Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Essential Brush Kit SAVE 10%

Item #11223
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Standard brush set includes 4 different brushes necessary for optimal grooming

Favorite Features

  • Stiff Center w/Medium Border Body brush
  • Bleached Tampico Soft Brush
  • Winner's Circle Gold Finishing Brush
  • Specialty 3" Black Poly Brush
  • Customize your brushes!  Each brush can be laser engraved for that perfect finishing touch. 

You Might Like
    out of 5
    91% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Essential Brush Kit is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 65.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Nice, Not As Amazing As I Thought I am saving these brushes to use as show items only, so I cannot vouch for their durability yet. They seem like well-made, quality brushes. They are nice, but not quite as nice as I expected. I viewed these brushes as a "splurge" purchase, but if I had to do it again, I think I'd go ahead and spend the extra money on the more expensive brush set. My hands are small, and these fit well in my hand and are not too small and not too large or hard to handle. The flick brush bristles were warped from shipping, (but that should fix itself over time) and the softest brush is not as soft as I thought it would be. The body brush with the stiff center and softer border is a cool brush to have. I love the natural bristles. Overall, a good purchase, but I would recommend shelling out the extra bucks for the nicer set.
    Date published: 2013-02-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect WOW, obsessed. This is a perfect gift, especially for those of us who like separate sets of stuff for showing. The engraving is beautiful, and the brushes feel very high-quality. Such a great purchase. Thanks Smartpak!
    Date published: 2013-02-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So great- I ordered 2 sets! These brushes are outstanding! I ordered another set so that I can wash one set & leave the other at the barn. They keep their shape after multiple washings & they're super durable.
    Date published: 2013-01-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the personalization! I had these personalized and love it! I had my name inscribed so my brushes don't accidentally walk away. Great variety from the softest to the sturdiest. They seem to be holding up well too.
    Date published: 2012-08-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Clean Horse These brushes help me make my horse clean for the show ring. I love the quality of these brushes.
    Date published: 2012-06-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from i love all of these brushes. they feel fine in my hand and my hand doesnt get tired
    Date published: 2012-05-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great purchase The brushes are very good quality and the difference in my horses appearance is noticable. My barn buddies can't believe they were such a good price. I don't know about durability as I have only had them a month.
    Date published: 2012-05-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality Brushes! These are really nice brushes! They are made very well and I love them. Its hard to find good brushes with wood handles that will last. I'm very impressed and the price was great too!
    Date published: 2012-05-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Quality brush set and a great price I just got this in the mail today and the monogram just adds so much class! The set is beautiful and simply lovely! I like it so much I will be using these for shows only!
    Date published: 2012-05-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice set of brushes These are a very nice set and feel good in my hands as well as work well on my horse. I didn't do the personalization as trying to stay on a budget, so did the Sharpie routine instead, though am sure the personalization from Smartpak would have been more classy.
    Date published: 2012-03-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Brushes These brushes are great. My horse really likes them and he looks sooo handsome when I get all done.
    Date published: 2012-03-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Brushes Ever These brushes are great! I use them all the time!
    Date published: 2012-02-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Most Amazing Brushes Ever My mom got me these brushes for Christmas. I absolutey LOVE them. My instructer uses them, her daughter, and some of her riders too. They are durable and everyone gives me compliments on how great they work for my horse who shows dirt like a white sheet! He is cleaner and shinier than any horse at our barn. I would recomend these brushes to anyone!
    Date published: 2012-01-27
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Average Brushes The webpage describes the brushes as "standard." There was nothing special about the handle material and bristles nor the way they were fastened together. Cost was on the high side. Quality, Value and Durability will be determined after a significant period and frequency of use. Laser engraving was disappointing. Only 4 of 6 fonts available can be viewed on the website. Engraving all 4 brushes cost $23.80. Although the horse's name only used 5 letters, the size of the engraving was dwarfed by the company name & logo. I would get a Dremel electric engraver for $20 @ Home Depot and engrave more than 4 brushes by printing the font size and style I wanted from my computer onto clear mailing labels (as an engraving guide) and placing them where I think they would look the best.
    Date published: 2012-01-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from love these! gorgeous and affordable! my sensitive tb loves them
    Date published: 2012-01-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good value I read the other reviews about these brushes, and was hoping they'd be decent quality despite the lower price. Well, I'm very pleased -- the brushes are very nice, good quality and have so far stood up to my rather aggressive use. I would definitely recommend them!
    Date published: 2011-12-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Brushes!! I LOVEEEE these brushes!!! the are amazing. I got the laser engraving done with my initials and it looks soooo nice!! you also save alot of money buying the set! and the brushes work well, gets the deep down dirt and and creates a nice shiny finish :D would definitively buy them again
    Date published: 2011-11-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice that they come in a set! The brushes are great quality, get the job done & cover so much of your grooming needs. The price is well worth it.
    Date published: 2011-10-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Brushes, Love the Engraving Good brushes, (the Specialty 3" Black Poly Brush is my personal favorite) and order the set add a curry and hoofpick and you are good to go. I also got my initials engraved, which looks great, and considering how long these probably are going to last is a great alternative to brushes with sharpie writing all over them to prevent stickie fingers from "borrowing" them.
    Date published: 2011-09-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great purchase Nice that these brushes can be bought all together in one package. Makes it easy to purchase and ends up cheaper than buying all four brushes seperately.
    Date published: 2011-07-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from winner's circle brush kit These are nice brushes - it's nice that they are grouped together so you get what you need instead of having to guess or buy different brands. I like that they are smaller to fit in my hands - larger brushes made my hands sore and I dropped them often.
    Date published: 2011-06-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great deal I really love these brushes as does my older horse. There is a brush for every job and my horse loves a different one for all his parts. I will get these again.
    Date published: 2011-05-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Good Buy Great Brushed and has everything you need in the kit.Quality
    Date published: 2011-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brush set I was very happy with this set, they are great quality and fit perfectly in my hand (I hate those big long brushes, they just feel awkward). They are doing a great job with my horse's thick winter coat and she isn't as staticy with these as she is with plastic bristles. All in all I am very pleased with them.
    Date published: 2010-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Purchase! Very nice set of brushes and they appear to be excellent quatlity for the price. Thanks SmartPak for always having just what I am looking for at a decent price and fast shipping too!
    Date published: 2010-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great set!! Bought these in conjunction with the Hill Brush set for my trainer on her birthday. She LOVES them!! Got her horse's name engraved on them, which she was absolutely ecstatic about! Totally recommend these!
    Date published: 2010-11-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful!!! All of my horses have this set! It is perfect! I love that the handles fit my small hands and all of the brushes are of fabulous quality.
    Date published: 2010-07-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Brush Set This set is very well thought out.The tampico and tampico mix brushes really get to the dirt. The black flicker brush takes care of that surface dust. The horsehair face brush is so soft that my horses love to have their faces done. Even the most sensitive.The quality is excellent. Made in the USA! You just can't go wrong with these.It would be super to have a set for home, one for the shows and another to give to a good friend.
    Date published: 2010-06-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Deal I ordered these brushes not expecting much and was surprised on how well made they really were for the price. Real easy to handle I hate huge brushes because the don't fit in my hands well. Great deal for the price!!
    Date published: 2010-05-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from "Good" with nice price Not super stylish, or super high quality, but very good for the price. I ordered these just to have some extra brushes and was very pleased with them when they arrived. They're not crazy neon colors which I find tacky, and they're of good quality. I also got my initials stamped on these (actually like engraved into the wood- pretty cool and much better than the old permanent marker trick) to deter sticky-fingers.
    Date published: 2010-05-14
    • 2015-02-25T07:27CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_9, tr_56
    • loc_en_US, sid_1223, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco
    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco, a.k.a “Bud” Breed: Appaloosa Age: 24 years old PATH Intl. Accredited Center: Hearts & Horses Location: Loveland, CO Bud is an incredible equine therapist, and has been at Hearts & Horses the longest of

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.