Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Kool Coat Airstream Detach-A-Neck

Weatherbeeta Blankets
- Item #15929

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The Kool Coat Airstream Combo provides cool summer protection against the sun and all types of insects. The strong 270g polyester fabric with mesh panels aid in cooling and airflow. UV protection is 70%.

Features of the Kool Coat Airstream Combo include:

  • twin chest straps
  • hidden front surcingle
  • adjustable and removable leg straps
  • gusseted shoulders
  • generous tail flap
  • removable neck 

White/Navy Plaid with Navy Trim. Sizes 69, 72, 75, 78, 81, 84.



How to measure a horse

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Kool Coat Airstream Detach-A-Neck is rated 4.0851 out of 5 by 141.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality purchase for the money. We are very happy with this summer sheeting. Good fly protection.l
    Date published: 2013-07-30
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice quality and value but strange fit Great blanket but bad fit. My horse is a perfect 81" and should be a blanket model. The leg straps are so close to the stifle joint, they are rubbing my horse and then the blanket shifts off to one side. I'm having the "D" moved forward towards the girth to see if that helps. If not, it goes back.
    Date published: 2013-07-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice fly sheet I have used several different types of flysheets and this one seems to keep my horse the coolest. The cotton on top keeps the sun from bleaching his hair and the mesh on the sides allows more air flow to prevent sweating.The belly band is a little weird in that it connects very high on the horse's side, however, I just end up not using it. The sheet doesn't seem to shift when you use the leg straps in back.It does show the dirt, but simple enough to throw in the wash and line dry.
    Date published: 2013-07-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from best fly sheets I ever bought light weight, durable, excellent fit. Keeps my horses cool and protected 24/7 in the summer. Easy to wash and dry. I have all 8 horses dressed in Kool Coat for many years now and never will buy another fly sheet brand again.
    Date published: 2013-07-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Sheet! I absolutely love this sheet! My sensitive thoroughbred mare hates anything touching her; she has become so much happier now that she gets to wear this sheet everyday. Since she's black it does a great job keeping her nice and shiny, much better than a regular fly sheet. It's super easy to clean, just throw it in the washing machine. We've been using it for two years now and the only problem has been some little rips in the mesh which can easily be sewn up. Awesome sheet!!
    Date published: 2013-07-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely Fly Sheet! My mare hasn't destroyed this yet so it must be durable! I love the detachable neck cover I think it really helps her get away from the flys and keeps her cooler.
    Date published: 2013-07-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love love love this sheet! This is one of the best purchases I have ever made. I have a thin skinned TB who is absolutely miserable when there are any bugs. He loves this sheet! He went from standing in his run-in all day to avoid the bugs to grazing all day. For the price, I would say this sheet can not be beat. It seems very well made. My guy has been wearing it daily for several months now and it still looks the same (albeit a little dirtier!) as when I first put it on him. I actually think he has stayed cooler with the sheet on. Even on 90+ days with humidity he has not become too hot underneath it. The mesh panels on the neck cover and sides of the sheet seem to allow nice air flow. My only issue with this sheet is that is had tended to shift a little but I do not think this has to do with the design of the sheet - has more to do with the fact that my horse is an aggressive roller!
    Date published: 2013-07-05
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good for a fly sheet I have been looking for a fly sheet to not only help keep the flies away, but to help keep my horses cool since I live in FL. I would say as far as fly sheets go I liked it, it was rather light weight and it helped keep the flies off and seemed pretty durable. The bad part is though that it did NOT keep my horse any cooler. I took the fly sheet off of my gelding and he was a hot sweaty mess. Maybe if they had more of the mesh on the whole sheet it would keep them cooler, but as it is right now I have trouble calling it a "cool" sheet.
    Date published: 2013-07-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Purchase This sheet does run large. I use it for my black mare so she will stay a little cooler in the hot Texas sun and keep from bleaching out. She is warm under the sheet, but not sweaty.
