Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Uncle Jimmy's Hangin' Balls

Uncle Jimmy's Hangin' Balls
- Item #14867
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Uncle Jimmy recorded a song just for us about his unique product - Click here to take a listen.

You can imagine how hard it is to write copy for a product with a name like this!  We don't want to offend, but at the same time we think it's really funny.  So we'll stick to the facts. 

After winning an Innovation Award at a recent trade show, we knew that Uncle Jimmy was getting serious about selling treat balls. The design and concept of hanging balls is revolutionary. Horses love these, plain and simple.  They're made out of sweet feed specially processed to stick together and last a long time.

 Made in the USA

Customers Also Shopped For
Giddyap Girls Premium Horse Treat contain apples, carrots, ...
Description:
Giddyap Girls Premium Horse Treat contain apples, carrots, beet pulp, oat bran, live probiotics, superfoods, vitamins, trace minerals, and other natural ingredients., making them naturally healthy and extremely palatable, Horses love them! The newly added live probiotics give balance to ...
All the natural goodness of wholesome baked grains ...
Description:
All the natural goodness of wholesome baked grains with the wonderful aroma of homemade muffins fresh from the morning oven! Harvest Hearts fit comfortably in pouch or pocket, and are a big hit with horses and young riders. Harvest Hearts ...
Mrs Pastures Horse Cookies were chosen as the ...
Description:
Mrs Pastures Horse Cookies were chosen as the "Number 1 Horse Treat" and top in "Product of the Year" both by Michael Plumb's Horse Journal and John Lyons' Perfect Horse. Made of oats, wheat bran, rolled barley, cane molasses, apples, ...
The blending of natural anise seed and orange ...
Description:
The blending of natural anise seed and orange oils combines two wonderful flavors to create a delicious treat for your favorite equine! Super Stars are oven baked as bite sized, star shaped pieces. There's no crumbling, no mess, and they ...
Withers & Withers Horse Treats are made with ...
Description:
Withers & Withers Horse Treats are made with only the finest quality food grade Organic and Fair Trade ingredients. Herbal ingredients have been carefully chosenwith the advice of veterinarians and equine herbalists for their healing properties and sure-to-please flavors. Peppermint ...
Omega Nibblers® Low Sugar & Starch are tasty ...
Description:
Omega Nibblers® Low Sugar & Starch are tasty and nutritious Omega-3 heart shaped apple flavored treat supplement for horses in all life stages. Made from stabilized ground flaxseed and natural ingredients that taste great – a worthy treat for all ...
Naturally flavored with fresh peppermint oil, Meadow Mints ...
Description:
Naturally flavored with fresh peppermint oil, Meadow Mints are cool, crunchy and delicious. Like our favorite old fashioned dinner mints, these treats are traditionally shaped and baked into perfectly bite sized Meadow Mints pieces. There's no crumbling, no mess, and ...
out of 5
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Uncle Jimmy's Hangin' Balls is rated 4.314285714285714 out of 5 by 105.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horses love this! I bought this to try to keep my ottb entertained in her stall when she couldn't go out because of weather. She loves it and would not step away from it! I will definitely be buying more!
Date published: 2016-03-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great idea! I bought this for my mare who doesn't really mess with the other Uncle Jimmy's lucky things (she needs it to be VERY obvious or she is uninterested...typical mare!). This is great for her because she will only nibble on it. But if you have a voracious eater, then it will not last long at all!
Date published: 2016-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Long lasting, fun treat! Our picky TB loves these treats! Because of the way they hang, they are a challenge to eat and help with boredom during the winter months and last a long time!
Date published: 2016-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from They love 'em Got two miniature donkeys making it through the winter, for the most part confined to their stalls. For the last five years or so this has been their Christmas present. They wait right next to the their hanging ball until I drop them for fifteen minutes a day worth of enjoyment, which lasts until spring. Great treats!
Date published: 2015-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse loves these! Maybe she loves them too much! She goes through them quickly :) I use this on my horse that is a little less interested in the more "gimmicky" treats. She loves it and it helps keep her intrigued in between turn out, rides and feeding. Love the auto-ship feature SmartPak offers with this product as well!
Date published: 2015-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use L ok ve the product, 15 min as a reward for exceptional performance and he loves it
Date published: 2015-08-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Great Idea, Needs Refining I thought this would be the perfect boredom-breaker for my horse, who lives outside in a pipe corral. At first she didn't know what to do with it--I had hung it from the top of a second gate we don't use. So I moved it. But I moved it too close, and she finished it off in less than a day. I hung another one by a shorter chain. She grabbed it in her teeth and pulled it completely off the string, as she did the second one. I'll try one more, and if the same thing happens, I'll experiment with something else. It might work with other horses but it didn't with mine. I would still recommend it, though.
