Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Rhino SmartPak Collection Wug Turnout

Horseware Ireland
- Item #20666
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

This is the blanket that inspired it all! The Rhino SmartPak Collection Wug Turnout was created exclusively for SmartPak by the experts at Horseware Ireland for the most fashionable and functional turnout around. Rhino’s exclusive Barrier Technology means that even if your horse manages to tear through the tough 1000 denier polyester shell, the waterproof protection remains intact.

Favorite Features

  • 1000 denier polyproylene outer protects the waterproof and breathable barrier layer underneath the blanket
  • Shine enhancing polyester lining with thermo-bonded fiberfill for longer lasting heat retention
  • The soft, anti-static microfiber lining keeps your horse feeling as good as he looks
  • Antibacterial properties in the lining keep the blanket fresh
  • Surefit neck design eliminates pressure on the withers
  • Front leg arches for added freedom of movement
  • Patented V-Front closure wraps around the point of the shoulder, keeping the blanket light across the chest and relieving pressure on the shoulders

Sizing It Up

Light weight has no fill
Medium weight is 200g
Heavy weight is 400g

Turnouts, Sheets and Blankets Comparison Chart

You Might Like
    out of 5
    93% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Rhino SmartPak Collection Wug Turnout is rated 4.6098 out of 5 by 123.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great fit I only buy Horseware rugs as they always fit and wear amazingly.
    Date published: 2013-12-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No Fuss! This turnout fits my my large boned draft cross field hunter very nicely.  His clipped body feels nice and toasty in the cold.  I have had Rambos in the past and find this blanket to be a less costly yet very well made and attractive alternative.  Like the Rambo, the closures/snaps are all no fuss. Easy on and easy off.  So far, so good...
    Date published: 2013-11-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from What to expect from the Rhino product line I bought a Rhino blanket for my Warmblood years ago. He was not a super rough player, but it pretty much instantly got a small rip. That said, this is where the water-proof layer underneath comes in. It's cheaper than Rambo for a reason. If you horse is hard on blankets then for you, the Rambo is the cheapest blanket on the market because you won't be replacing it every season. If your horse and his buddies are easy on blankets, this is a great value. It has the Horseware fit and is warm.
    Date published: 2013-11-17
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointed Bought two of Rhino Smartpak Wug's for my 19yr old QH and 16yr old TW. What i liked aboout this turnout blanket is the design. Being an Engineer, i appreciate a good design. The high neck keeps water/snowoff the base of the neck and reduces rubbing on the withers when their head is down grazing. Also I really, really liked the front closure design which eliminates chest rubbing. Now, what i didn't like is the inferior quality of a neary $200 turnout. The inside layer is onion skin thin and developed tears after a couple uses. Also developed a tear on the outside after a very minor bite. For the money and the brand name, I expected much, much beter material. I returned both of these blankets after being used, and exchanged them for the Weatherbeeta High Neck Turnout. I rec'd the Weatherbeeta yesterday & it looks like the material is much, much better. Thank God for Smartpak customer service and their 100% satisifaction guarantee. They are wonderful.
    Date published: 2013-05-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality Love this blanket! It has held up so far and has proved to be waterproof. I will be purchasing this in a medium weight in the fall.Does run a bit large.
    Date published: 2013-04-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice blanket! Love this turnout blanket. Fits well, maybe just a teeny bit big. Waterproof, Nice-looking, just right for my high-withered Thoroughbred!
    Date published: 2013-04-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love this turnout! Too bad my big guys withers are too high, after 2 days wearing it i could barely touch his withers. I wish these came in the optimo design, it's the only one that seems to fit his withers. I guess i'll hold on to it for another horse.
    Date published: 2013-04-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Would benefit from leg straps for those playful horses (like mine) turned out with others.
    Date published: 2013-03-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nancy I love the rhino wugs - they fit great and seemto last along time. Free shipping from Smartpakis great too!
    Date published: 2013-03-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Rhino Wug Turnout This is a great turnout for horses with large shoulders and chest as the high neck provides stress relief in those area. The quality is wonderful and although I've only had it for a short time, I expect it to be durable. Two things to consider when you purchase: (1) the front closure straps are not adjustable and (2) the turnout seems to run long. My horse wears a 78 in other turnouts but took a 75 in this one.
    Date published: 2013-03-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ripped beyond repair already, but would buy again! I reviewed this product when I first got it saying I wasn't able to testify to its durability yet. The blanket does run a bit large, and the size that would fit my pony ended up being what I used for my 15.1 hand Arab. I love this blanket. The print is super cute. It is very warm, and it fits my horse very well. However, he has only had it for 4 months, and after 4 months of heavy use, it was starting to get some small rips in it. Today I went to the barn, and there was a huge hole ripped out of the right back hip area. The stuffing was out, and the fabric had blown off into the field. He is only 3, very playful, and is out with some very active and also playful geldings (and a mare), but I was hoping for more durability because I don't want to have to buy a new blanket every 5 months. I was going to buy another one, but his size was backordered until July, so I will have to wait until later on this year to reorder. I settled for something else in the meantime. Overall, I love the blanket, and I was willing to try again to see if it would hold up longer this time. If you have a horse that is very active and/or destructive on his or her blankets, I wouldn't recommend this.
    Date published: 2013-03-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite blanket! I love this blanket, its very well made and hopefully will last a long time!!I have a narrow TB and every blanket I have bought in the past rubs his shoulders, so far this one does not.It fits very well once I got the right size, I started with a 78" and it was far to big, now we have a 75" and it fits beautifully. I love the high neck for extra coverage, we live in Washington and it has kept my horse warm and dry through all the rain we get.These blankets are a little pricey but well worth it.
    Date published: 2013-02-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! Quality made sheet. It did run a bit large. Very sturdy and quality made! I've only had it for a month so I'm not sure about durability yet. So far, I've been very happy with my purchase!
    Date published: 2013-02-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Highly recommended blanket! This is a really great blanket, I love the higher neck and the fit is perfect. The 74 fits my slim 16.1 TB perfectly, he normally wears a 76 so as other people said this does run about one size large. I really like that it has the velcro close front along with the clips - easy to take on and off. My friend has the purple Rambo and I feel like this blanket is pretty much the same but less expensive thanks to SmartPak. Also I love the color and pattern! It's worth buying!
    Date published: 2013-02-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous The Horseware quality and fit with the Smartpak price, so what can go wrong? Have this in lightweight and heavyweight. The lining makes the horse beautiful and shiny, and avoids rubs and sore spots. My baby giraffe is already growing out of the ones I bought for this year, but I am sure I will get these again for next winter. Very smart and stylish color.
    Date published: 2013-02-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from another quality horseware product I love this sheet. It is well made, nice wide velcro and fastener front closure. Quality fabric and straps. Highly recommend this sheet.
    Date published: 2013-02-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Rug I got this blanket for my horse, Henry. It fits to size, love the higher neck and checked pattern. No rubs. Really like it. Has already gotten 2 very small holes that I can patch easily, but I don't really fault the blanket too much, as Henry is with a large herd of very active geldings. I'd get another and recommend to friends. Sue
    Date published: 2013-02-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Superior Product 72inch I had purchased an Amigo blanket 200 fill previously and this Rhino seems a much better blanket and worth the extra $$. I like the high neck it is perfect for my 15 hand warmblood arab cross. Even though it is also 200 fill it seems heavier and warmer. The print is adorable.
    Date published: 2013-02-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sad it doesn't fit The fit was way too tight in the chest and shoulders, while being quite generous, almost blouse-y in length. Sure to rub and bind....no adjustment in front. This style not for my big shouldered draft x. Quality seemed great and the only no fill high neck i could find. Disappointing!
    Date published: 2013-02-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works Well for Naughty Youngster My three-year-old has been through lots of sheets, none survived to actually be outgrown. He's hard on his clothes. Plus I have three turned out together and they play. So far, this one has worked pretty well for him and has been more durable than others (I have one horse that gets by in an Amigo but it didn't work for this one!). I have had a couple of other Rhinos and gotten lots of good use out of them for my mare. I like the front closure because he tends to blow out the front of his blankets somehow. I did have to mend the velcro closure after a couple of weeks but it has held so far since then. Fingers crossed that this one will last the season.
    Date published: 2013-02-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Turnout This turnout blanket is exactly what I needed for Portland's wet winter weather. It's waterproof yet breathable and I love the high neck coverage that keeps the rain from getting underneath and soaking his shoulders and chest. You can also get it filled to fit your climate, I use the lite fill as all I really needed was something to keep my gelding protected from the mist and rain and blanketed through winter so he didn't get "fuzzy". The price is awesome, especially if you're a SmartPak supplement's user. And of course the quality is exceptional, I love the front closure velcro and clips, they really keep the blanket in place. Fit was right on too. My only complaint is the butt strap, get the Rambo replacement bungee tail cord.
