Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

SmartPak Winter Jacket

SmartPak
- Item #20732

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The SmartPak Winter Jacket will be your workhorse all winter long. Waterproof, breathable and insulated to keep you warm and dry at the barn. Riding vents and adjustable waistband make this jacket perfect for the barn and in the saddle. Armpit vents allow you to quickly cool down without removing a layer. Priceless! Pair it with the SmartPak Winter Overpants for the ultimate in winter warmth!

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    SmartPak Winter Jacket is rated 4.1364 out of 5 by 44.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So warm! I bought t his coat a month ago and I am thrilled! It is toasty warm and holds up well to horse drool and even the occasional teeth grab from a fresh pony! Does run a little small so I would suggest buying one size larger than normal.
    Date published: 2014-03-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great winter jacket! This jacket it great! It's warm without being super bulky, the cell phone pocket is in a great place (on the chest), and the overall fit is flattering and functional. It also keeps you warm and dry when it's raining. My only complaint is the zippers don't seem to be very high quality. So far they work fine though. I would definitely recommend this jacket.
    Date published: 2014-01-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Winter Jacket I got this as a Christmas gift and couldn't be happier with it. I am very petite and the xs fits perfect. Usually even xs jackets are bulky on me, not this one. The fit is very flattering.It is also super warm without the bulk of most winter jackets. I have worn this in below freezing temps and still kept warm with only a thermal underneath. 
    Date published: 2014-01-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the zippered vents! I went to my local store to look for one of these jackets with the vents and it was $225 on sale! I figured let me at least try SmartPak's version and see before I purchase the other one. I'm so glad I did! I love the vents, which I did open up and did make it cooler without me having to remove a layer. Granted, this jacket is for COLD weather, and by that, I think 35 degrees and below. Otherwise a vest and underlayer is better. I had good movement in the jacket, but I am curvy petite (5'1) so it does fit just a bit bigger than it should, but for the price, I couldn't beat it. It looks good on, and it has good room if you are bigger busted (I'm a 36DD and got the XL), and it kept me almost too warm once riding, but I was ok with that, and the vents were enough that I didn't really "think" about being too warm.
    Date published: 2014-01-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from flattering fit and great features I just love this jacket! It fits great and looks great. Can be adjusted a bit also. I got on sale too! Think I might buy another one for everyday and keep the first one for the barn.
    Date published: 2014-01-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Barn Coat I ordered this coat for a friend for a Christmas present and was so happy I did. She loved it, and all of the features make it a wonderful barn coat. It's a lot warmer than you would think for the weight, which is nice b/c I usually feel like a marshmellow in barn coats. It's so nice to have a detachable hood! And it's waterproof, which is great for turnout. It's definitely fitted, so buy a size up if you're concerned about getting a large sweatshirt under it. Overall really like the many features of this coat - I want one for myself!
    Date published: 2014-01-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Some great features needs some tweaks I needed a winter riding coat that was  waterproof and warm.  I ordered a medium initially and had to return it for a large.  The sizing runs very small, 5' 6" 118# , and although the body fit would have been "okay" the arms were really tight and got uncomfortable after only a few minutes of trying it on so I know it would not have worked for either riding or chores unless you want to keep your arms stuck out straight all the time.   I sent it back and ordered a large which fits fine.   There are some nice features to it, the extended material at the sleeves with a thumb hole but the quality seems as though it may not hold up there, time will tell.  Love the hood design and it fits over a baseball hat or would probably fit over a helmet if need be.  The main pockets are quite small and barely hold a heavy pair of winter gloves, although there are several additional pockets.  It is pretty lightweight for as warm as it is. I wore it in a light rain with a turtleneck and light sweatshirt and was really warm, also used the hood and visibility was still good with the hood up.  The zippers are not a good quality and should be upgraded.  The second one I ordered in large  came with a defective zipper on one of  the main pockets so I also sent that one back and am on my third coat!  customer service was great in dealing with these issues and I have worn the coat several times now .  It is not real bulky or heavy but still very warm.  Have not worn it in a heavy rain but it did repel a "misty" rain quite well.     Lots of good features but needs a little upgrading.  
