Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Plymouth Dressage Bridle by SmartPak

SmartPak
- Item #17211

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).


Plymouth bridles are crafted in imported leather with fine details and stainless steel hardware at an unbeatable value. Traditional styling and unprecedented quality in this price range. Available exclusively at SmartPak. Beautifully crafted with a raised and soft padded 1" flash noseband and 3/4" browband.  A perfect schooling bridle designed for daily use. Updated hook stud closures on 5/8” cheeks. Complete with 5/8" web reins with leather stops.
Size: Pony, Cob, Full, O/S
Color: Black with black padding

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Plymouth Dressage Bridle by SmartPak is rated 4.6577 out of 5 by 149.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bridle Bought this bridle for my WB and he loves it! He used to get sores from bridles that weren't supple enough but this one is the exact opposite!
    Date published: 2013-08-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loving It! This is really more than I expected for the price. Quite supple leather which grows even softer with conditioning and use. It's fitted itself to my horse's face very well after just a few weeks of wearing it. Nice rich black (which does rub off a little bit with the first cleaning, but you can't tell to look at it) with a few details that make it look high quality. Everyone's remarked that it must have been expensive, and they're surprised when I say it was actually pretty reasonable.The only thing I'm a less than thrilled with are the web reins, which were stiff and unpleasant-feeling to start with. They're getting better though. I'm going to give them a chance for a few months.After reading that the cob size seems to run small--particularly for the cavesson-- I bought the horse size for my average-size QH (who does not have a particularly delicate head) and I've had to put it on the second-to-last-tightest holes. It's not a problem and suits her fine, but I think the horse size would easily fit a pretty big horse.It's a smart looking bridle with a nice price tag, and I'm really pleased I got it.
    Date published: 2014-02-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from beautiful bridle supple AMAZING BUY!! I ordered this bridle for my warmblood to have a training bridle to leave at the barn. WOW was i amazed at the quality!! right out of the bag it was very supple and butter soft. honestly i can't imagine spending 200 on a bridle when you can buy this brand. Its lovely and i would show in it in a heartbeat. Its held up well and i can't see myself buying another brand. Another home run from smart packs!!
    Date published: 2014-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this bridle I was looking for a good schooling bridle for my two thoroughbreds one who is very large gelding and the other a very petite cob mare. I ordered first for my gelding and it fits him perfectly! It looks great and is very soft out of the box, he really seems to prefer it over his old bridle and it has long enough reigns so I'm not holding them at the buckle. It has been very durable so far and gets daily use, I wipe it down after each use and clean and condition it once a week but have had no need to oil it so far. I loved it so much I just ordered another one for my mare after having ordered and returned an HDR that was more expensive, was ill fitting, and felt cheap compared to this one. I love the soft padding and quality of the workmanship and will definitely be ordering moe smartpak products in the future.
    Date published: 2014-03-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Value Bridle I bought this bridle to school in, however, I now show in it too. The leather is so soft and flexible, there was no break in time needed. It looks super on the horse too! I cannot say anything about longevity, as I have not owned it long enough. I certainly would purchase another one though.
    Date published: 2013-12-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice bridle I have bought two hunt bridles in this brand, and now the dressage bridle. The price is right, and quality is good. The one negative I can complain about is the web reins. I hate web reins. The hunt bridles have laced leather reins, I don't know why they didn't include leather reins with the dressage bridle?? Overall, a good buy.
    Date published: 2013-06-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful bridle, sizing off... This bridle is absolutely beautiful for the price. The leather seems to be of a slightly above average quality, which is great for the low price.My only complaint, the ONLY reason it did not get five stars, is the sizing. My TB mare is always on the tightest settings in horse size bridles. Many times I can't get the cheek pieces tight enough to get it where she likes it.So, I went with a cob in the bridle and it is just slightly too small. The cheek pieces are perfect on the loosest setting and the throat latch is fine, but the noseband won't even fasten right now. It sits too high, which is the main problem. Luckily, there is plenty of room to punch holes to make the noseband sit lower and enough room for one more hole to make the noseband looser.Overall, I am happy. Like I said, the bridle is beautiful and I recommend it, just be careful with the sizing.
