Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Effax Leather Balsam

Schweizer-Effax GmbH
- Item #20820

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Extends the “lifespan” of your leather with this beloved product!

  • Unique combination of lanolin and caring oils improves the durability and reliability of the leather equipment
  • Bee's wax provides a moisture-repellent effect and leaves the leather with a brilliant shine as well as giving the product a uniquely special smell.
500ml

Contains: care additives such as bees' wax, lanolin, avocado oil

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Effax Leather Balsam is rated 4.52 out of 5 by 25.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Stuff! Someone else I respect recommended this stuff to me for my driving harnesses, and boy howdy, does it work WELL! Best stuff I've used, & I've clean ALOT of harness in my years! I've also used it on my western split leather reins & most of my English bridle-works... same GREAT results. This is my new go-to stuff for leather cleaning!!! 5 stars.
    Date published: 2013-10-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Effax does it again- great product! This is a great product. Smells great and is easy to apply. I use it every couple of cleanings after Effax Cream Soap. It does not attract dusk which is nice. Goes on well and leaves tack moisturized, supple, and shiny. Jar lasts a long time because a little bit of product goes a long way!
    Date published: 2013-08-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great feel and smell! The effax lederbalsam is great to use. I live Az where the climate is dry and the saddles need extra help. It is easy to apply with your fingers and a lot goes a long way!
    Date published: 2013-07-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from great for tall boots Exactly what I was looking for to keep my tall boots in great condition. nourishes the leather and makes it shiny without the tackiness.
    Date published: 2013-07-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Buy! Great product, makes all my leather since from my boots to my show bridle and smells great.Only wish it was not so greasy sticky.
    Date published: 2013-05-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great conditioner I really like this product to condition my saddle- works really well to keep the leather supple, without making the surface slippery. A little goes a long way, so each jar lasts awhile.
    Date published: 2013-05-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Renews the Life of All Tack! I bought this because I wanted to try a different type of conditioner and have heard pretty good things about it. It works! It has a pretty good smell, the right consistency, and lasts forever! It can get greasy if you apply too much, but if you do, just get a towel and buff your tack. It really moisturizes your tack and makes it look healthy! It comes in a huge jar with a good twist on lid. Just make sure you store it in a cool place, I left mine in a lit area that was warm and the jar was bendy, like I could squeeze it. Overall great product, definitely worth it!
    Date published: 2013-04-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best leather conditioner EVER Effax leather balsam is the best I have ever used. It keeps my tack supple in a climate where it's not unusual to go from sub-zero to high humidity in a matter of weeks.Leather absorbs it well, and though there is a slight (ever so slight) tacky feeling, it does not pick up dust. It also gives a lovely gleam to the leather, and also has a delicious honey smell!
    Date published: 2013-02-26
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Maybe it's just me... I wanted to love this product. Nothing is better than smartpak shipping for convenient access to a product I do use a lot of. But I can't like this product. It works just like it should... but I cannot stand the smell. Its somewhere between floral and vanilla - and it makes me sneeze like crazy. I'm going to stick with Farnam ledser balsam or try another brand.
    Date published: 2013-01-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from love the smell! I love the smell of Effax Leather Balsam! It's great at softening and protecting my leather. I find it to leave a bit of a tacky/waxy residue, but I might just have used too much. Either way, this is sometimes helpful, because then it protects leather a bit more in wet weather, and means my tack won't be slippery.
    Date published: 2013-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from best leather conditioner ever! Not only do i use this after a good cleaning to keep my leather supple and nice, but i also use it in between cleanings. I have used this for years, along with stubben saddle cleaner, and my saddles and bridles last for years and look just as great as the day i bought them. It prevents cracks, keeps leather nice, restores damaged leather, brings life back to neglected leather. ALSO, this is wonerful for your hands! This is a staple in my tack box for life!!!
    Date published: 2012-11-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious I love the smell and feel of the leder-balsam from Effax. In fact, I'm looking into how I could buy the personal skin care products they sell for riders, because I just want to rub this product into my hands and smell it for hours. I've only been using it on my bridle for a few weeks, but it seems to do a great job conditioning the leather without leaving a greasy feel.
    Date published: 2013-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Have leather? Need this product! Effax is the best leather conditioner out there, bar none.
    Date published: 2012-11-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Leather Conditioner I love this stuff. I am kind of a slacker when it comes to conditioning my tack but this stuff does a wonderful job and doesn't make my tack all sticky as other brands do sometimes. I would say a tub lasts me maybe 9 months? Not positive on that one. Regardless you can't beat this stuff.
    Date published: 2012-10-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Product! This is the only product that I use to maintain my saddle. The leather stays supple and does not dry out from the southern heat. Also, if you happen to get caught in a light rain...no worry, the rain repels in route to the barn.
    Date published: 2012-10-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No More Slippery Saddle My saddle had become very slippery so I was looking for something that would make my saddle tacky. This stuff worked like a charm, my saddle is no longer slippery and it feels great. This did exactly what I needed it to do.
    Date published: 2012-09-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-08-22
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.