Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

IRH ATH SSV Helmet

International Riding Helmets
- Item #16206

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

New innovative low profile geometry makes this new ATHS helmet the ideal choice for the serious competitor. Vents are fitted with stainless steel grids which provide maximum air intake, to keep your head cool! Outer covering is a rich Ultra-Suede. Flexible visor absorbs frontal shock. Retention system is the classic IRH wrap around harness designed with two vents to cool the neck. ASTM F-1163-04a/SEI Certified.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    IRH ATH SSV Helmet is rated 4.6818 out of 5 by 44.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice comfortable helmet This is my daughter's new schooling helmet. It could easily be used for showing as well. Very light, comfortable and fits a very long oblong head shape thanks to variety of pads to interchange. Cannot judge how cool it will be until warm weather but very pleased with it.
    Date published: 2013-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful helmet After much deliberation I decided to go with this helmet instead of the Ayr8 by Charles Owen, it ultimately came down to cost, but this seemed like the next best option that was a little bit more in my price range. The fabric feels great, and I really like the vent feature on the front (there are two vents on the back as well that I didnt know about). It fits great right out of the box and I would say it fits true to size. It is low profile from the front, and not quite as low profile in the side view, but as much as can be expected from a helmet. I got this helmet in the navy which is beautiful. Overall I am very pleased with this purchase.
    Date published: 2013-01-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful I was a little nervous to order without trying on different sizes beforehand, but I settled on one that is slightly larger than what the sizing chart reflected to assure that I had room to put my (semi-abundant amount of) hair up in it. I made the perfect decision because when I tried it on last night, it fit quite nicely and was very comfortable. The only thing I'm slightly disappointed about is that it's a little wide and gives a slight mushroom head look that I'm curious to know wouldn't be there had I ordered the Long Oval option. However, I won't be returning this one as it seems to fit well and still looks great. It's a beautiful helmet and doesn't have that "fuzz" to it that typically collects a lot dirt. I can't wait to ride in it!The picture I (hopefully) attached shows it on before putting my hair up.
    Date published: 2012-12-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I'm Hard to Fit! This helmet is comfortable and attractive... I ordered a size too large (based on trying on another brand in a store) so ended up returning and ordering a different style and a size down. After many years wearing the same type of helmet, this is my first foray into helmets that come in sizes vs. S/M/L. Smartpak has been great about my helmet-fitting dilemma! The helmet itself is really nice and I'd love to wear it.
    Date published: 2012-10-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-08-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice helmet I really like this helmet. It looks fancy enough for the show ring but is cool and comfy. It fits my head beautifully. I also LOVE that it comes in navy :) Its oh so pretty! Can't wait to show in it!
    Date published: 2012-07-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent Value I needed a new helmet for both schooling and show, but I didn't want to spend a small fortune. I love the IRH brand (this is my second) for their trendy look and excellent durability combined with their afford-ability.I liked this particular IRH because it comes in a variety of sizes and has the classic look I wanted.
    Date published: 2012-07-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very comfortable helmet! The helmet looks a little bulky. It fits really well and is light and comfortable. I like the overall styling for a working helmet and have no complaints.
    Date published: 2012-07-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Schooling Helmet! Great for schooling and probably shows, too!! I wore this when I was younger for lessons and loved it!!
    Date published: 2012-06-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Summer Helmet & Perfect Fit! I purchased this helmet which was recommended by one of the lovely product specialists at Smartpak. I wanted a helmet which would help to keep me cool during summer months, and fit a bit better than my Charles Owen.So far, riding this year has been much more comfortable and well ventilated. The fit of this helmet is also much better than the Charles Owen for my head shape and it's super easy to clean and use for schooling and showing.I also love the sleek and chic profile this helmet has , looking back at photos from lessons and shows. A great buy at a fraction of the cost of some of the pricier helmets on the market. TIP: DO ORDER UP an 1/8 of a size if you have longer hair, like me.
    Date published: 2012-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Purchase Really like the helmut, good price, perfect for training or show.
    Date published: 2012-06-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best helmet I have every purchased I needed a show helmet, and after much deliberation, I purchased this one. It is by far the best fitting helmet I own, as well as the most comfortable! I purchased my original helmet at my local tack shop, and ended up falling in it 2 days later. Since I hit my head pretty hard, I sent it in to IRH for replacement. The process was very easy, and it wasn't long before I had my new helmet! I will be getting another one of these in the future for schooling purposes.
    Date published: 2012-05-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this helmet I absolutley love this helmet. I ride and show dressage and the elegant simpilcity of this helmet is perfect for the show ring. I have had several compliments on it at the shows and I always tell people what type and brand it is. I have one in navy for showing and one in black for schooling. They fit my head perfectly (I have a small head). I don't know about the durability of this helmet as I have not had them long enough.
    Date published: 2012-05-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great, but not for me I really liked this helmet, unfortunately it just didn't fit my head properly. Went with another IRH and I'm very happy. Still liked this one better...but I can't change the shape of my head!Excellent, excellent service. Ordered the helmet on a Monday morning, got it Tuesday. No problems getting a label to send it back. Wish all online purchases/returns were so easy.
