Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

SunShield Longsleeve Shirt by SmartPak

SmartPak
- Item #20137

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Look smart in this form-fitting, long sleeve shirt, and feel even smarter knowing that it is protecting your skin from 98% of harmful UV rays. With a UPF rating of 50+, this shirt’s lightweight, Australian Versatex material offers the best sun protection available, so you can leave your sunscreen at home and not have to worry about reapplying during those long summer days at the barn. The shirt’s athletic look and feel along with a generous 3/4 zip neckline make it a great asset to your riding wardrobe, whether at the barn or in the show ring. Add a sweatshirt or jacket and you can wear it to the barn in the winter, too!


You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    SunShield Longsleeve Shirt by SmartPak is rated 4.5455 out of 5 by 66.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Shirt for Southern summers I'm always looking for long sleeve shirts that keep me cool in the GA heat,and keep my arms from sunburning. This shirt does the trick--have worn on long trail rides, around the barn, in the ring, etc, and have never had a heat issue or sunburn. Fits well, pretty true to size in my opinion. I bought pink(lovely) and will buy more.
    Date published: 2014-03-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from A bit large I was SO excited to get this shirt with the deal from the calendar- buy 1 get one half off! At first I ordered a medium, but it was SO big so I exchanged for a small. I am a pretty average built girl and 5'8. I wish that the small fit me even tighter- but some may like a looser look. I have put the shirts through the dryer but they don't seem to be shrinking. I feel like they would feel cooler if they were skin tight- but since theres some room, when it's humid it's VERY humid. After washing maybe 5 times one has a pulled piece of thread, which is sad. Other than the size, I LOVE the royal blue color- it looked amazing with my grey breeches! I also like that I can layer the shirt to keep warm this winter- a year round shirt!
    Date published: 2014-03-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I have come to really love these long sleeve sun shirts. the shirt is light and so very comfortable. I wear 8 in street clothes and the medium is a perfect fit. I'm glad that Smartpak has gotten more colors in the top. I feel the shirt is a bit pricey, that is why it only got 4 stars for value. It is awesome not to have to worry about sun damage or the dreaded "farmers tan". I will be ordering more of these great tops!
    Date published: 2014-03-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice shirt I haven't had the shirt for very long but it is very comfortable. I usually have problems with sleeves being long enough but the sleeves on this shirt are just right! Love the soft pink color and may order another color as well.
    Date published: 2014-03-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-09-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Goodbye messy sunscreen. People who see me riding in this shirt always have some sort of comment."Aren't you hot?""How can you wear long sleeves? I'm dying out here."I just laugh and tell them to feel the material. I live where there is way too much humidity and constant searing sun. The fabric keeps the sun off of you, but at the same time I can feel a breeze through the shirt. After sweating up a storm and getting this shirt soaked, it is usually dry before I know it.After a recent ride my friend and I loaded the horses up to come home. In the truck I blared the A/C and my friend was freezing because her shirt was soaking wet. Not me! My shirt had already dried.It washes easily, tends to resist stains, and I throw mine in the dryer. It also doesn't wrinkle easily.
    Date published: 2014-03-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Longsleeve Shirt I bought this shirt in the "tropical" color, and it's very cute. The sizing--medium--is right on, and it is comfortable in the desert heat. I do think it's overpriced, and only bought it because Smartpak was having a 20% off promotion. That combined with my USEF membership discount made this a good buy. I will definitely buy another one next time they are discounted.
    Date published: 2013-08-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this shirt! Went from the jumper ring to the hunter ring (just added a hunt coat!) with this shirt! Stayed very cool in it. It washed well, but I did have to wash it several times to get some kind of brown/black horse yuk-yuk off it. But I guess that's to be expect with a white shirt! Held up very well to all the washings!
    Date published: 2014-02-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I want every color! I love this shirt. What a great feel and it fits perfect.
    Date published: 2013-07-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My New Favorite Shirt I love this shirt. I don't sweat through it at all, and I ride in the South Florida summer heat and humidity. Fits great - not too tight, not too lose - and is so light and comfortable. Definitely buying another.
