Product Image

Farrier's Formula® Double Strength

Life Data Labs, Inc.
- Item #14675
Form: Pellets
Maintenance Dose: 1 SmartPak Well
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.


How many SmartPak scoops does my horse need?



Farrier's Formula® is the original hoof supplement, validated through independent university research, and the #1 recommended* hoof supplement by farriers for 12 consecutive years. Provides a comprehensive selection of nutrients for the health of the hoof, skin and coat!

The nutrients in Farrier's Formula® Double Strength, important for a healthy hoof, are provided at twice the concentration compared to original Farrier's Formula® with the taste that horses love!

The 11 lb. nitrogen flushed vacuum package or 11 lb. bucket deliver:

  • Twice the number of daily doses compared to original Farrier's Formula®
  • A 60 day supply for a 1000 lb horse at the Adult Replenishment Feeding Level or a 120 day supply when feeding at the Adult Maintenance Feeding Level
  • Added benefit of being more economical to feed compared to original Farrier's Formula®.

*#1 According to an annual survey performed by the American Farrier’s Journal.

Feed at the replenishment feeding level (3 oz / 85 gm for a 1000 lb. horse) for horses with hoof problems. After feeding for 6 to 8 months and desired results have been achieved, the adult replenishment feeding level may be reduced to the maintenance feeding level (1.5 oz / 42.5 gm for a 1000 lb. horse).

View our Hoof Supplement Comparison Chart

Original Farrier's Formula® in buckets or bags

Order This Product In:

    Ships every 28 days
  edit
Maintenance Dose
  edit
Custom Dose  cancel
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on SmartPaks over $40
Congrats, you earned free shipping!

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on orders over $75
Congrats, you earned free shipping!
You Might Also Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Farrier's Formula® Double Strength is rated 4.8318 out of 5 by 529.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Strong feet, shiny coat My horse is barefoot for the winter, and this supplement ensures his feet do well. His coat has also benefited.
    Date published: 2014-02-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Bought a month ago and very happy with product. Would recommend to everyone.
    Date published: 2014-02-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from OTTB Recovery I tried this as part of rehab plan for my TB. His feet were in horrible shape, never kept a shoe on longer than a couple of weeks. He had a massive scar down the front of his hoof from damage on his band. This coupled with SmartSox, and six weeks worth of cast and his hoof is a completely different hoof. The specialty farrier was sure we would need to reset the casts for an additional 6 weeks with how horrible his initial xrays looked. Upon re-examination both the vet and the farrier were questioning if it was the same hoof. The structural integrity was amazingly improved and he had doubled his sole in just 6 weeks. They had never seen a turn around as drastic as his. When they asked what I did differently, I said I optimized his nutrition. ;) All my horses are on this product. His hooves are now stable enough that we can consider going barefoot during off season. Something no one ever thought was possible. I keep him on the initial dose, but all my others are on the maintenance dose with no recurring issues.
    Date published: 2014-02-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horse likes it,eats it up! My horse loves the taste,and his feet are already looking better! Fast shipping
    Date published: 2014-03-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from For four good feet I AM ORDERING REFILLS FOR MY ONCE FOUNDERED MARE. BECAUSE SMART HOOF ULTRA HELPED GET HER SOUND
    Date published: 2014-02-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Seeing great results! My appy boy's hooves were always chipping so I kept him in shoes in the front. His back feet would split but never really bad. He has been on this 7 months now and last month I notices no chips or new cracks anywhere! He hasn't had shoes on for about 2 months now so being barefoot and no problems is great for both of us. I also like that it is in pellet form as he does not like powder. I had him on 2 scoops once a day for about 4 months. He is now on one scoop daily and still doing good.
    Date published: 2014-01-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This stuff works great Been using Farriers Formula for eight years on my OTTB. Switched to double strength to save money. My horse's hooves were horrible, constantly splitting, constantly popping shoes due to breakouts. He hasn't lost a shoe in two years, no more breakouts either. Started using on my draft cross who doesn't where shoes about 6-7 months ago. Didn't tell farrier; however, he commented on how much better her feet have been the last month or two. It takes about 4-6 months to see significant improvement, but once they do improve, the hooves stay that way with continued use at maintenance level. Smartpak also ships this free, so purchasing it here is a good value.
    Date published: 2014-01-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from grow healthy hoof! I've always had Farriers Formula Double Strength in Bentley's Smartpak , but I was worried about his lack of heel.  My farrier recommended doubling up on the Double Strength. For the past 6 weeks, I've done just that. Double dose in both am and pm feedings. Even at this time of year, when hoof growth is the slowest, I can see the growth increase. 
    Date published: 2014-01-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great! New hoof growth has been noticeable and a shining coat has been a bonus! Egg plan to keep using the supplement.
    Date published: 2014-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-12-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth it! I purchased my mare over a year ago and was told by the vet after the pre-purchase exam that it might be a good idea to put her on something for her feet because she had thin walls. I immediately looked at reviews of products and settled on this one. She hasn't so much as thrown a shoe since I bought her and every farrier that has worked with her has commented on what great shape her feet are in. Also, she is a picky eater and gobbles it right up!
    Date published: 2013-12-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My appy has horrible feet - constantly cracking regardless of how many times I have them trimmed & shod. I tried this because both my farrier & vet suggested it might help. It DID! His hooves showed improvement in 6 months. (I was planning on trying it for a year) I am now continuing it.
    Date published: 2013-12-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far, so good! I've only had my horse on this for 2 months (at the replenishment dose), and she's grown about a half inch of new hoof so far - which looks good. I plan to keep her on this for a year to see how well it works. Nice bonus though, her coat is just gleaming already.
    Date published: 2013-12-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far my horse has had great success and hooves look great.  
    Date published: 2013-12-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great stuff My picky eater eats it right up! He's already walking better!
    Date published: 2013-12-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAATE!!!!!! I have had my TWH on this product for 24 yrs. It has been the single most importantproduct that has kept him sound. He is extremely flat footed and was kept padded on front until I purchased him. He is currently shod normally on front and bare-foot on rear. He is 29 yrs old now and is semi-retired. I truly believe that this product alongwith knowledgeable farriers have kept him sound and able to enjoy a long life. He is still going strong and is ridden by my grandson on short trail rides and by me on jauntsaround the farm.
    Date published: 2013-12-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have been very pleased with this product. My horse would be lame for up to a week after getting his feet trimmed so I figured I would try this. Ever since my horse has gotten this he is not lame at all after getting his feet done. 
    Date published: 2013-12-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product - but a little disappointed I switched from Smart Hoof to this product thinking I could "kill 2 birds with 1 stone" in that it had an ample amount of Omega 3 in it (compared to the Smart Hoof). My horses have been on a multitude of hoof supplements for the past 7 years since we moved to a place w/hard clay ground and their feet started falling apart. I figured since they'd already been on a hoof supplement for so long that I would be able to put them on this using the "maintenance" dose instead of the "loading" dose. My picky mare didn't like it at first (but she is VERY sensitive to anything different in her feed & she did start eating it with no problem within a week or so). I noticed within only 1 month the new growth surrounding my mare's coronet band looked awful...very dry & peeling like. I upped the dose to the "loading" dose & her feet seem to be holding their own, however, she's been on it for about 6 months now & I'm not about to drop the dosage to see what happens. It has ended up not being very cost efficient compared to the Smart Hoof, which had done a fine job all along. I am switching back to Smart Hoof because of this. I do think Farrier's Formula is a great product, but again not cost efficient for me to have to feed the loading dose forever.
    Date published: 2013-12-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Working great but its only been one month. This product is appearing to live up to its name, but I've only used it for one month so far.  I can't wait to see my horse's feet after about 6 months on Farrier's Formula-Double Strenght.
    Date published: 2013-11-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Transformed my horse's feet I purchased a 2 year old that came to me with extremely flat, chipped, short, flared hooves . I immediately started her on the loading dose, and 6 months later, she had a healthy frog, noticeably thicker hoof walls, no more chips, and her hooves had grown out to almost twice their former size. My farrier has been so impressed with how her feet have grown out and how she wears her hooves. I took her off the loading dose and on to the maintenance dose after about 8 months, and in the last 5 months her feet have grown out even more. I would not hesitate to recommend this supplement to anyone having hoof problems with their horses.
    Date published: 2013-11-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome product! I have used one 11lb bag of this and so far I am in love. I previously used the basic formula but wasn't seeing a huge change after going through two buckets, so I decided to give this a try. I would definitely go with the bag as it costs less, but store in a plastic container. (I use my old smartpak buckets!) It lasted me a good 3 months and the difference in my horse's hooves is obvious. They are stronger and growing fast! I would definitely recommend this product.
    Date published: 2013-11-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Never Taking Him Off This! Started my horse on Farrier's Formula about two months ago when he had thrown another shoe and I was told he needed to be on something. My horse has very weak walls only made worse on one hoof by it being slightly clubbed. Even though it has only been 2 months, what growth has come in is better quality than the old hoof. An old injury where growth always looks cracked does NOT have that appearance! It's completely filled in! The quality of frog growth is much better too. My horse has a nice frog for the first time in his life. And all this is only on the maintenance dosing, as I didn't realize the dosing was doubled for the first 6 - 8 months! Will review again at 6 month mark, with hopefully pictures of improvement.
    Date published: 2013-11-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-10-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great stuff! I've only had my TB gelding on this for a short while, my 3rd Smartpaks are about to ship. But so far he eats it up no problem. My vet and trainer, as well as multiple farriers I've talked to, rave about this product. My TB had horrible feet, very thin walls that degraded with every seasonal climate change (I live in Washington, so lots of rain and hot summers), and very sensitive soles. I started him on Horseshoer's Secret and was able to get him barefoot after a few months. When I started Smartpaks I had him on SmartHoof which was good, but he is still sensitive on gravel. My farrier says his feet are super hard and in good condition and they aren't chipping or anything but I wanted to see if I could banish the gravel sensitivity. Will update later once he's been on it for a while.
    Date published: 2013-10-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Came highly recommended I have been giving my 2 horses this for 2 months now. Since hoof growth is slow with all horses it is a bit hard for me to see 'instant' results. I can say that the product is of good quality and came very highly recommended by my farrier for my horses cracked and chipped hooves. Palatabiity is not a problem at all. Even my picky mare eats it with out a problem. I will try to report back in a few more months as to improvement in my horses hooves.
    Date published: 2013-12-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from helps hoof growth I sarted feeding this product to my laminitic mare 2 years ago, and her feet have grown in wonderfully...thick soles and strong walls. I just stared feeding it to a horse diagnosed with thin soles and I am expecting the same great results.
    Date published: 2013-10-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from put the shine on my horse! After feeding this product to my horse for only two weeks, her coat seemed to bloom and now it is very healthy and shiny. Even though it was meant for hooves, I mainly bought it for her overall health. I was impressed with it.
    Date published: 2013-09-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-09-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent for hoof problems My 22 year old gelding used to have trouble holding shoes... and his feet would break off of be crumbly at certain times of the season. He has been on Double Stregth Farriers Formula for 6 years now... and has NO problems with crumbling, breaking, and hasn't lost a shoe in over 5 years. It is a great product. I was told once... "No feet, No horse" and I believe it. Thank you Smart Pak and Farriers formula for helping my special guy... remain able to maintain good strong feet!!
    Date published: 2013-09-04
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.