Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Plymouth Padded Fancy Stitch Bridle by SmartPak

SmartPak
- Item #17734
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).


Plymouth bridles are crafted in imported leather with fine details and stainless steel hardware at an unbeatable value.  Traditional styling and unprecedented quality in this price range.  Available exclusively at SmartPak. 

Padded fancy stitch bridle with excellent detail at an unbeatable price - you will be amazed at the quality and craftsmanship and an unheard of price.  Traditional styling with delicate fancy stitching on 3/4” brow and 5/8"noseband. Hook stud ends and stainless steel hardware with 1/2” cheeks.  Complete with 5/8” plain laced reins.
Size:  Pony, Cob, Full, O/S
Color: Brown

You Might Like
    out of 5
    95% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Plymouth Padded Fancy Stitch Bridle by SmartPak is rated 4.6165 out of 5 by 133.
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from not bad Not bad. leather is soft and supple. There are a couple of spots in the leather that have a small blemish discoloration or scratched.
    Date published: 2014-11-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great bridle for the price! Came very supple right out of the packaging! Looks like a much more expensive bridle than it is. Will work for either schooling or show. Love it so far!
    Date published: 2014-10-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quality leather I bought this a few weeks ago and it came out of the box supple and soft.
    Date published: 2014-10-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great price without compromising quality Have two of these great bridles for pony's in my lesson program. Reasonable price wise to use every day and nice enough quality for when we show
    Date published: 2014-10-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love the thick braided reins. Great quality bridles for the price.
    Date published: 2014-10-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE this bridle Have been using for about 3 weeks. Nice leather right out of the box. Oiled the reins a bit to soften them, the headstall was super. Lot of bang for the buck. Looks just as good as a high price bridle!
    Date published: 2014-10-07
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Hasn't Held Up I bought this bridle to replace an older Plymouth. The original Plymouth held up and looked beautiful for years. The replacement has been used 4-5 days per week for about two months now and the leather has lost its finish on the crown and side pieces in the buckle areas. I am religious about wiping my tack after every ride and am rather disappointed it has not held up well at all.
    Date published: 2014-09-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Buy Great quality item for the price. Leather was much nicer than expected and it is a great fit!
    Date published: 2014-07-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice looking bridle for the money I only gave this 4 stars because the first bridle they shipped me had a keeper break immediately. Second one was fine. Looks 'show worthy'
    Date published: 2014-07-24
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good for training bridle We were a little disappointed with the stiff reins. We even considered trading them out for our "rainbow" ones since the weave on the reins is pretty bumpy. Also the neck band loop is extremely tight and hard to unfasten- it usually takes an adult rider to undo it. The bridle itself is fine for training purposes tho.
    Date published: 2014-07-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ordering a second one for my other horse I bought this bridle about a year ago and noticed how quickly it's become my favorite one to use. I'm always grabbing for this one instead of my others, so I decided to solve that problem and buy another one. The full-size bridle is a perfect fit for my horse that has a large head (almost like a draft horse) and my thoroughbred horse. The bridle is very supple and flexible, well made, and beautiful. The color is pretty versatile too, as it looks seems to match well with most of my saddles. Besides my horses, this is the best purchase I've made yet. :)
    Date published: 2014-06-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from amazing quality for the price! This bridle is exceptionally nice for the price. I think you could spend another 50-70 on a bridle and not get better than this. Looks great too. Sizing is average. ..my TB has a fine head and horse size bridles are usually on last holes. That is the case with this one as well.
    Date published: 2014-05-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bridle Nice bridle, great price, wonderful service. I'm so glad SmartPak is here for me.
    Date published: 2014-05-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from super bridle for a great price I bought this bridle a year ago for showing at the local level. I used it straight out of the box and could not believe how soft it was and how nice it looked. I'm now using it everyday and it looks just as good as the day I bought it and 10 times softer (like butter). My trainer bought one and I just bought a second.I am a bargain shopping with high price taste and this is by far my favorite bridle
    Date published: 2014-05-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bridle for the price! Super high quality for the price, already nice and dark leather as well as very supple out of the box. Will use it for a show bridle for local shows. Nicest bridle I've ever bought in the $50-75 price range. Love my SmartPak discount!
    Date published: 2014-04-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality for Price The stitching was well done, leather soft and supple, and super easy to put together. Great deal for the price, I would totally recommend this bridle.
    Date published: 2014-04-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nicest $75 bridle EVER!!!!! First, let me say that my final price on this bridle was about $55 since it was on sale for 15% off and I got my USEF 5% discount. I have this bridle in both black and brown for my 33 year old Welsh pony. I first purchased the black one for the pony a couple years ago and it was beautiful. Then I had a few friends purchase it and it appeared to have been changed and of a "lesser" quality (which was still great quality for this price). I expected the new brown one to be more like the ones my friends had purchased, but it wasn't. It was back to the EXCEPTIONAL quality of the ones I bought two years ago! SmartPak obviously listened to their customers and read the reviews because they certainly fixed the issue. Thank you SmartPak for always carrying such nice products at such great prices.
    Date published: 2014-03-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value This bridle is made of beautiful, quality leather for the right price. I love it, and it looks great on my dark bay! I never thought I would find such a nice bridle for under $100. Would definitely recommend.
