Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Ultra ThinLine Trifecta Cotton Half Pad with Sheepskin Rolls

- Item #16925
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for

Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Ultra Thinline Trifecta Cotton Half Pad with Sheepskin Rolls is perfect for riders that prefer fit, function, and fashion in a saddle pad. ThinLine developed this pad to give riders the fashion appeal of sheepskin and the shock absorption they and their horses need without the bulk, high maintenance or cost of a full sheepskin pad.

Favorite Features

  • Cotton base creates a wither profile and spine free channel allowing the Ultra ThinLine to lay on either side of the spine
  • Does not interference for riders who prefer close leg contact with their horse
  • Will fit under both custom fitted and off the rack saddles because of the pad's sleek design
  • Pockets for shims allow for minor saddle fitting adjustments.  Click here to purchase the ThinLine Shims

Sizing It Up

Medium: measures 18.5" between the rolls and 24" including the rolls.
Large: measures 20" between the rolls and 25" including the rolls

Customers Also Shopped For
100% cotton wool with non-woven cover for wound ...
100% cotton wool with non-woven cover for wound dressing, support, padding,Protection and insulation. Supports andProtects fetlocks, hocks and tendons. HelpsProtect legs from injury. Keeps muscles warm for exercising, competition, traveling. Promotes circulation for improved healing. 12"x 11'6". Made in the ...
Powered with a vented Zoombang insert that is ...
Powered with a vented Zoombang insert that is scientifically engineered to dissipate energy, reducing injury and stress on equine athletes, breathable design remains securely in place, providing conformal layered protection. Hand woven, 100% New Zealand wool blanket top can be ...
The Kavalkade Lambskin Noseband and Crown Pads provide ...
The Kavalkade Lambskin Noseband and Crown Pads provide extra cushioning for halters or bridles. Made of lambskin and backed with black quilted cotton. Favorite Features Simple to install Keeps your horse comfy Prevents RubbingSizing It Up 28cm 32cm Imported.
A must for English competitors. Conveniently display your ...
A must for English competitors. Conveniently display your number on your saddle pad. The SuperQuilt Competition Pad features a handy, removable, clear number pouch secured by VELCRO brand fasteners. High quality Medallion polyester fleece top is combined with a thick ...
Melp contains regreasing properties ideal for sheepskin products, ...
Melp contains regreasing properties ideal for sheepskin products, washable leather, and wool. Melp is highly recommended for extending the life and quality of Mattes sheepskin products. Favorite Features Specially formulated for lamb and sheepskins Restores the natural properties Highly concentrated ...
Ionic Silver has been historically recognized for its ...
Ionic Silver has been historically recognized for its antibacterial properties and ability to kill fungi, viruses and bacteria. Tapping into this power, EquiFit, Inc. has developed the AgSilver line of silver-infused horsecare products. CleanTalc is a therapeutic powder for the ...
out of 5
95% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
  • Competitor:


