Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Piper Plus Full Seat Breeches by SmartPak

SmartPak
- Item #20946
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Too fun to buy just one!

In addition to durable materials and fantastic fit, the Piper Plus Full Seat Breeches by SmartPak come in a variety of fun colors with all the fashionable details you've been looking for in a pair of schooling breeches.

Favorite Features

  • Comfortable, soft and flattering fabric mix (63% polyester, 32% viscos, 5% spandex) performs well in the saddle and has great long term shape retention
  • Contoured 2" wide waistband helps eliminate gapping
  • Flattering mid rise cut gives you the comfortable coverage you want
  • Ergonomic shaped panel at the calf eliminates bulky closures and annoying seams for a streamlined fit 
  • Stretch synthetic full seat fabric offers fantastic grip and great durability
  • Contrast stitching and pocket trim on front pockets add some fun flair to your riding ensemble 
  • Jeans-style rear pockets completes the modern look
  • Front zip

63% polyester, 32% viscos, 5% spandex.
Imported.

Sizing It Up

Full Seat Breeches Comparison Chart

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Piper Plus Full Seat Breeches by SmartPak is rated 3.963 out of 5 by 54.
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Full seat breeches Tried on when breeches arrived and they were too big. Have to send back for next smaller size.
    Date published: 2014-11-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great features I purchased these a couple of weeks ago, and while I had to return them due to size, the overall breech is great. The material is very nice and the piping on them is looks great on the material. If I can find the right size, these will be a breech I will own in several colors.
    Date published: 2014-11-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love these breeches!! best fitting breeches I've found in a long time. Fits curves perfectly. My only wish is that rise was a little lower. Otherwise they are a great purchase
    Date published: 2014-10-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Breeches I have a hard time finding attractive breeches in my size. These breeches are well made and make me feel good riding in them. I do think they run large though, but I am happy to find them and will order again.
    Date published: 2014-10-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these breeches! I bought these breeches about a month ago. I wear a size 10-12 jean and I ordered these in a 38 because I'm paranoid of my pants being too small and unflattering. They are probably 2 sizes too big but I kept them anyway and just recently ordered a 34. The pants are true to size, I'm just terrible at ordering. I love riding in these, they are so comfortable! The fabric is a good weight, a medium weight. We had some hot summer days here last month and they are a little warm when it's 95 degrees, but wearing any pants in that heat is. I haven't worn them in the cold yet but I'm excited to see how they feel when it gets into the 20's. Since mine are so big, I'm constantly pulling them up so these would benefit from a belt, but they stay put when riding just above my belly button. They also wash well, I hung them to dry and needed to wear them the next morning as well so I stuck them in the dryer for 10 minutes to dry out the suede and they were good to go. Love the army green (really a brown color, as shown in the picture description) and black that I got and am excited for my new merlot pair to come. I will continue to order more pairs as I continue to lose weight from dieting and riding again. Definitely recommend!
    Date published: 2014-09-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best breeches around! Love the low rise! I have to say that I'm obsessed with these breeches! I have 6 pair in total and just ordered number 7. I school, show, and work around the barn in them and I haven't found a better fit or more comfortable pair. Reading through the comments about the fit...I have to say that I would NOT buy these if they were midrise. Smartpak offers other breeches that are midrise (the Bradley) and the piper is the only one that come in low rise. I am very much a plus size rider and am so grateful that smartpak offers great apparel for my shape. I show dressage and hunters and love the versatility of these pants. If smartpak decides to take some of these comments under consideration, maybe offer a mid and low rise of these breeches? But please do not get rid of the low rise! It's taken me YEARS to find riding pants that I feel this comfortable in! Thank you smartpak for having so many great options available, keep em coming!
    Date published: 2014-09-25
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Weird fit I made a previous review of a pair of these breeches that were a size too big. I ordered a size down and they still don't fit at all. They fit my waist, but are baggy in the leg, especially my knees. And like pretty much everyone else has said...the rise is horrible. The back of my undies hang out and the full seat doesn't even come half way up my backside. Very unfortunate because the quality is there, and I bet if they fit me they'd be really comfy. I love the lining in the pockets! Overall...they're super cute, but after two tries...they don't fit me. :( and I wasted my $10 off coupon on these. Double sad face.
