Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Convertible Grooming Halter

Perri's Leather
- Item #11617
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

You really don’t need to overpay for top quality halters – you just have to know where to look. This Convertible Grooming Halter is handmade in Amish country. The Convertible Grooming Halter leather is soft and supple from day one. The solid brass hardware and quality stitching make elegant finishing. 3/4'' width. Brown. Horse Size.

Please note, our halter nameplate will not fit this halter.

 Please note, this leather halter is not a breakaway halter.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    88% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Convertible Grooming Halter is rated 4.8182 out of 5 by 33.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Halter, Great Price This is a lovely halter for the price! The leather is soft and breaks in nicely, the hardware seems to be quality, and the convertible feature is great.
    Date published: 2012-10-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from so supple! Beautiful, supple, and touchable halter! Runs slightly large. Looks fabulous!
    Date published: 2012-08-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from How did I groom properly before this? This halter is a really cool product. It's made grooming my horse's face/head so much easier. The materials are top class - fine leather, and brass buckles and clips. Feels luxurious, but is now a practical necessity! Excellent value.
    Date published: 2012-05-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely! Exactly what I was looking for. Quality leather and the thinner pieces look great on my TB's head.
    Date published: 2011-10-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Halter It is a very nice halter; however, it is 3/4 inch leather and looks a bit skimpy on my 17.2 Warmblood (he looks better in 1 inch width). It would look great on a horse who wears Full size.
    Date published: 2011-09-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Everyone should have one of these! I don't like buying leather halters because they're so bulky but this convertible grooming halter is the best thing I have ever purchased for my horse. It's nice because I can groom him and have access to those hard to reach spots on his face that I wouldn't be able to access with a normal halter and then I can take him to horse shows with the attachment. So convient, pretty, and excellent quality! Two thumbs up SmartPak (as always)!
    Date published: 2011-05-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice halter very nice halter for the price. very adjustable as advertised. Would purchase again if needed another.
    Date published: 2011-05-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from LOVED IT! This halter is actually a Perri's Leather Halter. It is soft and supple right out of the package. Love the fact that it converts to a grooming halter. Lovely quality halter with nice brass hardware. I only gave it four stars because a chain cannot fit through the fittings. Great halter!
    Date published: 2011-02-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from very nice quality I love this halter! It arrived already soft and suppple - no breaking in. I love the fact that you can use it as an every day halter and then convert it to a grooming halter when needed. We have only had it about a month so I can't speak to how it wears, but if feels very solid and the leather is a great quality so I have no concerns.
    Date published: 2011-01-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from pretty good like the leather a lot, but it seems that it stretches a little, the halter gets bigger from time to time, I do have heavy use on it though (showers, the horse wears it outside...)It looks good, and is very practical for grooming. Im happy with it.
    Date published: 2010-09-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Find I bought the convertible grooming halter to replace a worn-out nylon halter which replaced a lovely leather halter that broke. This halter is made of nice leather that feels as though it should be durable. As advertised, it's easily convertible from a regular halter to a grooming halter. It fit my horse beautifully and it's very handsome too! All in all, a great halter for the price.
    Date published: 2010-08-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great purchase He looks great in it, several people at the barn complemented him on his new look, when I told them it came from Smartpak they said no wonder it's so good looking. I love your products and your service is the very best. I was intraduced to you thur your Smartpak supplements - started Danni on them 3 years ago, hes 21 and still looks feels great.
    Date published: 2010-04-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice grooming halter Runs pretty large, but still fits my appendix well enough. Cannot fit a chain through buckles. Leather smells and feels great - seems like it will last a long time. Very pretty and easy to use. Good value!
    Date published: 2010-03-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well worth your money!! Wonderful leather halter that is adjustable in many ways. It has a good feel to it and the quality is also great!Needs only little maintenance to stay good!
    Date published: 2010-03-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from would have been great... but the halter they sent me had a broken clip. I was actually REALLY surprised at how soft and supple the leather was. We were shocked. The halter is very adjustable, and fit my horse well. Although, he does have a smaller TB head, so I had to adjust everything to the last hole. (he is right in between a Cob and a Full size.)Great value for a leather halter!
    Date published: 2009-12-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Two thumbs up on this one!!! The quality for the price on this halter is hard to beat. This halter is extrememly well made and beautiful to boot. I love its sizing and how it looks on my horse because he has a more refined structure.
    Date published: 2009-12-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this halter! I have used this halter for a few years and I loved it. It was well-made and looked good with the nameplate I got that fit it. I also liked that the throat latch snapped off. My horse spooked today while tied and the halter broke so I can also vouch for the halter's safety.
    Date published: 2009-08-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great halter for the money Very nice halter and a great price! Be aware that it is a true horse size; i had to punch a hole in it to fit my 14.3 hh QH.
    Date published: 2009-07-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really nice halter, but... Nice leather, great price, but not made for an Arabian. I got it hoping that it would size down small enough to fit him but it's still to big. I would defiantly recommend it to someone with a larger horse though.
    Date published: 2009-04-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Value buy! This leather halter is a must have! It's made of good quality leather and adjustable so it fits each of my stallions. It's leather is supple and strong! Love it!
    Date published: 2009-04-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Great Buy! This halter is worth twice what it costs. The quality of the leather and hardware is superior. Since I bought this halter, I've stopped using my other ones.
    Date published: 2009-02-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great halter I was a little weary ordering this halter because I’ve never had a leather halter before, and they are quite a bit more expensive than the regular nylon ones. But this halter way exceeded my expectations! I love it; the throat strap that unhooks is really nice and makes the halter much easier. I definitely recommend this halter, I like that it's not bulky and the fact that it is refined and displays my horse's head. I really like it!
    Date published: 2006-07-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful and long wearing! I've owned this halter for over a year and it still looks wonderful. The leather is good quality and stands up well to wear. Mine is still in great condition - suitable for travel to clinics and shows, rather than just around the barn. I was VERY pleasantly surprised, given the very reasonable price.
    Date published: 2006-06-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great halter! This is a very well-made halter. The leather is very soft and well-oiled. I have not seen such a nice halter for this price anywhere!
    Date published: 2004-08-09
    • 2015-03-01T08:08CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_32
    • loc_en_US, sid_1617, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco
    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco, a.k.a “Bud” Breed: Appaloosa Age: 24 years old PATH Intl. Accredited Center: Hearts & Horses Location: Loveland, CO Bud is an incredible equine therapist, and has been at Hearts & Horses the longest of

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.