    Date published: 2013-07-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great shirt! Love these! They keep my arms covered and yet are cool enough for me to wear on a hot day. I also like how, even though they are cool, they can still be worn on a cooler day without making me colder (like some of the other cool-wear tops). Have these in 3 colors now...maybe Smartpak can get some new colors -- navy and kelly green would be fun!
    Date published: 2013-06-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for the jumper ring! Love this shirt for it's great fit and fun colors. Highly recco the Pinks (both the soft and the bright) and the Tropical Blue.... so pretty! Great quality and feel to the fabric, not so heavy as to be bulky but heavy enough to hold up to what us riders put our shirts through. Looks gorgeous in the jumper ring for shows and I added a custom monogram for that perfect show ring touch. Such a great all around piece to own. And fit is true to size, fitted in a good way and plenty long enough. I wear a 12 or large in almost everything and a large worked great.
    Date published: 2013-06-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Sun Protection This shirt feels light and most importantly protects me from getting fried in the summer sun! Also cute enough to wear with jeans. May have to get a few more colours!!
    Date published: 2013-06-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great shirt; sizing odd The shirts feel great, keep me cool and look really good. I have gotten compliments. Only issue is that I purchased pink which fit great. Then I purchased turquoise which is MUCH larger in the same exact size. The pink size large was perfect, but the turquoise large is very baggy. Hmmm
    Date published: 2013-06-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super! I am quite heat intolerant. I threw this on today and after riding for 45 min in 85 degrees and muggy, I realized that I had not broken a sweat! This shirt is very soft and comfortable and it wicked away the sweat. Really kept me much cooler than I had thought. I'm buying more!
    Date published: 2013-06-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great shirt With all of the talk going on about these shirts that are supposed to help you keep cool, I wanted to try it out and see if it was true without spending a fortune. Great shirt and it really does keep you cool. I would order a size up because after retrieving it from the dryer, it did shrink quite a bit. I've already placed an order doe another one in a differently color:)
    Date published: 2013-06-10
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Sadly disappointed I made a trip to the store to try this shirt on because I don't like buying without trying. I had high hopes but was so disappointed. I'm allergic to the sun and really wanted this shirt to fit and it didn't.I took 4 different XL long sleeve shirts into the dressing room and all of them fit differently. One was tight, 1 wasn't centered on my body, all of them had puckered seams in the front where the slenderizing stitching was and the sleeves completely covered my hands and actually ended below my fingertips.Not all of us are tall and thin. Some of us have broad shoulders, a well sprung rib cage and muscular arms.I couldn't justify spending $70 on a shirt that didn't fit or lay well on my torso. SmartPak should consider maybe using realistic models or consider creating a petite line.I can't judge anything about this shirt except the fit. I talked to sales people in the store and also called the customer service line. Customer service said to review it anyway so I did.
    Date published: 2014-03-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-06-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from New favorite shirt Very comfy and breathable, perfect for protecting yourself from the sun while staying cool.
    Date published: 2013-06-03
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Everything a little "off" I'm the American average: 5' 6" healthy/slender build, not tiny, your average size 8-10. Although the top seemed true to size, I felt the fit and cut were just not attractive. The seeming in the photos looks nice, but ... I'm not sure that I received the same shirt. The color, blush pink, was more intense than a blush. The color is bright--more like a stuffed Easter Bunny pink. So I didn't think it was worth paying $70 for wearing a bright-colored, poorly designed shirt, when there are so many other summer protective/technical shirts out there now. I returned it.
    Date published: 2014-03-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice shirt I haven't had a chance to wear it yet. I just had shoulder surgery. I like the feel and fit. Plenty large, which I like. The aleeves are a good inch or two too long. Will be good on cooler days when the bugs are out. Thinking about ordering a short sleeve for summer.
