Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Uncle Jimmy's Hangin' Balls

Uncle Jimmy's Hangin' Balls
- Item #14867
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for

Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Uncle Jimmy recorded a song just for us about his unique product - Click here to take a listen.

You can imagine how hard it is to write copy for a product with a name like this!  We don't want to offend, but at the same time we think it's really funny.  So we'll stick to the facts. 

After winning an Innovation Award at a recent trade show, we knew that Uncle Jimmy was getting serious about selling treat balls. The design and concept of hanging balls is revolutionary. Horses love these, plain and simple.  They're made out of sweet feed specially processed to stick together and last a long time.

 Made in the USA

Customers Also Shopped For
Giddyap Girls Premium Horse Treat contain apples, carrots, ...
Giddyap Girls Premium Horse Treat contain apples, carrots, beet pulp, oat bran, live probiotics, superfoods, vitamins, trace minerals, and other natural ingredients., making them naturally healthy and extremely palatable, Horses love them! The newly added live probiotics give balance to ...
Your horse will think Santa came early! This ...
Your horse will think Santa came early! This cute and festive stocking is filled with delicious Mrs. Pastures cookies! We've never met a horse who doesn't love the tasty natural ingredients, including Oats, Cane Molasses and Fresh Apples. 8 oz ...
All the natural goodness of wholesome baked grains ...
All the natural goodness of wholesome baked grains with the wonderful aroma of homemade muffins fresh from the morning oven! Harvest Hearts fit comfortably in pouch or pocket, and are a big hit with horses and young riders. Harvest Hearts ...
The blending of natural anise seed and orange ...
The blending of natural anise seed and orange oils combines two wonderful flavors to create a delicious treat for your favorite equine! Super Stars are oven baked as bite sized, star shaped pieces. There's no crumbling, no mess, and they ...
Omega Nibblers Low Sugar & Starch are tasty ...
Omega Nibblers Low Sugar & Starch are tasty and nutritious Omega-3 heart shaped apple flavored treat supplement for horses in all life stages. Made from stabilized ground flaxseed and natural ingredients that taste great a worthy treat for all horses. ...
Naturally flavored with fresh peppermint oil, Meadow Mints ...
Naturally flavored with fresh peppermint oil, Meadow Mints are cool, crunchy and delicious. Like our favorite old fashioned dinner mints, these treats are traditionally shaped and baked into perfectly bite sized Meadow Mints pieces. There's no crumbling, no mess, and ...
out of 5
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
  • Competitor:


