Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Equine Edibles Carat Cake

Equine Edibles
- Item #19873
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The Equine Edibles Carat Cake treat is an individually wrapped cake full of carrots & raisins with cinnamon, spice and everything nice! It is a real diamond of a treat, one whiff of a Carat Cake will have your horse nickering for more!

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Equine Edibles Carat Cake is rated 4.4423 out of 5 by 52.
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Uninterested Both my mare and gelding refused to eat this treat. I thought it was something different they would enjoy, but they didn't. It smelled good. The consistency is cake like, I'm thinking that may have been what turned them off.
    Date published: 2014-06-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Horse Loved It! I got this for my horse for his 31st birthday and he loved it! After he finished he kept nuzzling my pockets looking for more!
    Date published: 2014-05-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smells so good I bought one of these a while ago, and it was absolutely delcicous smelling.I took a little nibble and oh it was soft and dense, wish it was edible for humans. My horse loved it. Really hearty full of tons of stuff, really easy to break into little pieces, definitely buying more.
    Date published: 2014-05-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Picky eather approved My three are all pretty picky, and were unsure of the first one, but loved it once they tried it again.
    Date published: 2014-05-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from super delicious! Super delicious treat! Two out of 14 horses approved!
    Date published: 2014-04-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! Great for a horse b-day present! We gave it to our 25 year old Morgan Gelding! He so loved it! It smelled delicious and he was waiting for more! The price is great and it soft enough for horses that can only eat soft food! It is all organic, has cinnamon in it and raisins! If it was edible for people, I would eat it! I totally recommend it!
    Date published: 2014-04-21
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from My horse thought it was ok My horse normally eats treats tight away and he wasn't that impressed. In fact he didn't finish it.
    Date published: 2014-04-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horse crack Our guy loves these. They taste like moist, dense, salty carrot cake. Yes, I've tried them.
    Date published: 2014-04-08
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Horse hated I bought this as a special treat for my horse but he unfortunately hated it and refused to eat it. He's generally not a picky eater and when I tried to give it to a friends horse, he too refused to eat it. It smells good and is easy to break into pieces but a waste of money since my horse hated it.
    Date published: 2014-03-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smells so Good! My young horse that tries to eat everything did not like it, but my other horse really liked it. I would buy it again.
    Date published: 2014-03-18
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Horse Wouldn't Eat It This carrot cake treat had a nice texture to it, smelt very yummy but my horse thought differently. Oh well!
    Date published: 2013-07-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse loves them!!! I bought a human carrot cake for my mare's 20TH birthday which she turned up her nose at. The following years I tried again with carrot cake followed by banana cream with no luck. I came across the Carat Cakes and tried one. She loves them. She gets them for holidays and her birthday and only the humans have the regular cake.
    Date published: 2013-06-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horsey Carat Cake Not only does my horse love this treat, but his stable mate nickers for it too! I share one of the large treats between the two of them and it gives them both great satisfaction. I wish they were a little less expensive and came in larger quantities that were storable, but, it is what it is and, if you want something special for your horse, this is it!
    Date published: 2013-06-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pony Loved This Treat My daughter purchased this for her pony and he loved it. I'd describe it as a fun, special treat.
    Date published: 2013-05-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Treat I buy the cake cake and the nuggets and all my horses love them! I recently bought a very picky eatter and he loves them. I also purchased a rescue horse that they said wouldn't eat any treats and he too was more than happy to eat a carrot cake. They smell great and are soft so the horses can eat them easily. The treats are also large enough I will spilt them between 3 horses!
    Date published: 2013-05-03
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from disappointment the horses love them, but I felt that you don't get much for your money. I was just a bit disappointed.
    Date published: 2013-04-23
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from He liked it! My horse loved this treat and it looked like a piece of real carrot cake almost It was a little smaller that what I expected but still something different
    Date published: 2013-02-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It looked and smelled so good, I tried it! My first thought when I saw this treat was "looks like a people carrot cake minus the icing".I unwrapped it and thought "smells like one too"! Naturally curious, I couldn't resist....tastes like one too!!If you want your horse to follow you like a puppy or lick your hand, face, shirt for 10 minutes after eating one....give 'em one of these Carat Cakes. Too pricey for an everyday treat, I reserve them for after the ride, after getting off the trailer back at home. A job well done reward!