    Date published: 2014-03-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Sun Shirt I hate wearing sunscreen. This shirt is great!I did not want a skin tight fit so I ordered the large. It fits perfectly.The sleeves are long enough to cover the back of my hands.I wore it on a 90 degree day and was very comfortable. Enough air passed through the material to keep me from sweating. Another plus - with the shirt zipped up I stayed bug free. The collar comes up high enough to protect the neck very well.I bought the shirt for riding but it is nice enough to wear anywhere.It did not come with washing instructions so I threw it in the washer (warm with cold rinse) and tossed it in the dryer on low. It came out beautifully. No wrinkles - just put it on a hanger and you're done.
    Date published: 2014-03-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice for Sun Protection I ordered a large because I thought it would run small...returned for a medium. Runs truer to size than I expected for a "house brand." I ordered the blue - nice color! Great fabric, but I haven't laundered it yet.
    Date published: 2014-03-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Protection After a close call with melanoma last year, I knew I needed to really increase the amount of sun protection I used, especially during the long hours spent at the barn. Sometimes I just get tired of putting on layers and layers of sunscreen every day, so I thought I'd give this shirt a try and see if it could not only protect my skin, but keep me cool in Florida's awful heat and humidity. I got one hot pink and one silver shirt, and wore the silver yesterday. I love it! I didn't feel suffocated in the long sleeves, despite the heat. I'm 5'7" and 125 lbs. It runs a little bit big, but I prefer to wear looser clothing, so I'm happy with the fit. I'm so excited to wear these shirts over the summer, not just at the barn, but everywhere. I highly recommend them!
    Date published: 2014-03-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE this shirt!!! Wonderful material, keeps me just as cool as if I were wearing a t-shirt, if not cooler since it wicks away moisture! Love all the colors and the fit is pretty normal. I normally wear an adult small and wear a small in these, but if you're a "fuller filly," do remember that these are athletic activity shirts, so they aren't meant to be real loose! Mine isn't skin tight--that would defeat the purpose of keeping you cool. But there isn't a ton of gap either, it really fits just right! Do be careful with the material, I probably wouldn't test it by rubbing rough velcro or wood across it, but again, it's an athletic activity shirt designed for wicking purposes, it's not going to be quite as durable as a cotton shirt! I've used mine for everything from lessons to clinics to horse trials to cubbing with our hunt club (we're allowed to hunt in polo shirts early on in the season). I have 2 right now and just ordered 2 more! Love love love it!
    Date published: 2014-03-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from In LOVE! I absolutely adore these shirts. I was unsure of what size to order, as some reviews claimed that they run small, but I went with my usual medium (5'4, 155, most of which is on the lower half!) and it fits perfectly. The shirt is extremely comfortable and lightweight, and doesn't itch when I start sweating.My only concern is the durability. I know there are lots of sun shirts out there (EIS, Wellington, Ariat, etc) but what concerns me about all of them-- Smartpak's included-- is the delicate fabric. I spend hours at the barn every day, and I worry about snags. I already have a small snag in this one, just from being worn twice. I feel like these should be reserved for lessons, clinics and horse shows. They just are't tough enough for those of us who are hard on our clothing.Overall, and excellent purchase. I'm excited to pick up more colors! Smartpak, can we please get a navy and a green?
    Date published: 2014-03-25
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from XS runs really big! I was really excited to get this shirt since it's a nice-looking alternative to the more expensive EIS shirts, but the fit was absolutely huge. I am a size 0/XS in regular clothes and ordered the XS, and I was swimming in it. It wasn't at all fitted on me -- fits like a S (or larger) in other brands. Unfortunately had to send it back.
    Date published: 2013-03-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love This Shirt Cool to ride in. Love the zipper at the neck line !!
    Date published: 2014-03-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable shirt I love this shirt. Its really comfortable and nice to wear while working at shows or at home. My only complaint is the arms run a little long but otherwise great shirt.
    Date published: 2014-03-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great riding shirt I bought this shirt in blue, size medium and liked the look, fit, and comfort so much that I ordered another one in white. The white size medium was too large, but SmartPak promptly exchanged it for a small. Beware of inconsistent sizing when buying multiples, otherwise, great shirt!
    Date published: 2014-03-25
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.