Ultra ThinLine Trifecta Cotton Half Pad with Sheepskin Rolls is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 100.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loving it! Sheepskin is so soft. I got the large size for my 18" saddle, and it's even got extra room to fit. Love that it isn't squished in there.
Date published: 2014-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Half Pad I bought this to help with my sensitive TB. He was experiencing back soreness, and even after hock injections and a new saddle he was having trouble. My saddle already fit well, so I needed something shock absorbing that was thin enough not to change the fit. The thinlin trifecta pad has been great myself and my horse are more comfortable, the sweat marks are evenly spread across his back after a long ride. NOTE: Do not follow the sizing recommendations. I have a 17'' saddle and the small fits great, maybe even a little too long.
Date published: 2014-02-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Pad but runs big Really nice, well made pad but runs big (the medium is a little big under my 17" Stubben Edelweiss. It does get dirty quickly and I'm kind of wishing I got the black for that reason, but the white is so classy!
Date published: 2014-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I was looking for! Really like this pad! Love the flexibility of being able to use shims so that I can fit it to several different horses. I definitely felt a difference sitting in the saddle. I could just feel the support, so I know my horse must be happier!
Date published: 2013-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality! I bought these as gifts...The girls and their horses love them.
Date published: 2013-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this pad I love this pad.  Several people in our barn have it and it seems to be holding up well.  I ride different horses and this pad works well for many of them.
Date published: 2013-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this pad! My horse has a sensitive back (recovering from old injuries before I even knew him) and this is perfect for him! He's been much more willing with this pad now. The only con is the fact that it is white and gets dirty easily. Overall, I love it!
Date published: 2013-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BUY THIS HALF PAD! This is seriously the best purchase you could make! I saw a HUGE change in my horse for the better with just one use with this pad. One thing I will say, is sometimes the sweat is hard to remove from the sheepskin, but I'm sure with a good sheepskin cleaner it will come out easier.
Date published: 2013-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! At first I was a bit skeptical. I'm a rider on an extreme budget, and at first, I wasn't sure if this would be worth it. My mare gets super sore through her back and yanks down with just a regular sheepskin (and so does my back). I use this as my show pad. Last week, I was at a show, and I'd noticed before that my horse's back was a bit stiff. When I used this at the show, she felt great (and so did I! The back pain I've had for a year was gone)! No soreness, no yanking, and she was moving really well. Now that we're back at home and she's back in her other half pad, I noticed the soreness again. I'm now a Thinline believer and am saving to buy another. The only thing I don't like about it is that they get dirty SO easily.Sidenote! I bought a medium and it fits my 17.5 saddle just right
Date published: 2013-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Half Pad I bought this because my saddle is a but wide on my horse, and this has truly made a difference! It takes pressure off my horses' back, and makes my saddle actually fit perfectly! The only thing is that the fleece at the end came in contact with my horses' sweat so now its a bit dirty and I am not sure how to clean it? Answers on that?
Date published: 2013-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love, Love, Love I never thought a half pad could make such a difference. I bought this as a possible solution for my Tb's back soreness. It helped my saddle fit him correctly and his back seems to feel better. I can also ride better too. I can feel my horse and saddle so much better since purchasing this half pad and shims. It is a bit pricey, but has been worth it. I bought the medium for my 17 Pessoa saddle.
Date published: 2013-07-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Poorly designed I like that it was thinner than the majority of half pads and correction pads on the market. It has a plain cotton bottom which is why it is thinner. I hate how other pads are 4 inch thick wool or fleece (TOO MUCH STUFFING!!!)I ride SEVERAL different horses and the shims are NOT EASY TO CHANGE. I wish I could smack the person who decided that a 2 inch hole was large enough to shove shims through. Getting them straight and even is next to impossible.
Date published: 2013-07-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Only Half Pad I Would Ever Use I am a huge fan of Thin Line products, having been using a Thin Line Contour Pad for years now. I have had a history of back problems for many years, but once I started using this pad while riding, they improved dramatically and I now never ride without it! I recently decided to upgrade to this half pad with sheepskin version as I've always had a hard time fitting the contour pad under the saddle evenly while also providing wither relief. This pad takes all of the guess work out of tacking up, it always sits right and evenly, providing plenty of room for the withers. It does run a bit long, I ordered a Large for my 18.5" saddle and there is still room in front and behind of the saddle, causing the sheepskin to extend past the length of most of my saddle pads. It gets a little dirtier this way and therefore wants to be washed, which you are told only to hand wash this product. If I could change one thing, it would be to be able to remove the thin line product to be able to wash this product in the washing machine regularly, as it quickly starts to look grimy from dust and sweat.
Date published: 2013-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Pad Quality product. Does not add bulk under saddle. Large pad fits my 18.5 saddle perfect !
Date published: 2013-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great 1/2 Pad ThinLine makes nice products. Have this pad black & white size large for my 18" dressage saddle, and it fits really well. I prefer this style over the original ultra ThinLine b/c of the cut, much easier fit with the spine seam. Perfect amount of cushion and shock distribution w/o being to bulky and altering the fit of saddle.