    Date published: 2013-01-31
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from I wish my horse wasn't so picky! I ordered this to boost my purchase up to get free shipping hoping my horse would enjoy this treat. Unfortunately my little mare is a picky eater and only ate a few bites before spitting it out. =(I gave the rest to another horse and she enjoyed it! It's a large treat though so it can definitely be broken up and used over a period of days.
    Date published: 2013-01-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Had to review again! I just wanted to write another review after my last purchase. After previous sucess with another horse I tried these for my new TB gelding who is finicky with a capitol F! He will turn his nose up at almost anything that goes in his face food, treats, hay etc. He loves these treats! Even nickered for more :) Yes they are a bit pricey but well worth it for a special treat and I break one cake up into 4-6 pieces and put it in a ziplock baggy in the tack trunk and it lasts a week!
    Date published: 2013-01-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Former Racer Loves This Carot Cake This was the best treat ever...nutritious, highly palatable, and an outstanding reward for a great workout.
    Date published: 2013-01-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Caution: tend to cause a stampede!! These treats are SO loved by every horse I have shared them with that I have to be careful I am on the OTHER side of the fence when they are gone. My horse tries to put his head in my pocket to be certain there are no crumbs left. I highly recommend as a special treat!
    Date published: 2013-01-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Haffie bows when he smells this treat! ODIE loves this treat which he gets on his birthday & Christmas. I have never seen a horse act so happy over a treat. ODIE bows on command but with carat cookie, he starts bowing & nickering as soon as he smells it. Lest you think my Haffie only gets 2 treats a year, the regular ones are peppermints & carrots.
    Date published: 2012-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this treat! I save this treat for special occassions. Our horses and donkeys love it! It was in their Christmas stocking this year and it's always available after trail rides. It's a favorite treat.
    Date published: 2012-12-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great treat! My mom bought these for my horse and pony as a special treat. My pony LOVED it and gobbled it right up. My 3 year old Arabian did not seem to like it so much. He wouldn't eat it when I put it in his food bowl, so I tried to give him just a small piece. He took it in his mouth and spit it right back out, so I am guessing he doesn't like it as much. My pony pretty much eats anything, so I don't know how much of a testimonial that is, but I'd say palatability depends on the horse for this one!
    Date published: 2012-11-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yummy! My mare LOVES these. She's a fairly picky eater when it comes to most foods, but she gobbled this up quick! They're a little too pricey for every day treats, but she definitely gets these on special occasions!
    Date published: 2012-11-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! My horses LOVED these treats! I would defiantly recommend them to anyone.
    Date published: 2012-11-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Birthday cake I got this as a "birthday" cake for me to share with my horses on my birthday. I split them up and served some to my horses. I will say that some of the horses did not like it but most of them could not get enough of it!
    Date published: 2012-10-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy Trails My horse loves these treats! They are great to take on the trail ride, because they are easy to manage, not messy and my horse finds his way back to the trailer every time. He knows there will be one waiting for him there.This past week, my group and I were on a trail. We were split 50/50 as to go right, or to go left in order to get back to the trailer.My horse told me to go left. That was good enough for me......sure enough....it was correct. ( : It's our own version of the bread crumbs.
    Date published: 2012-10-22
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Approved by 2 out of 4 horses My horse didn't care for it at all. He just turned his nose up at it and I ended up having to throw it out. Of course, I thought he would LOVE THEM, so I bought a six pack. I gave the others to my mom and she fed them to her horses. She offered them to three horses. Two of the three liked them. The other one reacted just like my horse.I guess it is just really dependent on your horse. My horse is usually not picky. I tasted a little bit and they were very "carroty" but not nearly as sweet as they looked like they would be. I bet he would have eaten it if it were sweeter, but I won't be ordering any more to try.
    Date published: 2012-09-26
    • 2015-03-06T07:09CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_50
    • loc_en_US, sid_9873, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    In Loving Memory
    You were a loving and patient partner. From our early days learning dressage together, to your "retirement" years of tearing around the field and stirring up all the youngsters, you always brought your kindness, your heart, and your spirit. Thank you for everything, Wes. You are missed.

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.