Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

SmartPak Ultimate Turnout Blanket

SmartPak
- Item #20621

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Battle the elements this winter with the SmartPak Ultimate Turnout Blanket, our toughest waterproof blanket yet! With heavy-duty nylon, this blanket is great for a horse that is tough on blankets. We're so sure it will last for years to come that we've backed with a 10-Year Indestructible Guarantee. We've got you and your horse covered - no matter what! Imported.

10 Year Indestructible Guarantee- the fine print:
We are so confident in the toughness and durability of the SmartPak Ultimate Nylon Turnout Blanket, that if anything happens to this blanket within 10 years of your purchase, we’ll replace it—no matter what! It’s that easy. However, the guarantee does not cover blankets that have embroidery stitched on the barrel as it compromises the integrity of the blanket.  

Favorite Features

  • Heavy-duty nylon:  This special weave of nylon is ultra durable and resists rubs and tears.
  • 1000 denier nylon is ultra durable and the toughest blanket material available
  • Available in Light (no fill), Medium (220g)
  • Nylon outer is waterproof and breathable, so your horse stays dry and protected from the elements without feeling stifled underneath
  • Nylon lining
  • Two low-cross surcingles keep the blanket secure on your horse
  • Quick-clip front closures are easily adjustable and allow you to take your horse's blanket on and off effortlessly
  • Nylon/elastic leg straps allow freedom of movement and keep the blanket from shifting
  • Tail flap provides additional protection from the elements so your horse stays warm and dry

Sizing It Up

Available in sizes 69-87" (3" increments)

How to measure a horse

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    SmartPak Ultimate Turnout Blanket is rated 4.4309 out of 5 by 123.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit and nice looking! I love bought blanket because of the warranty. I have a 14.3 hand Mustang that parties like a frat boy in the pasture and is TOUGH on his clothing. He is also a bit of a Houdini pony. One day he even managed to remove his blanket liner without removing his actual turnout blanket or hood. Prior to the Ultimate Turnout blanket, it was to the point where I was dropping off one blanket per week for repairs. I love the fit of this blanket because it really does stay put. The straps allow me to get a close enough fit that he won't be able to Houdini his way out of it. During the really cold weather, I pair the blanket with a blanket liner and it works great. My only disappointment with the blanket is that when my horse ripped his blanket and I called for a replacement they were out of stock until next year. I am definitely considering buying this blanket in the lightweight for spring.
    Date published: 2014-02-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from LOVE the Fit, but wish there was more fill... The fabric is SUPER tough, and the fit on my Appendix QH gelding is fantastic. My only suggestion for improvement is a heavier fill option, but it does work fantastically with a light liner!
    Date published: 2014-02-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well fitting blanket with great features The blanket fits well, does not slide around, even on my rough board horses. The mid-weight has been perfect for the 15-40 degree days, even with the recent downpour, my horses were dry and warm. I love the snaps on the front--so much easier than buckles. So far, it has held up well, and I expect it to last several years.
    Date published: 2014-02-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely Awesome I was thrilled to find a blanket with a warranty because my horse has a history of destroying them and buying blanket after blanket gets expensive quick! Ive had it for about a month and the blanket still looks brand new despite my gelding rolling and roughing it out in the pasture with his buddies. The blanket colors are also handsome looking however I would like it if there were a few different color options, such as maybe plum and hunter. I give this product five stars and am happy to not have to buy another blanket for years to come due to the 10 year indesstructible guarantee!
    Date published: 2014-02-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far, so good After 3 weeks of use I examined the sheet for rips and couldn't find any. A few superficial scratches but nothing that comprises the integrity of the blanket. Awesome!
    Date published: 2014-02-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Highly recommended I've had this sheet on my pony who lives outside with a run in shed. I use the sheet as the outer protective layer and it still looks like I bought it yesterday. No rips from the other horses and its very clean, seems to repel dirt amazingly. I will purchase the medium weight as well. Only wish they had a heavy weight.
    Date published: 2014-02-20
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from I want to love it but... I bought two, a couple of weeks apart. My Rocky hates blankets and tore the front off the old one, so I bought one for him, and it looks great after 3 weeks of zero degree temps. So, I bought a 2nd one for my older horse who decided his old one was a tug toy. Well, less than a week later, the attachment for the belly band has torn completely off. I want to love them, and am sure that Smartpak will replace it, but I am a little discouraged.
    Date published: 2014-02-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2014-02-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from One of the best blankets out there I bought this a few weeks ago and my horse has had it on for a total of about 2 weeks, off when weather permits then back on again. The blanket is very resistant to tearing but my other horse has teeth of steel so there are a few small holes, maybe 1" long. This blanket has held up the best compared to all the other blankets I have tried. Still love it. Well worth every penny especially with the guarantee!
    Date published: 2014-02-10
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Did not fit correctly I thought I was going to love this one. However, the fit just didn't work for any of my four (same size) horses. The quality seemed high and I love the guarantee though. perhaps my horses are unusually shaped.
    Date published: 2014-02-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Read the fine print I bought this blanket over a month ago, got it embroidered but I didn't realize it till my friend pointed it out because it's in small print that I voided the warranty by having it on the barrel of the blanket
    Date published: 2014-02-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this blanket! Easy to put on, nice comfortable fit, well made. Only had a month so can't comment on durability.
    Date published: 2014-01-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket! I definitely recommend this blanket. Very nice quality and the fit is great. You can't beat the warranty!
    Date published: 2014-01-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Turnout Blanket I have three horse, every blanket I have ever bought has been a 78. I ordered a total of six blankets, 3 light, 3 medium. They all seem to be big, so I ordered a 75. The 75 fit all three of my horses. I had lost my packing slip for the return, SmartPak was most helpful, emailed me a return receipt, most appreciated.
    Date published: 2014-01-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very happy with this purchase! Bought this blanket a few weeks ago b/c our horse's paddock mates were tearing his old one. Been very pleased with it so far, holding up well and no tears from horses. Love the clips in front instead of usual buckles!
    Date published: 2014-01-28
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from thank god for the guarantee My horse is out 12 hours a day in a HUGE pasture with over 20 other horses. so, needless to say i need a blanket that can withstand playtime as well as the elements. I read these reviews and picked this blanket for my horse, who never shreds his blankets on anything, thinking that it would be great for bad weather, and if he did play it would withstand it.I bought the hood and the blanket in medium weight, the first day he came in the hood had ripped. the d ring at the top of the blanket was ripped off and the velcro side neck attachmets were pulled almost out of the neck piece.i still with a little invention and adjusting could use the hood, but i only put it on in rain/bad weather.The blanket itself was used about a week before it was ruined. he came in and the front straps were completely ripped and hanging loose. im still thankful that my horse is calm because if the blanket flipped over inside out and got tangled in his legs who knows what could have happened.thankfully there is this return policy on this blanket, maybe it was a freaky time in the herd and thats why the blanket ripped, i dont know. so im willing to try again because smart pak has such great customer service.
    Date published: 2014-02-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket, even better guarantee! I purchased my first Ultimate Turnout Blanket for my gelding to replace his beat up no-fill this Fall. I have loved it! He is out 24/7 and stays dry and blocked from the formidable winds. I have used it as the outer most layer during the "polar vortex" to make sure he was draft free. The material is different than other blankets, very dense. SmartPak lived up to their promise, and quickly replaced a broken snap on the hind leg strap. No questions asked. I am so happy with this blanket that I have purchased a second to upgrade my other horse's turnout. I plan to purchase the mediums for my guys next year and would LOVE more color options were available, so I could quickly pick the correct blanket for the occasion. Rather than having all black blankets for both horses.
    Date published: 2014-01-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great guarentee Unfortunatly my blanket ripped within the first 3 days. When I called to exchange it was hassle free. The call taker was pleasant and understanding. I'm currently waiting for the replacement, but I will purchase this again.
    Date published: 2014-02-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Holding up really well! I bought this several months ago and the first sheet that was shipped was defective and not waterproof. SmartPak was great about exchanging it for me very quickly! The second one has done really well so far even with some pretty heavy rain. I'm using it on my horse who is turned out 24/7 and notorious for destroying his blankets and doesn't have a single nick in it yet! The fit is great (ordered a 78 for my 16h TB).
    Date published: 2014-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ultimate Turnout Blanket I purchased this blanket for my mare last fall. After using it for two Wisconsin winters, the blanket looks as good as when I bought it. I highly recommend this blanket. It's very durable, stays in place on the horse and you can't go wrong with a ten year warranty.
    Date published: 2014-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Holding up well Cash has had his blanket for about a month now.   He a busy Thoroughbred and is quite rough on things, totally demolishing his last blanket.  So far, this one is holding up flawlessly! 
    Date published: 2014-01-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best fitting blanket ever! Belgian Quarter horse X mare, short coupled, and wide chest and a round voluptuous body. Short and wide to me means going up a size in other blankets. 15.2 and 75 fits her like it was custom made.  
    Date published: 2014-01-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from made it through my toughest clothes horse... She came in four days in a row with ripped (badly) turnout blankets, so I got this one for the excellent warrenty, and it is still (I am happy to say) in one piece without tears.I wish they would make a heavier weight one, I have several med weight SmartPak Ultimates now, I just put a stable blanket under the turnout blanket for extra warmth on very cold days, around here -30!
    Date published: 2014-01-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from great value, over all great product. i bought 3 of these blankets for my girls. the blankets are true to their size. they fit perfectly according to the measurements we took. one of my mares is the bottom of the totem pole and gets picked on frequently. the other blankets i have had for her reflect this since they have not made it through a 24 hour period without tears etc. this one has taken a beating and is still in pretty decent shape. there are a couple of nicks and a small tear but i really don't mind given everything else she has worn has been shredded within hours of turning her out with the others. he's been wearing this blanket for a couple months now and it's still holding up. this is a huge improvement from anything else I've put on her! my other 2 girls blankets look brand new and untouched after wearing them the same amount of time as the other mare. they are higher on the pecking order and don't have the other horses tearing into them every chance they get.  i have AQHA's and do wish that these came in more of a QH cut. i also am not the biggest fan of how the blanket is cut in the back. i don't know if is the way my horses are built but it seems like where the tail flap is should be cut a little higher so the back of the blanket sits at the top of their tail and just the tail flap sits over the tail.  its seems like it is not cut quite right here (to long in that area of the blanket) and because of that I've had some feces build up on the blankets due to it restricting their tail movement and just getting in the way. this hasn't been a huge issue yet just an annoyance since they are a little harder to get clean this time of year.  over all i do love these blankets and would buy it again.  i feel like i would be more in a hurry to get more if the above were applied to the blanket.  over all SP has done a great job with this blanket! i do think some minor adjustment would go a long way with it which is why i gave it a 4 star rating instead of 5.
    Date published: 2014-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great condition so far I ordered this blanket because my Rocky Mtn. Horse hates Winter blankets, and tore the front off his last one. So far this one is doing fine, but I think he also likes it because it has a smooth lining which does not pull his coat. I got the lightweight because he is pretty fit and doesn't need the extra warmth.
    Date published: 2014-01-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent blanket I got this to replace another turnout mid weight that ripped in one wearing. Smartpak customer service was awesome and took that blanket back, and I ordered this to replace it. It fits my huge mare wonderfully in all areas. The neck opening is there perfect size, not too snug but plenty wide, and doesn't slip back causing pressure points. She has only worn it once but it appears very durable, and with the 10 year guarantee and SP's great service, I know I can depend on it! I will certainly order this for my other horses as well when they need another blanket. I do wish it came in a heavy weight though!
    Date published: 2014-01-15
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Doesn't fit my horse right I bought this blanket because the new horse in my horse's pasture rips his blankets. I was hopeful that this blanket would solve the problem. Unfortunately it doesn't fit my horse right so I had to send it back. My horse has a laid back shoulder, high neck carriage and high withers, and when the blanket is put on my horse it gapes at the neck and doesn't sit right on his shoulder/withers. I think if I had a stock horse this blanket would have fit a lot better.
    Date published: 2014-01-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2014-01-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Value!!! I have 30 horses, many of which are turned out together. Their high play drives put a lot of wear and tear on blankets, however, true to their word, Smartpak continues to honor their warranty and replaces them without question everytime I send them back.  These blankets are the best I've ever bought for several other reasons also.  They fit very well, they wrap around the horses and seal in their body heat, so in spite of the medium weight (I was concerned they wouldn't be heavy enough in extreme cold) the horses are very warm, dry and comfortable. They offer superior protection in wet, windy, freezing conditions.  I could not be happier!
    Date published: 2014-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazingly Durable I bought this blanket two weeks ago, and my gelding LOVES it. And I love the fact that his bully of a pasture mate can't tear it to shreds! He stays nice and warm, and he never is wet when he comes in to eat. His last two blankets were being torn apart by this point, and I'll never buy another brand for him (though it looks like I won't need to, between the durability and the warranty). Highly suggest it, and definitely worth the money.
    Date published: 2014-01-12
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.