Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Piper Plus Knee Patch Breeches by SmartPak

SmartPak
- Item #20948
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Too fun to buy just one!

In addition to durable materials and fantastic fit, the Piper Plus Knee Patch Breeches by SmartPak come in a variety of fun colors with all the fashionable details you've been looking for in a pair of schooling breeches.

Favorite Features

  • Comfortable, soft and flattering fabric mix (63% polyester, 32% viscos, 5% spandex) performs well in the saddle and has great long term shape retention
  • Contoured 2" wide waistband helps eliminate gapping
  • Flattering mid rise gives you the comfortable coverage you want 
  • Ergonomic shaped panel at the calf eliminates bulky closures and annoying seams for a streamlined fit 
  • Stretch synthetic knee patch fabric offers fantastic grip and great durability
  • Contrast stitching and pocket trim on front pockets add some fun flair to your riding ensemble 
  • Fashionable Euro seat and front zip

63% polyester, 32% viscos, 5% spandex.
Imported.

Sizing It Up

Knee Patch Breeches Comparison Chart

You Might Like
    out of 5
    89% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Piper Plus Knee Patch Breeches by SmartPak is rated 4.3818 out of 5 by 55.
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Order 2 sizes larger! I'm normally a 36 in breeches, but with these I had to go up to a 40! I love the color, and I'm sure they'll fit once I get the correct size, but getting the size right has been an absolute nightmare! I really suggst getting at least one size bigger than you normally wear, if not two.
    Date published: 2014-11-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great breeches! I ordered two pairs in different sizes, one 40 and one 42. The 40 fit but were snug in the waist. The 42 was perfect! I'm 5'-3" and generally wear a size 18 jeans. The length was fine even though I'm shorter. The material is heavier than a standard breech but I'm fine with that because it helps hide any unflattering lumps or bumps. It actually has a very flattering smoothing effect.
    Date published: 2014-11-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Fit! I bought my first pair over a month ago and I like the way they fit with absolutely no pinching anywhere. They are very comfortable. My only complaint is that the piping isn't color fast and after just a few washes, they have completely lost their color. I also don't understand why it is not recommended to use fabric softner with these breaches.
    Date published: 2014-11-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice fit. Very flattering I loved these breeches from the first time I put them on. They are soft , comfortable cute and easy to move in. I plan on buying a few more pairs in more colors which are awesome. It's so hard to find plus size stylish riding cloths. Especially cloths that are flattering. Fits was true to size.
    Date published: 2014-11-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love smart pack, they ship to me almost overnight and they have great customer service!
    Date published: 2014-10-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Problem solved A recent purchase: worn 5 times and two washings. It appears that these are mid-rise. My problem is I'm short wasted so what would normally sit below the waste on a normally proportioned person, comes up higher on me, making the waste huge. I placed two darts in the back and now they are form fitting. I like the reinforced seams (check the inside seam in the seat) with an extra strip of fabric. this is a quality item and I will purchase them again, knowing they will need a slight alteration
    Date published: 2014-10-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable and flattering! I've never been so happy with a pair of breeches! The fabric is stretchy yet firm, making them very comfortable for longer periods of time. The construction of the breeches is great too—they are nicely structured and make me feel well put-together without feeling at all "lumpy" or cinched in as some breeches do.The fit on these is great for me—they are quite flattering and I've gotten several compliments on these breeches already. I'm more of a ruler shape with a waist that's only slightly slimmer than my hips. They fit well for me through waist, hips, and thighs, although the calves and lower leg area are a bit loose. If you are more pear shaped, the waist might be a smidge big on you. Based on my measurements I felt I was in between sizes, so I ordered both and ended up keeping the smaller size. I would say they run just a tad large, and slightly long (the bottoms come a bit low for me, and I'm 5'5 with average length legs for my height).I have these in both merlot and wheat colors, and I'd say the colors are pretty true to the photos.
    Date published: 2014-10-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great pockets! and fit Recently I bought two pair of Piper Plus breeches. I am between 1X and 2X size in most regular clothes. I ordered a size 42 and size 40. The 40 fits best on my legs and I am apple shaped and think I fall between 40-42 in the seat and waist. I am short 5' 1" so length is good at ankles (why I prefer breeches to jods)I love the detail and real pockets as I always have stuff to carry. I would also like them in a lighter more breathable fabric same style as I live in AZ. I am keeping both sizes for good and bad days :) great product!
    Date published: 2014-10-02
