! Bought this coat after trying it on at a local tack shop- but Smartpak definitely had a better price. I love the fabric- not too hot to ride in, doesn't get dirty, and doesn't hold horse hair. I got the navy which is a lot more blue than navy, but I absolutely love the color. I have a grey horse so the color looks great and I don't get covered in white hair!I was told that this jacket has no shape, but I think the fit is great- better than any other brand I've tried on. Feels like a tailored fit! I'm usually a 14/16 in hunt coats, took a L and it looks great.
    Date published: 2014-09-09
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not very good I got this coat just in case the expensive one i ordered didn't fit, since i needed a new show coat and the show's in three weeks. The color is odd, my hunter/jumper show probably won't allow it because its not navy blue. It's like royal blue. It's easy to tell from looking at it and touching it that its cheap. The fit was nice though. I think it would be good for someone doing simple shows like schooling shows.
    Date published: 2014-08-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gorgeous Tech Coat! I ordered black in size XL to use for the stadium phase in eventing. After seeing the pictures I wasn't exactly sure what the coat would look like in person. Well, I was delightfully surprised! This looks like a $400 coat! It fits beautifully and I love the detail. It is incredibly lightweight and comfortable. Love, love, love!
    Date published: 2014-08-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this coat!!! Cannot say enough good things about this jacket, not to mention the fantastic price. I will keep my wool Elite coat for medals (just incase this isn't "traditional" enough) but I could live in this jacket, so light and stretchy! I have got so many compliments on it in just one show too! Highly recommend - as far as sizing I wear a 32 shirt and generally use a "medium" in everything but needed a small in this, luckily with smartpaks awesome return policy sizing shouldn't be an issue
    Date published: 2014-08-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fit and Look were great for price Just rode in this for the first time on the weekend - comfortable and not too hot (it was 95 degrees) and got loads of compliments.
    Date published: 2014-07-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great jacket at any price! I was looking for an affordable softshell show jacket. I first tried an RJ Classics jacket and could not get the fit right no matter what size I tried. I then tried this jacket, and from the moment I put it on I loved it. It fits just right, not too long in the torso like most jackets are for me. The material is lovely, comfortable and flexible. I also love that the color isn't as dark as most navy blues, it really looked sharp next to my grey horse. It is also not nearly as hot to wear as most other show jackets I've worn. Nothing but compliments here!
    Date published: 2014-06-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lovely Jacket, not long enough for me Ordered this in black, for the price the jacket was very nice! I am tall (5'10") and the large was too short in the arms and the XL was too large in the body. Its a great jacket if it fits
    Date published: 2014-06-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Didn't fit I am 5'11 and 125lbs and the small was too wide and too short. Would've been a lovely jacket if it wasn't for the fit
    Date published: 2014-05-27
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice Coat for the Money I bought this coat because a few of my friends were raving about it. It was pretty, and I loved the flashy lining, but the shorter hemline just didn't look good on me, so I sent it back. I may have been happier if I'd ordered a size up, because it wasn't as stretchy as I thought it would be, and I found it a little confining.
    Date published: 2014-05-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great lightweight show coat! Amazing jacket! Bought it to replace my wool coat that I've shown in for the past 10 years. Super lightweight and breathable. Very attractive and fits my figure well. I'm 120 lbs, 5'3'', have a short torso, and usually wear a size 4. I got a size small and its perfect. They do run short but because I have a short torso that didn't matter. It just fit me like it should. Only complaint is that it is a bit noisy but it is not distracting at all. Overall a great coat! s
    Date published: 2014-05-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it so far! I bought this jacket for local summer shows in hopes I wouldn't be burning in the summer heat. The jacket material is great! Light, durable and seems to be very water resistant! The jacket is form fitting and gives your body a nice sleek look to it, cannot wait to show in it!
    Date published: 2014-05-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great first show coat I have only tried it on over a show shirt so far. It fits perfect. I am 5'5" 120lbs with broad shoulders and the small fits with lots of room to move. very flattering fit. the material is a bit noisy but not too bad. I bought it for upcoming schooling shows.
    Date published: 2014-04-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing jacket! I am an eventer and needed a jacket that was cool and comfortable for both the Dressage and Show Jumping phases. I bought this about a month ago in black. I recently wore it in 90 degree/sunny weather and I still felt cool! A very nice looking coat and the red lining adds a level of class and professionalism. Well fitted- not too loose and too tight. I am 5' 9"/130 lbs. and the medium fits perfectly.All in all, this jacket is very professional looking and very light and cool. So happy I bought it.
    Date published: 2014-04-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Coat for the Price This Horseware Jacket is a very nice coat for the price. A nice fit and great length. I am 5'8, and I struggle with jackets being too short in the torso and sleeves. I don't have a problem with this one!A couple a flaws I find is that it runs just a bit large. The fabric also makes a noise when it's rubbed together, kind of like the sound of sweat pants. No major problems though.Over, it think this is a good purchase.
    Date published: 2014-04-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this jacket! Used this jacket for show jumping at event this past weekend. It performed beautifully. Just enough stretch, breathable, fashionable and keeps its shape. I received so many compliments. It really "fits" based on the size chart. I bought the XS and S; kept the XS (which is what the size chart recommended based on my measurements) as it fits almost as if tailored for me.
