Product Image
Additional Views

Cosequin® ASU

Nutramax Laboratories
- Item #15976
Form: Powder
Maintenance Dose: 1 SmartPak Well

Cosequin® ASU goes above and beyond the traditional glucosamine/chondroitin sulfate products on the market. Cosequin® ASU contains NMX1000® avocado/soybean unsaponifiables (ASU) formulated with FCHG49® glucosamine hydrochloride and TRH122® low molecular weight chondroitin sulfate. Plus the addition of high purity MSM! This sets Cosequin® ASU apart from any other joint health supplement for horses. And all in a tasty, easy to administer powder! 

For the next level in joint support, consider Cosequin ASU® Plus!

View our Joint Supplement Comparison Chart

Order This Product In:

    Ships every 28 days
  edit
Maintenance Dose
  edit
Custom Dose  cancel
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on SmartPaks over $40
Congrats, you earned free shipping!

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on orders over $75
Congrats, you earned free shipping!
You Might Also Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Cosequin® ASU is rated 4.6512 out of 5 by 215.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Results! My horse has done very well on Cosequine ASU. He is much more supple and fluid.
    Date published: 2013-12-11
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from My horse didn't like the taste I bought this for my horses smartpaks but he didn't like the taste so he would try to pick around it. Had to change back to pellets instead of powder. 
    Date published: 2013-12-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good results My mare has special shoes and also has degenerative joint disease andthis product has helped her lameness so she is able to light trail ride regularly.
    Date published: 2013-11-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product My horse is a picky eater but he likes this on his grain. I have noticed improvement in his gait after 3 weeks of use. I would definitely recommend this!
    Date published: 2013-09-12
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed I switched to this supplement when I wasn't seeing results with my previous supplement. I had heard and read good things about the Cosequin products. However, my one horse, who never refuses to eat anything, was very hesitant to eat it. I didn't even try to give it to my other horse, but he still wouldn't eat his grain because I gave it to him in the same feed scoop I used for the first horse which included the supplement. The smell/taste is apparently that strong to them. So I can't comment on the effectiveness of the supplement, but it might be best to ask for a sample to try before spending the money for a larger amount.
    Date published: 2013-11-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice results We have tried this product at different times on 3 different horses. On one horse it had a dramatic effect and his stiffness disappeared completely! On the other two it was helpful but not as dramatic so I switched them to a less expensive supplement that seemed to work as well for them. It is costly but for the one horse is worth it for now.
    Date published: 2013-09-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Joint Supplement My horse is an upper level dressage horse and has been on Cosequin ASU for several years. My vet recently did a flexion test on Odie's hind legs and was very impressed with his soundness. No hock injections needed. Thank you Cosequine.
    Date published: 2013-08-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing My now 21-year old Hanoverian-X gelding (sired by Banter & had same movement!!) developed DJD when he was about 10 then progressively developed more & more lameness issues to the point where one NCSU VTH vet said "his wheels are just falling off". His last bone scan & xrays (in 2009) showed he had end stage DJD in his right front fetlock amongst other arthritic joints. I thought OK, well he'll be a barn buddy till he just cannot move comfortably (which from his diagnosis did not sound like it would be very long). Then in 2010 I started him on Cosequin ASU. It is amazing. He moves like he did when he was younger! He has suspension again! He occasionally (on a cold damp day) takes longer to warm up but he is never head bobbing lame as he had been before I started him on Cosequin. I showed a video of him to the vet at NCSU VTH recently & he was shocked & said "are you sure that's the same horse? I need to look at those xrays again!" He was incredulous that my horse was so sound.I'm sold on Cosequin & have put my other horses on it as well. Maybe I was lucky but all I know is that at 21 years old with no cartilage in those front ankles on Cosequin, he still moves like the dressage horse he was bred to be :-)
    Date published: 2013-07-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works wonders! I had been using SmartSupport for my 16 y/o OTTB gelding and hadn't noticed much change (I have tried other Smart supplements with him that were great, this just wasn't the right fit). After ONE WEEK on Cosequin ASU I have already noticed him feeling better and much more supple as well as tracking up from behind more. Great product!
    Date published: 2013-07-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-07-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keeping Us Going My mare is a 25 yr old Shire/Thorobred & still going strong. I have been using the Cosequin family of supplements since she was 15 years old. Not because she needed it but because I didn't want her to 'HAVE' to need it later on. So far she is amazing! Even our trainer and everyone at the barn can't believe she's 25 and still looking the way she looks and still going strong. Of course, we're not jumping 4 ft anymore but looking and feeling the way she does I really don't care. Thank you Cosequin!!!
    Date published: 2013-07-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from good product I did notice his stride did show improvement with this supplement but I did not see the remarkable difference I was hoping for. Overall it did help but I'm not sure that it's any better than the smartflex supplements
    Date published: 2013-05-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Supplement Overall, great product.My horse Mmac doesn't care for the taste but a little oil to cover up made a difference.
    Date published: 2013-04-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best for my older horse Cosequin ASU is quite possibly the best joint supplement available. After trying the Smartpak brand of glucosamine , which did nothing to help my aged horse, I decided to go with the Cosequin. Now my horse is visibly more comfortable. So glad I switched!