Uncle Jimmy's Hangin' Balls is rated 4.2924528301886795 out of 5 by 106.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horses love these! These long lasting treats keep my horses happy when they need to be in their stalls. I always keep some on hand for rainy days. Be prepared that your horse will have a sticky face but a warm cloth is all you need for clean up.
Date published: 2013-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Stall Entertainment! I have a stalled horse, and non-edible horse toys don't entertain him. I used to buy a similar product from another company because they were cheaper, but decided to try SmartPak's because of the free shipping. Compared to what I used before, the Uncle Jimmy's are bigger and last MUCH longer. My horse's record for the other kind was 3 hours. His record for the Uncle Jimmy's is 8 days, which is a much better value even though they are a few dollars more.There is a sugar free version that SmartPak doesn't carry. If anyone was wondering, flies are still attracted to it and it doesn't last as long as the regular flavored ones (the texture is different and my horse just devoured it). I am sticking with the flavored ones (molasses is his favorite) from SmartPak.
Date published: 2012-09-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very entertaining! My super picky TB loves these! He will not eat any of the Likit treats, but this gets him excited. I do hang it up against a wall, but it still lasts at least two weeks. He spends half of the day inside, so this provides him with some entertainment when he isn't eating his hay. It does leave his nose a bit sticky, but nothing that a baby wipe can't handle. So worth it!
Date published: 2012-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse loves these but be ready for a mess! My horse absolutely loves these! BUT I will only feed these in the summer when I can wash him off easily because he has a tendency to end up wearing some of it. The molasses will get all over anything that touches it including your horse! Also some horses will eat this faster than they should so you should monitor your horse at first to make sure they don't eat all of it in one sitting.
Date published: 2012-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very happy but sticky horses My horses love the balls! Really depends on the horse as to how long they last. With one horse it lasted 2 weeks, other horse has gone over a month. Make sure to hang it where they can not pin it against a wall. Only negative is they leave a sticky residue on their heads, necks or wherever they touch the ball. But nothing water and towel can't fix. Definitely will buy again, gives the horses something to do besides eat our fences. Love It!
Date published: 2011-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse loves these! I use Uncle Jimmy's during the cooler weather to keep my horse entertained. They last a long time for him and he really enjoys them. My only problem is when it gets really hot and humid they are so heavy that they do fall off the string!! I use Pony Pops when it is hot since it can be put in a holder, and these when it is cool enough for it to stay put. My horse enjoys both products.
Date published: 2011-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good for the cranky mare! I got this on a whim for my horse. She varies between wood chewing and cribbing. It's more out of boredom, so I got her toys. She hated her toys and wouldn't touch them. I gave her a Uncle Jimmy ball and she loves it. I handed it to her like an apple before I hung it up, Then each time I brought her into her stall I showed it to her and would hold it for her to grab on to. Now there Is a slim trail on the wall and chunks missing. I'm super excited she is keeping herself so occupied!
Date published: 2011-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Solution for the Bored Horse on Stall Rest I bought a batch of these this winter when we had hoof abscesses making the rounds (thanks to an especially wet winter here in the Pacific Northwest). They were an absolute godsend - each one lasted for at least a week, even in the stalls of the most dedicated munchers. You do have to follow the directions, though, which specify how to hang them so that they can't be trapped against a wall. Two of our horses (smarties!) did figure out how to foil this strategy by working together to trap the ball (we have pipe panel stalls, so they can reach across), but even then, the balls kept them happily entertained for several more days. Only downside? A sticky nose! :)
Date published: 2011-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE IT It is messy but with a warm towel and some scrubbing it does come off. I don't think the messiness would ever deter me from buying this since my horse just has a blast eating/playing with these. He is VERY VERY PICKY and wont eat many treats or the regular lick-it brand things but loves uncle jimmys. I am glad to see his face covered in it because I know he was having a great time and really enjoying it. It even tastes good yourself if you give it a lick ;] I love it and would not rather buy any other horse treat product. I am very picky too but this really is excellent.
Date published: 2011-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing I had heard about Uncle Jimmy's Hanging Balls for years but never tried it out. While my horse was on lengthy stall rest and miserable I picked one up hoping it would keep his interest for awhile. HE LOVED IT! He happily spent hours trying to devour it. We've been hooked ever since.
Date published: 2011-05-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Amusing name but very messy Admittedly I have only used it with one horse but I won't be buying any more as they are just so messy - my horse's face is covered in sticky goo which is a nightmare to get off - just glad that he is chestnut and I didn't give it to my grey horse!
Date published: 2011-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horses loved Uncle Jimmy I have tried many products to curb the winter boredum - this by far is the best product. Comes in regular and sugar free for those horses with Cushings. The horses can not get enough of the them.
Date published: 2011-03-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Horses loved them - I did not. Title says it all. The horses loved them. I hung them at eye level away from a wall as the intructions said. The horses played with them day in and day out for 2 weeks until they were gone.The bad side is that twice a day I was sponging disgusting dried on molasses, dirt, hay and who knows what else off of the horses faces. There are better treats out there that the horses love that do not create such a mess.
Date published: 2011-02-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not what I was expecting I was expecting more. My younger mare immediately took right to it and then my older mare got interested too. They worked in tandem to lick on the ball. Really a great team effort! But, then that was it. I saw my younger mare mess with it once after that and then nothing. The ball looks the same as it did when I got it out of the box. Maybe it will be more enticing when the weather warms up. I'm keeping my fingers crossed! Probably be better in a fully enclosed stall though too.
