Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Myler Level 1 Dee

Myler Bits
- Item #18408
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Myler Bitting System is a graduated system, meaning that as your horse learns and progresses through his training, you will change the way you communicate with him by re-bitting him periodically. Each Myler Bit is designed to use select pressure points for the best communication for that level.

The Myler Level 1 Dee is great for horses who have just begun training, is learning basic gaits, transitions, and obedience, and has begun to "break at the poll".


Favorite Features

  • Curved mouthpiece that allows horse to swallow.
  • Uses tongue pressure and bar pressure - working mostly off of the tongue
  • Distributes tongue pressure more evenly than traditional designs 
  • Uses restrict and release action
  • Stainless Steel large 3 3/4" Dee
  • Copper inlay mouth

Made in the U.S.A.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    100% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Myler Level 1 Dee is rated 4.9565 out of 5 by 23.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Happy Rider I own a strong, built down hill Holsteiner that got very heavy in the mouth and would drop his head with his waterford D ring. My trainer recommended Myler's and the first time I tried my horse in this bit he went around like a hunter! I couldn't believe I wasn't riding a freight train without breaks anymore. He loves this bit because of the roller in the middle and the copper in lay. He plays with the bit a lot and I love seeing the slobber at the end of the ride because it shows how much he is finally accepting the bit. I also know he is happy that I no longer have to pull back so hard to get him to stop, just a slight tug and release and he comes back down.
    Date published: 2013-07-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE THIS BIT We have three of these bits, one for each horse, and we LOVE THEM! My old gelding has a very soft, sensitive mouth and really likes this bit (he loves the roller as well.) My mom's 13yo OTTB also loves it. My very green 5yo OTTB also really likes it. Our horses are all at different stages of training/experience but all three do great with this bit. We love how each side works independently of the other. Definitely worth the money!
    Date published: 2013-04-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Im Impressed My horse has never stretched down into a bit like this one. As soon as I started using this bit I instantly got more extension and collection from my horse. She's never performed better. Thanks!
    Date published: 2013-02-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse loves this bit, so I do too This bit is great, and Myler always makes a nice product.
    Date published: 2012-07-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I LOVE this bit!!! This bit is amazing. My mare has an extremely soft mouth and will constantly bite and chomp with even a nice fat soft french link. She is so comfortable in this bit. She drops her head, extends forward, and travels with a consistant rythym with this bit. I love it so much that I also bought the eggbutt version so I can show her dressage with it (eggbutt version is legal). This bit if perfect for horses with soft mouths, just beginning their training, or are being retrained.
    Date published: 2012-05-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Myler Level 1 Dee Snaffle bit I already owned this bit but in a 5" size. My half-arab mare is small and so I purchased this one in a 4 3/4" size to accommodate her.All of the Myler bits are well made, don't rust, provide tongue relief, which this young horse needs. I have six or eight Myler bits. Love them!
    Date published: 2012-03-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from a necessity to my bit collection This bit is my go-to bit for a soft-mouthed horse, as I ride with soft hands. I first came across it with an experienced show pony who did not appreciate being bumped in the mouth, or inconsistent hands; it changed her attitude towards her work. We then used it for my own pony who was becoming more tractable and would only collect with a soft bit in her mouth. My old jumper, who would panic and fight with a lot of bit in his mouth, schooled and competed in the Myler. My thoroughbred just off the track went straight to this bit, and has never needed anything else in his schooling. I appreciate the independent movement between each rein, and the way the bit conforms to the palate. In other words, I'm a huge fan!
    Date published: 2012-03-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bit My 4yr old Polish Arabian took this bit perfectly the first time. I have not had any problems with it or with him while he has it.
    Date published: 2012-03-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for the right horse I bought this bit for a pony with a small mouth and low pallet. She loves this bit.
    Date published: 2011-09-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this bit! The first bit ever that my horse cannot suck up and grab between his teeth and I've tried alot of bits!! Now he has to pay attention to me instead of using the bit as a play toy! Really like how the independent movement allows each side to work seperately, after working awhile I was able to really lift his left shoulder around the bend and maintain our balance better. The only thing I'm not thrilled with is that the D-rings are so large they actually rub right at the caveson so I may invest in an eggbutt for this particular horse as his mouth is always moving and I don't want any excess irritation for him. But, overall, definately worth the money, a bit that I would recommend to anyone. It molds across his mouth well, looks too big but it's just the unique shape.
    Date published: 2011-05-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent, soft bit I switched from a full cheek level 1 Myler to this bit, the full cheek had a little too much action for my horse, because of the hooks. Just the slightest rein pressure would confuse him, and he would jig at the halt.In this bit, there are no hooks so there is a much more quiet connection between us, and he is much more relaxed and doesn't think too much about whats in his mouth, and rather can concentrate on what we're working on.I really like how Myler designed their bits so they pivot, it really allows communication to move the shoulder up. Excellent line of bits!
    Date published: 2011-03-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helps horse trust bit pressure I have a 8yo TB that I started last year on a soft rubber mullen bit, as she just did not tolerate much bit pressure. After a few unsuccessful tries with a few 3-pc snaffels I tried her on this bit and had great success, as the 'release' and lack of 'pinch' is what she needed to trust the bit. For kicks I tried in on my 1st level Trakehner who had become a little heavy in her KK Ultra and she is becoming much lighter!!
    Date published: 2010-11-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love It or Hate It You can't really beat Myler's quality and value. The bits may be expensive, but they are made to last and you only see this level of quality in bits that cost over $200 - and even then, it's a gamble. Myler bits actually look pretty hanging in a tack room.I find horses either love this mouthpiece or blow right through it. When they like it, it's great! I keep several different Myler bits, in various mouthpieces, on hand and they're great training aids.
    Date published: 2010-07-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Myer Bit I have tried the Myer system on several different horses. Some have liked the construction of this one and others have not. When it is the right fit for the right horse its a great bit, but some of my horses just like a traditional D-ring.
    Date published: 2010-02-19
    • 2015-03-03T06:56CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_22
    • loc_en_US, sid_8408, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    In Loving Memory
    You were a loving and patient partner. From our early days learning dressage together, to your "retirement" years of tearing around the field and stirring up all the youngsters, you always brought your kindness, your heart, and your spirit. Thank you for everything, Wes. You are missed.

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.