Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Fuller Fillies Ali Gater

Fuller Fillies
- Item #17219

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Get the look of a top quality tall boot in an affordable gaiter style half chap!  Made from full-hide leather, lined with soft Amara suede for the ultimate in comfort and durability, the Fuller Fillies Ali-Gaiter has a broad pleated and elasticized back section which hugs the leg to give a perfect fit.  A Spanish top lengthens the leg for an elegant look.

Sizes Wide-Standard, Wide-Short, Extra Wide-Standard, or Extra Wide-Short.

Calf Widths: 15"-18" (Wide), 17"-20" (Extra Wide)
Calf Heights: 17" (Standard), or 15" (Short)

To obtain calf height, sit on a chair and measure from the ankle bone center to the crease behind your knee.  Do not order longer than this measurement. 

To obtain calf width, sit on a chair and measure the largest part of your calf.  If you are on the upper limit of a width fitting then order the larger size.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Fuller Fillies Ali Gater is rated 4.4828 out of 5 by 29.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-10-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from they fit! fat riders unite!(and reclaim better sizing for chaps)these FullerFillies chaps are working for me and they look good, but i'd prefer them a notch tighter, especially just above the ankle.that said, i have large calves, which are notoriously difficult to cover.the chaps look nice, and the leather seems strong enough to last, but i only had those for little time, so it's too early to say anything.good chaps for the price, anyway.
    Date published: 2012-09-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Half Chaps I have hard-to-fit wide calves, but these fit just as described. Plus they're comfortable and look really good -- got compliments the first time I wore them.
    Date published: 2012-04-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Until I found these, larger calf half chaps were impossible to find! These seem to run big, but once on they're comfortable and protective, and seem durable. So glad I found them!
    Date published: 2012-01-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ali Gators These 1/2 chaps look like they will be great.Great quality, but I wish the zippers zippedTo bottom, instead of bottom to top.Just exchanged them for brown a few days ago,So I will use them next week.But I must commend Smart Paks customer service department!!!!! Wonderful and easy .Highly recommend.
    Date published: 2011-12-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from love these half chaps I wasn't sure what to expect when I ordered them, but when I opened the box I was pleasantly surprised. These chaps look great and feel great on. I would definitely purchase them again.
    Date published: 2011-08-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Nice Product Very nice quality leather half chaps. Looks great and fits well. Was able to pull off my dressage look without the pressure of ill-fitting tall boots. The time from order to receipt was exceptional. I'm pleased.
    Date published: 2011-06-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE LOVE LOVE! I absolutely love love love these half chaps! They fit perfectly and are super comfortable and really nice! I have been searching for wide half chaps to fit my big calf forever and am so glad someone finally made such a great option for the wider calf! Trust me if you are looking for a wider half chap and have had a problem finding something that fits these will definetly fit you! I have the biggest calf and they fit me perfectly! I would suggest measuring your calf before ordering esp the height because I thought i would be a tall or average and i am actually a short and i love love love them! BEST PURCHASE EVER! I actually ordered a 2nd pair (the suede schooling ones) for everyday use so that i could save these for shows
    Date published: 2011-04-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Gaiters These half chaps are excellent for those of us who do not have fashion model legs. They fit comfortably, are easy to get on and off and look quite smart. Best of all, they are excellent for riding, provide a secure grip and don't shift. I've only had them a short time, so I can't comment on durability yet. But I will, as I ride almost every day, both in the ring and cross country. Only problem - "Fuller Fillies"????? I'd love to recommend these to anyone who asks me about them, but can't they come up with a less embarrassing name?
    Date published: 2011-03-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another Winner from FF! I received these for my birthday and WOW, they are even better than I hoped. I have now made several purchases from the FF line and am so happy that they are making more of it available in the US. These half chaps have a beautiful line and give the illusion of a longer leg, though I'm happy to see that the designers understand that just because you have large calves does not mean you are 8 ft tall. The leather quality is very nice, the fit is true to the guide they provide, and I love the lining; very comfy. I guess the only downside is that now I will have to keep my paddocks in better condition so they don't look shabby against the new and beautiful chaps. One small surprise is that, although this is not shown in the photo, the swagger tabs have metal studs with the "Filly" logo. All in all, another wonderful product from FF.
    Date published: 2011-01-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great fit, Good Value I love these chaps, my friends at the barn all thought I had bought new tall boots! My only concern is that the stitching on one of the zippers is coming undone and will need to be repaired already at the leather shop. I do ride daily, but I am not hard on my equipment and take very good care of them, so I do not feel this should have occured after 3 weeks of ownership. Otherwise I am happy with them.
    Date published: 2010-11-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great half chaps Like some of the other reviewers, I got these because there were very few tall boots that came close to fitting me and my trainer thought I would be more comfortable in paddocks and half chaps. I love these! They look nice enough to ride in at local shows and they're very comfortable, especially considering I just recently started showing and had only been riding in paddock boots for the past few years. I highly recommend these for larger riders and I hope Fuller Fillies continues making more options for larger riders.
    Date published: 2010-07-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I like em I bought these because I couldn't find boots that would fit my calves. These fit true to size I would say and I would definitely recommend them to anyone who was having trouble finding boots though I believe fuller fillies is coming out with boots soon. These are a great boots substitute.
    Date published: 2010-05-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit and wear well There are a great pair of half chaps. When i purchased they were less expensive but even at today's price i think they are worth it. I've had them for about 6 months and they are still going strong with little sign of wear. I'd consider buying the boots that appear to be the simlar style.
    Date published: 2010-04-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-02-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I just got these chaps. They fit well and give the nice look of a tall boot when you're in the saddle. They are unlined so I'm not sure how long they will hold up to daily riding, but I still wouldn't hesitate to purchase another pair.
    Date published: 2010-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So comfortable! They're a little loose right above the ankle but otherwise these are a excellent fit and extremely comfortable. No more feeling like my calves are in a vice!
    Date published: 2010-01-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice pair of half chaps Unfortunately the zipper broke on the first pair after only about 3 weeks. The nice thing was that they were replaced for free. Other then that I do think they fit really well.
    Date published: 2009-12-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect! Bought these to wear in a schooling show and am really impressed. My trainer and other competitors commented on my "boots" not noticing they were half chaps. With my wider calf they fit very well. Love em, love em, love em. And so much easier to clean up than tall boots!
    Date published: 2009-11-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from ABSOLUTELY LOVED THEM!!! Even in my skinny days I had large calves. However, they are now measuring at 20.5"! Needless to say I thought custom shaps was my only chance. I bought these chaps and prayed because I had a show coming up and I couldn't afford custom chaps in time nor was there enough time to make them. To my surprise they fit! Great I might add. My leg was so much more quiet when riding and with my black paddock boots people had to looks twice to even tell that they weren't field boots! I am thinking of buying another pair as a back up set.
    Date published: 2009-09-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Next Best Thing to Customs I'm in that "hard-to-fit" category of rider - older, shorter and rounder. I had postponed showing b/c I couldn't afford custom boots. Then I purchased the AliGator short x-wides for my 14" tall x 19" wide calves. Been riding in them all summer and love the fit. Finally - riding legware that fits me! Easy to zip on. My legs don't feel or look like stuffed sausages. I add them to a pair of plain pull-on black leather jodphur boots, keep them polished to the same shine level and it looks like I'm wearing tall customs.
    Date published: 2009-09-03
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.