Product Image

APF - Advanced Protection Formula

Auburn Laboratories Inc
- Item #12285
Form: Treat
Maintenance Dose: 1 SmartPak Well

Advanced Protection Formula (APF) is a highly concentrated liquid extract of adaptogenic herbs, developed by an equine veterinarian. APF provides protection against the stress of heavy training and competition, supports the immune system and aids in recovery from illness or injury. This unique formula also protects against weight loss during rehabilitation and may be beneficial for horses with Equine Metabolic Syndrome, insulin resistance or Cushing's Disease. Recommended for daily use.

View our Immune Supplement Comparison Chart

View our Metabolic Supplement Comparison Chart

Order This Product In:

    Ships every 28 days
  edit
Maintenance Dose
  edit
Custom Dose  cancel
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on SmartPaks over $40
Congrats, you earned free shipping!

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on orders over $75
Congrats, you earned free shipping!
You Might Also Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    APF - Advanced Protection Formula is rated 4.5968 out of 5 by 62.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from really effective I give this to a 9 yr old mare who was seriously underwieght when purchased, but going into 3rd level dressage work- she is a very hard keeper, but her wieght is now normal despite a full training schedule, her muscle tone is amazing, topline is lovely- she is also keeping her "cool" which has always been a problem-
    Date published: 2013-11-04
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from 118 days? No way! I haven't given this to my horse long enough to know how well it works. It does seem to be quite palitable. However, I don't know where they came up with a bottle lasting 118 days. Recommended dosage on the label is 4 to 6 ml per 1,000 lbs. for a horse in light work and 6 to 10 ml for a horse in moderate to heavy use or if you are treating for an illness. By my way of thinking, a bottle will last only a month. Pretty expensive! I hope it works. I will have to come back and adjust the star rating if I see good results.
    Date published: 2013-11-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the best supplement investments This supplement has been an absolute lifesaver for me. I have had my horse for the past 10 years and over the past 3 years, he has had some trouble with skin conditions, especially scratches. I had been battling a horrible case of scratches since October of 2011. I tried pretty much every topical I could think of, used proper management for cleaning, etc and they wouldn't improve. Since scratches can be related to a weakened immune system, I decided what better way to help support him there than with this supplement. I started to do 4ml a day on a SmartWafer and within a week and a half, his scratches are 75% gone. I absolutely attribute this to the APF. And, on top of it, my horse LOVES the way it tastes. Win, Win!
    Date published: 2013-12-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Peace of Mind This product produced a noticable slimming and energizing effect on my aging Arab mare - exactly what I was looking for. Khemalowa went Top Ten at AHA Sport Horse Nationals 2011 at First Level!
    Date published: 2012-02-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-12-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Immune booster After a summer of Lyme treatment and fall bee stings, I am using APF to bolster the immune system before moving indoors for the winter. Terrific idea putting the drops in a horse cookie! "The girls" become quite excited when the "treat" is handed out.
    Date published: 2011-11-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-09-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Eases anxiety away from home My trainer used this product instead of ulcer guard on an easily upset and anxious mare that previously needed ulcer guard to maintain her appetite away from home...worked like a charm!
    Date published: 2011-09-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful product This has helped my horses following antibiotics for lyme. They were back to themselves in only a couple of days. Now they take it all the time to keep their immune system strong.
    Date published: 2011-09-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from change for the better Since I started my 21 year old Cushings mare on APF (on Smartwafers) about two months ago, I have seen some positive changes. Her coat is smoother and shinier. Her attitude seems less grumpy, and she is arguing less with the gelding stalled next to her. I would say she is both more mellow and more energetic. She thought the Smartwafers tasted weird at first (much head-shaking and mouth-gaping) but after a couple of times, she started looking for them. I started seeing the more positive attitude after only a couple of days on the APF. So I will be feeding it as long as I can afford it.
    Date published: 2011-09-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-09-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product! My aged gelding has Cushing's and, since putting him on APF (in wafer form), he is doing great!