Date published: 2011-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! These kept my horse busy for... I think a week. So it's not really that great to spend $80 a month LOL, but I'd only buy it 2x a month in summer. In winter they get cold, so they stick together better & last longer, but in summer it'll get quite messy, & my gelding would get it all over his face, mane & neck, but nothing a baby wipe couldn't take off!! Other than that I think this is good to keep bored horses occupied! My boy loves every flavor!!
Date published: 2011-02-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from My horse has not touched it yet ! The ball has been in his stall for 2 weeks, it is against the wall, to make it easier for him; he does not even lick it .... I do not understand ...
Date published: 2011-02-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Makes my horses very happy I love these balls. They are one of the only treats my horses really enjoy. They never really liked lick its. They can spend hours chewing on these, and they have liked each of the flavors. They are messy though, their noses are always covered in goo. And the balls don't last quite as long as they are supposed to. Make sure you hang them somewhere where the horses can't prop the ball against a wall or it will be gone within a day!
Date published: 2010-12-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Horse loved it... but it didn't last for very long My picky TB absolutely loves Uncle Jimmy's Licky Things. I tried a Hangin' Ball as a special treat. The horse LOVED it and gobbled it up. Even though it was hung from the ceiling and couldn't be pinned still anywhere, it only lasted 3 days. I'm not sure if my horse is just a pig or if these really don't last as long as they say.In short... my horse loved it, but it was pretty expensive for a short-lived treat.
Date published: 2010-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horses love them but MESSY! My horses LOVE these - but they are messy & sticky! Horse heads/forelocks need to be washed after eating these so get your wash cloth ready. They do last quite a long time too which is good.
Date published: 2010-09-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from my horse loves this! After reading the other reviews, i thought i would try this for my TB who, out of bordem started cribbing. It definately helped with the bordem, he LOVED it!!! but it only lasted about a week and the flies loved it too. other than that, it seems like a good product, just a bit expensive for me since it only lasted a week... i'll be trying another product next time.
Date published: 2010-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horse and Horse Lover's Treat Ball Horses love this and keeps them busy for hours on end. Balls last for awhile while horses enjoy the flavor and have a lot of fun.
Date published: 2010-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! My horse suddenly went lame and has been laid up on stall/mini paddock rest. He was extremely fit, so the transition has been a challenge. After scouting through the possible horse distractions, I found this one to be both hilarious and the best possible option. I hung it up according to the instructions 2 weeks ago. My horse LOVES it, but it also poses enough of a challenge that he has yet to put a significant dent in it - I wouldn't be surprised if it lasts 4+ weeks. (I also had two other horses temporarily placed in his stall, both of whom greatly enjoyed it). The only thing is that it does get his head very sticky.
Date published: 2010-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse LOVED it!! Great! The ball lasted for 3 weeks, and my horse enjoyed every bit of the ball. I got the molasses flavor! Great treat/toy for horses without turnout.
Date published: 2010-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hours of fun We hung this ball where my horse couldn't pin it against the wall and it lasted much longer than I thought it would. He loves it and works at it while he's in the stall, keeping him occupied. Only drawback is a sticky nose.
Date published: 2010-03-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Gone too soon... My horses loved this product and unfortunately inhaled it in a day. I initially had it hanging from the stall/run-in ceiling and they ignored it completely. The second I moved it, it was gone too quickly. For the price, I don't know that I'd order another, unless I were to once again hang the product from the ceiling. Otherwise, it disappears too quickly.
Date published: 2010-03-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Horse Loves This Treat! We have a mare on stall rest and this product has helped keep her occupied and happy. Not too much mess on her face. I plan to buy more for trailer rides.
Date published: 2010-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from best stall toy on the market! I have a young horse who gets bored in his stall fairly easily. I tried the lik-its and other products that were similar and they would be gone in two-three days. This has lasted him 4 months, and he is STILL loving it. It seems to be much more entertaining to him, and harder to "get".Now we always keep these on hands. Best boredom breaker we have found. It lasts forever.
Date published: 2010-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fire's Favorite Snack! First of all, the name is hilarious! And the product is great too! my horse loves it, and it really did take him about two weeks to finish it. His head was a little sticky- but it cleaned up with no problem. I couldn't resist buying him another one!
Date published: 2010-02-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love at first lick My horse LOVES these treat balls. No matter what flavor he can never get enough! The sweet feed is high quality and the ball sticks together well, unlike some other similar treats I've bought. My only complaints are that it didn't last very long (about 2 weeks) and my horse's face was a complete mess! Sticky sweet feed on his nose, face, ears, in his mane, on his butt, ugh, it took forever to clean him up. But I don't mind because it keeps my very playful and easily bored horse from doing something stupid when he's in his stall.Suggestion: if you don't want to have to clean your horse up daily or your horse eats these treat balls very fast, try the Uncle Jimmy's Licky Things in a likit holder. It's less messy and it lasted about a week longer for me.
Date published: 2010-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse's favorite treat My 33 year old QH is addicted to this treat. Normally he hates sweet feed but from the first time I bought Uncle Jimmy's hanging balls, he was hooked. I have had 2 that did crumble after a few days but the rest have stayed intact until he finished them. A ball will last anywhere from a week to 3 weeks depending on how long he is in his stall (winter in MA can be long and boring so having this treat makes him happier). They are kind of expensive but worth it every few months.
Date published: 2010-01-18
  • 2016-10-25T12:17CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_102
  • loc_en_US, sid_4867, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders