Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Kensington Fly Mask with Ears

Kensington Protective Products
- Item #12291

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

A fly mask that lasts! The Kensington Fleece Fly Mask with Ears is constructed of the innovative, extremely durable, fully breathable mesh Textilene® fabric. This full coverage mask has double eye darts for maximum room around the eyes and mesh ears to keep bugs out. Heavy duty double locking VELCRO® Brand Closure and elastic neck strap will ensure a correct fit and will keep the mask on and in place. The fleece around the nose and neck will keep your horse comfortable. Plus, it'll provide 73% UV protection. Specify Small (Large Pony/Yearling), Medium (Arab/Cob), Large (Horse) or X-Large (Warmblood/Small Draft). Kensington Fleece Fly Masks run slightly large, so if you think your horse may be between sizes, please size down. 20% of our net profit on any SmartPink® Plaid item is donated to Breast Cancer Research.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Kensington Fly Mask with Ears is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 75.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Attractive, sturdy mask I wanted a mask that stayed on my horse, protected him adequately, and was more attractive than a plain old grey one. This mask does all those things wonderfully. It runs a tad large, but the double velcro strap still keeps it on securely, even when the velcro doesn't match perfectly. The soft fleece at the nose is a nice touch, and of course Kensington products are of dependable quality and a nice array of colors. The SmartBlue looks sharp on my grey.
    Date published: 2013-06-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fancy, sturdy fly mask I bought this for my pony in the hopes that due to the SmartBlue color and monogramming it wouldn't migrate from horse to horse. She has a cob sized head with 'mare ears', the large is a little bit too big around so they seem to run true to bridle size with fairly normal ears. The mask is sturdy and the mesh on the ears and the fleece trim are both very soft so I'm hopeful it will hold up to 24/7 turnout without giving her rubs. Plus the SmartBlue is gorgeous and the monogramming is cute and subtle.
    Date published: 2013-05-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good purchase Fits well on my large draft. I do wish the material were softer but she enjoys it!
    Date published: 2013-05-29
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Awkward Fit There is something strange with the fit or cut of this fly mask. The bottom fleece edge barely rests below my mare's eyes, and the section behind the ears and on the bridle path is about three inches wide. (see picture)The quality is good, and I like how the ears are lined with a soft nylon material. The fleece is super soft, but the fit isn't right and I can't get it to stay on my horse. I've owned several other brands and styles of flymasks and haven't had any issues.
    Date published: 2013-06-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Fly Mask I really like this fly mask, however the area where the eyes are not shaped the best, and when my horse rubs sometimes they will get inverted and press against his eye.
    Date published: 2012-08-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fly Mask! This is the fourth summer that I've been using this fly mask on my two draft crosses and they still look NEW! Great protection for the horses. In fact, my 'boys' know what the masks do for them as they lower their heads for me to put them on. My masks are a little large as I bought the XL size, but the horse size probably would've fit them better as they are draft crosses but each only about 15.3. The ears are a little too long and the velcro on the throat lach just needs to be rolled over to be snug against them - but even with my 'ordering' size mistake, the masks stay on them all night and have worked well for FOUR summers! Wonderful product - your horse will thank you!
    Date published: 2012-07-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The flies don't really bother my pony around his face so much, but lately his allergies have been very bad causing his eyes to get irritated and very swollen. I decided to start using this fly mask, and on Sunday, his eyes were perfectly normal again! No dripping, goobers, or swelling in sight. This fly mask also does not seem to bother him in any way, and it offers great protection for his ears as well. I also love that it comes in the SmartBlue to match his SmartBlue halter!
    Date published: 2012-07-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A good purchase My horse has needed a fly mask with ears, as he is subjected to biting flies irritating the inside of his ears. I tried a different brand, however, it was way too big. I have been happy with the earless Kensington I previously purchased for him...a great fit and the darts around the eyes work really well. He is a warmblood but has a smaller, more refined head. If his ears were farther apart, this mask wouldn't work, but it is a great fit for him.
    Date published: 2012-07-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great buy I bought this fly mask because my horses ears are very sensitive to bugs, I already had a kensington mask without ears that I LOVE so I am sure that this one will be great quality as well! I love that its embroidered as well!
    Date published: 2012-07-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice large size mask I ordered a large blue with black mesh ears. My horse likes it and it fits great. He doesn't get over hot in it and it does the job!
    Date published: 2012-07-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great mask and I've tried many I run a 16-horse barn and have tried SuperMask and Cashel...the Cashel ears always rubbed my horse as well as many horses at our barn could get the Cashels off. The SuperMasks stayed on better but the quality was not a good as this mask. THe Kensington mask ears were bigger, and I like how they are stiff fabric and stand up. Great quality, the fur lining is better quality as well. A better mask overall. Stays on well, too.
    Date published: 2012-07-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Was too small The medium was too small for my large pony, but the large was way too big for her. It's too bad because I love the quality of these masks, and have the large with the removable extended nose for my horse.
    Date published: 2012-07-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this Product I purchased this item the start of fly season last year along with the leg wraps. This was by far the best purchase i could have ever made. After one and a half fly seasons these items still remain intact and in great condition. I have purchased other leg wraps/flymasks before but none of them have withstood the fly season let alone almost 2! Couldnt be happier with the quality and the product. This product line is my go to when ever i need a new item.
    Date published: 2012-07-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the Money I've only had my Kensington fly mask for a couple of weeks now, but I love it! I bought another well-recommended fly mask (based on reviews) first and within a week it had several holes in it. The Kensington is holding up great! There's not even a stray piece of material. I got the green with navy embroidery, and it looks fantastic!I've already recommended it to a couple of barn mates!
    Date published: 2012-07-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it It looks so good on my quarter horse mare Scout and fits really well. So far it has only come off once and I believe that's because a new girl at the stables didn't put it on right! The other horses played with it in the pasture and trampled it but I rinsed it off and it looks like new! Very durable and so cute on her- we call it the playboy bunny look since it's pink!
    Date published: 2012-07-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product - Highly Recommend I purchased this for my big Draft mare and I bought the XL and it looks great on her and fits well. The ears are a little large on her but it stays in place even when she rolls and rubs her face in attempt to get it off.
    Date published: 2012-06-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-06-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fly mask Great fly mask! Very durable and as you can see in the picture Willow is enjoying her fly coverage and feeling very stylish at the same time :)
    Date published: 2012-06-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Attractive and well made. Pretty lime green plaid has gotten a lot of positive comments. Tough double locking velco with elastic insert. Lg WB fit Lg WB, good sizing. Ear holes spaced somewhat close together, but not a bad fit overall.
    Date published: 2012-05-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fly mask Bought this for my quarter horse mare. It fits her great and seems to be very durable. I love that I was able to have it embroidered for free during a promo but I do wish the lettering was a bit larger so that it is more visible. It seems as though my mare is comfortable in it cause she hasn't torn it off herself yet!!!
    Date published: 2012-05-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bought Another Last Kensington fly mask lasted for 3 Indiana summers. Am buying another.
    Date published: 2012-05-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-05-03
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Didn't Work So Well This is the 3rd fly mask I've purchased in an attempt to find something that will stay put. It's a little awkward the way it's put together--the ears are overly large, but inappropriately spaced so that the mask fits oddly. The eye darts are too high unless you really pull the mask down, but it rides up again when the horse flicks his ears. The mask fit snugly otherwise, so I went ahead and left it on. If I ever find it, I will try it again, but needless to say, it didn't last overnight. My horse seemed less comfortable in it than a competitor brand, but this one seemed to fit his head better. Other than that, it seems high quality, and it looks great. The velcro was definitely heavy duty. I will be interested to see just how my horse managed to remove the mask, as it is unlikely the velcro came undone.
    Date published: 2012-04-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Kensington Fly Mask w/ Ears These have about the best quality ear covering material that we have found. Others use really chintzy soft material that snags within first day of wear. It would be better if ear holes were wider set though (not bigger holes, further apart). My icelandic mare barely can have her ears contained because the holes are too close together. She sometimes rubs off and I think this may be why. Overall a very good product.
    Date published: 2011-11-07
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Weird fit While it's a nice looking mask, the eye darts are way off, like a good 2 inches or so from my horse's eyes. He has a normal head and Cashel mask fit. Had to return this mask.
    Date published: 2011-09-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Why try the rest Ive tried other popular brands of fly masks, and they've all ripped, gotten torn off easily, the velcro wears out, ect ect. This is the only fly mask i use now. Ive had mine for over three years now, and its as good as the day i bought it. It fits great, alot of room around the eyes. It is durable, not a hole, tear, or snag in it and the velcro doesn't wear out. The ears are my favorite part, you cannot find a fly mask with ears that will hold up without getting holes like the kensington does. If it gets gross, i just hose it off and leave it to dry in the sun. I would never buy any other mask, and probably wont need to, as mine have lasted for years.
    Date published: 2011-09-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The only one! After years of trial and error, Kensington fly masks are the only ones I buy anymore. I know they fit, and I know the kind of quality I get for my money.
    Date published: 2011-08-26
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from weird fit I ordered the horse size mask and while the size of it fit my horse's head, the eye darts were up really high, a good 3 inches away from his actual eyes. I didn't have this problem with my old cashel mask. I can't speak to the durability of the mask since it was only on my horse's head for a few seconds to check the fit. The lining around the edges of the mask was weird though, like a fur coat. I would imagine that would get hot in the summer. Unfortunately I'm returning the mask and going back to cashel.
    Date published: 2011-08-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent mask! We use this mask to protect our horses' sensitive eyes. Nothing that pokes them anymore! Mask holds up to extensive use because of superior material used. The ears keep the flies away!!!
    Date published: 2011-08-17
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from WORST. FLY MASK. EVER. My horse destroyed it in a week. It was super hot (the sweat underneath it on hot days was awful), and he was able to get it off all the time. When he had it on the ears tore, then the eyes got rubbed open. AWFUL!This horse isn't especially bad on fly masks. He's now happily wearing a cheapie lycra/light mesh bonnet with not one nick on it.Also, this fly mask is supposed to have a lifetime replacement warranty, BUT if it ships with your SmartPaks, you may not have an opportunity to send in the warranty card. It requires you submit it within 10 days of purchase. I didn't get it before I could send in the card. If you buy this fly mask, have it shipped immediately to you, then at least you can have it replaced.Not happy with Kensington at all!
    Date published: 2011-08-02
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.