    Date published: 2011-08-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Better for use as needed My horse is generally a pretty mellow guy, but tends to get lots of little cuts and injuries because he does like to play in the field, and he takes a little longer than usual to heal up from them. I started him on APF to help with his overall immune response and give him a boost. However, I don't think I can keep him on it every day as it seems to have given him a little *too* much energy. He's much more high strung now than he ever was before, even as a 4 year old! I think I will set the wafers aside and give them to him as needed since I do think he experienced an overall improvement in immune response and at the very least how well he *feels*!
    Date published: 2011-07-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from APF I have just started using it. Hauled my horse up north and she appeared calmer.
    Date published: 2011-07-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! This was recomened by my Vet. I did not try it for a while because of the price and most of the things I had tried did not make differance. My horse shows sighns of insulin resistance. Combined with grass hay, no grain, working 1-2hrs 4 days a week, which she was already doing. APF and the IR Changed everything. She lost wieght and its stable. More energy and no creaty neck or fat pockets.
    Date published: 2012-11-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from First time trying this I intially did not see a change in my horse with this product (5 year old Morgan mare) but with a few weeks' usage, I am starting to see a difference and will continue with this product as we continue with her training. She is more focused and less likely to "blow up."
    Date published: 2011-05-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from APF This product brought my horse back from lymes. The day after starting APF my horsehad more energy and has progressively gottenbetter. He also has a large sarcoid and it's starting to die off as I was told it would do with APF. It does take awhile-you have to have patience! APF helps the cells work/functioncorrectly. It's best to read the info on thisproduct since I'm not a vet...I do feel my horsemy need to stay on APF indefinitely. It doesnot taste great but my horse looks for the cookieit comes on and eats it first! So he doesn't seemto mind!!! This product has helped me get myhorse rideable again!
    Date published: 2011-03-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Treat Choice I have a Quarter Horse and a Paint that are both young and high strung. When I moved them from my trainers to my ranch, I worried about their "nerves". Because they tend to be easy keepers, I don't give them treats. The APF smart wafer not only keeps them balanced but allows them to get a great treat every morning! I don't start their day without it!
    Date published: 2011-03-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent...Wafers are easy and horses love them First bought the liquid....good results but wafers are much easier for measurement and my horse loves them. He looks for them in his feed and eats them first.....Purchased APF for horse to help with Cushings and balancing his system with all his meds. He looks great and is doing quite well. Although this product is pricey, it is well worth it!
    Date published: 2011-03-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Surprising Results My 22 year old quarter horse mare loves this stuff. She is normally very finicky about anything added to her feed. It seemed to help with her cough & she has almost too much energy.
    Date published: 2011-01-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Product Ever We have used APF for years but the smartpak pellet makes it very easy to assure that the proper dose is being given. Our horse has not had a health issue since this product has been given to him regularly! Was suggested by a vet when he coliced at age 6 and we have been using it ever since !
    Date published: 2011-01-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from APF for PPID/IR I use APF or APF Pro to help my older mare with PPID (Cushings) and Insulin Resistance. She is definitely perkier when on the APF or APF Pro. Her insulin levels tend to be lower when on it as well. Her usual dose is 4-6 ml/daily. Once when I was going out of town and there was a new horse coming to the farm while I was gone, I had my pony sitter increase the APF to 10ml daily hoping to combat any stress associated with the change in routine. When I returned from my trip I found my mare (then 24) acting like a 2 year old...running, bucking and even rearing at the gate if she thought I was not getting her in quickly enough! Made a believer out of me, although I went back to our usual smaller dose!! I will switch to the APF Pro when she is not doing as well or I am having a harder time getting her symptoms under control.