    Date published: 2014-04-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super flattering and comfortable! I am 5ft with a short torso, very full bust and full shoulder. I usually wear an 8-10 jacket. I originally ordered the Large, it was just a little too big exchanged for a Med. It fits perfect, very flattering! I love the cut and lining. Will definitely be buying a blue as well.
    Date published: 2014-04-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Flattering fit, wonderful price! I just recently bought this jacket, and it has completely blown me away. I really wanted the Grand Prix soft shell navy jacket but I could not imagine paying that much money for a hunt coat as I do not show very often. I was hoping that this jacket would fit similarly, and it certainly has for me! Unlike the Grand Prix, this coat does not have a zipper for a more fitted feel and look, however, it fits just like the Grand Prix (even without the zipper!). I am 5'3" and 100 pounds and I bought the XS and it fits perfectly. I am very pleased with this coat and the quality is wonderful. I cannot wait to show in it! Thank you SmartPak!
    Date published: 2014-02-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super cute! Really cute jacket! I'm 5'10" and 132 lbs and the Medium fits perfectly. Love the color and the fabric.
    Date published: 2014-01-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutley BEAUTIFUL jacket I got this for Christmas and it is gorgeous. I cannot wait to show in it. I bought it for showing jumpers and it will be perfect for that. You could also show lower level hunters and equ in it too. I really like it because it is machine washable and its also very light and sporty, so you wont get over heated in warmer weather. I showed it to my friends and they all guessed it was $600 plus and thought it was much nicer then higher name brand coats. I am about 5'3 and 110 pounds and small fit me perfectly! It is almost a custom fit, it fit so well. I cannot say enough good things about this. It is absolutely gorgeous.
    Date published: 2013-12-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good jacket but not what I needed This is a marvelous jacket that would be wonderfully comfortable to ride in for outdoor sports. However, I need a jacket for hunter pleasure that needs to be a more traditional fabric [love the both ways free shipping!] I usually wear a 10-12 and the 12 fit great. This is a tremendous deal for a jacket of this styling and quality.
    Date published: 2013-10-16
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Weird fit, weird color I really wanted this jacket to work, and the fabric is really nice, like the stretchy North Face jackets. But I was so disappointed with the fit I couldn't keep it. Tried 2 different sizes & they both did this weird gaping, lumpy bumpy thing in the back like there was just too much fabric. Not flattering at all. If I were to try an even smaller size, the buttons would gape in the front since there's no zipper. The color was also a bit strange - more like a gun metal blue than anything near navy. It wasn't a bad color, just not traditional.
    Date published: 2013-10-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very happy I bought this. When I first put the jacket on, I thought it would be too small....it is fitted in the arms. I think it does run a bit small (I read the reviews) but the medium fits me perfectly (I am 5'7" and 130 lbs). When I did my dressage and jumping, the stretch made it very comfortable! It is a bit shorter than my old jacket, but I think it is fine. For me, it is just right!!
    Date published: 2013-10-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful coat at a great price Love, love, love this coat. Looking for a dressage coat and found this coat... one of the the nicest, easiest to care for coats on the market at an awesome price. I'd definitely recommend it to everyone
    Date published: 2013-07-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great coat at a great price!! Someone suggested this coat to me and I thought, hey why not try it for the price! I absolutely love it! My previous coat was a $600+ coat, and everyone thinks this was just as expensive! Very comfortable and moves with you. I show in both hunters and jumpers, and have worn the navy one in both. It is a little bit lighter than what I thought "navy" would be, but it is beautiful! Only thing is that it is single vented, not double (in the back), as is what is traditional in the hunters, so if that is something that you really care about... I just love that it is stretchy and machine washable- I don't have time to wait for dry cleaning! The red lining also adds a nice "pop". This coat is definitely form fitting, and it does run a little small. Luckily SmartPak makes returns easy if the size doesn't fit! Everyone in my barn wants one of these coats now- highly recommend!!!
    Date published: 2013-07-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect! All I wanted was a durable, not too expensive (local shows), cool jacket for summer - this is it! I love it - it is sleek, good looking, breathable and a great value.I am just shy of 5'9 and athletic build - I get a medium in almost everything I buy - this was no different, fits amazing!
    Date published: 2013-06-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great value My daughter has been eyeing this style of jacket for quite a while. No way we were paying $400+. Thought we'd give this a try. She's 5'2" 108lbs, we went with the XS, but returned it for the S. She normally wears a women's size S or size 2. The XS was extremely tight - maybe it would have worked, but at 15yo I think we have a little growing left. The S is perfect! Nice and lightweight, and a stylish cut too.
    Date published: 2013-05-30
    • 2015-03-05T09:06CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_45
    • loc_en_US, sid_11008, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    In Loving Memory
    You were a loving and patient partner. From our early days learning dressage together, to your "retirement" years of tearing around the field and stirring up all the youngsters, you always brought your kindness, your heart, and your spirit. Thank you for everything, Wes. You are missed.

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.