Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Rhino SmartPak Collection Wug Turnout

Horseware Ireland
- Item #20666
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

This is the blanket that inspired it all! The Rhino SmartPak Collection Wug Turnout was created exclusively for SmartPak by the experts at Horseware Ireland for the most fashionable and functional turnout around. Rhino’s exclusive Barrier Technology means that even if your horse manages to tear through the tough 1000 denier polyester shell, the waterproof protection remains intact.

Favorite Features

  • 1000 denier polyproylene outer protects the waterproof and breathable barrier layer underneath the blanket
  • Shine enhancing polyester lining with thermo-bonded fiberfill for longer lasting heat retention
  • The soft, anti-static microfiber lining keeps your horse feeling as good as he looks
  • Antibacterial properties in the lining keep the blanket fresh
  • Surefit neck design eliminates pressure on the withers
  • Front leg arches for added freedom of movement
  • Patented V-Front closure wraps around the point of the shoulder, keeping the blanket light across the chest and relieving pressure on the shoulders

Sizing It Up

Light weight has no fill
Medium weight is 200g
Heavy weight is 400g

Turnouts, Sheets and Blankets Comparison Chart

You Might Like
    out of 5
    93% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Rhino SmartPak Collection Wug Turnout is rated 4.6066 out of 5 by 122.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Such a nice turnout! Great quality, super fit, easy to use features - I'm loving this sheet. We are having the wettest March on record here in the Pacific NW, but my pony comes in dry every night.
    Date published: 2014-04-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great turnout! This turnout in size 78 is perfect for my 15.2 Appendix mare. She wears a size 78 Rambo Optimo during the winter, which is a bit generous in sizing. The Rhino size 78 fits her perfectly. The only thing I would change is the tail cord. On the Rhino Wug it is uncovered canvas, which gets very dirty. I have ordered the Rambo plastic coated tail cord in size 40 cm to replace the one that comes with the Rhino Wug.
    Date published: 2014-04-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really great rain blanket This is the third one I have purchased. Older ones are still wearing well. Just bough a new one for my new little arab. It fits great, stays on well through horsing around and rolls, and keeps them dry all day.
    Date published: 2014-03-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product The Rhino Wug Turnout is well made plus it's nice looking.
    Date published: 2014-03-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product, great customer service. I ordered the wrong size, they paid for me to return it, and they sent me the right size. Super easy, and no hassle.
    Date published: 2014-02-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket I really like this blanket. It fits my Cd Sporthorse with prominent withers without any rubs. Not sure on durability but waterproof and staying on well so far.
    Date published: 2014-02-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Looks great! Overall the blanket is great. My 16 hand friesian normally wears a 78 but had to exchange for an 81 because it was too tight in the shoulder. The 81 fits better. I really like the high neck to hopefully keep out the rain and snow. I wish it came with two tail straps to cross between his legs (especially at this price point). It looks great on him and the smartpak logo is subtle.
    Date published: 2014-02-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Blanket! I bought this blanket a little over a month ago. My horse loves it! I am especially pleased with the the blanket features like the snap front closure, double Velcro closure, and leg arches...all feature which I have come to learn are a must have for me! Most importantly though, the non-static feature has truly been as advertised, and greatly appreciated by my sensitive TB.
    Date published: 2014-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this Turnout! I love everything about this turnout: the front v clips, the higher cut neck and none of those irritating leg straps. I have this one in light and medium for all 4 of my horses!
    Date published: 2014-02-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Survived a horse that destroyed the indestructible So far so good! My OTTB destroyed 2 SmartPak indestructible blankets. So far he hasn't had any problems even though he and his buddies shredded his blanket liner (don't know how that happened without the turnout not beingdestroyed). Quality blanket!
    Date published: 2014-02-01
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Wonderful fit I bought this a months ago. It fit so well and I was super excited, until yesterday when my horse ripped it. Not good for a horse hard on blankets and who loves to play in the field! Smart Pak was excellent in handling the return.
    Date published: 2014-01-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect fit I got this heavy Duty turn out rug for a foster mare from a local rescue society. It was a perfect fit for this extremely hard winter and Patches is now snug as a bug in a rug! Easy to put on and take off, which keeps my fingers working well, too.
    Date published: 2014-01-27
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Great design, not durable at all! Bought this blanket (heavyweight) last year, and with such a mild winter, only used it about a dozen times.I pulled it out just this month (January) and have used it for two weeks, collectively, on the single digit days. There are teeth marks and small tears all over the outside shell, the lining has an 18inch rip in it as of this morning, and I am sorry I ever wasted $200 on the thing. My office window overlooks their field, so I literally watch them all day--they are not an aggressive or wild field. My actual Rambos, which have been in consistent use in that field since September haven't a scratch on them.This first time I experienced this with the Rhino line, I thought it was a fluke. Now I know better. Don't waste your money.
    Date published: 2014-01-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit over shoulder, very durable material I bought this for my "thicker" set 14.1 h pony in medium weight for him to wear in the Northwest with a body clip. It is the perfect weight; he is warm in it but has never been sweaty. The fit over the shoulder is great, even with his broad build. As a pony it comes down a little far on his legs, but I like this with a clip. It has been rained on for about a solid week now and he is warm and dry!
    Date published: 2014-01-22
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Did not hold up Bought this rug a month ago because I love the previous experience with SmartPak. I have a 4 year old OTTB who I have rescued and needed her to be extra warm while she adapts to her retirement. I noticed a rip near the seam by her tail. Not sure how this happened but after a month, it is disappointing.
