Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Micklem Multibridle

Horseware Ireland
- Item #20930
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

A better way forward for a better way of going, the Micklem Multibridle relieves pressure on the sensitive parts of the head.  This unique bridle is designed to comfortably fit the shape of the horse's skull, avoiding pressure on sensitive areas.  It can be used as a bridle, lunge cavesson, or as a bit-free bridle with two strength options.  Helps to eliminate pain, numbness or damage to nerves, veins and muscles due to ill-fitting bridles.  Imported.

Favorite Features

  • Three main pieces of equipment in one: A bridle, a lunge cavesson, and a bit-free bridle
  • Made from eco-friendly vegetable tanned leather
  • Comes with tongue protection clips, bit straps, and curb groove strap

Please note this bridle does not come with reins. We have a wonderful selection of reins you can choose from, for the full list please click here.

Sizing It Up

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Micklem Multibridle is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 19.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Bridle for a small head! I've been using this bridle for a few weeks on my Arab. It fits him better than most cob size bridles. I love that there is so much less bridle on his face. It looks great on him and doesn't have extra straps and buckles that cover up too much of a smaller horses face. I've used the bitless version as well as using a bit. My horse goes great either way. I have also found that he seems happier with a bit using this bridle that with the other bridles I have. I'm so pleased with this purchase. Wish I had tried it sooner.
    Date published: 2014-05-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to use I bought the Micklem Multibridle on Apr. 8. I like it. It's very easy to put on and use. Contrary to many of the reviews I had read, I found the leather quality very acceptable. I do feel that the hardware could be a little sturdier, and the rings, especially the front nose ring for lunging, need to be bigger. The bit straps need to be about an inch longer. I am using a D ring snaffle and I have the bit straps on the last (longest) hole which means the end of the strap won't fit in it's keeper but sticks straight out to each side. Also, Micklem claims to send a spare pair of those straps, but instead they send a spare pair of the plastic tongue protector clips which I will probably never need. Of the three bitless options that are available with this bridle, only two are available to people in the States, due to some sort of patent issue. So you don't get the long strap that goes over the poll, crosses under the jaw, then out through the bit rings. I can easily find a strap to do the same thing if I need it. I had rigged and used the same thing many years ago. Gee! I could have gotten a patent and been rich by now! The horse I use it on is a shade over 16 hands with a standard to maybe a little finer size head. The standard horse size fits fine, except for the bit straps. A head much bigger I would definitely go to the large horse size. I do like the concept of the bridle and would buy another if I needed it.
    Date published: 2014-04-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite bridle I honestly don't know why some have said the leather quality isn't that great. For the price, I found it to be wonderful. It's much nicer than low quality leather, and it feels really good. I LOVE having just 2 straps to buckle and it's hardly anything to fuss with when tacking up. Which is really nice when you're short. In addition, I love the ring on the noseband to use as a cavesson. Plus it comes with a chinstrap to use as a bitless bridle. AND you can clip cross ties to the side rings, without having to take the entire bridle off because of the bit.With regard to fit, I was surprised. My mare is a little QH and while the main headcollar fit fine, the cheek strap was too short! I had to punch a hole in it. I measured before ordering, and she was between a cob and a horse size. So if you have a horse that is bigger than a QH, I would say go a size up.. you can always adjust the headcollar upwards to be in the right position, but you can't make the cheek strap longer. Otherwise, I am absolutely thrilled with the bridle. Does my mare respond better? Seems like it. Try it!
    Date published: 2014-03-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from love it I bought the Micklem Multibridle (in Black) and found the fit perfectly fine for my mare's head (friesian × saddlebred). The leather was ok quality, but NOT anywhere near the quality one expects for the price. I would say it was closer to what you would expect of a bridle around 1/3rd of the price...HOWEVER...my mare loves it...so I'm keeping it. It also looks fabulous on her with a browband upgrade (the pirouette browband from Smartpak!).It would get perfect marks from me if the leather quality fit the price category. Really, it boils down to "what's more important" to the individual horse & rider.
    Date published: 2014-03-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good bridle, has some kinks As the general consensus states, the bridle was stiff upon arrival. A treatment with Passier Lederbalsam helped fix that. The video that came with the bridle skipped- so thank you SmartPak for posting the instruction clip!! I did encounter some resistance from my gelding in this bridle, but he is also green. For the most part, he went in a relaxed and happy fashion, with the exception of a couple small "objections." All in all, I'm excited to continue to use this bridle and will see if it lives up to the hype. 