    Date published: 2013-07-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm very happy! This Kool coat is wonderful. Light weight and keeps my grey mare safe from the sun and she looks great in it. The neck has a bit too much arch in it for my mare but it will do the job of keeping biting flies off her neck. I think it runs large for my Arabian mare. Maybe I just couldn't measure correctly but after returning it 2 times for a smaller size, this 69" sheet fits fine. I am amazed with the customer service. I ordered the wrong size TWICE and I got it exchanged with no questions asked even after I had her name embroidered on each one. Best customer service ever!!!!
    Date published: 2013-06-29
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Lasted Less Than 72 Hours This fly sheet lasted less than 72 hours on my mare. She came in from turnout with the sheet in tatters around her. It seemed to run large, so the sheet tended to slip to one side, and the girth strap was not very effective for keeping it in place. Thankfully, the material of this sheet is not that durable, so the fabric shredded instead of trapping any part of my mare's body. I wouldn't buy it again, nor could I recommend it to anyone who has a horse that rolls or moves while in turnout.On the plus side, it did seem to keep her cool before it shredded to pieces.
    Date published: 2013-06-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best fly sheet I've seen in awhile! Love, love, love this fly sheet!!! Can not say enough good things about it. Bought one for my mostly white paint mare and the next day I am ordering one for my Arabian gelding (I just bought a new fly sheet for him last year too)! Very well made sheet. Very pleased. They do run a little on the bigger side.
    Date published: 2013-06-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good value This is a nice sheet. My horse seems pretty comfortable in it in 80 degree weather. It seems well made but I have only had it for a few weeks. It runs a bit small, so I would size up. Overall, great value. The neck piece really helps keep my horse clean and keeps flies off.
    Date published: 2013-06-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fly Sheet Overall, this fly sheet is awesome for the cost. My horse lives in a field with 2 yearlings who are extremely rowdy and like to rip things off of other horses. So far, it hasn't ripped at all. I will say though, when it gets hot out this summer, I'm worried it will be too hot because of the normal fabric used for 90% of the sheet
    Date published: 2013-05-22
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Decent for the price For the low price its decent, but for my hot tb its too heavy. The material is dense and evn though it's white I wouldn't recommend it on a day over 80 degrees. My horse loves to roll and not a single rip! But it's just too heavy - I did order a size up though! Going to try smartpaks uv/fly sheet that's all mesh instead
    Date published: 2013-05-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from very impressed! Received this blanket and tried it on my mare - really pleased with the adjustability for the perfect fit! The fabric seems pretty sturdy but still light enough to be comfortable. I think the fit is great (mare is 16.3 Oldenburg, but a fairly 'light' type - not a big heavy one!) and so far I'm impressed with the quality of materials and construction. Really good coverage with the neck piece - and she has a pretty long neck! VERY pleased with the way the monogram turned out and glad we have that to differentiate our fly sheet from all the others in the barn. We just got it so I can't comment on the durability but so far, I'm optimistic.
    Date published: 2013-05-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Looks a little silly on my WB! Bought this sheet a few months ago- just getting a chance to try it out now! It does what it is supposed to and I like how the neck piece fits, but it's kind of 'short'? We call it my mare's mini skirt because her belly hangs out below it. It's probably just because she just has a large barrel (definitely her warmblood showing off!). Not sure if I really care, doesn't seem to be bothering her.The sheet only has 1 surcingle and 2 leg straps, so I was worried that it was going to shift, but so far so good.She has already ripped a nice hole in the left hip area...and she lives in a stall.. I'd be worried about her rubbing it off into shreds in the pasture- but for what I need, it's doing great!I also got the free personalization with her name on her left barrel in navy- makes it look very snazzy!
    Date published: 2013-05-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great sheet so far this sheet is doing it's job of keeping my daughter's black show pony from fading. it has not been really hot here in texas get, but i do think it keeps her from getting as hot in the sun.
    Date published: 2013-05-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from This sheet helps to keep my thin skinned TB happy during turnout on buggy days.
    Date published: 2012-10-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from will get another I purchased this for bug protection more than sun protection. My TB was being eaten alive by mosquitos/flies regardless of the amount/type of bug spray I used. The Kool Coat has cut the number of bites he gets by 90% or more. It is a bit fragile, and was ripped in less than a month. On very hot days he will sweat a very little bit. It won't last until next spring, but I'll definitely purchase another for him next spring.
    Date published: 2012-09-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for warm California summers This is a great flysheet combo. The price is wonderful. I have owned a number of Kool Coats for my gelding and he has yet to destroy one. They are incredibly durable and this one has great breathability with the mesh lower half. He does get sweaty in the chest area as it is solid cotton and line to prevent rubbing. The detachable neck is a nice feature, but it does not stay up. With in moments of putting it on it slides to the middle of his neck. Better than nothing though. I would buy this sheet again as it is very economical, very durable and wonderfully breathable.
    Date published: 2012-08-01
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Shifted Too Much, Needs Belly Surcingles Very nice looking sheet, but it shifted a lot during turn out on my mare. I didn't use it with the neck cover, so maybe that would hold it in place better, but it shifted nearly 12 inches to one side after she rolled. I'm taking advantage of Smartpak's Happiness Guarantee and returning it.
    Date published: 2014-04-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-07-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Kool Coat I wanted to review this right away because it was so gorgeous on, but forced myself to wait a few weeks to see how it wears and holds up. Ended up using it through a record-high heat wave, with temps into the 100's. And the flies and horse flies are terrible right now. This fly sheet is AWESOME. I have bought all kinds over the years and this one is amazing. I love the neck, it fits perfectly and keeps Char covered on her whole neck even when grazing, stays up when she lifts her head, etc. Fit is amazing. I didnt think I'd like the tail flap but its fine. Coverage is good and it stays on straight even when she rolls or runs around. NOT ONE MANE HAIR HAS BEEN RUBBED OUT. In fact, she is a show horse and its keeping her mane flat and perfect looking, i could put it on over a banded mane. It's also making a HUGE difference in her previously sunbleached coat. She has only come in from pasture sweaty when the temps get into the 90's or the humidity is super high, and pretty much only on her neck - otherwise, she's the only one that's NOT sweaty, and the others are wearing 100% mesh sheets. The price is literally unbelievable, and I got a free monogram on it - its beautiful! One of the best products I've ever bought for my horse, ever.
    Date published: 2013-05-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Product!!! This product fits true to size & is very durable!!! When I purchased my product there was free embroidery... The embroidery looks great and is nice and big so you can read it. I would reccomend this product to anyone!!!
    Date published: 2012-07-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Flysheet I bought this for my sister who has a big thoroughbred gelding that is turned out 24/7. He has sensitive skin like most TB's and was being covered in welts every night while outside. She wanted something lightweight so he wouldn't get hot, but something that would do the job and this sheet is perfect. He does not get hot and it has not torn yet! She uses the neck cover that the sheet comes with and he still has maximum movement with it. Definitely recommended.
    Date published: 2012-06-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Durable Spring Fly Sheet I bought two of these sheets. I would have given this sheet 5 stars, but my boys tend to get a little too warm with these sheets-cotton top, but otherwise, this is a nice, durable sheet. I am going to see if I can find a sheet that breaths a little better, because the summers here in the Lowcountry of SC can be hot and very humid. This sheet was great for the Spring, but I need a summer sheet.
    Date published: 2012-06-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice sheet! It's a smart looking sheet and does seem to help shield my Boy from the sun. The fit needs some help and I think it wouldn't shift so much if it had 2 belly surcingles and a tail cord instead. Over all though I like it and would buy another one.
    Date published: 2012-06-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wears Pretty Well I bought this as a budget-friendly nice-looking fly sheet... and the free embroidery offer at the time definitely made it an even sweeter deal. It seems to hold up to some playing pretty well, and it does stay in place nicely. My gelding wears a 72" normally, and could have really used the 69" in this particular sheet but it was not available. The 72" is pretty long on him, but it's still very wearable. The embroidery really looks nice in navy on his side too!
    Date published: 2012-06-21
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Flimsy. I bought this turnout about a month ago and have already spent more on repairs than on the item in the first place. For horses less abusive to their clothing I'm sure it is a good purchase, and I will continue to use it as long as it is usable, but it will in time be replaced by a different brand.
    Date published: 2012-06-16
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.