Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

SunShield Longsleeve Shirt by SmartPak

SmartPak
- Item #20137
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Look smart in this form-fitting, long sleeve shirt and feel even smarter knowing that it is protecting your skin from 98% of harmful UV rays. This shirt's lightweight, Australian Versatex material offers the best sun protection available, so you can leave your sunscreen at home during those long summer days at the barn. The SunShield's athletic look and feel makes it a great asset to your riding wardrobe, whether at the barn or in the show ring. Add a sweatshirt or jacket and you can wear it to the barn in the winter, too!

Favorite Features

  • UPF rating 50+
  • 3/4 zip neck line

Sizing It Up

You Might Like
    out of 5
    87% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SunShield Longsleeve Shirt by SmartPak is rated 4.4505 out of 5 by 91.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not my favorite sun shirt The SunShield shirt does it's job. However, it's a little warmer than other brands that I own. I wish it had ventilation on the sides/under the arms. It doesn't wash up as well as I'd like, and disappointingly has a few horse slobber stains that I'm going to have to spot treat (and this wasn't even from a normal LONG day at the barn for me!). The other thing I don't love is that the material snags easier than I was expecting. A few trips to the barn and this shirt is already looking more worn than it should. Am I in a hurry to buy another one? No, but they're worth it at a sale price.
    Date published: 2014-07-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the color Great colors, soft, comfortable, and cool. I only wish it were vented all the way down the long sleeve.
    Date published: 2014-07-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from SUNSHIELD LONGSLEEVE SHIRT MY WIFE TAKES MEDICINE THAT SUGGEST THAT SHE NOT GET IN THE SUN. THIS SHIRT ALLOWS HER TO BE OUT DURING THE DAY.
    Date published: 2014-07-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great fit Love this shirt! I bought 2 more in different colors. Washes well and is protecting me from the Florida sun real well. Sleeves and hem are nice and long to keep me covered.
    Date published: 2014-07-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice and cool and does the job Fit is somewhat loose but it does help keep you cool.
    Date published: 2014-07-08
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Liked but didn't love I think this would be a great shirt for temps in the mid-70s, but no higher. I've ridden in it around 80 with no humidity (and no breeze), and it was definitely warmer than a short sleeved shirt when we weren't moving around. The neck in particular was warm - great for sun protection; less great for sweat. I have a few other sun shirts from other non-equestrian manufacturers that dry more quickly and are cooler. Nice looking shirt but I wasn't enamored.
    Date published: 2014-06-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good but a bit heavier than expected I like this shirt and it definitely protects from the sun as claimed. However, it does not breathe as well as I would have hoped. I live in NC and am out in the sun much of the day and this shirt does keep me a bit warmer than a short-sleeved one would, although it does dry quickly. Cannot speak to durability yet- I have only had it for a month. Thin mesh under the arms would be a very welcome update to this shirt, and maybe a slightly stretchier fabric. Overall good but I probably will look for another lighter-weight sun-protection shirt for riding in the summer heat.
    Date published: 2014-06-03
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Runs Small I bought this really hoping it would fit true to the sizing chart. it does not. I wear an XXL top, and all of Kerrits XXL's fit well. I was so excited to find another company, but alas...not to be. I will be returning.
    Date published: 2014-05-09
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Beautiful color-stains came right out in the wash I love the color I got Tropical looks just like the image online. I have washed it a handful of times and seems to be holding up. The first day I got it got pretty dirty with horse grime and general barn gross stuff and it washed out beautifully can't even tell it was stained. Since I've only had it a month I gave it 2 stars for durability since I can't really comment on that. The sizing is a little big. A lot of the popular sun-blocking long sleeve shirts are tight, but this runs a little big. The small fits me fine, but isn't form fitting more a loose fit. For reference I am 5'5" 32D bust. My biggest complaint is the zipper is cheap and the part that touches my neck when it's fully zipped is irritating and itchy. There is no mesh under the arms, which I like because it keeps you cooler on hot sunny days which is when I like to wear my sun protecting shirts.
    Date published: 2014-05-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lightweight This shirt is lightweight and comfortable, which was exactly what I was hoping for. Living in Arizona, I will be able to wear it year round, even through the hot summer.
    Date published: 2014-05-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I forgot to say this is my second Sunshield Shirt.
    Date published: 2014-04-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfy and Light! I bought this along with a more expensive one from another company, and I love it! I will be purchasing another!
    Date published: 2014-04-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is my second Sunshield Shirt. I bought my first Sun Shield Shirt 2 years ago. It is still in great condition. Fit is good and it is not to hot to wear when the summer days are in the 100's.
    Date published: 2014-04-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable shirt I really enjoy wearing this shirt. This is the 2nd one that I've bought so that I have variation in colors. It is easy to move around in and a really nice weight for early spring layering. Washes easily and dries quickly hanging up. Haven't worn it in hot weather yet so I can't comment on comfort in warmer temperatures.
    Date published: 2014-04-23
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Too hot even for a Louisiana spring day Let me start by saying the shirt is beautiful... well made and the fit is great. I wore it during a mid morning hack on a typical Louisiana spring day. The sun was shining, pretty high humidity as is normal here and 80 degree temp. I got HOT!!! Really hot. I don't consider myself a smelly person but the shirt was rank after my ride. I was embarrassed and had to run home and change before having lunch with my barn mates. I would definitely wear this shirt on cooler days but I cannot imagine wearing it this summer.
    Date published: 2014-04-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice shirt This is a nice, comfortable shirt -like the covered zipperand the cut. Would prefer slightly more fitted, but would recommend.
    Date published: 2014-04-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Impressed with Sunshield I ordered two of the SunShield Long Sleeve Shirts by SmartPak - one in Blush Pink and one in Tropical. Absolutely love them! And honestly, I like the look of them better than the wrap collar shirts.
    Date published: 2014-04-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality I bought two of these shirts about 4 months ago. Both have held up perfectly, wash well (I hang dry), and still look like new. Fit is not skin tight, a little loose, which I really like. Sleeves are long (even for us tall folks) so will really cover all the way down to your wrist. I wear a womens 14, so bought the XL, and there is plenty of room.
    Date published: 2014-03-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Shirt - Runs Big I am 5'3 and weigh 136 lbs and I ordered the medium since I wear a street 8. The shirt is a looser fit but some previous reviews indicated that it might run large. It isn't so large that I want to return it but it isn't as close a fit as some of the ice fil shirts or under armor ones. I am in Southern California and the weight is working for spring but feel it might be too heavy and too loose for the hot summers. I love the coral stitching on mine and the material is great.
    Date published: 2014-03-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from AMAZING! So comfy, flexible and breathable! I had this for about 5 months now and not any imperfections!
    Date published: 2014-03-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable and well made I got this shirt in February, looking forward to the summer after a long winter (!) so I don't yet know how it performs in hot weather. I have worn it as a base layer, as another reviewer recommended, and it was great: comfortable, added warmth, wicked moisture. The cut is wonderful too, nothing constricting but not baggy. I plan to wear it year round. All it needs is to come in more colors!
    Date published: 2014-03-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cool, comfortable, and flattering! I am thrilled with the quality and comfort of this shirt. I was a little concerned about the fabric staying clean looking, but the silver color still looked good after several hours at the barn. I was amazed by how cool the top was - I might as well have been wearing a tanktop! It is flattering and VERY comfortable. It does run a touch large, but I like it that way. I do wish the torso was a bit longer so that it's easier to tuck in, but that's a very minor thing. I'll be ordered more of these tops!!
    Date published: 2014-02-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from This top just came in today so I have not had a chance to ride in it. The fabric is really nice. It is lightweight and I expect it to be nice to wear all year round. My only complaint is the XS is not smaller. I found this top to run a little large but it fits good enough so I am keeping it. I'll hopefully be able to save up enough money to buy some more.
    Date published: 2014-02-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Shirt for Southern summers I'm always looking for long sleeve shirts that keep me cool in the GA heat,and keep my arms from sunburning. This shirt does the trick--have worn on long trail rides, around the barn, in the ring, etc, and have never had a heat issue or sunburn. Fits well, pretty true to size in my opinion. I bought pink(lovely) and will buy more.
    Date published: 2013-11-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from A bit large I was SO excited to get this shirt with the deal from the calendar- buy 1 get one half off! At first I ordered a medium, but it was SO big so I exchanged for a small. I am a pretty average built girl and 5'8. I wish that the small fit me even tighter- but some may like a looser look. I have put the shirts through the dryer but they don't seem to be shrinking. I feel like they would feel cooler if they were skin tight- but since theres some room, when it's humid it's VERY humid. After washing maybe 5 times one has a pulled piece of thread, which is sad. Other than the size, I LOVE the royal blue color- it looked amazing with my grey breeches! I also like that I can layer the shirt to keep warm this winter- a year round shirt!
    Date published: 2013-10-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I have come to really love these long sleeve sun shirts. the shirt is light and so very comfortable. I wear 8 in street clothes and the medium is a perfect fit. I'm glad that Smartpak has gotten more colors in the top. I feel the shirt is a bit pricey, that is why it only got 4 stars for value. It is awesome not to have to worry about sun damage or the dreaded "farmers tan". I will be ordering more of these great tops!
    Date published: 2013-09-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice shirt I haven't had the shirt for very long but it is very comfortable. I usually have problems with sleeves being long enough but the sleeves on this shirt are just right! Love the soft pink color and may order another color as well.
    Date published: 2013-09-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Goodbye messy sunscreen. People who see me riding in this shirt always have some sort of comment."Aren't you hot?""How can you wear long sleeves? I'm dying out here."I just laugh and tell them to feel the material. I live where there is way too much humidity and constant searing sun. The fabric keeps the sun off of you, but at the same time I can feel a breeze through the shirt. After sweating up a storm and getting this shirt soaked, it is usually dry before I know it.After a recent ride my friend and I loaded the horses up to come home. In the truck I blared the A/C and my friend was freezing because her shirt was soaking wet. Not me! My shirt had already dried.It washes easily, tends to resist stains, and I throw mine in the dryer. It also doesn't wrinkle easily.
    Date published: 2013-08-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Longsleeve Shirt I bought this shirt in the "tropical" color, and it's very cute. The sizing--medium--is right on, and it is comfortable in the desert heat. I do think it's overpriced, and only bought it because Smartpak was having a 20% off promotion. That combined with my USEF membership discount made this a good buy. I will definitely buy another one next time they are discounted.
    Date published: 2013-08-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this shirt! Went from the jumper ring to the hunter ring (just added a hunt coat!) with this shirt! Stayed very cool in it. It washed well, but I did have to wash it several times to get some kind of brown/black horse yuk-yuk off it. But I guess that's to be expect with a white shirt! Held up very well to all the washings!
    Date published: 2013-07-28
    • 2015-02-27T08:03CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_8, tr_83
    • loc_en_US, sid_10137, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco
    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco, a.k.a “Bud” Breed: Appaloosa Age: 24 years old PATH Intl. Accredited Center: Hearts & Horses Location: Loveland, CO Bud is an incredible equine therapist, and has been at Hearts & Horses the longest of

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.