    Date published: 2013-06-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great quality, funny sizing I was looking for a basic everyday bridle for trail riding to save my good dressage one from the rain and sweat of everyday use. It is soft and usable right out of the bag (although I will oil it before it goes into use). The sizes are a bit funny. My 17.2h warmblood with a big long head was too small for the oversize (bridle just fit on the shortest holes of the cheekpieces but as they usually stretch over time I went one size down), so I changed it for the horse size. This works well in the length, but I would prefer if the browband was a little bit longer as not to squish the base of the ears. If I can't stretch it I will have to get a longer browband sometime in the future. Can't comment on fit of noseband as I am not planning on using one for trail riding and so I didn't unpack it. Can't comment on durability as I only just unpacked and fitted it today.
    Date published: 2013-06-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best bridle for the money I got this bridle for the retired racehorse I just adopted because I wanted something cheap for training. However, I am very impressed with the quality. Unlike some of the other reviews, I found it to be so supple out of the bag that I opened it up and used it on my horse immediately! Other reviewers are correct in that the noseband pieces in the cob size are small. I bought the cob for my TB and it fits perfectly except for the noseband pieces are on the first hole. Not really a big deal, but something to keep in mind. I will continue to use this bridle as long as it hold up
    Date published: 2013-06-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! There is nothing I don't like about this bridle. I have tried others but none really fitted. This bridle seems to be made just for him. I am very happy and so is my pony!
    Date published: 2013-06-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Deal! I have purchased a previous Plymouth Bridle and was pleased with it so I knew what I wanted when I was searching for my Dressage Bridle. The leather is supple rite out of the bag and is easy to adjust. It fit's my TB perfect and looks great on him! Plus how can you beat the price!
    Date published: 2013-05-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the quality! Bought the cob size for my15.2 Arabian, fits well all round. The throat latch is a bit big. Love that it's nice and supple. Packaged nicely, came disassembled, each piece in its own plastic wrapper. Do wish I had bought the next one up, but they increased their price on it right after I bought this one.
    Date published: 2013-05-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So many complements! I just love this bridle! I get so much praise over it, it is made so well and the leather is so soft right out of the box. I highly recommend this bridle!
    Date published: 2013-05-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I was very surprised at the quality of this bridle for such a reasonable price. The leather is substantial yet soft and pliable, and the hardware is very well constructed. I haven't used it long enough yet to speak to durability (the only reason I didn't give 5 stars) but it certainly is a beautiful bridle and of good quality. It is my first dresssage bridle, bought based on the great reviews here. It is a fantastic choice for a pretty yet practical buy.
    Date published: 2013-05-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Oops! This bridle is great for schooling and general use, even for showing. I received one for christmas and in the past few weeks got around to fitting it to my eventer and used it this past weekend. If the bridle is not broken in or ridden in often, especially with the noseband, do not "sit" quite well on the horse. I have been fighting to make the noseband horse-face shaped rather than flat. The only issue I have had with it is my horse ran off with it only about halfway on and tore the throatlatch but nothing else! I was actually really impressed! I'll probably be buying another one soon..
    Date published: 2013-04-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Soft and supple right out of the box Despite some of the reviews saying that they had to oil their bridle when it arrived, I was so impressed with mine. Its soft , flexible and the browband and cavesson are very well padded. A beautiful and functional work bridle. The leather seems a bit cheap, however I don't mind that in a work bridle as long as the leather is flexible and soft. The headstall is lovely. Nice Job SmartPak!
    Date published: 2013-04-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Bridle! I bought this to use for schooling, and my instructor was very impressed with it. Everyone that has seen it has commented that it seems like a much more expensive bridle.
    Date published: 2013-02-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sharp looking bridle! I got compliments at the barn the first day I used this bridle. One fellow boarder was stunned that this bridle was so soft, especially right out of the package!I'll be purchasing a second one!
    Date published: 2013-02-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Nice Bridle I am very happy with this bridle! The leather quality is excellent for the price and it fits pretty true to size. I had ordered the Cob size based on other reviews and considering the fact that my horse has a petite head but the nose band was freakishly small while the other pieces seemed to be made "full size". I returned the cob for a horse size and it fit perfectly!I would highly recommend this bridle to anyone on a budget who wants a well made, attractive bridle fit for home or shows!
    Date published: 2013-01-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from great economy bridle I wanted a cheaper bridle specifically for one of my TB broodmares for the occasional times I ride her so I wouldn't have to repeatedly adjust another horse's, and this one perfectly fit the bill. As to be expected, some of the craftsmanship and stitching is not as perfect as what you'd find from a higher quality bridle, and some dye did rub off on my fingers as I was putting the bridle together. However, it was soft as butter right out of the bag and the leather itself looks to be good quality. I would definitely purchase another one for the same purpose or even for an everyday, schooling bridle without hesitation.