    Date published: 2014-09-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great breeches!! These are my fourth pair of the full seats. I loove them! They are very comfortable and flattering. I'm looking forward to buying more!
    Date published: 2014-09-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Overall great breeches. Rise needs work though! I absolutely love these breeches, Thank you SmartPak to catering to the fuller fillies! Great colors and seat. Great material. Love the soft lower leg. Huge downfall is the rise. Even with a belt these gape in the back really bad. I higher rise would be wonderful and I wouldn't have to keep adjusting myself while mounted.
    Date published: 2014-09-03
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice breeches, but... I've had these breeches for a few months now.Here are what I love about them:-Grippy seat (almost comparable to my deerskin seat breeches)-Nice stretchy fabric-Sock bottom-Look - love the front pocket style and contrast seat and stitching-I don't find them to be too low rise, in fact I love the fitHere are the things that make me not so crazy for them-Fabric pills and fuzzes easily. Where my jacket hits my breeches it's caused pilling, and this is starting to happen to the rest of the fabric. I wash these on delicates in cold water and hang to dry. I'm not hard on breeches-Because the leg doesn't narrow immediately from the hips they look sloppy since there are wrinkles all around the back bottom of my thighs and at my knees. I want a breech to skim my leg smoothly. I would not show in these b/c of this.
    Date published: 2014-09-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great breech I've ridden in these twice and I have to say they are my new favorite pants. Will be ordering many more colors. I have breeches from just about every manufacturer out there, many double this price and I like these way better!!!
    Date published: 2014-08-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fantastic quality, low-rise ruins it. Is SmartPak listening? Scrolling through these reviews, I see a common thread..."great breeches, hate the low rise." These breeches have so many AMAZING features (color choices, fit through leg/thigh/seat, quality), it seems such a shame that they gap so horribly in the waist and sit so low. They fit beautifully and I love them until I get in the saddle. I've tried a number of belts, but always have a bulge in the back where the pants gap. It's not fun to worry whether everyone can see your underwear! I really love these breeches, or I wouldn't be so passionate. I've just bought my 4th pair for schooling, makes me sad that I'd think twice about wearing these in a show or at an event. For the price, they are terrific...please rethink the low rise option. Argh!
    Date published: 2014-08-25
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Love these breeches, but... I am now on my second pair of Piper full seat breeches. I love, love, love (and am slightly obsessed with) my Piper Knee Patch breeches but try as I might I just cannot love the full seats the same. The seat is grippy, the rise is perfect for me, love the pockets, the material, everything EXCEPT- both pairs I have ordered the first time I rode in them the crotch seam split, both Charcoal w/ Light Grey. I can not go up another size, they would be baggy and wad up around my waist, so it must be a manufacturing defect, right? Buyer beware, I really wish these would work for me, but I can't keep on paying so much for breeches that don't last more than 1 ride!
    Date published: 2014-08-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Don't take the bad reviews to heart! I seriously got obsessed with getting a pair of these breeches. I spent months browsing them, staring at them, fantasy carting them. And in that time, I went through and really read all the reviews and responses on fit and whatnot.I have to tell you, I took the reviews too seriously. I wound up buying a pair 3 sizes too large, bought and returned sizes until the right ones came along. The reviews made me all paranoid. Thank goodness for SmartPak's return policy!I'm not really sure why there are so many negative reviews for these breeches. If you mosey over to the reviews for the non-plus size Piper f/s breeches, everything is 4 and 5 star. Fit runs a little large (as opposed to the plus-size where fit runs a little small). So maybe what Smartpak did was not fully account for the "average" plus size person's body type? I don't have the problems described in the reviews, but I'm also taller and larger build with less of the "plus" to my "plus size"-edness.Anyway, my only recommendations for those interested in these breeches is to make sure you measure yourself and check their size chart. And if you live in a warmer climate area (such as I do), don't expect these to be the coolest summer riding. I can still wear them in the summer weather but they seriously are not cooling. Also, you probably do want to wear them with a belt.Quality is awesome!. Love the pockets. Love the suede. Look the style. I seriously want 2 or 3 more colors. They seriously will plant your butt in the saddle too. Some f/s are only f/s by look, not by function- not these breeches. I wish they came in white so I could use them for shows (hint, hint - with med. grey seat - hint, hint).
    Date published: 2014-07-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best breeches I have ever had! These breeches fit perfectly! I have never found a pair that have fit so good and have come in so many colors. I wear a size 20 in jeans and wear a size 42 in these breeches (they run a little small). I personally like the lower rise of these breeches (just bellow the belly button). Smartpak: Please make a show version of these breeches (white please!).
    Date published: 2014-07-07
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Full Seat Breeches Great quality but very stiff and material too warm for the summertime. I think I will enjoy more in the summer. Colors are great!
    Date published: 2014-06-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Attractive pair of Breeches I ordered a pair of the Piper Plus full seat breeches because they looked really cute in the catalog, and are reasonably priced. When they arrived, I was pleased with the stylish design and the quality of the material. Unfortunately, they did not fit my body shape very well. I found them to be too low cut for me with a large gap at my back, so I had to return them. I would love to see these breeches in a regular/higher rise which would be more flattering to the larger woman. Please consider introducing a new product Smartpak!
    Date published: 2014-06-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent quality! These breeches fit perfect and are well made. I love them!
    Date published: 2014-06-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from First Pair of breeches will never buy anotherbrand I got these breeches in last week and they are excellent. I have a 49" waist and ordered the 46 and it fit like a glove. I have a 28" inseam and there was minimal bunching. it bunched at my ankles for maybe a half inch. Nice stretch and beautiful color. And quite slimming. Not to mention they velcro'd my butt to the saddle!!! Just wish the came in white for showing!
    Date published: 2014-06-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fitting! When can I trade in all of my breeches for more pairs of these?Seriously. The fabric (pants and seat) feels much more pricey than the reasonable cost you pay for these; the color combos are great; and, most important, the fit is fantastic. I do have to wear a belt with them in the saddle to prevent gapping in the back, but that is not a big price to pay for comfort in and out of the saddle...and no muffin top or that other dreaded, visible frontal fit issue! Hallelujah!And the 4 usable, deep pockets are great. My partner asked me, "Don't take this the wrong way, but did you accidentally buy men's pants? Because those seem way more practical than all of your other breeches." Hah! Pockets AND belt loops and weighty technical fabric AND great fit for less $$ than any other breeches I own? I'm all about these.
    Date published: 2014-06-13
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice features, iffy fit I bought this pair of breeches by online order and went by my measurements - the pair I got was way too big despite being a size I thought would be tight (they seem to run big). I exchanged them for a smaller size and those seem to fit relatively well except for being too long in the crotch and big in the thighs. Still, for the price and with the benefit of pockets and attractiveness, they're pretty nice. If they fit better, I'd buy more of them. If they wear well, I may buy more anyway. I'm tired of paying so much for Fits 9which fit me well) and really want attractive, fun colors and pockets on my everyday breeches. These are attractive breeches - I'm just not happy with the fit (and I have a low rise myself, so after reading the complaints about the low rise on these breeches, I thought they'd be perfect. Not so much.)
    Date published: 2014-05-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product Great value and very comfortable! Highly recommended.
    Date published: 2014-05-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from 5 stars for colors/quality, 1 star for low rise I bought a few pairs of these breeches as my "fun" schooling options. I love the color selection and the quality is exceptional at this price point. The reason I dropped the 5th star is because I'm not a fan of the low rise breech, and these are LOW. As a plus-size gal with an hourglass shape, I found the waist far too low and loose to wear without a belt. I am much more comfortable in the irideon cadence full seat breech for my body type. If you are comfortable in low rise jeans, these are quite nice (especially in the merlot.) If you avoid low rise pants like the plague, these are not the choice for you.SmartPak: These really are fantastic full seat breeches in SO MANY WAYS. Please please rethink the decision to only carry these in a low rise. You would have the market cornered at this price point for those of us who are bigger than a 34, to be sure.