    Date published: 2013-12-26
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice Jacket, But Needs Some Adjustments. I bought this jacket for winter weather days at the barn and to potentially ride if needed. There are some great features- nice fabric sleeves to stretch over your palm and with a thumb loop for extra hand coverage, decent pockets and a overall flattering fit and nice snap gussets at the back (for a more relaxed fit at the back/when riding).I initially was going to keep the jacket, as the price point was good, the weight was decent for 20's-40's weather and I liked the look of it. However, within week, the zipper (this jacket really needs a more expensive metal zipper with better and stronger tracking) broke. I was very disappointed, as I love me some Smartpak! But, the zipper is too flimsy for the jacket's level of bulk and I knew this problem would just persist with future models. So I ultimately returned the jacket, voiced my feedback to Smartpak reps (love them and did it very constructively) and invested in the Ariat Regent Insulated Parka. I have to say that for my purposes, this jacket is a much better fit. With some tweaks and adjustments though, The Smartpak Winter Jacket will be a winter riding staple!
    Date published: 2013-12-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome winter jacket Love this jacket! Really nice fabric and warmth level.  I am 5'4", 130 lbs, usually a size 8 and the medium fits perfectly. Jacket has a nicely fitted style, which may be why some said it ran small while I think it is very true to size. Got one for my sister, too! Highly recommend for winter riding. Dirt brushes right off, too!
    Date published: 2013-11-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm, comfy, cute I've worn this jacket several times now in 30-40 degree, windy weather in the south with a long-sleeved t-shirt/turtleneck and a fleece vest and it was great. If I added another layer, I'm sure it would be good with colder temps, too. The only drawback I've seen so far is that the main pockets are a little small - however, there are multiple pockets all over the jacket, so there is plenty of room for things. The fit is small - I usually wear small but got size medium and thought it might still be too snug when I first tried it on, but it's been fine. I'm a size 6-8. Like the hood, the armhole vents. Overall a great buy.
    Date published: 2013-11-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Holy WARM! The first 27 degree, rainy work day up on the windy mountain, I put this coat on over just a short sleeved t-shirt. I was EXPECTING to freeze, since it's unbelievably light weight and fairly thin, that was far from the case. I had to open the vents while turning out and feeding because I was roasting! There are little thumb holes on the cuffs that I didn't notice until that evening which are brilliant for activities that keep your arms close, but I just know I'm going to tear the stitching if I use them with arms fully extended.The sizing, however is ridiculously off. I have two other jackets in a size Large, which is what I bought this in, and I could completely wear this under them. Having said that, I would be able to use this with just a long t-shirt or a light fleece shirt, and I wouldn't have to layer up NEARLY as much as under other coats. This is a blessing because there's no way I could layer under this coat. I'm normally a medium, and if I had to layer, I'd have to buy an xl.I also find that when I undo the lower zip, to allow for use in the saddle or bending, getting the zip back in place is cumbersome and I have stepped out of it rather than muck around on more than one occasion.On the whole, I think it will be my go-to coat until it dies, and that's saying something when the weather up on the mountains in winter is often in single digits or negative numbers. A few more tweaks and it's a grand slam, SmartPak!
    Date published: 2013-11-22
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from not quite as expected This is a nice jacket but I have my doubts that it will live up to my expectations. the jackets material and insulation are much thinner than I had hoped for. We have not had it long enough to experience how warm it will actually be for the winter use that it's intended for. On the positive side, it is a sharp looking jacket that I will enjoy wearing even if it's only in milder weather.
    Date published: 2013-10-10
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Light weight coat I bought this coat for 30-50 degree weather. I purchased the XL because the ratings stated it runs small. The size up was right. The style is flattering. The fabric and zippers are cheap. The zippers have went off track already. The price is probably too high for the quality. But the flattering style made me keep it.