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Beautiful but big I bought the breeches in the size recommended from the chart. I ended up returning them twice for smaller sizes. They are still a little big in the waist but I couldn't go any smaller because of the thigh area. I love the colors they come in but I'm not sure I will be buying another pair. They are beautiful but could use a little bit more room below the hips.
    Date published: 2014-09-27
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not what I expetected I bought these breeches about a year ago. I have been waiting to write a review after I have used them. I have to say the colors are amazing. But the overall fit and materials leave something to be desired. The material isn't as stretchy in the calves as it is in the waist or the fit is wrong. My weight is more in my legs than my waist. I need to go up a size or two to get the fit on my legs right and when I did the waist wasway to big. The proportions are wrong breeches aren't long enough in the knee to waist and too long below the knee for me. To fit them above the knee I need to have the sock part up so high you can see it above my half chaps. I think after washing them several times they aren't as comfortable as other brands.
    Date published: 2014-09-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good quality, good price! I have multiple pairs of piper breeches and recommend them to my friends! I love the quality, fit and price. So excited to see they are now coming out with some for shows too!
    Date published: 2014-09-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Breeches Ever Made I started riding again after a 5 year hiatus- needless to say all my old riding clothes didn't fit well. I was so happy to find fun, fashionable breeches in larger sizes and am slowly working my way up to collecting a pair in every color. This material is very stretchy and slimming, with that suck it in quality. The pockets are awesome, and I love the wide waistband and belt loops. They wash very well (I always wash them inside out and hang to dry). I do feel like they run a little large, in some other brands of breeches I wear a 42, but in these the 40's are a bit big around the waist (nothing a belt can't fix). Compared to the Bradley breeches they have a higher rise and I think much better fit. The length is almost perfect for my 5'9" frame, I wouldn't complain if there was an extra inch or two in the inseam. If you are on the fence just order them! You can't go wrong with any SmartPak product or the free returns and customer service.
    Date published: 2014-09-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome colors! I just received these a few days ago and I just LOVE the look and feel of them. Have not had a chance to ride in them yet but am very excited to. The color combos are awesome -- they are so pretty! Ordered them in the 40, but were too big. Went down to the 38 and they were just right.
    Date published: 2014-09-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome! In jeans in a size 16-18 and the size 40 fits perfect! Not to loose not too big. The merlot color is absolutely gorgeous and looks good with the black Dublin easy care chaps! Or with the brown tuff rider starter paddock boots! I am definitely buying these in most of the colors and getting the merlot in full seat because the grey looks really nice with it! Recommend!!!
    Date published: 2014-09-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really comfy! These breeches are super comfy and really good at hiding my imperfections. Its hard to fit women who are curvy in different ways and these breeches were hard to make work for my shape. They work best for "apple" shaped women, I think. I am "hourglass" and had a hard time finding a size that were comfortable in both the hips and legs. I normally wear a 34/36 and had to order a 38 for these to fit. They are slightly too low but nothing major, I HAVE to wear a belt with these because the waist is about 2" too big, with the belt everything works ok. I'm going to get them tailored though because I love everything about them. If you are hourglass or pear-shaped... order up a size or two and get the waist tailored or wear a belt!
    Date published: 2014-08-31
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from So close... I'm a curvy girl and I was really hoping these breeches would be the answer to my hard to fit prayers but unfortunately my curves are just wrong for these breeches. The material feels FANTASTIC. It feels like it would wear well without being too heavy and I love the variety of colors. However, in order for the thigh area of the breeches to fit I had to buy such a large waist that the butt and crotch areas were sagging. I also get most of my height from a long torso and the breeches tended to want to "pool" excess fabric at my knees.I think with a different body shape than mine these would be an awesome buy. Oh well, back to the drawing board!
    Date published: 2014-07-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great plus-sized option! I love that SmartPak has options for us curvier women. These are quality breeches with a lot of fun colors to spice up your daily schooling or lessons. They do not pill like the Bradley breeches (riding in them 5x a week for about a month now). They tend to get a little baggy in the crotch and I find myself picking them up a lot, but a belt solves that problem. The reason they get 4 stars instead of 5 is they don't make an color appropriate to show in - would love that!