    Date published: 2012-03-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great modern helmet! I love the fit and look of this helmet! At first, I bought the long oval helmet which did not fit properly so bought the regular shape...which fit like a glove. The first and second helmet came to me only in a few days. Returning the first helmet was very easy too...and free! The size chart comes true to size. I really like how this helmet looks, it is not bulky and very sophisticated. The weather has been cool so I have not really been able to see how well the ventilation is. I would recommend this helmet if you are trying to find a great helmet at a decent price.
    Date published: 2011-11-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful helmet After a long search for the perfect helmet and 3 other purchases, I finally found it - the perfect fit! For those who suffer from helmets that hurt your forehead or are loose side to side, the long oval fit avaialable in this helmet is fantastic. AND it is available in BLUE. Highly recommended!
    Date published: 2011-08-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-07-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Happy I love this helmet. It fits very well and is comfortable. It looks like one of the expensive helmets. I know because my friend has one of the $800.00 models and she likes mine better. She is going to order this one next. It doesn't look too big on your head, the color is softer on your face, not too harsh like other colors. I live in the southwest and it gets hot here but the helmet is not too hot. My head doesn't itch with this one like other helmets.
    Date published: 2011-07-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-06-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Helmet for a Nice Price Very comfortable and fits very well. Great value for a really smart looking and safe helmet.
    Date published: 2011-06-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Attractive and affordable Half the price of the CO and a third the price of a GPA, this helmet is equally attractive. No mushroom head effect, and the long oval sizing option ensures a perfect fit.
    Date published: 2011-04-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the Navy I ordered this helmet here because its the only place that offers it in navy (as far as i could find) Even the IRH website doesnt suggest they might! It took a long time to arrive - I wish SmartPak would have given me a clue it would take so long (3.5 weeks). But I got it today, and out of the box it fit like it was made for me. I have a large, oval head, and its been difficult for me to find comfortable helmets, in the past I've had to make the drive to the nearest tack store that stocks helmets (read 5 hour one way drive) try them all on, and buy the one that comes closest to fitting, regardless of fashion. This helmet fits perfectly, and is absolutely beautiful, i'm in LOVE. THANK you smartpak, for offering a pretty helmet for jugheads like me!
    Date published: 2011-03-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Eh I have you this helmet a few times and I am not much of a fan. It is very soft on the inside! But..there is no venting my head gets so hot!!!! It does look nice but gives a slight mushroom head. Is it good for the price? Yes But for lesson money you could buy the charles owen jr8 which is way nicer!
    Date published: 2011-02-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My daughter's favorite of all time My 14 year old daughter has had a number of helmets and this is her all time favorite! She has it in the Black/Black color. The fit is great and she doesn't look like a mushroom head. The vents keep her head cool in the summer. She took her helmet to overnight camp and totally abused it by not keeping it in its cover, leaving it on the ground, etc. but it cleaned up perfectly. Its not a cheap helmet but its not the most expensive either. If her size ever goes on sale in either the black or charcoal I'll buy her another for the future! I feel she is very safe in this helmet which is the most important thing but she feels it looks great and is very comfortable.
    Date published: 2010-12-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good but not great First of all let me just say how ridiculously comfortable this helmet is. Putting it on is like wearing a little cloud on your head. My helmet fits my head very well and is snug without being obnoxious.With that said... this helmet has zero ventilation. It kind of tries to, but it just doesn't work. I find that my head sweats like crazy when I wear this helmet and when I take it off the lining is soaked and so is my head. Gross.I wish this helmet were better ventilated. We have had a very warm summer and this helmet isn't helping. I actually purchased another helmet with better ventilation because of this. Guess I'll wear this one in the winter!
    Date published: 2010-07-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Worthwhile buy My head isn't the hardest to fit, but it is large. My biggest problem is finding a helmet that is able to come down and actually sit on my head and not just perch around it. For the price, this helmet has a good fit-it's attractive and doesn't have as terrible a "bubble head" effect as some others can. My biggest complaint is that it is difficult to put my hair up in it for shows, though the black on black option is suitable for a more formal riding setting.It's worth the buy, though not the best fitting helmet on the market-for the price, you definitely get a quality good.
    Date published: 2010-07-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great helmet for a reasonable price As I've gotten older and now work indoors, it's an ugly truth: I faint easily in this Florida heat. I need to protect my head while riding. I also want a good deal for my hard-earned money. This helmet fits the bill perfectly! The airflow is great, and the fit is fine, even when handling my thick hair under the helmet. I've tried the more expensive brands only to find that they're not the right fit, or if they fit OK, the helemt looks HUGE with my hair tucked into it, thus compromising the OK fit with my hair out. This one was the only helemt that felt fine!
    Date published: 2010-06-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Helmet for the $$ I've been looking for a new show helmet for a while and really wanted a more modern model with ventilation. I was shocked by the prices on other brands and was pleasantly surprised by the cost for IRH. Also, I LOVE the Long Oval option as the rounder models do not fit me well. Only complaint was the slightly faded look to the black material compared to the rounder model. Manufactured date on the long oval was 2008 vs. 2010 for the round model. Perhaps it faded in storage? Almost returned helmet, but decided to keep since the long oval was backordered. Glad I kept it!! Don't hesitate to buy this one!!
    Date published: 2010-05-20
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from odd fit Fits my head weird, doesnt vent well. Hard to wash insides. Looks big on my head compared to other helmets- Id pass on this one.
    Date published: 2014-04-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love This Helmet This is a GREAT helmet. Very comfy and looks really nice.
    Date published: 2010-04-05
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2013 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.