    Date published: 2013-11-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Warm, Functional, and Stylish When I got the coat I looked at it and thought it didn't look that warm. It is SUPER warm and not bulky! I wore it in 15˚ with lots of wind with a long sleeve shirt and fleece under it and was nice and cozy. I ordered this in an XL and 2XL because several reviews said it ran small. The XL has a perfect tailored fit and I'm around a size 10-12. The 2XL wouldn't be too big if I liked a looser fit though. The arm pit vents are great and front breast pocket is good for a cell phone. The regular pockets are a bit small compared to most coats, but it hasn't caused me any problems. I love that the hood is detachable. The cuffs have a sort of long sleeve shirt thing that extends out from the outer part of the coat. This is nice to keep wind out, but its kind of annoying when I am washing my hands, rinsing water buckets, or doing anything with water where I want the cuffs out of the way. Overall, a great coat!
    Date published: 2013-04-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from L.O.V.E. I received this as a Christmas present, and I LOVE it!! Great flattering shape and very warm. There's lots of thoughtful details. I have worn this from 15degrees to 45degrees and it's my favorite jacket. I actually was sad to think about putting it away since the warmer weather is coming.
    Date published: 2013-03-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great medium weight jacket! I live in the south and this winter it didn't get below 30 degrees, so this jacket was perfect for that. It's also great to ride in as it's comfortable and flexible. I like that the hood is detachable and I always take it off when I ride. I also like that it has a lot of pockets. The only thing is the sleeves have a pseudo under armor lining and there are holes to put your thumbs through, but they are not long enough to put my thumbs in. Also, if you're wearing it to the barn a lot it like I do gets dusty looking after a while. I haven't tried washing or anything yet.
    Date published: 2013-03-02
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from too small I usualy wear a large, got extra large, still too small, especially the arms. pockets were also too small for use around the barn.
    Date published: 2013-02-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this jacket! I feared it would be a bit too small and that by not wearing my usual zip jacket under it I would be too cold. But vanity won: it fit me so well that I did not want to return it for a larger size.Well, to my great pleasure, it is very warm (and I am always cold) and it is very comfortable to wear when starting my horse's warm-up. I shed it once we start moving. I live in Maryland, so I've been wearing it in the mid-twenties with a turtleneck and a quilted technical vest underneath. It is perfect!It is really a very flattering jacket, so much so that my barn manager has bought one, too.
    Date published: 2013-02-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great winter jacket I got this jacket a few weeks ago, but wanted to wait until I had ridden in it a few times before I posted a review. It is great jacket. I have been looking for a long time for the perfect winter jacket, and I think I have found it!This jacket is gorgeous-it is made of a really sleek high-tech material that seems to repell dirt. I haven't worn it yet in the rain and wet, but so far it's great in cold and wind. I usually take hoods off right away, but I left this one on to combat drips between the indoor ring and the main barn. The hood is the perfect size, it fits snuggly over the head with a neat little brim in the front.I'm a size 8-10, and usually take a size medium in jackets. For example in Lands End, where I buy a lot of coats, I'm a medium, and there is usually plenty of room. I originally got this jacket in medium, and though I could fit into it, it was VERY snug. I decided to return it for the large, because I figured the large probably wouldn't be that much larger than the medium. I was right. The large was perfect, and still has a nice, sleek shape. I'm 5'3, and it's the perfect length, too. It just covers my rear end.This is a very flattering jacket, and I've worn it almost every day since I got it. I've gotten tons of compliments on it. It has so many excellent features-the nicely placed reflective strips, the zippers under the arms for ventilation, and a cunning little zip breast pocket for treats. I love the flaps in the back-great for riding. My other jackets often caught under the saddle when I was posting.This jacket is like something Katniss Everdeen or an Avenger might wear-it makes me feel like a superhero! So much nicer than the bulky things I usually wear to the barn!
    Date published: 2013-11-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Perfect for riding I wanted a winter jacket that had vents in the back for riding, so I purchased this one. I ended up buying one size larger than I would normally get, JUST to be sure I could get this jacket over my other layers - I am thankful I did. I am 5'9", so I wish this jacket was just a bit longer in the body and sleeve. However, the sleeves come with an extra lining at the cuff, which is keeping my wrists covered.