    Date published: 2013-01-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cob Fits Section B Welsh I purchased this bridle for my daughter's Section B Welsh mare who is hard to fit. She is typically between a pony and cob sized. With the awesome return policy I figured I had nothing to lose. After doing some online research I found many reviews that said that this bridle runs small, unlike it says on this website. I ordered the Cob and was surprised to find it fit her almost perfectly! I did have to add a hole for the throat latch, but other wise the fit is great. The padded brow band and nose band do not look too big for her small face. The leather came nice and supple, another great surprise. I am impressed with the quality of leather for the price.
    Date published: 2014-03-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely reasonably priced bridle Tabby and I have been so pleased with this bridle. So affordable, soft and supple. The horse size just fits on the smallest fitting on my dainty faced thoroughbred. I am so pleased with this purchase.
    Date published: 2012-11-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Bridle For The Price! I purchased this bridle hoping it would be as good as all of the reviews I read, and it did not disappoint! I am thrilled with this bridle. It was super soft right out of the package and pieced together easily. I had to purchase a cob size based on my refined boned 16.1 thoroughbred mare. I was nervous because I have never had to purchase a cob size before, but it fits her perfectly and looks great. This is truly an incredible bridle for the price. I have spent much more for bridles in the past and I like this one much better! I can't complain at all.
    Date published: 2012-10-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Value Out There! LOOK NO FURTHER. I absolutely LOVE this bridle and have filled my barn with them! This photo is of my horse Zeke at a show this year wearing his Plymouth Dressage Bridle! You simply cannot beat the value, anywhere. The quality is impressive, and nobody will know this isn't a Bobby's English Tack or Schleese bridle. It is supple but has integrity as all bridles should, and has maintained its integrity through constant use. Clean it properly using just a bit of water, and oil intermittenly with light oil such as hydrophane or effax (over oiling to create floppy bridles is a common mistake... avoid it!), and this bridle will last season after season. Don't waste your time looking elsewhere!
    Date published: 2012-11-03
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointed I read all these great reviews about this bridle, which prompted me to purchase this since I needed a Warmblood size dressage bridle, but had to remain on a budget. Everyone said how soft and what good quality leather it was....I have to disagree. The leather was stiff and looks like it will crack easily. I had to clean and use good quality leather softener 2x before it was even pliable. The stitching is coming apart on the browband already. Overall it's fair quality-- you will get what you pay for--- not the bargain I THOUGHT I would be getting
    Date published: 2012-10-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-10-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very well made bridle Really like this dressage bridle...it is well made and has nice padding...soft leather right out of the box...and the fit is very good..full size for my 15.3hh QH...dont really like the reins though, but they are ok until I find something different in leather..
    Date published: 2012-09-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Value and Nice Looking I wanted my own bridle, as I just started leasing a horse for my lessons/riding. Read all previous reviews. He's an Arabian gelding and the "cob" fit him perfectly, including the nose band. I recommended this bridle to a friend, and she has ordered one, too. I'll have to buy the clips for the reins, so I have not used the reins yet. Have not ever used web reins, so curious. But the bridle itself was amazingly soft right out of the box. And it is MUCH better than the stable's bridle, which is not even padded. The padding at the forehead and nose is great. I gave three stars for durability, as I can't speak to that yet. I expect it to be at least average, if not better.
    Date published: 2012-09-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous inexpensive bridle I bought this bridle this summer as I needed a bridle with a flash, and I wanted a black bridle to match my saddle. My horse is light-colored, and I was worried that the black dye would rub off on his face, but even though he sweats heavily under the bridle, there were no black marks on his face! The leather quality is great, and the bridle looks awesome. I used it at a little schooling show, but I wouldn't hesitate to use it as a show bridle.I bought the oversize bridle as my horse has a giant head, and it seems to run a bit large, but does fit on almost the last holes.The only thing I'm not crazy about are the reins...but those are easily replaced.
    Date published: 2012-08-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pleasantly Surprised! I purchased this bridle for a student on a limited budget with a very green OTTB. She had purchased a different bridle that was "odd" and I told her to send it back and I would find her a nice starter bridle. I took a chance with a bridle priced like this one since in the past bridles in this price range were cheap, stiff, rough, unfinished leather. I was shocked when I opened the bag and completely sold by the time I assembled it. Leather is soft and pliable right out of the bag. I may even replace my far more expensive bridle for this one and have several students looking at it as well! My only complaint is the hook an stud connections as I prefer buckles, but it's not a deal breaker!Thanks, Smartpak, for offering such a great product at such a reasonable price!
    Date published: 2012-08-19
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.