Date published: 2013-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this 1/2 pad! I have had several other manufacturer's 1/2 pads and this one is as good as any of them. It has the added feature of the thin line material which I think makes the ride easier on my back and the horses'. I have not washed it yet, but I don't expect to have any difficulties with it. The stitching is very tight and the whole things seems quite high quality.
Date published: 2013-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pretty and functional Love this pad. Little bulk and great shock absorbtion. I noticed a difference right away. I think the horse likes it too. I got it in size M for my 17" dressage saddle and it fits perfect. I am going to buy another one without the sheepskin and keep this one clean for shows.
Date published: 2013-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gift I purchased this pad as a Christmas gift for my daughter. She loves it! She has a 22 year old TB and he's been doing flying lead changes like crazy since she started using this pad. I don't really know if it's the pad, but it certainly didn't hurt. We won't know for awhile how well it holds up.
Date published: 2013-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Pad! It's very well-made and the padding is very shock absorbing. I use it on my older horse to protect him from general back pains and a saddle that doesn't fit perfectly. You can definitely feel a difference as the rider too. It's a smoother ride. It looks fancy without having to pay extra for the whole sheepskin lining on the bottom. I am very pleased. I have used it almost daily for 3 months with no wear or tear.
Date published: 2012-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this pad! This pad was the only thing that helped fit my saddle to my very wide and long withered horse. The shims helped immensely. Even though I just bought it, the manufacturing quality is apparent, there are not loose threads, the stitching is even and reinforced where appropriate, and the fleece is very soft.
Date published: 2012-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smart choice This is one of the best half pads I have ever purchased. Fits most of my horse & Saddle combinations even on the horses that have custom fit saddles. Gives a little better fit for saddles that are a little too wide and gives added support to the older horses while being worked.
Date published: 2012-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I got this pad for my mare whose back was quite sensitive to grooming. Within 2 weeks I was able to groom her back almost normally.
Date published: 2012-10-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from If your saddle doesn't fit We use this to protect a horse's back from slightly ill-fitting saddles. It works well.
Date published: 2012-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice alternative to full sheepskin I didn't want to fork out for the fully lined sheepskin half pads so this works great for us. Very nice construction. My only criticism is that I ordered the medium and I have a 17" saddle and it doesn't fit my saddle as much as I would have liked. It fits my friends 18" antares perfectly though. I think the small may have been too short though since the length is good.
Date published: 2012-09-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great half pad I'm very happy with this pad. It's attractive, it's easy to add extra shims, it stays in place. I think the thinline really helps both my back and my horse's. Plus it's not that expensive. I highly recommend. As for size, I got a large for my 18" saddle and it's a perfect fit.
Date published: 2012-04-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good value My saddle fitter recommended a Mattes correction pad as a temporary fix for my dressage saddle. That pad was almost three hundred dollars, so I opted for this pad with shims in the front. It seems to improve the balance of my saddle and provides the additional padding the saddle fitter wanted. I'm very happy with this purchase so far.The only reason it didn't get five stars is because I'm concerned with how it will clean. I got white so I can show in it, and it's already dirty. The combination of materials is going to make it hard to clean.
Date published: 2012-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy Pony Our 16 year old pony was having sore back issues. This pad has eliminated the sore back problem and my daughter feels the difference also. The medium seems a little long for our 16" saddle but it is not too bad.
Date published: 2012-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous Half Pad! My OTTB has super high withers, and we've been through a number of pads, but all seemed to pull across the top of his withers. This pad stays where it's supposed to be, doesn't pull, and looks great! I love the ability to insert the shims too, which has helped with other minor pressure areas.
Date published: 2012-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful as well as effective This half pad has beautiful sheepskin on the front and back of the pad. This is an improvement over a full sheepskin pad. There are two reasons for this being a preferred design: 1) full sheepskin simply does not hold up to cleaning, even when all precautions are taken to preserve the sheepskin (the sheepskin comes off in chunks with cleaning, you'll see if you have one and try and clean it repeatedly), and 2) full sheepskin is bulkier and results in less contact.Furthermore, the thinline is effective. It doesn't look like much...it's not thick, but you can feel the difference in the saddle.It looks great, the best looking half pad I've owned.I bought the medium, and it fits perfectly with my 16.5 saddle. The sizing appears to be very specific for this product, so be sure to read what size will fit your saddle.I bought the Back on Track all purpose saddlepad to accompany it.I also have the Contender II dressage saddlepad which combines the back on track dressage saddle pad with the thinline pad, in one product.This really is a product woth considering if you are in the market for a half pad...it's the best I've owned by far....and I've had quite a few.
Date published: 2012-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Half Pad I was extremely pleased with the quality of this half pad. It's a well made product. My horse competes in 3 disciplines and the trainers use their own saddles when riding. I bought this pad to protect against back soreness and it seems to be working.
Date published: 2012-03-07
  • 2016-10-25T12:36CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_95
  • loc_en_US, sid_6925, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders