Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Elastic Breastplate

Item #16539

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Leather and elastic breastplate with removable running attachment and stainless steel hardware.  Brown, horse size.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Elastic Breastplate is rated 4.1282 out of 5 by 39.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good for the Price While this breastplate certainly isn't fancy, it will get the job done and look nice doing it. It was a bit big for even my giant 17h gelding, but that issue was quickly solved with a few extra holes made by a leather punch. This breastplate seems very durable and of reasonably good quality for the price. Perfect for schooling!
    Date published: 2012-01-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-12-27
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from I bought this for my 16h Dutch Warmblood mare, and it fits her well. I don't love the quality of the leather, and the fleece part in the front actually gave my mare a rub and irritated her skin after only a few rides. While it served its purpose until I was able to get a saddle that fit better, its now just hanging in my tack room. If I needed to use a breastplate on my mare daily, I would spend a bit more and get one that didn't irritate my mare so easily.
    Date published: 2011-09-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits my 16.1 QH well. Looks like it should have cost more than it did!
    Date published: 2011-08-29
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Just ok I have to say right off the bat, this is a good breastplate for the money. I have been using it for a few months now and I haven't had any problems with the elastic stretching out. The middle strap that goes back to the girth is comically long, but this is easily fixed with a hole punch. I purchased the cob size, which works fine on both my 16.1 H narrow TB and my 16 H stocky paint. Overall, I like the style. The buckles are unusual and a little inconvenient, but if you are just usuing this on one horse and don't need to adjust often, this shouldn't be a problem.All that said, I would not recommend this breastplate to anyone with a grey horse, or any light colored horse for that matter. My paint is white at the shoulders, and where the leather attaches to the tops of the elastic pieces, he ends up with purple/brown-ish stains every time I ride. I understand that this is likely just the dye from the rather inexpensive leather coming off when he sweats, and it comes off easily with a bath, but it is pretty unsightly.
    Date published: 2012-11-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extremely Adjustable I have used this breastplate on everything from 12.2 ponies to chunky 16 hand guys. Punch a couple of extra holes and you have a very nnie breastplate for the price. I've had mine for 7 months and it hasn't stretched as much as I expected.
    Date published: 2011-06-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very nice quality I was surprised by the good quality of both the leather and the elastic. The clips seem sturdy too, and the swivel feature is very nice. So far we've used it on several pretty tough xc courses and for schooling, and it is holding up well. The ony criticism I have is that the elastic seems short - or the straps to the saddle could be longer. I bought a full size for my skinny 16.2 TB, and it is already a bit tight. However, I'm sure that a leather shop will be able to redo the straps to give us more room as he grows.
    Date published: 2011-05-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ordered as a gift I ordered this breastplate as a gift for a friend of mine. i had it shipped to me first to see if the quality was good and if it would be something she liked. The Leather quality was excellent! Vey soft and supple, and lovely rich brown color. The elastic was subtle and had just enough "give" to it. The fleece padding on the disk was conservatively put on, but i guess it;s better than nothing. they stitched a plastic cover onto the fleece which could be a pain to take off if it gets stuck in the stitching... overall seems to be an excellent value for the price.Though it does have conway buckles, many higher end breastpplates use conway buckles because they are more durable than regular buckles - it has been my experience that many times the tongue of a regular buckle will fall off at a very bad time!!! Anyway, everything looks fine, very good quality. Seems like it will hold up to daily schooling.
    Date published: 2011-05-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not bad for the price I got this for my jumper mare who tends to jump out of her tack on a regular basis. It fits her well (although I did take off the clip at the girth and only had to punch 2 extra holes) and seems to be quite good quality for the money. The only 2 things I didn't like are the buckles (they're the punch hole style, more often seen on western tack) and the plastic that is sewn over the fleece on the center of the chest of the breastplate. However, that being said, I'm considering buying another and taking it to the leather repair shop down the street from my university to see if he can alter it to 'normal' buckles...it would make it look exactly like other breastplates that cost upwards of $150.
    Date published: 2011-03-19
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not worth it I received this yesterday, and it's clearly low quality. I am returning it. I wish SmartPak would put up a better photo and description. First of all, there are no traditional buckles - they are the "pin in hole" type, which are not that secure IMO. The snaps feel lightweight and cheap, and I can just imagine them getting rusty after a few rides in the rain. The leather is OK - indian leather. The elastic seems fine. My least favorite part is the cheap hardware, followed by the pin attachments, which should've been in the item's description.
    Date published: 2011-03-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Quality, Amazing Price I love my new breastplate. The leather is surprisingly high quality and it fits my 16.2hh thoroughbred with room on both sides. It does the job and looks great too! I just cannot tell how pleased I am with this product. If you need a breastplate, don't spend more than you have to. Buy this one!
    Date published: 2011-01-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Nicely Made Only downside is that it needed extra holes punched in both sides of the attachments, alogn with girth strap. Very nice besides that.
