Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

SmartPak Ultimate Turnout Blanket

SmartPak
- Item #20621
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Battle the elements this winter with the SmartPak Ultimate Turnout Blanket, our toughest waterproof blanket yet! With heavy-duty nylon, this blanket is great for a horse that is tough on blankets. We're so sure it will last for years to come that we've backed with a 10-Year Indestructible Guarantee. We've got you and your horse covered - no matter what! Imported.

10 Year Indestructible Guarantee- the fine print:
We are so confident in the toughness and durability of the SmartPak Ultimate Nylon Turnout Blanket, that if anything happens to this blanket within 10 years of your purchase, we’ll replace or refund it—no matter what! It’s that easy. However, the guarantee does not cover blankets that have embroidery stitched on the barrel as it compromises the integrity of the blanket.  

Favorite Features

  • Heavy-duty nylon:  This special weave of nylon is ultra durable and resists rubs and tears.
  • 1000 denier nylon is ultra durable and the toughest blanket material available
  • Available in Light (no fill), Medium (220g)
  • Nylon outer is waterproof and breathable, so your horse stays dry and protected from the elements without feeling stifled underneath
  • Nylon lining
  • Two low-cross surcingles keep the blanket secure on your horse
  • Quick-clip front closures are easily adjustable and allow you to take your horse's blanket on and off effortlessly
  • Nylon/elastic leg straps allow freedom of movement and keep the blanket from shifting
  • Tail flap provides additional protection from the elements so your horse stays warm and dry

Matching SmartPak Ultimate Neck Rug also available.

Sizing It Up

Available in sizes 69-87" (3" increments)

How to measure a horse

Please note: We recommend placing embroidery on a surcingle. Embroidery on the body of the blanket may interfere with the blanket's waterproof

You Might Like
    out of 5
    92% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Ultimate Turnout Blanket is rated 4.5991 out of 5 by 232.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great fit My horse is tough on his turn out gear. I am hoping this blanket stands up to his playfulness
    Date published: 2015-02-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The ONLY one to get! This is the only blanket out there with a 10 year guarantee for any reason! We have one for each of our two riding horses, one with medium fill and one with no fill. They look great, fit great, and are quality constructed. Yes, they will fall apart eventually (like any blanket will), so have a backup blanket while it is off to SmartPak, which can take up to 3 weeks depending on how far you are from NorthEast USA. If only they offered different piping colors...
    Date published: 2015-02-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT blanket! Warm, simple, guaranteed, (have others) and looks terrific!
    Date published: 2015-02-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from well made The hardware, straps, front closures and fit are so well made. My horse rolls and the blanket stays in place. The ballistic fabric has kept her dry. Also, she stays warm but not hot. I use this blanket alone and do not double up on blankets.
    Date published: 2015-02-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Blanket, Exceptional Service!! I purchased this blanket in a 75 for my 6 year old Morgan mare in the hope that it would last. And I loved the 10 year guarantee! She's not tough on blankets, but my other horses.... Apparently trying to tear her blanket off is super entertaining. I've caught them numerous times with this blanket in their mouths already, and still the blanket looks like new!! They did however manage the pull the tail flap off - when I emailed SmartPak about it they immediately offered to replace it and even sent me a packaging slip! I decided to hold on to the blanket (since I didn't want her to go without right now), but I feel very confident that if something worse were to happen to the blanket SmartPak will stand by their promises! The blanket itself is high quality, perfect mid-weight for MD winters, and fits great! I plan on ordering it for my other horses for next winter! (Though hopefully by then there will be a few more color options?) Thanks Smartpak!!
    Date published: 2015-02-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Quality! Awesome customer service. Blanket shipped & arrived promptly. Fits great! Very happy with this purchase!
    Date published: 2015-02-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sturdy blanket Love the new blankets that I purchased for both my horses and ponies the only issue is the leg straps tend to break otherwise the construction is lovely
    Date published: 2015-01-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket Bought this about 3 weeks ago, has held up beautifully. Really like the front clasp closure, makes it so much easier to take on and off. Would like to have a slightly larger tail flap but that's a minor complaint. Fits true to size I found and has stopped my mare from getting rubs on her chest.
    Date published: 2015-01-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Blanket! I just started putting a blanket on my 18 year old arab quarter horse this winter. This is the best blanket I have ever seen in all of my years being around horses. it is durable and easy to clean. My horse is a happy camper. Thanks Smartpak.
    Date published: 2015-01-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from You just can't beat a 10-year guarantee! There is no other way you could spend under $200 for 10 years of horse blankets. We've got them on both of our horses and plan to add neck blankets next fall. We've made 2 returns and it was simple and fast. No, you don't have to wait for the end of the season to do it.
    Date published: 2015-01-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! I like how the straps hook. It fits the horse well. Blanket is holding up well so far.
    Date published: 2015-01-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice overall blanket I bought this to replace my SmartPak Deluxe blanket because of the 10 year warranty-can't beat it for the price! Wish they offered the Ultimate in a high neck cut though.
    Date published: 2015-01-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from definitely worth it! I bought two of these for my 2 young geldings that have ruined 3 blankets this year. Only one managed to break a front clasp but customer service is sending a New one for me. My boys tend to tear there blankets up after only a week. These have made it a month with not a scratch on them. So glad I won't have to jeep buying blankets and have tho warranty on these. Highly recommended! The money u buy for more blankets will come out to more than these cost so just get them and save yourself the troubles!
    Date published: 2015-01-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The belly straps are protecte so they stay fastene the leg streaps could benefir by a different clip but the belly straps are protected from loosening because of the extra strap that covers them.
    Date published: 2015-01-21
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Stitching weak Like the warranty but first one lasted only 3 months
    Date published: 2015-01-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This blanket is the bomb!!!! I can't say enough about this blanket! Although my young horse finds a way to destroy everything, smartpak always happily responds and sends me a new one! He actually wears these longer than any other product I have tried! Owner tested, WInston approved!!!
    Date published: 2015-01-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice sheet! I bought this for my 4 year old warmblood that plays blanket tag with his one pasture buddy and this is holding up well so far!
    Date published: 2015-01-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SmartPak Honours Their Word! Although the initial purchase price seemed steep, I was buying 2-3 sheets a winter for my TB, as they all tore or were "love bitten" by his "brother." So the cost seemed a no-brainer. I bought my sheet shortly after SmartPak released this product. One always worries if such amazing guarantees can be true -- IT IS! The TB just received his 3rd (he has many talents) & each time, I have just called SmartPak, they provide return shipping payment, & send us a replacement.NO hassle, NO more spending hours stitching & patching, & the one we received just a few weeks ago is even better -- the lining is now nylon (our original was mesh) & the sheet feels even sturdier than it was before. Fit & hardware are great as well.If you have a horse who tears blankets, this one pays for itself & then some!!
    Date published: 2015-01-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pleasantly surprised Bought this for a big wb mare with even bigger shoulders. 87" fits her well with no shoulder rubs. Will look at buying for some of my other horses. Thanks SP.
    Date published: 2015-01-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice enough, but I didn't love the fit I ordered this blanket while it was on backorder and ended up buying a blanket from another boarder in the mean time. This one shipped sooner than expected (definitely a plus) and since it was already on its way, I decided to go ahead and try it on my horse. It was a nice looking blanket, but I didn't love the fit. The drop was good, I liked the front closures, but I didn't like how it hung it regards to the back of the blanket. It hung like a tent on my Appendix QH's butt, kind of coming out in the center. Even if I hadn't bought the other blanket, I'm not sure I would have kept this one. Fits true to size otherwise and returning couldn't have been simpler.
    Date published: 2015-01-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hefty, Durable, Strong Buckles I've had this blanket for 2 seasons now. It's held up wonderfully. The buckles are super strong and I expect this will last a long time. It's big in the shoulder but all blankets seem to be for my mare: small shoulders and big rump!
    Date published: 2015-01-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So impressed with the customer service My mare wore this blanket for over a year and then it got a tiny rip on the back of it. Smartpak stayed true to their word and has sent me a new one. I can't believe it. I will never buy anywhere else if I can help it.In the year she wore it, it did experience some fade from the sun/elements, but buckles/straps looked like new and the waterproofing was fine. I tell everyone at my barn about this blanket deal!!!!
    Date published: 2015-01-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Turnout I bought this blanket for my hard to fit 14 hand Haflinger. Most blankets aren't snug enough around his neck and the adjustments on this one made it possible to fit it perfectly. All the metal fittings are high quality and operate well. I'm very happy with it.
    Date published: 2015-01-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far the ultimate blanket has worked well I am pleased with the fit and durability of this blanket
    Date published: 2015-01-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The blanket seems to be well made.Two weeks in the field and there's no rips or tears yet. My horse is a gated Tennessee Walker and it fit her perfect. I am very much satisfied with the product and I would recommend it.
    Date published: 2015-01-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Impressive I purchased this for my 17h Thoroughbred-Appaloosa who has managed to demolish 4 different turnouts in the last 2 years. So far, this blanket has matched its advertising. Not even a small blemish yet. This blanket is, by far, easier to put on and take off due to the ingenious design of the front chest straps. First, you can adjust the length of the strap with the clip end, then there are 2 rings you can choose to attache it too. Both of these features make is a breeze to take on and off one you have fitted it the first time. The chest also has a generous velcro which helps to keep the front secure and in place. The snaps do not have to be manipulated to be put on. Just press against ring and boom, you're done. A quick press of the lever will allow removal. I am very pleased pleased so far and plan to purchase another for my Arab soon.
    Date published: 2015-01-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great return experience I bought this blanket 2 years ago. In November 2014 the tail flap got almost ripped off and there were some small holes started on the blanket. When I bought this blanket 2 year ago I told everyone about the 10 year guarantee and no one thought SmartPak would honor it. Well I can say “yes they did”. All the buckles worked the seams had no issues just the tail flap and the small holes starting. I sent this blanket back without calling SmartPak. I just attached my 2 year old shipping label to the box and sent it. The company never called or harassed me they just sent a new blanket. I will be buying more of these blankets just for the 10 year guarantee and great return experience.
    Date published: 2015-01-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I love it! Wish it came in more colors I love it's durability and everything about this blanket. The only think is I wish it came in different colors. I have 8 horses all wearing the exact same color blanket in different sizes. I had to invest in some name tags, but other than that I love it especially with the 10 year guarantee
    Date published: 2015-01-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the weight! I recently moved to Oregon from California, and my horse needed a warmer blanket. Now he's all cozey.
    Date published: 2015-01-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Loose fit, but great quality I bought this blanket about a month ago for one of my horses who lives next door to "Jaws". His neighbor eats holes in his blankets over their paddock fences, so we decided to try this one and the outstanding guarantee. I purchased it when Smartpak was offering a 20% off sale prior to Christmas, so the price was outstanding. He's been wearing it for a few weeks now, and so far it still looks perfect. The fit is large and loose. From the reviews, I ordered down one size, and could have gone down another if I wanted it to fit a little snugger. Mathis blanket is for a 17 hand + American Saddlebred with very high withers and a very upright neck. The blanket fits him well through the neck and shoulders. It's nice and snug in the neck, which is often a problem with turnout blankets for our horses. The rest of the body is not fitted, more like you just threw a blanket over the top of him. I'm used to our fitted stable blankets that are made specifically for asb's, Morgan's, Arabians, etc. however, the blanket is staying in place with the leg straps, so the fit doesn't seem to be an issue for him. My one big complaint is that the tail flap is not removable. For our horses that wear tail sets, it looks really weird to have the tail flap going over it. Normally I would have just cut it off, but I was afraid it would void the warranty on the blanket, so I have to deal with it. If the tail flap removed with velcro, I would have given the blanket five stars instead of four. If this blanket continues to hold up, I will probably replace all of my horses blankets with these in time.
    Date published: 2014-12-31
    • 2015-03-01T08:27CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_8, tr_224
    • loc_en_US, sid_10621, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco
    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco, a.k.a “Bud” Breed: Appaloosa Age: 24 years old PATH Intl. Accredited Center: Hearts & Horses Location: Loveland, CO Bud is an incredible equine therapist, and has been at Hearts & Horses the longest of

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.