Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Ariat® Classic III Half Chap

Ariat International, Inc.
- Item #19409
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Ariat upgraded the Classic III Half Chaps to a softer full-grain leather, plus a more breathable moisture-wicking lining. Also improved are the inner panel design and stretch system over the instep, resulting in an elegantly refined half chap.

Imported.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    96% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Ariat® Classic III Half Chap is rated 4.3913 out of 5 by 23.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Last forever! I got my first pair of these half chaps over 10 (yes 10) years ago! The only reason I bought new ones is because I just got black paddock boots, and I felt weird riding in brown half chaps and black boots! These wear fantastically. They are super durable, and I have no complaints whatsoever. They really do last a long time even if you ride everyday. My new ones fit just right, and they were easier to get on the first time than the older version were. I am still waiting for the back part to drop under the knee (I have only ridden a handful of times since I got my new pair), but my riding schedule has picked up so I am sure they will drop soon. I love these half chaps and wouldn't buy any other brand. They are true to size, durable, and a great value.
    Date published: 2013-06-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Still A Favorite After The Update I have used the Ariat Classic Half Chap since 1997. This is my third pair. I have always been pleased with the updates to the item. This time the chap is thinner but in a good way. They are more streamlined and less bulky on the leg. This item still protects my leg with the nice suede panel against the stirrup leather and the smooth leather panel on facing outside.
    Date published: 2013-05-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far so good I've only had these 1/2 chaps for a little over a month and so far they are great! The leather is soft and they look really nice... the only thing I'm a little worried about is that instead of buttons these chaps have velcro... I'm a little worried that the velcro isn't going to hold up at long as snaps would... but other than that, these are great!
    Date published: 2012-12-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great looking chaps These chaps are beautiful, they have a great grip and they're super comfortable! I love the suede that's on the inside of the calf, it sticks right to my saddle and there is a nice stitching detail on it. Only reason for 4 stars is the elastic in the back stretched way out. They were snug (as they should be) when I first got them, and I expexted the elastic to stretch when they were on but retain its shape when I took them off. After wearing them for a week, the elastic was permanetly stretched and now they're a bit more roomy than I'd like. Other than the elastic, the zipper is really durable, it seems like it will never break and they look great!
    Date published: 2012-11-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Chaps I like that they are the nearest chaps I could find to wear with Ariat paddock boots to simulate hunting dress boots. I have short thin legs but wide (bunionoid) feet so no long boots fit. They are of substantial shiny leather but the suede inside is hard to keep clean - if you gallop through a lot of mud! Can't speak for durability yet.So many fit options are great.
    Date published: 2012-10-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product for the money First time I have purchased this product, but like the fit. I have only worn 3 times so do not know durability at this time. I like the lighter weight in hot weather and they are not bulky.
    Date published: 2012-10-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy so far Good fit for me. I bought them to resemble a dress boot with Ariat paddock boots - not bad. they do have a nice shiny finish. Have not had them long enough to test durability. Very quick purchase service. Smartpak must have an extensive inventory.
    Date published: 2012-10-05
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Very dissapointing :( I had first bought these half chaps, a couple years ago when I first started riding. I thought the chaps were ok. When it was time to get a new pair of chaps, I ordered the same type. I didn't want to go on a quest for a new pair of chaps. So I bought these because I was familular with them. When I started riding in them, I never realized how slippery they were. My leg, which usually didn't move much was all over the place. They were also really hard to zip. Which I just blew off at first, assuming it was because they were not broken in yet. They continued to be that way, along with the velcro coming undone, and the chap itself unziping! I finally was upset and frustrated, and just resorted to wearing my tall boots. I do not recomend these.
    Date published: 2012-09-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product I loved my Ariat half chaps I ordered about four years ago. They were high quality and lasted forever (I still have them). I ordered the new ones and am breaking them in but they are awesome too. The only thing I don't like about them is the suede patch on the insides of the legs. The suede allows a better grip but the leather looked nicer and took the beatings a lot better.
    Date published: 2012-08-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have had these before. They fit well and really last - no broken zippers etc!
    Date published: 2012-02-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice quality These are my first pair of half-chaps- I bought these to go with my Ariat Heritage III paddock boots, and they are a good match. They look nice on, and are made of really nice quality leather and suede. The sizing chart worked well for me, and they fit securely. Also, the suede inner panel is nice and provides a good grip. The only thing I've noticed is that the ankle area seems to be a bit looser and less fitted than other chaps I've seen on other riders. I couldn't go down a size (from SS to XS) to fit my ankle, however, or they wouldn't fit my leg. Overall, a high quality chap.
    Date published: 2011-10-27
    • 2015-02-28T07:12CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_19
    • loc_en_US, sid_9409, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco
    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco, a.k.a “Bud” Breed: Appaloosa Age: 24 years old PATH Intl. Accredited Center: Hearts & Horses Location: Loveland, CO Bud is an incredible equine therapist, and has been at Hearts & Horses the longest of

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.