    Date published: 2014-05-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great breech Just purchased these and really like them. Trying to find a plus size breech after wearing a riding tight has been difficult! These fit really well and are more comfortable than the tights. Not sure about durability yet- but they seem very nicely made. I did have to return the first pairs as they were too large, but Smartpak customer service was great. Wish they came in white for showing and would love them in red just for fun.
    Date published: 2014-05-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Super cute I bought these in regular Piper knee patch and really liked them. Stretchy fabric, cute colors. Ran a little small and the low rise isn't my preference. I ordered the smallest size of Piper Plus when I wanted a full seat, as I expected less stretch, and also wanted a mid-rise cut. When I first tried these on I was shocked that even being 2 sizes larger than what I usually buy they were SNUG. The waist is OK, the legs are tight. Probably better suited for an 'apple' shape rather than my pear-ish shape with muscular legs. So, the waist is a touch big, and the calf/thigh is snug, with a good fit in the hip. However after the first ride break-in (as I find necessary with all full seats) they are pretty darn comfy! I have to say they must run small though since this size SHOULD have been too big. I will wait to see how these hold up over the next few weeks and will likely order more pairs.
    Date published: 2014-05-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great buy! I've had these breeches for over a year and love them. They are a great buy for an everyday breech that you could use for show as well. They wash well, run a little big, have lots of deep pockets and hold up very well. I've purchased several pairs.
    Date published: 2014-03-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Look great! Being a thicker, short girl, it is proving quite difficult to find a pair of breeches that fit just right. I love the style of these breeches but the cut just does not work for me. The rise of the pant is just too high on me and they didn't fit after trying two different sizes. I have since decided to try the Bradley plus soft shell. I am waiting to find out of those fit just right. I have both Ariat and Kerrits riding tights and those work well for me (though a bit long). Moving from riding tights to breeches is proving to be difficult.For someone with a longer torsoe these would likely work well, for shorter, thick girls like me, they don't seem to work.Give them a shot yourself as they look great and the material is amazing!
    Date published: 2014-03-25
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Love the Styling, but Low Rise - Really?! I am a plus-size and was really excited that they breeches are in sizes for larger riders. They are super stylish and I love the material and colors, but why on Earth would you make them low rise?? The fit is good with the exception of the low rise waist. Definitely have to wear a belt. Was a little disappointed that the crotch stitching blew out in the first ride, but that could have been because I kept tugging on them to pull them up. I sewed them back up and washing them seemed to soften the material a little bit so they fit somewhat better. Won't buy another pair until you make them in a waist length that is much more practical and comfortable. Long lengths in the plus size would be fantastic too!
    Date published: 2014-03-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very pretty, bad fit Was excited to get these. Had to send them back. They are very nice looking and seem very sturdy. Unfortunately did not like the rise in the back, was way to low. Also there didn't seem to be any give in the full seat portion. When I tried standing as if I were in the saddle the crotch didn't come all the way up, you have air space between you and the breeches. They were also very tight in the legs. It is still beyond me who the nidget is that came up with low rise, flow rise, no rise breeches, ugh!!!!! Was also hoping for some grippyness in the full seat but they are very soft and slick. I am grateful that someone is making a larger size breech but they need to remember that we don't want our fuller assets hanging out. There is quite a large niche for larger riders, more than there ever has been. Don't know why these companies can't make a more comfortable fit.
    Date published: 2014-02-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good fit for curvier figures Always looking for comfortable full seat breeches to fit a those of us with more curves. Like the heavier quality fabric that seems like it will hold up to bushes and snags on trail rides. Other reviews mentioned waistband was too low. Maybe that was another style? Waistband seems good to me. Not low rise, but not high waisted-just right.
    Date published: 2014-02-19
    • 2015-03-05T09:12CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_52
    • loc_en_US, sid_10946, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    In Loving Memory
    You were a loving and patient partner. From our early days learning dressage together, to your "retirement" years of tearing around the field and stirring up all the youngsters, you always brought your kindness, your heart, and your spirit. Thank you for everything, Wes. You are missed.

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.