    Date published: 2014-01-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from absolutely love this blanket I wanted to upgrade one of my horses to a high neck blanket, and Rhinos/Rambos have long been my favorite blankets. The horse in question is chestnut with a big white face and 4 high white legs, so I was worried the checkered pattern might look too "busy" on such a chromey horse, but instead it looks absolutely fabulous. It does tend to shift a little to one side on her, but I think it might be because of the way she walks or stands. We got hit with a brutal cold snap, and she was already shivering by the time I got home. Checked her 10 minutes after putting the blanket on, and she was toasty warm underneath, and stayed that way for the next several days.
    Date published: 2014-01-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from best quality and price! This is the best quality and fit and ease of use of any blanket I've ever purchased.The front closure is so easy to snap! I like the way it really envelopes the horse and keeps the wind out on these cold, blustery days. We have a low temp of 8 degrees tomorrow morning when we are used to the 50's. So very glad my 18 year old gelding has this on tonight!
    Date published: 2014-01-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the fit, but it bunches in places I really like this blanket, it fits great (and true to size), and I love the high neck. But I found it bunches in places, most of the time at the neck part, almost as if the top layer of the blanket is bigger than the rest of the blanket. I really don't mind it and it doesn't affect usability or quality so I wouldn't mind buying another! 
    Date published: 2014-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love This Turnout!! Buying this medium-weight turnout was an easy decision. Last year I needed to replace an unlined turnout and purchased the Rhino SmartPak Wug for my 16.3 OTTB mare.  It fit her perfectly, as does the medium weight, and is an exceptionally nice material.  I fully expect the medium weight to perform as nicely in terms of her comfort and durability.  It also washes up nicely.  The quality I expect from SmartPak and Horseware!  If we keep having these ridiculous cold spikes, there could be a heavy weight in her future; won't need to review/study other blankets, just call and order another Rhino SmartPak Wug!!
    Date published: 2014-01-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits Great! I bought this about a month ago for a horse that is hard to fit--he is long and narrow. This blanket fits beautifully--it covers the tail, tucks nicely under the belly, and keeps the wind and cold out with the high neck. The hardware is strong and the blanket has held up nicely with full time wear in an outdoor run. I have the matching sheet, and they look great together. 
    Date published: 2014-01-02
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Really like this blanket I bought the wug style blanket because the regular style blanket was rubbing the top of my horses neck. He seems to be very comfortable in it and I like that it covers part of his neck as well. I am not sure that there is sufficient fill in this blanket for warmth if the horse had a full clip.
    Date published: 2013-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice blanket Last winter I purchased the heavy weight. It held up very well and fit my skinny thoroughbred very well. No more blanket rubs. He needed a new sheet so I purchased another one in a lighter weight. I love this line of blankets.
    Date published: 2013-12-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Nice Sheet I have had my eye on this sheet for over a year, and I finally broke down and purchased one for each of my horses. I already own several Horseware blankets and was thrilled to see that they collaborated with SmartPak on this one. It is the nicest looking blanket at my barn. It is very lightweight and fits well.My Quarter Horse always wears a 75, and this one fit with a little room to spare. If his back were not a tad long, it probably would have been too large. While a little roomy, it still conformed to his body well while he cavorted around in it. My Thoroughbred always wears a 78, and this one fit him perfectly. He has a broad barrel and a roached back; but even with his odd conformation, Horseware always fits him well, and this sheet did not disappoint.One thing I did notice about it is that the fabric makes a slight "crinkling" sound. If you have a horse who does not do well with noises, you might have to desensitize him a bit. It is a very slight sound, but my Quarter Horse had to check it out once I had it on him.I am glad I purchased these sheets and hope they prove to be as durable as my other Horseware purchases. If they wear as well as they look, I cannot lose. 
    Date published: 2013-12-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit!!! I just received this sheet 2 weeks ago but I am very happy with it! I was having a hard time finding a sheet to fit my mare and this does perfectly. It seems very well made. I would definitely recommend this sheet!
    Date published: 2013-12-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great value I love Horseware turnouts and I have purchased a number of them over the years.  There are less expensive options but due to their fit and durability  I rarely buy anything else for my herd of Irish Draughts and Kerry Bog ponies.
    Date published: 2013-12-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great turnout!!! Love this! Fits my mare perfectly! :) She looks very stylish!
    Date published: 2013-12-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Fit For My TB This blanket fits my high-withered, narrow TB quite well. The high neck takes pressure off the withers and has the added bonus of preventing the sides from falling too far down on his shoulders. The way it fits his neck and chest make it look cozy and comfortable. Durability seems good although he's not rough on his blankets and in individual turnout.  
    Date published: 2013-12-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lightweight and Effective Have had this Rhino Lite Wug for a month and it has worked well so far for my WB gelding.  Fits great and stays in place.  He's been kept dry when it rains without getting too warm (he's not clipped) and I really like the blue with tan plaid color of the Smart Pak edition.
    Date published: 2013-12-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent fit, quality & breathability Thank you Smartpak!! I called you to discuss the winter weather conditions in my area - lots of sun 60 degrees one day 40 the next day - you recommended this blanket and I'm very happy with it
    Date published: 2013-12-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great fit I only buy Horseware rugs as they always fit and wear amazingly.
    Date published: 2013-12-03
    • 2015-02-27T07:08CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_117
    • loc_en_US, sid_10666, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco
    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco, a.k.a “Bud” Breed: Appaloosa Age: 24 years old PATH Intl. Accredited Center: Hearts & Horses Location: Loveland, CO Bud is an incredible equine therapist, and has been at Hearts & Horses the longest of

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.