Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Withers & Withers Insulin Resistant Horse Treats

Item #18282
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Your horse will love these treats and won't even know it's good for them! Withers & Withers Insulin Resistant Horse Treats are for Insulin Resistant, overweight, older horses and horses with Cushing's Disease. Made with Stabilized Rice Bran, Stevia Leaf, Cinnamon Bark Powder, and Apple Powder.

24 oz. tin or Refill Bag

Customers Also Shopped For
The Cantering Chef has baked up something unique ...
Description:
The Cantering Chef has baked up something unique for your horse! His tasty horse cookies combine the freshest natural ingredients, including scrumptious rolled oats and molasses. Choose from three delicious flavors: Blackberry Vanilla - flavored with natural blackberry flavor and ...
Made with all natural ingredients and no artificial ...
Description:
Made with all natural ingredients and no artificial flavors or colors, Uncle Jimmy's Squeezy Buns for horses are a delicious and nutritious treat! Favorite Features Individually wrapped to preserve freshness and eliminates mess in your pockets. 11 oz. or 3 ...
Giddyap Girls® Premium Horse Treat contain apples, carrots, ...
Description:
Giddyap Girls® Premium Horse Treat contain apples, carrots, beet pulp, oat bran, live probiotics, superfoods, vitamins, trace minerals, and other natural ingredients., making them naturally healthy and extremely palatable, Horses love them! The newly added live probiotics give balance to ...
All the natural goodness of wholesome baked grains ...
Description:
All the natural goodness of wholesome baked grains with the wonderful aroma of homemade muffins fresh from the morning oven! Harvest Hearts fit comfortably in pouch or pocket, and are a big hit with horses and young riders. Harvest Hearts ...
The blending of natural anise seed and orange ...
Description:
The blending of natural anise seed and orange oils combines two wonderful flavors to create a delicious treat for your favorite equine! Super Stars are oven baked as bite sized, star shaped pieces. There's no crumbling, no mess, and they ...
Withers & Withers Horse Treats are made with ...
Description:
Withers & Withers Horse Treats are made with only the finest quality food grade Organic and Fair Trade ingredients. Herbal ingredients have been carefully chosen with the advice of veterinarians and equine herbalists for their healing properties and sure-to-please flavors. ...
Naturally flavored with fresh peppermint oil, Meadow Mints ...
Description:
Naturally flavored with fresh peppermint oil, Meadow Mints are cool, crunchy and delicious. Like our favorite old fashioned dinner mints, these treats are traditionally shaped and baked into perfectly bite sized Meadow Mints pieces. There's no crumbling, no mess, and ...
out of 5
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Withers & Withers Insulin Resistant Horse Treats is rated 4.130434782608695 out of 5 by 46.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good treat Like most of you, I bought these for a horse that should not have sugary treats. At first, he didn't understand what they were and I thought they weren't going to work for him. After he chewed them up, he loved them. Now, one at a time is not enough and he pesters me for me. They are pricey for me because of how many I end up feeding.
Date published: 2015-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great treat for ponies with IR issues! The pony that I purchased these for LOVES them! I am so pleased that I can reward him for a good training session in a way that will not exacerbate any metabolic issues that he has. Thank you, SmartPak, for making a healthy treat available!
Date published: 2015-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'll admit it, I tried one. I really didn't know how to review these treats. My vet told me it was imperative to cut out the sugar in my horse's diet. I used to buy him a 25 lb bag of carrots per week and whatever muffin/cookie/snack I could get at the Feed Store. I was sure that this change in diet was not going to go down well for either of us. He is a very spoiled horse and I love to spoil him.I bought these treats and hoped for the best.Well, he likes them and he eats them so I am happy with that. He makes that "laughing face" when he does, so I decided to try a bit of one myself. I found them to be super sweet the way non-sugar sweeteners taste and they have a overriding licorice taste. I do wonder why they can't make them carrot, apple or banana flavored but they are not for me so as long as they are healthy for him I consider it money well spent. Even my mare likes them.They are easy to keep in your pocket without getting all crumbly or sticky and now there is much more room in my refrigerator for things I like and perhaps are not good for me. Like cheese.
Date published: 2015-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pony approves! My pony loves these. He has Cushings,so, I was looking for a fun treat for him. I find there are plenty in the bag and they last quite a while.
Date published: 2014-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Healthy Treats Again Purchased these with my horse had some health issued and needed to get off sugars and corn products. He also was borderline insulin resistant. He likes these and I know they are good for him.
Date published: 2014-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Picky eater - loves them My 27 year old Cushings horse loves these treats. He usually turns his nose up at anything "new" but he didn't hesitate with these. Just wish they were a little less expensive for the amount in the bag. Otherwise, Perfect!
Date published: 2014-06-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Great idea Only 2out of 3 of my minis likes the treats. The first bag I purchased was over half powdered treats. Smart pack replaced it with a new bag that was about 1/4 powder. I don't think I would purchase them again
Date published: 2014-04-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from big success with my pony My pony loved these treats. I wish it wasn't so expensive for such a small bag of treats though.
Date published: 2014-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from IR donkeys After a number of abscesses, my vet said one of my jennies was likely IR. Although the vet also said that stevia--one of the ingredients in these--has not been studied for donkeys, both donkeys have had two treats each with no bad consequences so far. My fingers are crossed. Though donkeys are not just long eared horses, people I asked about them and stevia have guessed that they'd be okay with it. 
Date published: 2014-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smells absolutely Delicious! My treat loving horse enjoys these and I don't feel guilty Over indulging him!
Date published: 2013-12-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good sugar substitute This treat was more readily accepted than I had expected it to be - the horse is kind of picky! It is a nice size to have in one's pocket during training in lieu of sugar cubes. It smells appealingly like cinnamon.