Date published: 2015-07-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Won't last long Asides from the sticky mess it creates, it won't last very long. It's very messy and I found myself scrubbing from his coat all that sticky mess. My horse will eat just about anything and loves all that's sweet. So he destroyed this ball in less than 2 hours. I was hoping it would last longer, but that was not the case. I'll have to buy another stall toys to keep him busy and away from destroying my water and grain buckets. For the price I think there's better options. It's a good reward treat though.
Date published: 2015-06-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good Idea I bought this for my young green mouthy horse to have something to do in the stall. She was interested in it for a few minutes then went back to just enjoying a basic salt block. She is not a picky eater at all. I even put it right next to a wall so it would be easier for her but she was not in to it. I wish she would have liked it! Side note: Do not leave it in the sun or it will get all gross..
Date published: 2015-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tasty diversion Positive peer pressure pushed me into purchasing this product for my pony (how’s that for alliteration?). Many owners in my barn had either purchased or received these sweet-feed packed horse treats as holiday gifts and extolled their virtues and their caveats; I’ll do the same, as being forewarned is forearmed! As far as taste, my TB seemed to have quite an appetite for the treat, but not distractingly so. He would leave it to eat his meals, nap, etc., so I would not be the reviewer to say he “was obsessed” with the product, but he did undoubtedly enjoy it! It took him just over a fortnight to consume the entire product BUT I did hang it in his stall AS INSTRUCTED by the manufacturer. I not only followed Uncle Jimmy’s directions but learned from my barn mates the pitfalls of allowing your horse to pin the product against a wall or other surface which allows the horses’ teeth to find steady purchase, thus allowing him/her to consume the entire product in one standing. As other reviewers have stated, I did find bits of grain stuck in odd places on my horses’ face (and ears and throatlatch and crest and poll- you get the idea), but nothing a damp, hot towel couldn’t remove. I would purchase this product again, and recommend you give it a try. Buy a screw-eye with it (https://www.smartpakequine.com/screw-eye-2041p), find some baling twine and hang it from the ceiling but at your horses’ eye-height, keep it away from the stall walls and let your horse give it a go. And try not to get it stuck to your own head when you're mucking out!
Date published: 2015-02-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Uncle Jimmy's Hangin Balls This is great for my horse on days when the weather is too bad to go out. However, I have to say he is not crazy about this. I used to get a product called The Bizzy Ball. He LOVED this. However, they discontinued making this. He will nibble away at Uncle Jimmy's eventually. It still serves the purpose of keeping him engaged and I will continue to get them.
Date published: 2015-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horses Love! My horses just love their Uncle Jimmy's Hangin' Balls. It helps to relieve boredom from the stall when kept in during bad weather.
Date published: 2014-09-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Can't afford Way too expensive to last for only for 4-7 days for a horse stall bound for months. Wow. Horse liked it, my pocketbook didn't. I don't understand why these are so expensive.
Date published: 2014-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse loves it This was my 6th purchase of this treat and my horse still loves it. I initially hung it in the middle of the stall, but my mare got bored because it was too much effort for her to keep licking on it. So I moved it to against the wall (but not in the corner). Now it gives her just enough challenge to entertain her for hours. Each ball lasts about 10 days for us this way.
Date published: 2014-08-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse loves this ball!! I've bought at least a dozen of these and I don't feel bad about buying another dozen more :) My horse absolutely loves these! They're gone in about two weeks with my horse, he is constantly attacking it :) I love buying these for my horse. I don't recommend putting one in a stall at a show or you'll wish you hadn't. They are very sticky and very messy. They get all over your horses face because it spins around and rubs against them, naturally they don't care.Usually a wet wash cloth can clean them up but some (mine) needs a good bathing. They are the perfect think for a horse on stall rest though or for a horse that is in more than out. Actually any horse would love this sweet treat. I've never met a horse that doesn't like this product. I recommend hanging it where the horse cannot pin it or else it will be gone in T-no time. Gone! But it's fun to watch them play with the ball and try and take chunks out of it. I recommend this product!!
Date published: 2014-08-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Epic fail - consider buying another product I bought this a month ago and I wish I hadn't. It "hanged" for two days and then the string came out. It went from a hanging ball to a rolling ball. VERY sticky so you can imagine the mess. Now I have a big stick ball that I can't really do anything with. I threw away my return label so I guess I'm "stuck" on this one... I encourage other buyers to look for a better product than this. I am 100% dissatisfied with this product.
Date published: 2014-07-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Like the title We bought this last month with our smart paks The horse liked it at first but since it is getting kind of dusty at the barn and the ball is sticky after she licks it picked up all the dust and is not good now. I guess it does not work for our barn.
Date published: 2014-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love This Treat My horse will devour the LikIts in a matter of two hours but this held up for almosttwo weeks. The only complaint that I have is my horse managed to get residue all over his nose and you literally have to scrub it off. It's quiet a formidable size but I wish it was a tad bit larger.
Date published: 2014-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mare loved it I bought this for my thoroughbred mare since she's been in her stall a lot due to weather. She loved it. She was trying to eat it while I was hanging it. I just wish it had lasted a little longer.
Date published: 2014-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from horses loved them I bought two of these for my horses for Christmas. They absolutely loved them. It took them both about a week to finish them up
Date published: 2014-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sticky, but does the job I think most people would agree, it does the job but leaves the horse a bit sticky. My horse is on long term stall rest and really needs the distraction. The ball is obviously tasty and my girl takes a few weeks to go through one. I think that some people have a great point, great for colder weather but may be a problem in the summer. Overall I love the product and will be buying them for as long as she is confined. 
Date published: 2013-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse loves this I have bought these in the past as it is a great pacifier when my horse is kept in his stall due to inclement weather. This most recent purchase is his Christmas present!
Date published: 2013-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great treat! I was convinced that this treat wouldn't last long, but it actually lasted nearly a week. My guy is on stall rest, so this was nice to break up the boredom. Although I do wish that they were a little less expensive, I will buy more while he is unable to go out.
Date published: 2013-07-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Didn't hold up long. I bought this for a yearling stud colt hoping to occupy his mind a little. It lasted less than 2 days and it fell off the string that came with it. I ended up throwing it in the trash.
Date published: 2013-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Our ponies love these, but only hang for few minutes, or will eat in one sitting.
Date published: 2013-06-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great treat/toy! My horse had to be on stall rest for about 3 weeks after needing stitches from a kick. As he is young and we normally work 6 days a week, I knew 3 weeks of stall rest would be tough! He absolutely loved this treat! I also loved it because it took him a lot longer to eat it than other treat toys. It did make his white nose brown and goopy, but it was totally worth it since he was happy!
Date published: 2013-05-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Devoured. I admit, I hung this ball against a wall, for lack of hanging options from the ceiling. It was gone in less than 48 hours! Needless to say, my horse loved his tasty treat, and was likely highly entertained for those 48 hours, but it's a little pricey to be purchasing very often. I was really looking for a longer-term solution to keeping my horse occupied while in his stall, and this wasn't quite it. Might be nice for shows, though, when he needs an extra treat and it only needs to last a day or two.
Date published: 2013-03-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Uncle Jimmy's I purchaced this hanging ball as my mare is on stall rest and I felt as though I should get her some things to keep her busy. The uncle Jimmys was very frustrating for her when it was hung in the middle of her stall as she could not really get at it. I left it hang for 2 weeks then finally decided to move it aginst the wall. She eat's at it now and it has still lasted quit some time. Over all good treat if they can get access to it.
Date published: 2013-03-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from At first my 4 yr old mare was terrified of the ball hanging in her stall but once she got used to it she went wild with it. After a week or two it seems that she has grown bored with it though. Unfortunately it is VERY messy and sticky! It left a sticky, crusty mess anywhere it touched on her body, especially her face. Baby wipes worked reasonably well at removing the mess. I probably would not purchase it again just because she isn't that interested in it anymore and it made such a mess on her.
Date published: 2013-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horses love these! These long lasting treats keep my horses happy when they need to be in their stalls. I always keep some on hand for rainy days. Be prepared that your horse will have a sticky face but a warm cloth is all you need for clean up.
Date published: 2013-01-26
  • 2016-08-28T11:44CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.3.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_101
  • loc_en_US, sid_4867, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders