Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Mountain Horse Mountain Rider Pant

Mountain Horse
- Item #20553

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The Mountain Horse Mountain Rider Pant is sure to keep you warm and dry all winter long at the barn.  

  • Two-way full length zippers on each leg let you pull this pant on over bulky layers with ease
  • Windproof, waterproof, and full seam-sealed the the ultimate all-weather protection
  • Reflective piping for night visibility
  • Ergonomically shaped knees are double reinforced for durability 
  • Faux leather full seat for extra grip 
  • Adjustable waist so you can get the perfect fit no matter what you're wearing underneath
  • Adjustable-elastic foot straps keep the pants from riding up 
  • Traditional zippered front fly for easy on/off 
  • One front zipper pocket to keep your valuables secure

Outer shell and lining: 100% polyester.  Insulation: 100% fiberfill, 100g.Seat: 100% polyurethane.
Imported.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Mountain Horse Mountain Rider Pant is rated 4.6818 out of 5 by 22.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice pant for bad weather Features on the pants seems nice. They are very straight through the thigh, so I am currently trying to loose some weight in order to be able to lift my leg to get into the saddle. Great motivation in the deep freezes of January, but something with maybe a bit of stretch in the thigh/groin area would be more forgiving when mounting. Can't wait to acutally use them! :)
    Date published: 2014-01-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love mountain horse products I have bought several mountain horse brand items and have loved everyone...these pants will keep you warm. I am 5 4 And they are a bit too long but as long as I am warm I can deal with the length.
    Date published: 2014-01-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Warm but odd fitting They seemed warm and well made but they were really odd fitting. I'm 5'9 and found them to be super long, very high waisted, but yet still had about a two inch dropped crotch. The thighs were tighter than expected. That coupled with the drop in the crotch mmeant riding would be very difficult.
    Date published: 2014-02-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really nice product. I love there riding pants. They are warm, well made and very practical for the barn or riding. Thanks!,
    Date published: 2014-01-24
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from like the zip up legs I wish I could have ordered a Medium and 1/2.. wearing pants under them in the extreme cold made them tight in the thigh when riding.
    Date published: 2014-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable A rider friend bought a pair of these and I really liked hers, so I got a pair too. These are very nice! I wear a thin layer of long underwear underneath and have ridden in weather in the 20's and have been warm. The waist is higher than I expected, but does not cause discomfort. I'm 5'8", 150 lbs and bought size small. They fit perfectly.
    Date published: 2014-01-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice and Warm Cold Winter riding is no problem with these pants. The full seat gives plenty of grip on the saddle and my legs are comfortably warm. The pants have adjustable waist too. They are awesome!
    Date published: 2013-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from my new favorite winter pants I debated about spending the money for winter riding pants, but finally decided to try these.   I LOVE them!  They are comfortable and I love the full length zippers!  Haven't had a chance to ride or drive in them yet, but love them for doing barn chores and just working outside.     
    Date published: 2013-12-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from LOVE THOSE ZIPPERS! The first pair was too large and the second pair was slightly tighter in the left seat/thigh area. Waiting for exchange to see if it was a fluke. Otherwise, comfortable and appears to wear well. Full length zippers are great.
    Date published: 2013-12-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from High quality full seat winter riding "snowpants" These are great - I had an old pair that were too big on me due to recent weight loss. So I sold the old ones and bought a new pair in a smaller size (large). I really like the velcro waist, so I can adjust it to the exact right size. I haven't used these yet, but I used my old ones a lot so I see these as "new and improved." Makes me look forward to winter riding in Minnesota! Also, SmartPak had the best price on these on the internet.
    Date published: 2013-11-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Winter Barn Pants! These will make winter (in a very open, very drafty barn) not only bearable but maybe even pleasant! Even fleece-lined "winter" breeches were not going to do it for me when it's 20 degrees and windy and I'm out there for hours, but these things aren't messing around! Very heavy-duty and snuggly warm (like having your legs wrapped in a comforter, but without the bulk). They're well-constructed and look like they will hold up to a lot of wear. I was worried they might be too loose for riding and get bunched up underneath me, but they really don't. For being so much more substantial than breeches or jeans, they hang quite well once you're on the horse and it's easy to forget you have them on. The full-seat grippy patch is great. I think they would work very well for cold weather trail riding. Cons: The sizing is apparently unisex and even the XS is pretty enormous on my 5'4" 100lb frame. If you're a small woman, you might have a hard time making these fit properly. Luckily, there are some built-in adjustments that will help. There are these expandable and contractible Velcro "belts" at the waist, the bottom of the legs can be snapped closed to one of three different snaps, so even though the pants are really too long for me, I can kind of "wrap" the excess material around the back of my leg and snap it snugly so it doesn't drag on the ground or get in the way. The straps that go around your boot are also adjustable.  That does, however, bring me to the only other con I have about these: the elastic stirrup straps are quite flimsy compared to those on half-chaps. While everything else about these seems really durable, I'm worried about them fraying and breaking because they are so thin and naturally will take a beating being on the bottom of your boot all winter in the cold and the wet and the mud. 
    Date published: 2013-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! These pant are super warm and easy to take on and off. The medium size fits me great and I usually wear a 28 long. They are great!
    Date published: 2013-11-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice looking and well made These ran a little big for me. (medium) I am short waisted and thin in the thigh. These felt a little tall in the waist and too big in the thigh. They looked super nice, and to be well made. I may try to order a small and see how those fit. I highly recommend giving them a try. The quality looks to be outstanding. The only reason I gave durability a 4, I haven't had a chance to see how they would hold up to daily barn chores.
    Date published: 2013-01-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wear them every day I live at the top of Maine where temperatures dip severely. My pant size is 12, 30" inseam. I bought large & they are large, but not so as to interfere with function. I wear them over long-johns as well as over jeans (lined & unlined), also sometimes with long-johns under the jeans. They come up nicely in the back and the legs stay down over my boots. The side zips like to slide down unless I make sure they are secured above the velcro waist tabs. Have only had them a month so cannot say much about durability. But I do not treat my barn clothes tenderly, and they have not snagged or torn yet. Overall, despite a few issues, they are fully functional for riding, driving, and daily barn chores for 3 riding horses and one draft. So far better than anything else I have tried: they keep me warm; I can bend, move, climb. Not rating excellent but I might at the end of winter if they continue the way they have begun.
    Date published: 2014-01-29
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.