    Date published: 2011-01-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Nice Quality This is a very nice breastplate for the price. The leather is soft and seems like it will hold up well. I love how easy it is to clip onto the saddle. It's kind of annoying to adjust, but it works well if you don't need to adjust every two minutes. The girth strap is long, but theres about a foot worth of leather to punch holes in. Overall, it's a great breatplate.
    Date published: 2010-12-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Expecting less quality I needed a schooling breast plate for my eventer, and this does the job! the middle strap it a tad too long, but not bad. for $40, I was expecting less quality than I got! I wasn't sure if you were supposed to take the plastic off the fleece but it started coming off anyway. Love it!
    Date published: 2010-11-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Purchase this is a fantastic partial leather breast collar - I have a large quarter / arab gelding that is hard to fit,
    Date published: 2010-10-12
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good value if you can get it to fit Did not fit my 16.3 hh guy. He is big boned, but full sized tack usually fits him. The strap that attaches to the girth was too long (although you could fix that) and the straps that connect to the saddle were WAY too short even on the longest setting. The leather was acceptable, and it would be a great value if you have a horse that it will fit.
    Date published: 2010-09-13
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good for the price The Elastic Breastplate is about what I would expect at this low price. It's perfect for schooling and everyday use, and the running attachment is easy to quickly clip on or off. The leather is decent quality and has cleaned nicely and stayed supple after tough workouts, and the brown elastic really hides dirt well. Perfect fit for my 16.2 TB. The chest pad could use a little bit more fleece, and the rings are also starting to leave wear marks on the leather.
    Date published: 2010-08-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Value I had originally ordered a more expensive breastplate that was defective when it arrived, so I ordered this one instead. I have only used it a few times but it seems to be of good quality. I had to punch new holes in the girth attachment as it was too large for my 17h thoroughbred. Fits well now that I have made those adjustments.
    Date published: 2010-08-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from good purchase for price This is a good breastplate for the price..I bought this specifically to use with draw reins that attached to a breastplate. The only thing that I didn't like was that I had to make my own holes since the ones provided were in position for a very small horse...I would consider my 16 h TB an average size but I had to put in holes for the girth attachment as well as the saddle attachments. other than that I really like how easy it is to attach the clips are good quality and easy to use
    Date published: 2010-08-04
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from a little tight - but it was my mistake As stated in the previous reviews, the quality of the breastplate was well worth $40. It looked durable and the leather was surprisingly great quality (I would recommend oiling it first). Unfortunately it did not fit my 17hh Friesian x Paint Warmblood, BUT I should have known better. So, I immediately sent it back. I was kind of hoping it was immensely adjustable but I was dead wrong, but I'm sure it would fit every other type of medium horse.I wish it came in different sizes, and I would have just exchanged for a larger size.
    Date published: 2010-08-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Breastplate - LOVE IT! Love it. It fits great. I should have oiled the leather first, though. Also wasn't quite sure if the plastic should come off or be left on the padding. Took it off and am delighted with the breastplate.
    Date published: 2010-05-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Buy Great breastplate. Fit my 17.2 hand TB with a bit of room to spare either way. Nice color and the snaps are a nice addition.
    Date published: 2010-04-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really impressed!! I needed a breastplate with a running martingale, but didn't want to shell out $150+ for a few straps of leather and elastic. I took a chance on this cheaper version - and I LOVE it! Fits the horse perfect, the snaps are easy to use, and the quality is great. Worth more than $40 that's for sure!Also, if your girth does not have a D ring like mine, you can simply remove the girth snap attachment and loop it over the girth like most standing martingales.
    Date published: 2010-04-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a very nice product. I was pleasantly surprised by the quality and value. I especially like the snaps instead of buckles to attach breastplate to the saddle and the fleece where the breastplate is up against the horses chest. I have already recommended this product to a friend!
    Date published: 2010-04-05
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Fit not right for our horse I like the color of the elastic and the leather seems to be good quality for the price. However it didn't fit our horse at all. Granted he's a large (over 17h) and narrow built, so it may fit an average horse just fine. the strap from chest to girth was about twice as long as needed which meant some drastic reworking of the leather. The side straps were too short, so we had to punch holes at the very ends of those straps. A nice value and attractive if it fits your horse.
    Date published: 2010-03-05
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Defective product The breastplate was of decent quality, but the product came defective. One of the elastic straps was sew on backwards! Sent it back without an exchange
    Date published: 2010-01-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this breast plate I use this every day. From flat work to jumping, it does the trick, and the elastic is perfect! I love this product!!! I use it in the show ring and at home on long hard trails.
    Date published: 2009-11-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality Merchandise This elastic breastplate was exactly what my daughter wanted. It was priced very affordably and was shipped ahead of schedule. The whole shopping experience was a great one, no disappointments!
    Date published: 2009-10-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great purchase Works great for any discipline! Really keeps my saddle in place, I love the elastic design!
    Date published: 2009-07-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from good purchase This breastplate with martingale, is easy to use, everything just snaps into place, without buckles which are inconvenient and take time. Center attachment is padded and comfortable for the horse, elastic is strong, and leather is of a good quality, on attachements. Excellent product, plus the price was very reasonable.
    Date published: 2009-07-06
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2013 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.