    Date published: 2013-05-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works well but horse doesn't like the taste I have been feeding this supplement to my 11 year old TB gelding for a few weeks now after he developed some hind-end stiffness this winter. My trainer said she thought I should get his hocks injected but I decided to try a supplement first before going the injection route. One week on this stuff and he was already looser, bouncier and obviously feeling much better. He is stepping under with his hind legs much easier, and no longer lays his ears back during canter departs. However, it's like pulling teeth to get him to eat it, even when it's mixed into his feed. It smells very strong–a fake, chemical apple smell that I don't blame him for disliking. Since he is pastured with a couple other geldings, he sometimes kicks them off their feed and eats theirs instead in order to avoid this supplement. I have to bring him inside for feedings and wait for a half hour while he slowly and unhappily picks through his feed. For this reason I am going to switch to glucosamine muscle injections. But if your horse is less picky about taste, this supplement DOES work very well. I wish he would eat it more easily, because I'm happy with the result. It works fast!
    Date published: 2013-03-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from HUGE difference 28 yr old gelding is on this after fracturing his hip bone running out of his stall. He hadn't been able to use his rt hind and was becoming stressed on the left. After one month on this product, he is now able to walk much more steadily, can leave his stall and enjoy a roll and romp as well!! So Happy!
    Date published: 2013-02-25
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horse wouldn't touch it This was his first supplement. I never would consider him picky, but now I know. The smell was sickeningly sweet when I opened it, that should have been a red flag. Where are the pellets?
    Date published: 2013-02-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Seems to be doing the job It has helped my horse w/ recovery from a fetlock injury. She was on Smart Hoof Resilience & I switched to Cosequin ASU because she was still having clicking noises in her joints when walking. It took some time for her to like/eat the new product. I split the dose between morning & evening. Now she licks the feed bucket. I also love the convenience of the Smart Paks
    Date published: 2013-02-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Supplement This is my first time giving a review, but I just had to share how much of an improvement this supplement has made. I have a 23 year old quarter horse I compete in dressage. He has some arthritis and is taking a prescription arthritis medicine. He was still a little stiff the first 5 minutes of work so the vet recommended we try this product. I have seen no stiffness in months. We have even dropped the prescription medicine and he is doing wonderful. GREAT product!
    Date published: 2013-01-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Joint Supplement I have used many joint supplements over the years and this one is by far my favorite. My vet recommended Cosequin ASU over the Cosequin SP and I was honestly shocked at how much more fluid my two horses (Haflinger schooling second level Dressage, OTTB schooling Training level Eventing) felt. Its a bit pricey, but cheaper than multiple joint injections. Really a great product!
    Date published: 2013-01-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from It helps It helped but I don't think it helped any more than some of the less expensive joint supplements I have tried.
    Date published: 2012-12-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product! My "old man" is running around the field with the youngster now! He wasn't like this on other supplements!
    Date published: 2012-11-11
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Wounderful Concept I was very excited to start my horse on Cosequin ASU. Got my SmartPak loading dose and my horse who is well fed turns out to be a picky eater....the Cosequin ASU had my horse turning away from his grain. SmartPak gave store credit and shipped out Smartflex 2 support without any question.
    Date published: 2012-10-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Feed-through that works My 27 year old Hanoverian mare has been on ASU since the end of August and WOW! What a difference I'm seeing AND feeling. She is not stiff from the arthritis, even in her bad direction. Our short, light rides are productive and best of all, she is happy! The taste leaves something to be desired, though; she will turn her nose up at it unless it is mixed in with molasses. I tasted it as well and it's rather bitter, so I can't say that I blame her. She is not a picky eater, either. Overall, though, I would certainly recommend this supplement without hesitation!
    Date published: 2012-10-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Highly Recommend My vet suggested this product specifically, and many of my friends use it, so those are all good recommendations for me personally. What I LOVED about the product is that my horse consumes it. The power dosing is quite a bit of powder and I was sure my horse would figure out how to leave it at the bottom of the feed-bin, but he did not. Always good when they will eat their supplements!
    Date published: 2012-09-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse is back to himself again! My jumper was always very honest over fences and won numerous jumper classes. He started stopping and acting like he didn't want to do his job anymore. His lead changes were still there but not as crisp as they were before. We thought it might be his joints. A friend suggested I try Cosequin ASU before resorting to injections. I put him on it and almost immediately noticed a difference. He's completely back to his honest and reliable self again. His lead changes are perfect again. I wish they made it in a pellet form rather than the powder that is somewhat messy in his feed tub, but he eats it. It's also pricey, but I guess it's worth it since it works so well.
    Date published: 2012-09-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good for jumping This really helps with joints. I have an OTTB I jump and this helps him tremendously
    Date published: 2012-10-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-08-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Joint Supplement! I have a Western All-Around Show horse that was starting to show signs of arthritis in both hocks. When my vet recommended injections I asked for an alternative and he told me to try Cosequin ASU. After 6 months of feeding my gelding this supplement he is as good as new and moving better than ever! My trainer can't believe how much better he looks. Thank you smartpak for offering this great supplement :-)
    Date published: 2012-07-11
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.