Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Rockin' SP Split Reins- Tie End

Rockin' SP
- Item #20890

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

What do you get when you combine our smarts and obsessive attention to detail with the insight of world champion riders? You get the innovative design of the Rockin' SP Split Reins! We worked closely with champion reiners Tim McQuay and Tom McCutcheon, and their insight from decades in the saddle led to more than great quality - it paved the way for innovative design. We wanted Rockin' SP to be a cut above your average working tack. With over a year in development and more than 20 different iterations, we finally created perfection, and these reins are it!

  • The tapered ends add just enough weight to allow the reins to hang perfectly
  • Heavy duty Herman Oak harness leather is oiled and hand-rubbed, so it's ready to go right out of the box
  • Soft finish allows for the perfect grip
  • Tie ends provide a classic look

7½' long.

Made in the USA.

Same great reins now also available with Buckle End!

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Rockin' SP Split Reins- Tie End is rated 4.6571 out of 5 by 35.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Reins I bought these reins about a month ago and I love them. They were soft and oiled right out of the box. They have a little weight to them and feel good in your hands.
    Date published: 2013-12-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rockin' Reins! I had been looking for a nice pair of long reins to replace a pair that I had previously bought off of my trainer that I loved but had seen their better days. I wanted a leather rein that was thick enough (I hate feeling like I am holding shoe strings!), but wasn't as stiff as a board for the first six months, at least, and I also wanted long reins that were actually long! I spotted these when SmartPak launched their Rockin' SP line and was excited to try them but waited until Equine Affaire in MA to feel them. Yes yes yes, I know SmartPak guarantees their products and I could have sent them back if I didn't like them, but I could not bring myself to make the purchase until I felt them for myself - but boy do I regret not getting my hands on these reins sooner! They are perfectly supple right out of the box, they are the perfect thickness all the way through, and they were the perfect length! I also appreciate that they are the sameI could not be more happy with this purchase and commend SmartPak for listening to their western riders and launching this line of awesome products. My Christmas wish list is full of Rockin' SP items!
    Date published: 2013-11-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Nice I purchased these reins along with the single ear tie headstall and the rolled nose band. The reins are by far the best out of all three. Very supple, great quality, oiled nicely. I like that I can get them in 1/2" because I have small hands and they fit me prefect. 
    Date published: 2013-11-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from good buy! Best split reins I have ever purchased. Definitely worth the money.
    Date published: 2013-09-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rockin SP split reins, ready to ride Great reins right out of the box, no work involved. Just put them on your bit and tack up
    Date published: 2013-09-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Rockin SP Split Reins I like them very much. For me they are just a touch long but I would rather have too long than too short. My trainer thinks it makes for hard rein management unless you are very good. I also have a problem with my horse trying to grab the rein where it connects to the bit. Not the fault of the rein. Rhonda
    Date published: 2013-08-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love these! I've been looking for a nice supple set of split reins after starting w/ nylon weave reins w/ handstops. Nice to start w/, & get me used to split reins but didn't always send clear signals to him from my hands & I can tell that frustrated him from time to time. I saw the reviews for these & decided what the heck and ordered a set. I'm glad I did, they were very nice and supple right out of the bag. They were a little oily, but obviously had been oiled properly. My horse approves of them to, as the first time I rode him with them, some of the signals that would've been foggy with the other reins, he responded to clearly because of the more focused tie point. I can't speak to the durability but I can say they haven't fallen apart in the couple of weeks I've had them!
    Date published: 2013-08-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-07-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Leather Very nice set of reins, high quality supple leather, great feel and perfect weight. Well worth the price and an excellent value.
    Date published: 2013-07-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very handy working reins Great reins to work in. I softened then slightly more with a stretch and they became like butter. They are already very soft compared to many other reins, but I train so I ride many horses in a day and I want my reins to be exceptional.They are a bit pricy, but very good quality. The heavy weight reins are good for those in events needing a lower headset. The 5/8 s are great for every day and colt starting.
    Date published: 2013-06-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SP Reins are awesome! These reins are supple and ready to use right out of the package. They are a really nice weight and I think improve my feel of the horse. Love them. Won't hesitate to buy another pair.
    Date published: 2013-06-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good quality The leather of these reins is soft and flexible, and the reins have a nice weight and feel.
    Date published: 2013-06-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE these reins!!!! I am absolutely sold on the new Rockin SP tack!!! The feel of these reins is great and they are ready to use right out of the box. Absolutely LOVE these reins!!!
    Date published: 2013-05-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great purchase for the price The reins were how they were described. I opened them up and they were not stiff! I received them on a Thursday and showed with them on Friday.
    Date published: 2013-05-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great buy! These reins are great quality.Good price performance! I highly recommend them!
    Date published: 2013-05-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice set of reins! I ordered two sets and I like every aspect of these reins. Very pliable and perfect weight for my usage (pleasure and trail riding).
    Date published: 2013-04-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value Bought these reins for my daughter. She already had bought a pair but I read the reviews and had to try them before she used the other pair. They shipped right out and she put them to use the same day!! Great weight, texture and flexibility right from the box. Much better price too.
    Date published: 2013-04-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love my new reins! I am so happy with these reins and they put a little extra 'feel' on my rides. My horse really does respond sharper and faster with my new reins!
    Date published: 2013-03-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! I ordered these reins on a whim after receiving a flyer with my supplement purchase. After receiving them, I am totally convinced my horse works better with these quality reins and I am so happy I purchased them! It pays to use the best products available when doing something as important as communicating with your horse.
    Date published: 2013-03-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Matches bridle perfectly Great reins. Solid construction and sturdy. Great value.
    Date published: 2013-02-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect These reins feel great in your hands and are heavy enough to help with contact while still having a loose rein. The only issue I saw was they had what looked like peeling leather by the ends I didn't notice it once I was riding. The ties were not stiff at all and they unrolled perfectly from the box.
    Date published: 2013-01-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from DURABLE YET SOFT REINS I LIKE THE SOFTNESS OF THESE REINS AND THEY DRAPE WELL ALSO - THANKS AGAIN!
    Date published: 2013-01-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Reins! I purchased these reins to go with the Rockin' SP Brow Band Headstall. They do not disappoint. I could not be more pleased with the quality of the SP leather products. These reins are evenly weighted and come with a bit of the broken in feel I like when purchasing leather riding equipment.
    Date published: 2013-01-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality reins Just got these reins a few days ago, and let me tell you that they are awesome! Such great quality for a good price. They feel good in your hands and I don't feel like I'll ever have to oil them very much.Wish SP made more western tack like this!
    Date published: 2013-01-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice, but.. I really like these reins. The leather is very nice and has great "feel". The ties are very stiff and are hard to tie tightly then don't lay nicely, I soaked them in some oil to soften them up, which worked. I personally would not use these reins for showing as I prefer a weighted rein for the pleasure classes. I use these reins on my training headstall and they are great!!!!
    Date published: 2012-10-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just As Advertised The reins came curled to fit in the box. I figured it would take days to hang out. Nope--5 minutes! Soft, easy to handle. First reins I've been able to use without oiling! Love em!
    Date published: 2012-09-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Nice! I was really surprised at how nice there reins are. When I first opened the package, I originally thought they were thin and a bit stiff. The leather ties are stiff and tough to tie at first but break in quickly. The leather is very supple and breaks in very quickly. These reins have a nice feel and are great for training.
    Date published: 2012-09-26
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.