    Date published: 2013-01-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not for a broad horse I bought this for my Dutch Warmblood, he measures a 78 and that is the size I bought, length and drop wise, it was a perfect fit, but the high neck (at least im pretty sure that's why it didnt fit) made it too narrow in the shoulders and he had a hard time moving in it. Possibly would have been wider there if I had bought a bigger size, but I think it was just the make of the blanket. The quality was very nice, as you would expect from Smartpak and Horseware Ireland, was very sad that it didnt fit. I had a completely painless process returning it though and ended up going with a Rambo Original with leg arches in a 78 which fits perfectly.
    Date published: 2013-01-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love my new wug I am really super happy with the smartpak Rhino Wug! I like that the blanket goes up the neck a bit & there isn't pressure on the withers. This also will keep my horse cozy on chilly nights.The hardware is super high quality. Most of all I am thrilled with Smart pak for awesome customer service & free shipping both ways!!!
    Date published: 2013-01-25
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from RHINO Wug Turnout First, let me say I am a HUGE fan of the RAMBO Wug collection - I have all three weights for my thorobred mare and have not had to fix anything on them in 10 years. Now I have a new small Gypsy Vanner who apparently hates wearing clothes. She lives outside. First night in the (light) Rhino sheet, she ripped off a surcingle. I field-stitched it back on. It held - but she scrubbed so hard against the trees to get the sheet off that the tan threads part of the plaid pattern have pulled and shredded. The navy background is fine. She's not going to get a chance at the (medium) blanket.
    Date published: 2013-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect wet weather turnout blanket! This is my 1st Rhino blanket. In the past I have had mostly Rambo blankets. I love this blanket! The withers are covered for extra protection from the elements. The nice lining keeps my horse looking sleek and groomed. The hardware is user friendly. My horse is very hard on his blankets and so far this one has held up perfectly, no snags, no tears, just high quality durable material on this one. The only thing I changed was the strap that goes around the butt had a large metal clasp that seemed to bump my horse in the leg whenever he took a step, and seemed like it would be annoying.... so I swithched it out with a plastic covered cord and plastic snap. I would highly recommend this blanket to anyone looking for a light weight turnout blanket.
    Date published: 2013-01-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value! This blanket fits perfectly. I have it on an older mare who likes to snooze in the day, but is not so graceful getting up. Her other blankets were always hanging off one side or the other. This blanket stays in place, the hardware is sturdy, and the plaid color pleasing. Gave it 4 stars on quality and durability only because it is still fairly new. Ask me next year!
    Date published: 2013-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from super wug This is my 2nd wug my for connie/ TB gelding I bought him a heavy because his Medium fits him so perfect and has worn like iron. My gelding is 15 H and is narrow the 72 fits him all over like a custom sheet. Love that Smart Pak made a custom color. It's nice that my medium is brown and my heavy is blue no question which blanket is which.
    Date published: 2013-01-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket....runs a little large My horse and I love the blanket. The neck is great no pressure at the withers. It does seem to run a little large. Have ordered two and both were one size to big for my large Arabians.
    Date published: 2013-01-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the Best Turnouts Bought this sheet to replace one my OTTB wore out. LOVE everything about this sheet--the way it fastens, the material, and most importantly the fit. My mare has already been "down and dirty" w/the sheet on and it took the roll well so I believe it will hold up through many uses. Plus it has all the touches and heavy duty fasteners you expect from the Horsewear line. Well done SmartPak. When the next medium fill turnout bites the dust I'll be replacing it w/another blanket from this line! And the price for something this well made and nice quality can't be beat!
    Date published: 2013-01-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great purchase Blanket fits great very nice blanket for the price
    Date published: 2013-01-16
    • 2015-02-28T08:21CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_4, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_118
    • loc_en_US, sid_10666, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco
    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco, a.k.a “Bud” Breed: Appaloosa Age: 24 years old PATH Intl. Accredited Center: Hearts & Horses Location: Loveland, CO Bud is an incredible equine therapist, and has been at Hearts & Horses the longest of

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.