    Date published: 2014-07-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally! Thank you SmartPak! I finally found a pair of breeches that fit me! I have been trying to find sock bottom type breeches to fit my wide calves for years, and these are the only ones that work. The calves are comfortable, and no more velcro! The colors are cute. They seem like they will be durable, with a nice, sturdy fabric.
    Date published: 2014-06-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I ADORE these! I ordered these in the size that matches my measurements, and they were nearly 4 inches too big in the waste. Sent them back for an easy exchange and I LOVE them. I wear a size 18/19 jean, ordered the 46 which measure the same size, but they were too big. So girls, these run a little big so order a size down. They're WORTH the price though!
    Date published: 2014-06-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these Breeches I really like these breeches. The fabric is stretchy yet firm. The style is unbeatable, price is affordable.. The waist size I purchased ( after returning some ) was almost 6 inches smaller than my waist. very cool for summer riding but more supportive than tights. Super deal ! I will be buying more
    Date published: 2014-06-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful design! The material is great, stretchy and durable. Thick enough to not show everything, but breathable. Fits beautifully, very flattering. Bought them in a second color because I liked them so much.
    Date published: 2014-05-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I love these breeches. The quality is great. I get complements every time I wear them. They do run big so order at least one size smaller than you usually wear.
    Date published: 2014-05-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I wanted to love them but... These are such great looking breeches and I wanted to love them, but the rise is too short in the back for me (I'm pear shaped). Overall fit was good - hips, thighs, & calves. The material is flattering and I feel very secure in the saddle but yesterday I found them hot to wear in the humidity. I love the colour combinations & pockets in the front but could do without the back ones... but I'd definitely keep the cute SmartPak horse embroidery.
    Date published: 2014-05-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just Awesome I just got a pair of these in "wheat/teal" and they are awesome. I usually wear a size 20/22 in jeans and bought a size 44 in these and they fit like a dream. They rest just right around the waist and have plenty of room in the legs. Thy are a tad loose around my thighs but since they fit everywhere else it can be easily overlooked. They are nice and soft (I love the suede in the pockets) and I can easily slide them on and off.
    Date published: 2014-05-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these pants ! I bought these pants an i love them ! wish i had money for another pair
    Date published: 2014-05-05
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Wish there was more hip room! I wanted so badly to love these because they look amazing. Unfortunately the waist was too big and the hips were a little too snug, causing them to not fit properly in the crotch. Had to send them back. Upon reviewing the size chart, noticed the dimensions are not very "true to size". If they had more room in the hips, I wouldve been in heaven!
    Date published: 2014-04-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Show pants? I absolutely love the fit of these pants and all the fun colors for schooling, but I wish they came in a show friendly color minus the pockets! I show in the hunter/equitation rings and need a show appropriate pair of pants that fits just as wonderfully as these pipers do.
    Date published: 2014-04-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very nice!! I bought these a few weeks ago and love them! I wasn't sure what size to get due to different reviews so I ordered my ragular size and a size up. The size up ft better in the legs, although they were like clown pants in the waist. The size I normally wear fit well in the waist but were a little more snug in the legs, but still manageable to wear ( i hate my thighs and am very self consciences about being in riding pants to begin with).bi love the fabric and design of pants, expect the crotch seems to sag a bit but other than that they are very comfortable and stylish, I've since ordered two more pairs!
    Date published: 2014-04-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So good I bought another pair.. Love the fashionable colours,very comfortable with the high waist,good belt loop width too,nice and wide.Added bonus with the sock at the botton of the legs,had no trouble trying to tuck them in to my boots.I feel really smart and tidy wearing them.
    Date published: 2014-03-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fit well They fit really well but run big in the waste. The material is comfortable.
    Date published: 2014-03-03
    • 2015-03-01T07:55CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_53
    • loc_en_US, sid_10948, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco
    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco, a.k.a “Bud” Breed: Appaloosa Age: 24 years old PATH Intl. Accredited Center: Hearts & Horses Location: Loveland, CO Bud is an incredible equine therapist, and has been at Hearts & Horses the longest of

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.