Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Charles Owen JR8 Junior Helmet

Charles Owen, Inc.
- Item #15418

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Introducing the new JR8 Junior Helmet, offering the highest level of protection!  Low profile design is covered with a microfiber suede material treated to protect against marking and scuffing. Brim is gently rounded to flatter the face.

  • Metallic logo is positioned above the peak
  • Embroidered logo on the back of the helmet where a ribbon would traditionally be
  • Nylon harness coordinates to complete the finished look and offers additional strength, safety and security
  • The lining is interwoven with silver ions to provide anti-microbial protection against sweat and odors

**ASTM F-1163-04a/SEI Certified
Color: Black or Black/Charcoal

 



You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Charles Owen JR8 Junior Helmet is rated 4.7692 out of 5 by 104.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Superb quality Bought for my teenage daughter. Great style, quality and price. Very happy with grey/black style.
    Date published: 2013-11-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Helmet On The Market! i absolutely love my Charles Owens JR8 helmet! i use it for showing and schooling. Super easy to clean. Fits perfectly according to size chart. A little pricey for the value but all together terrific! no ventilation so it gets a little hot but im perfectly fine with that. mine is getting a little small so i will definitely be buying another one of these soon!
    Date published: 2014-03-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Helmet I think that this helmet is pretty nice. It's very comfortable, however there is no ventilation so it can get very hot!
    Date published: 2013-11-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable, slim lines This helmet does run a bit small, maybe because it fits exactly to the shape of your head. It seriously feels like a glove. I had to make one return for sizing and probably should have gone up one more size, but didn't want to wait any longer for my new helmet. I'm not crazy about the crisscross harness, it rubs on my ears. It is definitely the least bulky looking helmet I've ever worn and it looks good and is nicely padded.
    Date published: 2013-08-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from jR8 review I started looking at COs when I finally ran out of patience with my ill fitting IRH helmet. I have a large head and my IRH was a model with the adjustable knob in the back.....no attractive and definitely not show worthy. I originally purchased the JR8 because I had heard such great things about COs and it was the most cost friendly.Smartpak delivered the JR8 earlier than expected, which was a welcome surprise! However, once I got the JR8 I found it did not fit. I could force it on, but the size was really snug even though I followed the sizing chart and measured my head several times.I also found that the JR8 is very oval in shape where I have a rounder head. The JR8 was very tight on the sides of my head.I had to return the JR8 (love Smartpak's return process...so easy!) and purchase the AYR8 by CO which was a much better fit. Even though it was much more expensive than the JR8, it was well worth the money.I love my CO AYR8 and I'm sure if the JR8 had fit I would have loved it just as much. CO is an awesome company with high quality helmets.
    Date published: 2013-07-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally a fit This Charles Owen helmet fits my oval head with a hug. Feels secure and doesn't get off center like others. Don't know about durability yet, but Charles Owen is a well-respected brand.
    Date published: 2013-07-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this helmet! I have a small head and this fits perfectly. I have been riding for 20 years and this is the best helmet I have ever worn. It fits very snug so it does not shift around my head, but it is not tight enough to give me a headache. It looks stunning and is easy to clean.
    Date published: 2013-07-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great buy I have never purchased the "high end" Charles Owens helmet. But the 'low end" one is absolutely the most comfortable "rated" helmet I have ever purchased. It is well worth the money!!
    Date published: 2013-05-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Most comfortable helmet ever! This is the most comfortable helmet that I have ever worn! It perfectly fits my small narrow head. And it looks great.
    Date published: 2013-04-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Always Getting Charles Owen! I bought this helmet a few years ago to replace my IRH schooling helmet with velvet cover. This is the most comfortable helmet I have ever worn. The lining is moisture-wicking but soft, and it keeps your head cool! It cleans up really well too! I use a soft brush to get any fuzz off of it, and it is ready to go to a show! I even wore it in hail/snow/rain and it was soaking wet after! When I got home I left it by the air vent and it dried perfectly! The harness fits beautifully around my ears and is easy to adjust. My hair looks great in it with my hair net, and everything fits! I have had this for years, and will forever only buy Charles Owens. They fit me, look great, and have a superb design! They even sell a spray to clean the inside of the helmet! I have the deodorizer and it is a strong lemony scent but it dries to smell like nothing. It refreshes and maintains a great Charles Owen. It does not come with the helmet. Whether you are schooling or showing, Charles Owens are the best!
    Date published: 2013-06-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Helmet! I absolutely love this helmet. I ordered it for jumping and to wear at polo practices. It looks really nice, and is really easy to keep clean. Dirt just wipes off with a damp rag. It's held up really well. I've gotten it pretty dusty from playing polo in an indoor arena, and it still looks like it did when I took it out of the box! It could easily be worn in the show ring, too.I just couldn't justify buying the GR8 for like twice the price when this one looks just as nice, and is great quality. The straps are nylon instead of leather like on the GR8, but I have no problem with them. They don't rub or anything.This helmet fits true to size. It stays on very well, even when playing a rough sport, like polo. My other helmet would fall down and get in my way, but this one doesn't.I got the grey/black color, and it looks really nice. The grey stripe breaks up the helmet a bit, so it doesn't look so large on your head.