Date published: 2013-10-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Neigh or Bray My horses do not like these at all and will spit them out.My donkeys however, like them.Probably will not order again, due to already having found a healthy treat they all like.
Date published: 2013-08-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from They are great! I was very torn about buying these because some of the reviews said "my horse didn't like these" but my horse likes them! So I think it depends on the horse! But I will defiantly by these again of Angel!
Date published: 2013-06-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Smelled fantastic... horse didn't agree These treats smelled incredible when they arrived! Unfortunately, my gelding didn't find them tasty which was definitely disappointing... and they seemed awfully dry. Finding good treats for my IR horse is difficult and it would've been great if they had worked.
Date published: 2013-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome purchase Having an insulin resistant horse it's nice to be able to give treats that r specifically for them. Now my horse doesn't go without (eg no carrots, etc...)
Date published: 2012-11-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from very satisfied with purchase Horses do enjoy. Use treats for clicker training with my 25 yr old TWH and my cresty little Paso Fino. Treats are a little pricey so I cut them in half. That said, hard to find good treats for metabolically challenged horses
Date published: 2012-02-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from my horse has EPSM and I was thrilled to get a treat she can have. Only problem is she thinks they are discusting! She acts like I'm poisoning her and won't even chew them. They are small and dry but smell good to me (like cinnamon). They are far too expensive unless the horse loves them. Need more products that don't have sugar, molasses, oats, etc for horses like this.
Date published: 2012-01-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from A waste of money I was so disappointed in this product. The "cookies" are smaller than a hershey's kiss, so small it is hard to handle them with gloves on. I was planning to use them for clicker training, I'm going to use carrot slices instead.In addition, the price was way too high for this product.
Date published: 2011-12-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Horses love taste but pricey! I have two mares with epsm and have to limit their sugar intake. They love these treats and they smell good too! However, they are very expensive for the quantity you get.
Date published: 2011-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very useful treat! I am very fond of these cookies. I use them as a treat at times, but really use them to help my picky eater eat his suppies. Just one or two crumbled cookies combined with the splash of apple cider vinegar pretty much guarantees my boy will lick his bowl.While some reviewers disliked that the cookies will "soften" or crumble more easily if they are older or exposed to the air, I prefer them that way to crumble up onto his dinner =) It also allows us to give them to the 33 y/o who eats soaked feed and no treats unless they "melt" since she is missing many of her teeth.Maybe I should request the "powdered" bags some have had! All my recent orders have been perfect original texture, so Smartpak definitely took their comments to heart. Great treats.
Date published: 2011-08-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Treats! I purchased these for my pleasantly plump TWH mare. She has spit other cookies out like she thought they were poison, but LOVED these after just one taste! They are pretty small (more like a mint size) but it is great to have a treat I can give her without feeling guilty!
Date published: 2011-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tasty Treat My horse loves these! I love them because I am able to give him a tasty treat that is okay to eat. Being Insulin Resistant he can no longer have apples or carrots. My vet is happy a treat was developed for insulin reisistant horses.
Date published: 2011-07-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Some Like It Some Spit It Out This is a great treat for my IR horses. Some of my non-IR horses spit it out, not sure if it is the taste or the consistency.
Date published: 2011-07-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Product Needs Help These are wonderful treats if you can get a bag that isn't crumbling. I have ordered these a few times, and all the recent batches has shown up with the cookies just falling apart. Half the bag is powder/crumbs. I have called SmartPak and they were good about a refund, however it seems like the problem is in the maufacturing and quality control. Something is causing them not to be pressed consistently or a change in an ingredient. It would be nice to get back to what they were when I first discovered them!But, your horses will go wild for them and their smell!
Date published: 2011-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from glad to have these treats These are great for easy keepers, the ingredients are healthy for them and the size is not packing on the calories either. My horse and donkey both love them.
Date published: 2011-03-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Upset with results I have have purchased these treats from a local tack shop and was very happy with the bag I purchased. The treats looked fresh and intact. I ordered the canister from Smartpak and the treats that were delivered to me were very dry and crumbly. Nothing like the refill bag I had ordered previously. The treats are a nice size and my horse enjoys them. I will just not be buying them through Smartpak again.
Date published: 2011-02-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Tasty but pricey! It's great to have a healthy treat for your IR horse and my horse loves the cinnamon taste. However, the treats are a bit pricey for the amount you get.
Date published: 2011-01-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from unusable When the packages arrived the treats were almost reduced to pure powder/dust. What remained was almost unusable as treats...very little aroma..felt like these must have been on the shelf for a very long time. Won't waste my money again and very disappointed they were even considered for shipment.
Date published: 2011-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy Guy My Paso Fino, Ranger, is insulin resistent and so has missed out many times when some of our other mounts are getting treats during training. Now, he can receive some treats...which facilitate his learning curve dramatically!...and I am assured the treats are not doing him great harm.
Date published: 2010-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product All of the horses love these treats. I very much appreciate the care and thought that went into this product. Thanks!
Date published: 2010-09-04
  • 2016-09-25T12:49CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_43
  • loc_en_US, sid_8282, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders