Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Korsteel Twisted Copper Mouth Dr. Bristol Full Cheek Snaffle

Korsteel
- Item #18080
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Korsteel bits are proven performers for all levels of training and competition. They are crafted from materials of the highest quality. Full cheek with Dr Bristol mouthpiece, slow twist with Copper mouth.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    94% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Korsteel Twisted Copper Mouth Dr. Bristol Full Cheek Snaffle is rated 4.875 out of 5 by 16.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Control!! My grand prix turned big eq horse has a habit of dragging me around the ring. This bit is amazing!! Strong when I need it, but soft when I don't. I highly recommend!!
    Date published: 2014-10-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Controll!! My hunter is an ex-grand pre who loves to run with the bit. This bit allowed me to install brakes without tugging on his mouth!!
    Date published: 2014-10-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Installed brakes!!!! Had my jumper decide to start habitually lean and grab the bit when at shows, but not at home. I needed something that would get his attention back on me, not poke his low pallate, while still keeping his mouth soft when not needing the attention refocused on listening to my direction. Perfect fit for us!
    Date published: 2014-07-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Quality at a Great Price!! During the search to find a good jumping bit for my hunter/eq horse, this was one we tried. This bit was quite strong, with the full cheek, link and twists for my horse in combination with the copper, which made his mouth a little too tender for that strength. However the bit is an awesome value. It turned out that a plain steel double jointed d ring with the slow twist worked great for jumping it when he's strong, and I was able to return this bit to smartpak without any problems!
    Date published: 2014-03-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dr. Bristol bit My horse normally goes well in a plain loose ring snaffle but he has a habit of pulling on me and running through my hands. It only takes a moment of "discussion" to get him back, but the regular snaffle isn't strong enough (in my hands) to get his attention. My trainer, of course, can nip it in the bud right away, but that's why I pay her. She's the professional. I just needed a little something stronger to get his attention but that was still soft when he is good. This bit is perfect for that. I used it about 5 times and went back to the regular snaffle and my horse is being good. It's a great bit to have on hand for shows and for those times where he needs a review of how to be a gentleman. I definitely recommend this bit as part of your toolbox.
    Date published: 2013-10-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A good outdoor bit I bought this bit as an outdoor alternative to my gigantic TB who has both turning issues and started pulling outside, especially at the canter. I wasn't sure if this would be too much bit (his indoor bit is a copper mouth loose ring with an oval piece), but it ended up being perfect for his needs. He likes the taste of the copper, and the slow twist and Dr. Bristol only come into play if he isn't listening to the aids at all. However, because it has both the slow twist and the Dr. Bristol, I would recommend this only if the rider has pretty quiet hands. Also, make sure you use the bit keepers.
    Date published: 2013-05-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Hunter Possibility I bought this bit on the recommendation of my trainer. I school my horse in a 3 ring, because he is a bit downhill and needs the leverage. This bit felt exactly like the 3 ring on the flat when properly used with bit keepers! Haven't jumped in it yet, but I'm sure it'll work great for us. I had been so worried about making a bit choice for the shows because he needs leverage. Now I have a bit that will be accepted in the hunter ring!
    Date published: 2013-02-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great non pinching bit for the price I had to get a bit for my horse for his hunter show. He tends to lean on the bit, so my trainer suggested this. I was initially worried if this bit pinches, but it looks like it doesn't. The beautiful shine went away rather quickly but not a poor quality item. I did not think that my horse would react copper mouth piece, but he is indeed liking it.
    Date published: 2013-02-11
    • 2015-03-06T07:04CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_1, bvpage1
    • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_16
    • loc_en_US, sid_8080, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    In Loving Memory
    You were a loving and patient partner. From our early days learning dressage together, to your "retirement" years of tearing around the field and stirring up all the youngsters, you always brought your kindness, your heart, and your spirit. Thank you for everything, Wes. You are missed.

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.