    Date published: 2013-01-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice winter jacket This jacket runs small so order up one size unless you are very small framed. Otherwise it has gr8 details, nicely fitted but not too tight for riding. Hidden zipper pocket inside for things, one on the sleeve for your cell phone. Nice hood that can be taken off. I really like the fact that you don't have to have layers to keep warm. I only have a turtleneck top on and keep very warm no matter how cold it gets. Would highly recommend this jacket. Got complements the first time I wore it around my horse friends. Good pricing
    Date published: 2013-01-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Jacket I really like this Jacket! It is warm, but not too hot, (which was the problem I had with my other jacket). I love how it looks! The attention to detail is really nice. The fit is true: I am a medium in most brands and this medium fits really well. The only problem I have seen was that the left-hand hip pocket zipper was being a bit funky (the pocket zippers are not the best quality). Overall, though I am very pleased with this jacket.
    Date published: 2013-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gold Star Fits good and stops the wind. On top of that it is waterproof and looks great. Was a gift and she loves it.
    Date published: 2013-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Jacket! absolutly love this jacket. It is warm yet when ridding all you have to do is open the vents and you can ride in comfort. Love the sleeves as well as the hood too. overall a great winter jacket at a resnable price.
    Date published: 2013-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Winter Riding Coat This coat is great for winter riding. Warm without the bulk many other jackets have.
    Date published: 2013-01-22
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from nice jacket This jacket is very warm, nicely detailed and a good winter jacket. It does run small though. I usually wear a medium and that is what I ordered. Had to send it right back and get a large. I am a normal size usually wear a 7/8 so I thought the med, would be fine It was not. Way to tight thru the arms, no way I could ride or even feel comfortable.
    Date published: 2013-11-22
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Coat is great, Zippers are bad I absolutely love this jacket for its functionality and warmth - however after receiving my coat just before Christmas 2012, and wearing it a couple of times at the barn, the zippers do not close properly. The side pockets won't close, after I opened the zippers under the arms, I had the hardest time closing them, and almost could not get the coat off. Since my coat had already gotten dirty at the barn, I have not tried to return it. I am EXTREMELY disappointed.
    Date published: 2013-01-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Winter Riding Jacket Ever! I have been looking for a winter riding jacket for a while. I had a discount plus coupons so I order it! I got it yesterday and it fit great!! I had to wear it to the barn. I love it!! Its so warm too!! and it matches my mountain horse polar breeches too!! Now we just need some snow!
    Date published: 2013-01-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from not quite perfect This jacket is almost identical to the Mountain Horse Winnipeg jacket, but has a much better price. My daughter fell in love with the MH jacket in the store, and I was looking for something cheaper. The quality of this jacket is excellent, and it includes features to make the rider comfortable. Unfortunately the arms are on the tight side. If you are not planning on wearing any additional layers under this jacket, then you should have no problems, and I would consider this jacket to be an excellent winter riding option. However the arms are very slim, and there is not a lot of room for layering. In the end we kept the Mountain Horse Winnipeg jacket and returned the SmartPak version because I wanted my daughter to be able to comfortably layer under the jacket, and was concerned about her having growing room, but if these are not concerns for you, then you can feel confident purchasing this jacket.
    Date published: 2013-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great jacket When I first tried on the jacket, I was quite concerned by the tight fit. I wondered how I could possibly stay very warm while wearing it since I wouldn't even be able to fit a sweatshirt under the jacket. Well, I wore the jacket for the first time today and love it.I wore it with a sport bra shirt and a long sleeve t-shirt. Outside, we had blizzard like conditions with wind gusts up to 35 mph. Inside, I cleaned and bedded eight stalls and groomed and worked one horse. Outside, I spread manure and than played with my three dogs for 20 minutes. Through it all, the only thing I did to manage my body temperature was to zip and unzip the underarm zippers. I never got hot or cold. The driving snow outside which was blinding was no fun, but a jacket can't help with that.I will try riding in it tomorrow. After today, I'm optimistic I'll be able to ride while wearing the jacket without getting too hot. That will make all the difference in the world for me if I can keep from sweating while I ride in the winter and go straight to teaching lessons. Usually, I wear three or four layers and take them off and put them on again to try to keep from sweating and then chilled. Once I get chilled I just can't warm up again until I go inside and that may be several hours away. I'm confident this jacket will simplify all that for me and help me to stay comfortable all day long.
    Date published: 2012-12-27
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.