    Date published: 2013-12-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helpful for young horses and beginners We have a 5 year old quarter horse mare with a very sensitive mouth.  She was my daughter's 10th birthday present (she is a beginner).  She had been riding in a halter, as I didn't want her in the mare's mouth while she was learning to keep her hands steady.  However, she needed more control than the halter provided.  After research, this seemed like a good idea...and it was.  She rode bitless for quite sometime.  However, the bridle afforded good control, without mouth contact.  When it was time to add the bit, we used the bit clips, which allowed both of them to ease into using the bit.  I should note that the mare was also in professional training and being ridden by more advanced riders in a traditional bridle/snaffle while my daughter was using the Micklem.  It provided a very nice transition for her.  Now, a year later, she still rides in the Micklem and we have purchased the competition version, as well.  The multibridle does not come with reins, but we were using rainbow reins, anyway.  The quality of the leather could be better, but with proper care and oiling, should last.  We will probably use this bride on another of our younger horses.  It may also work will for some of our therapeutic riding students who aren't ready to use a regular bridle, but could use more control than a halter.
    Date published: 2013-12-08
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Sizing issues I have used this bridle twice. I ordered two, Cob and Horse, for two different horses. I have a fine-headed 15.1 Oldenburg GOV mare, and the Horse Size fit her fine, overall, but was very roomy in the noseband. The Cob size was intended for my 14.0 grade gelding (appears to be Mustang - very stocky, but with a similar shape as a Welsh Cob, hence why I ordered him the Cob size.) Both horses were right in the middle of their sizes, based on their height/head size, so I never expected fitting issues. However, the Cob flash wouldn't even close on the 14.0 gelding. I was ready to return both, until I tried mixing up the bridle parts.I switched the nosebands on the two bridles, and both fit better. Obviously, this isn't an option for most people. The Cob flash is on the last hole on the 15.1 mare, but is plenty roomy. And the Horse noseband and flash fit the pony great. Both under-straps, on both sizes, are very short, given the sizing chart.The mare is still in early training, but accepted the bridle well on the longe, with the bit clips. The pony, who is very sensitive in the mouth, accepted solid contact for the entire test ride, for the first time in two years! He usually curls back off the bit. I did use the bit clips, but it sounds like they aren't legal for competitions. From everything I could find online, this bridle IS legal WITHOUT the bit clips, but its always best to check the most recent rules. The leather seems nice enough to me, so far.The Crossover Strong Bitless Strap IS NOT included. It says two (not three) bitless options are included on the description, but I didn't pick up on it. There is a patent issue in the US, so the Strong Strap can't be included on US sales. I've seen comments that the strap can be bought online somehow, separately, from Europe, but I haven't found it yet. This was part of the sales concept, so its elimination reduces the flexibility of the bridle.The only other thing that may be an issue is the actual longing ring. My longe line clip is too big for the little ring and rubs the noseband. A larger ring would have been nice, to accommodate various clips without damaging the leather.Overall, I think the value on this is good, but I docked the score because of the fit issues, lack of "Strong Strap", and lack of reins. That being said, I'd rather pick out my own reins. Also, my order was missing the spare set of bit straps. All of this being said, so far, I really like the way the horses are responding to the (mix-up) bridles. The bridle just seems expensive, given the issues I had, and the fact that most people can't mix two sizes. I included a photo of my mixed-up final result. The dark bay is the 15.1 mare and the dun is the 14.0 gelding (sorry for the weird photo ... I was riding!).
    Date published: 2013-04-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great buy! I bought this bridle for my 17.2 hand Irish Sport Horse. Though I bought the large horse size, it's currently on some of the loosest fittings, but that's okay by me! My horse goes so well in it! I need only a fraction the the pressure in this bridle to achieve what I was previously doing in my other bridle. Shipping said it would be 2-3 weeks, but SmartPak is awesome and had it to me inside of a week.
    Date published: 2013-04-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Bridle, Very Different Design I bought this bridle for my daughter for Xmass. She is very happy with it. Val from Smart Pak was a big help in picking it out and answering questions. We got the cob size for my daughter's 14.2 H Mustang. It fits well. We had to loosen the chin strap ( it does not have a tradtional nose band) so it could fit over his Roman nose. It needed a heavy oiling when it arrived. I find the hard wear to be a little flimsy. It's very attractive on. We got the black color and he's a RED sorrel. I like the design very much. It looks to be very comfortable for the horse. It's very different from a traditional bridle. It can also be used as a bitless bridle.
    Date published: 2013-03-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great bridle if it's right for you. I was very enthusiastic about this bridle based on issues with my three year old mare, and rave reviews from Ireland and England's top competitors.I found the bridle hard to fit though this can be mastered. I bought a cob but it seemed too small. Then I bought the horse size and it was too big. I tried the cob again and after figuring out that I had the bit straps wrong it fit fine.Unfortunately the leather is thick with no pads and she was upset by the feel before I even rode her. I gave up on it.
    Date published: 2013-03-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice bridle Fits 14.2 hand Mustang well. Looks nice on. Appears to be comfortable for horse. Needed heavy oiling when delivered.
    Date published: 2013-02-25
    • 2015-03-05T09:12CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_19
    • loc_en_US, sid_10930, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    In Loving Memory
    You were a loving and patient partner. From our early days learning dressage together, to your "retirement" years of tearing around the field and stirring up all the youngsters, you always brought your kindness, your heart, and your spirit. Thank you for everything, Wes. You are missed.

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.