    Date published: 2013-04-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Didn't work for us. Beautiful hat but I had to return it because it didn't fit my son properly. It's well made but the straps are uncomfortable looking. The JR8 only comes with a plastic bag for storage. My son has a round head that is slightly square in back and the AYR8 fits perfectly. The JR8 and GR8 are for more long and oval heads.
    Date published: 2013-03-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Helmet This is the most comfortable helmet I have ever owned! It looks greats and I have already gotten a number of compliments. I would definitely recommend this helmet.
    Date published: 2013-03-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great helmet We bought this helmet for one of our students. It fits him very well and he finds it to be quite comfortable. It looks very nice even though he often lets it lie in the ground. Most importantly, it has stood up well to his throwing it around.
    Date published: 2013-03-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very durable - great looking helmet We bought this for one of our therapeutic riding students. He loves riding and loves playing with his helmet. He is only eight and can be pretty hard on things while he is playing. He had good regular helmet of another brand with a plastic cover. It didn't take him long and his play resulted in the helmet being cracked completely in half. This helmet fits him better and is holding up better to his play. The mark against it is the price for the risk taken to outfit a boy who may break a second helmet. Our fingers are crossed.
    Date published: 2013-02-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Helmet Helmet is a great product. Make sure you measure your head correctly before purchasing.
    Date published: 2013-01-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit I tried 6 different helmets and this one by far fit the best. It was on the pricier side, but I figure the extra is well worth having a well fit helmet if I come off. The padding makes it very comfortable to wear. I'm a little concerned about how hot it will be in South Florida in the summer, but its so hot anyway that I don't think it will matter much!
    Date published: 2013-01-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent helmet This is my daughter's second helmet of this model. No complaints whatsoever - fits great, looks great, high quality. Very happy with this purchase.
    Date published: 2013-01-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Helmet!!!1 This helmet molds to your head the first 30 min your wear it!! I love how it comes in so many different sizes!
    Date published: 2012-11-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for the Money Haven't had it too long to really comment on the durability, but it seems like a great schooling helmet for the price!
    Date published: 2012-10-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-10-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I'm hard to fit! The helmet is really nice, and I look forward to wearing it when I receive a smaller size. I tried on the GR8, but this one seems to run a little bigger, or I was too flustered trying the GR8 on in person to notice that it was too big. Smartpak has been fantastic, as usual, giving great customer service on the phone and understanding that not every helmet fits every person the same way. It is fantastic to talk to a customer service rep who KNOWS the products they are selling. Thank you - looking forward to receiving the smaller size!
    Date published: 2012-10-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Helmet for The Price This is a good hemlet for the price. Its comfortable and overall fit is good. My only complaint is that the chin strap seems to run a little small? I dont know if its just me! Otherwise very comfortable and doesn't move at all while I'm riding!
    Date published: 2012-09-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from So comfy! Great fit and an excellent buy! I wish it were a bit sleeker and vented, but for this price, I can't complain.
    Date published: 2012-08-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Value!! Really, really like this helmet. It's super comfortable, looks classy, and very well made. While yes, it doesn't have the ventilation holes that other helmets have, in all honesty, I can rarely tell a difference. Excellent helmet for schooling and showing - from a distance you really can't tell the difference between this and the GR8 - and it is almost half the price. I did splurge and buy the CO AYR8 for my show helmet and while that helmet is certainly worth every penny - I still use my JR8 for schooling.
    Date published: 2012-07-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turns out I love it! I bought this helmet to replace my old, bulky show helmet. I was a little scared because I had to pay for it myself (its a lot when you're 13!) but it turns out that it was SOOOOO worth it! I received it right in time for the show. It really looks great, and my head shape can be hard to flatter. I sized 1/8 of an inch up so I could put my hair up in it, and it fits fine with my hair down as well! I haven't used it for too long (but believe me, I will!), however it is lightweight, and seems to be well made. When I bought it, I intended to use it for showing purposes only, but I've fallen in love, and use it for schooling too! Overall, SUPER happy with it!
    Date published: 2012-09-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good value! I bought this helmet because I couldn't afford a higher end Charles Owen right now but I was pleasantly surprised. The helmet is nicely made and very comfortable. It also looks very good in the show ring. I feel like a fit right in but I didn't spend a ton of money.
    Date published: 2012-07-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great helmet! I absolutely love this helmet. Most comfortable helmet I have ever had and it's a great price.
    Date published: 2012-07-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value! The helmet was a little snug at first, but I have had it for almost a month now and I love it! It will stretch out a little bit to conform to your head. Has nylon straps and a plastic buckle, but much less expensive than the GR8!
    Date published: 2012-07-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GR8 Jr Great helmet for the price, great look, fits perfectly.
    Date published: 2012-07-03
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.