Product Image

Omega Horseshine

Omega Fields®
- Item #10182
Form: Powder
Maintenance Dose: 3 SmartPak Wells

Omega Horseshine® is a premium Omega 3 Essential Fatty Acid supplement made with ENRECO® fortified, stabilized, ground Flax. The Horse Journal's: "Product of the Year!", "Our First Pick - Most Concentrated Source of Quality Omega-3", & "Recommended Immune-Boosting Product". Recommended by John Lyons Perfect Horse.

Omega Horseshine® promotes:

  • Healthier skin and added luster to the coat, plus earlier shedding
  • Stronger, more durable hooves
  • Less muscle soreness and stiffness, with shorter recovery time
  • Benefit mares in gestation, lactation, and growth
  • Benefit foals in gestation, lactation, and growth
  • Support top performance
  • Low NSC (4.4%), as recommended for IR/Cushings horses
The days supply for bags is calculated using the 2 oz dose.

View our Skin & Coat Supplement Comparison Chart

Order This Product In:

    Ships every 28 days
  edit
Maintenance Dose
  edit
Custom Dose  cancel
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on SmartPaks over $40
Congrats, you earned free shipping!

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on orders over $75
Congrats, you earned free shipping!
You Might Also Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Omega Horseshine is rated 4.8082 out of 5 by 610.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Shiny Coats! You want to know the "trick" to make any coat shimmer? Even the whites and greys? This product is economical and easy to feed. After feeding this supplement for only a few weeks and I saw a healthy shimmer in my appaloosa's white coat. Nothing as attractive as a horse with that healthy "glow"!
    Date published: 2014-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Omega Horseshine Great value for the money. This is my supplement of choice as when compared with others, taking into consideration price, quality, ingredients and most important health outcome, it exceeds most others that I have tried. Horses are super shiny even in winter and hooves are in great shape using this as my only supplement.
    Date published: 2014-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Omega Horseshine Outstanding I bought this product about 4 monts ago, because I needed my horses coats to shine and the hooves to stop splitting. I never had this problems until I moved to the Southwest.  Omega Horseshine is helping their coats, tails and mane grow again and the hooves not splitting as much.As an owner of Gypsies, I am just so pleased with the results, This product is doing as advertised. Buy some today!
    Date published: 2014-01-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Puts that Shine back in. I bought this product and I can tell a differences in my horses coats. Their tails are finally beginning to grain and their hooves seems to be in much better conditions.  I never had problems with hooves and coats, until to the Southwest, where they are stalled.  I will continue to buy this product for my gypsies, it's  a totally phenomenal and outstanding product.
    Date published: 2014-01-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Softer haircoat. I put my two geldings on this product because one is prone to skin outbreaks, like rainrot.  Their hair was already soft and healthy feeling but within three weeks of being on this product, I could feel a wonderful difference.  Hair was even silkier and softer.  An added plus is that I am not having all the electric static discharge I was having previously while putting on and removing blankets.  Not giving my horses shocks is a huge plus.  LOVE THIS PRODUCT!
    Date published: 2013-12-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE! Love love love this product, my big guy cleans it up and has never looked more glossy!! I added it to help add that extra gleam to his coat and to help keep his feet healthy. It's less expensive than my other favorite "Gleam and Gain Supreme 60" and works great! His coat is super glossy even with his winter coat :) Can't tell if it helps his feet yet... My only complaint is that it is ridiculously expensive in SmartPaks compared to the bucket price. A 50lb bag is $99 and lasts 400 days, while the monthly cost in SmartPaks is $22.95. I would imagine it's because "Smart Shine" is slightly less expensive and the SmartPak team is trying to steer you to use their product. This is an excellent product and is now one of my go-to products for coat and skin!!
    Date published: 2013-12-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the can't-do-without supplements Omega Shine works. I've used it on a mare who doesn't shed out well, and she improved visibly within six weeks. I think it improves the hooves and I see a lot less icky skin issues on the horses that consistently get this product. A couple horses will leave it in the feed bucket if I don't mix it thoroughly or use wet beet pulp. My only real issue is the cost in SmartPaks. Nearly every other supplement is close enough in price that I really don't mind a little extra money for the convenience (I horsekeep at home), but the difference between .93 and .27 adds up, especially when feeding two or three horses.
    Date published: 2013-10-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product This product is awesome. It greatly helps the coat.
    Date published: 2013-10-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-08-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing! I have been using this product for about 7 months now. I have noticed a huge difference in the health of my three horses- their manes and tails have grown out more, shiny healthy coat, my two rescue's feet have been a lot more healthier. I barrel race and Ive noticed the horses are not as sore or stiff. I love it! if they could my horses would eat it out of the bag.
    Date published: 2013-08-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing! My horses have never been so soft and shiny! I have been feeding this for one month and I can really see a difference already! Even my cremello, who has always had a dull coat, glistens in the sun now! I was worried that my horses might not be too keen on this stuff because it is a powder, but they love it and I do too!
    Date published: 2013-08-07
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Picky eater My horse will not eat this. I thought it was a pellet, its not. I've tried wetting it down, doesn't work he will not eat it. He started leaving his grain, now he tries to eat around it there is always some grain left...was really excited to try it and very disappointed that I can't get it into him. Having spent over a hundred dollars on it makes it worse...
    Date published: 2013-07-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing product I have not found an omega supplement better than this one. This is the only form of flax that helps my horses hives stay away. Her coat and feet look great and she licks her bowl clean. I highly recommend this product.
    Date published: 2013-07-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A godsend for my horse I purchased my horse in another state and moved her to me. While it is only a 4 hour difference in location, the climate in my state is very different than hers. Her skin responded poorly to the increase in pollen, dust, humidity, and heat. She developed horribly dry and flaky skin that itched like crazy, and hair started falling out. I was so upset. It only took 4 weeks of this product to reverse that damage entirely. Now our coat is beautiful - so soft and shiny. She received a compliment on it today from the vet! If your horse has dry, flaky or itchy skin, try this horseshine! My horse ate it with no problem, but she's a bit of a piggy and the only thing she won't eat is electrolyte powder.
    Date published: 2013-06-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-06-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Omega Horseshine My mare has been on John Lyons Omega Horseshine for about 5 months. Her coat is so shinniy you could almost see yourself.She now has dapples, she is a red rocky mountain,but she has dark dapples. I have used other products,but have never had the results they I do with Omega HorseShine. Great product. I buy the bag and feed 1/2 cup daily. As far as the bugs, I will have to see if the product helps. When I get a chance I will down load a picture
    Date published: 2013-06-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-05-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product is amazing I switched from another coat product to this one to help ward off a skin issue, and the results were amazing. My horse's coat went from an ok shine to an incredible shine in a month's time. I've received so many compliments -- this supplement is a winner. I've now added it to my SmartPak.
    Date published: 2013-05-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product for improving coat This is my go-to product for improving coat condition. I switched to this product after having little success with Cool Calories. I feed approx 1 cup/day so I buy the large bags instead of the SmartPaks. My horse eats it readily mixed with his grain, and the large bags last a long time!
    Date published: 2013-05-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good so far Been feeding for about a month and a half.Her coat seems shinier.. and her forelock has seemed to grow a little longer. She eats it just fine.
    Date published: 2014-04-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super happy, & super shine! I've used this product since it first came out! I love it & my horses' do too!
    Date published: 2013-05-06
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Didn't see any difference I started my 7 year old haflinger mare on this when I bought her because although her mane, tail and coat were healthy, she just wasn't soft and shiny. I also wanted to make sure she was getting nutrients to support her sensitive hooves as well. After 3 months on this product, I have seen no improvement in coat, mane or tail, although her hooves seem a bit less dry. This product is also more expensive than the equivalent SmartPak brand supplement that uses the same ingredients. I'm going to switch to SmartShine Ultra and see if that gives better results. Overall, I think this is not worth the money.
    Date published: 2013-04-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful to supplement protein! Using to up the protein in my horses diet without having to feed more grain, its working wonderfully, and the flax seeds and fatty acids are helping slick him out extra fast this year, his coat looks SO healthy and he is thriving on it!
    Date published: 2013-04-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lifesaver!! Goodbye dry flaky skin, hello gorgeous!!! After less than a month my mare's skin and coat look amazing! I had no success with smartshine, but this stuff is a lifesaver. My mare was the first in the barn to shed out her winter coat and partial body clip and she already shines. Highly highly recommend!!!
    Date published: 2014-03-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Shining horse Our small hardworking foxhunt horse had a dull, scurfy coat and last summer seemed especially susceptible to itching. We did a bit of research which suggested that he would benefit from omega 3 and flax seed so he was started on Omega HorseShine. One month later his coat glows and is a richer, darker bay. I am tempted to put all the horses on this supplement. We must wait for bugs to hatch to see if Omega HorseShine will help with that problem as well.
    Date published: 2013-04-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Shine Since I have started using this product my horses coat has changed so much. He has a nice shine, shedding out nicely. Its helping bring out colors I didnt know he had.
    Date published: 2013-03-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best hoof supplement My farrier is always impressed by the quality of my 16 yr old QH's feet since we've been using Horse Shine. We've tried other brands of hoof supplements but nothing compares from the results I've seen. I started out giving him a 1/2 cup a day for the first 3 months when he still wore front shoes because he kept throwing them. I then reduced the dose to 1 typical vitamin scoop per day and after that 20 lb bag was gone, he had grown a whole new hoof. These results might not be what you experience but we did! I also have a 3 yr old Rocky who has been using it since I got him at 8 months. Both are barefoot and have hard, healthy hooves. Along with Smart Bug Off used year round we're well-armed against those pesky little vertical hoof cracks that appear from stomping flies in the dry summer! I grind Bug Off up in an old blender (don't use your regular blender...the smell doesn't go away that easily haha!) and mix the supplements in a small bucket about once a month. Ground pellets produce more powder so be sure to adjust your scoop measure. You will love the reduced shedding time in the spring too! :)
    Date published: 2013-03-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this stuff! Makes my horse's coat soft, rich and shiny - plus with the health benefits, it's a win-win!
    Date published: 2013-03-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horses and I love it Put our two drving horses on it in late winter to help start shedding and we love it. Seeing dapples on the bay horse and pinto pony is looking shiny. Pony eats it right up with the tiny amount of grain he gets.
    Date published: 2013-03-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Product Have used Omega HS for many years, initially ordering it from the manufacturer. The condition & quality of my 7 horses' hair, skin & hooves says it all. Slick & shiny, all have dapples, even in winter. Have recommended Omega HS to several neighbors over the years, most who still use it.
    Date published: 2013-03-11
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.