    Date published: 2010-12-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from WHILE VERY EXPENSIVE - it does work I have a 25 yr old QH gelding that has allergies & immune issues... he recently was cast in his stall and struggled to right himself and in the process - tore the inside left hind hoof away from the coronet band (more than 1/3 of his hoof)...I immediately ordered this to help with the immune issues trying to avoid major infections even though we did have to put him on large doses of anti-biotics for 2 weeks.I do credit this product with helping keep his allergies at bay while recouping from this.I recoment using the "cookies" since getting the right amount with the dropper is beyond impossible - so do it the easy way and save your swear words for something else ;)
    Date published: 2010-12-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Actually Seems to be Working! I bought APF for my hot TB mare on the advise of my vet. She has only been on it a couple of weeks, but I really am seeing a difference in her general attitude. She seems to have a whole lot more patience than before. No more frantic "it's feeding time and I don't work while others are getting fed" attitude. I like what I'm seeing -- she's still definitely her same charming self, just without the edge. My only complaint, and it's relatively minor, is that I have to disguise the APF a bit when I put it into her grain. She's a "suspicious" eater and notices immediately when something isn't quite right with her grain. A couple of tablespoons of molasses seems to do the trick. Overall, I definitely will continue to use this product and have been recommending it to others in my barn.
    Date published: 2010-12-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hopeful About Product! A friend of mine has her EPM horse on the APF liquid and she highly recommended I put my IR horse on it. His immune system has been compromised since contracting Potomac Horse Fever in 2008. I can't say for certain if it's helping him as yet since he just started on the APF a week ago, but he loves the SmartPak wafers that have his daily dose of APF in them, so I'm anxious to see improvement in the next few months.
    Date published: 2010-06-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Remarkable! I had a bottle of this on hand that I originally bought for a Great Dane with Sarcoptic Mange and never used it. I have a Donkey that was recently diagnosed with Equine Metobolic Syndrome. I started him on the APF I had on hand, 3ml, and noticed a difference in his temprament that day. He has been on it for about 7 days and has already begun to shed out his winter coat. This is June and I was a bit worried about his not shedding. He is also so swollen that he can't drop throug his sheath to urinate. I asked a rep at Smart Pak and she suggested MSM along with the APF. Waiting for UPS on that one, but I did notice a slight reduction in his size. He was a rescue and has never let me brush him and after 3 days on the APF he has remarkabley let me brush him and has even rubbed against me! It's a wonder suppliment for sure! I will always buy it!!
    Date published: 2010-06-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cured a cough I started my mare on this product 4 weeks ago because she was coughing from seasonal allergies. She was coughing to to 4 times every 10 minutes and I had to quit riding her once the pollen count started rising in early March. After 3 days on this product - 1ml/day (on a wafer, which she gobbles up) I noted her cough down to about once every half hour. After 3 weeks I was only hearing a cough every now, and in the past week I haven't heard her cough at all. The pollen count is extremely high right now but this product has made it so that I can ride my mare again in the beautiful weather. Thank you!
    Date published: 2010-04-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another Smart Pack Innovation APF was recommended to me by my vet but daily administration of drops doesn't work in my current boarding situation. The Smart Pak individual doses assures me my old guy is getting his supplement. I have already seen an improvement in his breathing and overall demeanor. Way to go, Smart Pak!
    Date published: 2010-04-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth Every Penny APF is just as important to my IR mare's health as her low-sugar balanced diet. Her body and immune system were wrecked by Lyme and Anaplasma. I added APF to her regime a couple of years ago on the advice of my vet. APF has been a huge part of her recovery... along with repairing her GI tract and finding the right joint support for her. Her insulin numbers have dropped from over 100 to the 20's. She is now healthy, sound, back in full work and she looks fantastic. Well worth the price.
    Date published: 2010-05-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from APF I am on my second bottle, giving my horse3mls a day...he has just come back from lymes disease and has really increased in strength sinceI've started with APF. I think it tastes awful andhe licks it off my hand! So that's good for him!!! He also has a large sarcoidin his groin area and half of it has fallen off sinceI've been giving him APF! Thatis a small miracle...it was really ugly& growing witheveryday! I believethis is helping him. It's worth a try..I'vetried almost everything for the sarcoid prior toAPF.This is my story and I'm keeping my horse on it for quiteawhile...!!!Good luck!!!
    Date published: 2010-02-14
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.