Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Baker™ Lead

5/A Baker Products, Inc.
- Item #13050

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The Baker Lead measures 7' and has a 20" solid brass chain shank. The Baker Lead is made of first quality nylon. Brass plated hardware. As with all Baker products, Baker Leads are made in the USA. Original plaid.

Coordinates with our Baker Halter!

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Baker™ Lead is rated 3.9474 out of 5 by 19.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sturdy lead chain This is a sturdy lead chain, but I found it a bit short.
    Date published: 2011-07-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from A good match for the Baker halter This is a nice lead, although a bit pricey. If I hadn't purchased the Baker halter as well, I wouldn't have spent the money on this lead. If you're looking for a matching set though, this lead looks beautiful with the Baker halter.
    Date published: 2011-03-03
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Okay... I LOVE the looks of this lead. However, the nylon is (as others have noted) very thin and rough on one's hands. Also, the nylon part is so short and light that it is outweighed by the chain part.I can't safely use the lead in loading my horse on the trailer. If I drape the lead over the area in front of the withers as I normally do, it doesn't stay put and wants to drop to the floor as the horse walks up the ramp. Hard to explain, but basically it doesn't work for trailer loading. So I use a different lead and bring the Baker to use when we get to our destination because it looks so nice.I agree with the reviewer who wished there was a non-chain option, though.Overall, to me it's just an okay lead because it looks great, but it's not really user-friendly.
    Date published: 2011-02-23
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very Flimsy Did not like this lead at all (did end up keeping the halter though). Very flimsy and rough on hands.
    Date published: 2010-12-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lead Chain I really like the Baker products. They are smart looking and hold up very well.
    Date published: 2009-12-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another Great Baker Product! If you love Baker products, this is another wonderful item to add to your collection! Beautiful classic print, good quality chain, all-around lovely. Only minor complaint is that it is a little thinner lead than I thought it would be. But over-all, I love it!
    Date published: 2009-07-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gorgeous I am a big fan of Baker products and bought this lead rope to go with my Baker halter that I love. Horse will be looking sharp at the shows when he walks up in this. It also goes very well with leather show halters. It is a little on the thin side but the material is strong and it should hold up well. I only wish they sold one without the chain too
    Date published: 2009-06-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice lead to match my Baker halter I re-bought this lead to match my Baker halter, which I got about 10 years ago. (My last Baker lead broke when my horse pulled back, but it was a very strong pull back, so I don't think it really reflects on the leadrope.) It's a very nice leadrope, and does match the halter nicely. The only bad thing is how it's flat & if a horse takes off or even just pulls, the fabric is kind of harsh on your hands -- you can't grip it the same as you could grip a round lead rope.
    Date published: 2009-06-11
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Love the Baker but chain isn't long enough Nice quality lead with nice hardware, but the chain isn't long enough! Definately more for show use to coordinate with other Baker accessories than for daily use. Hard to hold on to, especially with a squirly horse.
    Date published: 2009-06-11
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Baker Lead Quality is there, plaid pattern is nice, but would like it to be longer in length, and thicker for a better grasp and hold; especially when using on a nervous, or unexperienced horse!
    Date published: 2009-05-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love that Baker Plaid! If you are a Baker Plaid fan, you will like the Baker Lead! This lead is a perfect partner to the Baker plaid halter. The Baker plaid is a black/tan, neutral tone plaid that compliments any color of horse. The solid brass hardware will not rust and gives a much more polished look to what is basically a nylon lead. The chain is a good length, though I would like if the lead part was a little longer. Overall, it's a nice lead and the price isn't too bad for a genuine Baker item.
    Date published: 2009-08-31
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.