    Date published: 2014-03-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely bridle at a great price Bought this bridle on sale last month and I love it! For $80 it really exceeded my expectations. The leather is not as high of quality as my old Edgewood (obviously) but as a schooling/lower level show bridle, it’s beautiful. It’s nice out of the box but a little stiff. That being said, a girl at my barn has the same bridle and she said she just stripped it with diluted ammonia then oiled and rolled it and hers is as soft as they come. I just haven’t gotten around to it yet. Color is good, dark but not too dark. Looks nice on my bay. I just want the stitching to get a little less white (very stark contrast!) but that’ll happen fast once I start riding in it regularly, I’m sure.As far as sizing, the Full fits my 16.1h Oldenburg with a very typey head perfectly. I’ve seen a few reviews talking about a small noseband but I had no problems. Padded crown seems comfy for my sensitive boy and reins will be nice on my hands once oiled (they’re fine now before I’ve done anything to them, but not soft yet).Obviously I don’t know how mine will hold up, but the friend I mentioned earlier has had hers for I believe 2 years and it looks great. She does a light cleaning every time she rides with glycerin soap and a deep cleaning before shows or every few months. No frayed stitching, all the leather looks as nice as the day she first brought it to the barn. It’s a little darker than mine after oiling but not by much. All in all, a great product for the price, and with free returns it’s definitely worth trying out.
    Date published: 2014-03-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality for the price I just purchased this bridle for my new gelding as a schooling bridle. I didn't have high hopes for quality with a price tag under $100, but when I opened the box I was pleasantly surprised. The leather is butter soft and the bridle is well made and attractive. It is nice enough that it wouldn't be out of place in the show ring. Full size fits my OTTB's jug head quite nicely. I can't speak to durability yet, but it looks as though it will hold up to heavy use. My only complaint is that it only comes in one color. It is a nice oakbark color, but having a lighter option would be nice for those of us with lighter saddles.
    Date published: 2014-02-23
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Pretty but not Quality I was very excited about this bridle, however when I took it out of the bag it was very stiff and the reins squeaked. But the stitching was nice and the padding was soft. I ended up exchanging it for the harwich padded stitched bridle and my horse and I love it.
    Date published: 2014-02-15
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice for the price but photo was not accurate Compared to other bridles in this price range that I have seen and touched in real life, the quality of this seems very nice - the leather was supple right out of the bag and did not feel or look plastic, and the stitching was neatly done. However, I ended up returning this bridle because the padding - which in the photo appears to be the same color as the rest of the bridle - is significantly lighter in person. As soon as I unpacked it I noticed the difference in color, and it wasn't what I was looking for.
    Date published: 2014-01-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from even my trainer commented! I bought this bridle a year ago; it arrived supple and has remained so with regular cleaning and conditioning (needed minimal oiling).  I first purchased full sized but returned it for an over sized as my 16'2" WB paint has a somewhat large head.  The full was just a bit snug in the browband and noseband areas; the O/S has longer cheek pieces which fit on the tightest setting.  This bridle is beautiful; been using it a year and it looks brand new; my trainer commented on it today!  I prefer it to the much more expensive Harwich Padded Fancy Stitch bridle I bought a year previously.  I would strongly recommend it as an everyday or show bridle.   It IS a dark brown color which my not appeal to everyone but it matches my Delgrange PJ saddle perfectly!
    Date published: 2013-12-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Beautiful bridle that looks great on my horse, leather was a little stiff at first but fairly easy to break in.
    Date published: 2013-11-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great leather, great price For being made in India, this bridle is made really well. I'm very happy with the leather quality. I got a Cob size for my five year old NSH mare who is 15hh. Everything fits her great, except for the nose band. It is always on the first of second hole, and when I first tried it on, I thought I wouldn't be able to buckle it! My mare has a weird face to fit, and it is the first bridle I have found that fits her well everywhere!
    Date published: 2013-08-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice bridle I purchased this bridle to be able to put another 'show bit' on since I show several horses. I was pleased with the look and the quality. Can be used for everyday and show without the huge price tag.
    Date published: 2013-08-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely bridle The perfect hunter/jumper/eq schooling bridle! Very good quality. A friend of mine commented, "THIS is your schooling bridle???" thinking that it was too nice for the job! Hardly needed oiling. Could even make it in the show ring if you're on a budget.
    Date published: 2013-08-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for schooling I use this bridle for everyday schooling. It is definitely suitable for low level showing (local, schooling, or "C" shows) but I have an expensive show bridle that I invested in. The padding on the noseband goes all the way around, which is very rare to find in a bridle. I got it plated and while the plate was well done and tightly secured, it was awkwardly off to the side a little bit. My 16.2 dutch warmblood wears a full size in this bridle. Nice bridle, quality leather. If you are looking for a bridle in this price range, I would definitely go with this one.
    Date published: 2013-07-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bridle! I read all the reviews I could find on pony bridles before i bough this one. It's great. Great value, nice looking bridle... Wonderful. So glad we picked this one!
    Date published: 2013-07-09
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Broke after 4 weeks I thought I'd update my original review now that we've been using the bridle for about 4 weeks. It has been cleaned, conditioned, and oiled several times, used for light w/t riding by a child on a medium pony...and after about 15 rides the throatlatch is breaking off where the buckle end comes off the headstall.I realized when I bought an $80 bridle it would probably not last years and years but I definitely expected more than a month out of it. Very disappointed.
    Date published: 2013-07-05
    • 2015-03-02T07:22CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_129
    • loc_en_US, sid_7734, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco
    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco, a.k.a “Bud” Breed: Appaloosa Age: 24 years old PATH Intl. Accredited Center: Hearts & Horses Location: Loveland, CO Bud is an incredible equine therapist, and has been at Hearts & Horses the longest of

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.