Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Ultra ThinLine Sheepskin Comfort Half Pad

ThinLine
- Item #16794
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Ultra ThinLine Sheepskin Comfort Half Pad is the preferred pad of some of the best riders in the world and for good reason! Ultra ThinLine products provide exceptional benefits for both horse and rider, helping to reduce rider movement, protecting the horses back, and creating a better saddle fit.  Increases performance in how horses lift their backs, and all riders will sit closer, quieter, and be able to do more with lighter aids!

Favorite Features

  • Constructed with Ultra ThinLine sewn on top of the highest quality cotton
  • 100% pure medical grade sheepskin under the panels and at the front roll
  • Pockets to insert shims to help with minor saddle fit adjustments. Click here to purchase the ThinLine Shims

Sizing It Up

Medium- Fits most saddles up to 17.5". Measures 19" wide between the rolls, and 23.5" long including the rolls. 

Large- Fits most saddles larger than 17.5".  Measures 20.5" wide between the rolls, and 25" long including the rolls.



Customers Also Shopped For
Mattes pads are designed to be form fitting ...
Description:
Mattes pads are designed to be form fitting to reduce pressure points and distribute the rider's weight evenly. All Mattes pads incorporate a high wither with an anatomically correct curvature to prevent pinching or rubbing in the gullet area of ...
The Wool Deluxe Classic Half Pad has a ...
Description:
The Wool Deluxe Classic Half Pad has a rolled edge in front and back for a secure fit. Made with billet straps. Wool is a 3-dimensionalProtective fiber that forms pockets of air quickly wicking away moisture. Wool's natural springiness relieves ...
The Wither Relief Half Pad optimizes close contact ...
Description:
The Wither Relief Half Pad optimizes close contact between horse and rider. Opening at withers relieves saddle pressure and improve saddle fit. 100% Australian Merino Sheepskin helps eliminate pressure points and prevents saddle sores. The Wither Relief Half Pad absorbs ...
Mattes Pads are known worldwide for their quality ...
Description:
Mattes Pads are known worldwide for their quality and design innovations. Following this tradition of excellence, Mattes is proud to present the E.A. Mattes Couture Collection. The Couture Collection offers a multitude of quilt, sheepskin, and binding colors, allowing you ...
Beautifully quilted pads by EA Mattes. Designed to ...
Description:
Beautifully quilted pads by EA Mattes. Designed to be used in conjunction with Mattes sheepskin pads. The Mattes Quilt Only Pads are quilted with a layer of poly-flex that absorbs energy and eliminates bounce. VELCRO brand billet and girth straps. ...
Using state of the art materials, EquiFit has ...
Description:
Using state of the art materials, EquiFit has developed and added a highly innovative saddle pad to their line of products. Made using ImpacTeq technology, the ImpacTeq Half Pad brings a level of shock absorption to the existing half pads ...
The Lettia CoolMax Half Pad provides ultimate comfort ...
Description:
The Lettia CoolMax Half Pad provides ultimate comfort andProtection. The quilted design with Coolmax lining draws away excess heat and moisture. This pad also helps relieve uneven saddle pressure and provides extraProtection where needed while maintaining optimum balance and contact. ...
out of 5
88% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Ultra ThinLine Sheepskin Comfort Half Pad is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 68.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Protection~ I purchased this ThinLine pad about three weeks ago, and have really good results with my mare. My saddle fits her quite well, so I didn't want a pad that was going to fluff up to much. I needed a pad that created good contact between rider and horse, but also maintained the good fit. This pad does that. And it has absorbs impact quite well, which is why I purchased the pad. Very happy!
Date published: 2015-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hands down, best half pad ever. I've been trying several different half pads trying to improve my saddle fit on my super narrow horse. Don't waste time like I did looking at other options, just get this pad. I got the 3/16" shims as well, they are made of the ThinLine material and made all the difference. With shims, it helped correct 95% of my fit issues: pommel and cantle not level, super uneven sweat pattern, tack always slipping forward. The short and sweet is to invest in this piece of tack; it's got real, excellent quality sheepskin, it's got the ThinLine, plus it's shimmable and the shims are ThinLine as well, not squashy foam. Oh, and the billet straps on it are actually long enough to go on the billets of my jumping saddle. I purchased the medium, it fits my 17 and 17.5 saddles very nicely. I use AP/jumping saddle pads and they are a hair shorter than this pad, so the sheepskin sticks over a little bit, but that's probably why Melp was invented. As far as durability and usable life goes, there is one of these in the stack of schooling tack at my barn, it gets used by lessoners all the time and it has probably been around awhile. The sheepskin is still fluffy, none of the stitching is coming out and when I used it to see if I'd like the pad, even shimless it helped saddle fit a ton. So take care of it and it will last.
Date published: 2015-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very cushy! I got this to replace a very old Thin Line pad and I'm very happy with it. Lovely fleece. It looks great and Dakota seems very comfortable.
Date published: 2015-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I wouldn't ride my mare without this pad! I have a mare with a very sensitive back. She's had the vet/chiro etc. and her saddle fitter suggested this pad. I've had it for over 4 years, never washed it, and used it for every single ride. At first, I didn't think I would use it in competition because it is black, but there was such a remarkable difference the one time that I didn't use it that I wouldn't ever ride her without it again.
Date published: 2015-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So happy!!!! this is one of the very best horse purchases I have ever made! My TBs back and withers were always sensitive after I rode him... The first time I used this pad I had the best ride ever on him...I am so so happy that I discovered this pad! My TB is too!!!!!
Date published: 2015-06-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice quality I really liked it but it was so thick that it did not look right under my saddle so I sent it back.
Date published: 2015-05-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice pad A bit thick but best to be safe with a tight shorter backed horse. Do not order large if you have a 17.5 in saddle it will indeed be too long
Date published: 2015-05-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from fell apart Like another reviewer, my pad fell apart. I am vigilant about caring for my tack. I did not wash it, always used with another pad, it wasn't dirty, stored in a climate controlled tack room, in its bag. Used probably less than 50 rides, though I had it for 2 years or more... the sheepskin pulled away from the pad and disintegrated. It was SO expensive And I love the thinline part, but I would not get another. For the price, it needs to last. This is ridiculous. For what it's worth, I think the horse liked it.
Date published: 2015-04-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great half pad, runs large I've been using this for two years now, and it works great, and is holding up well. My horse is very happy with it. the only complaint is that it did run large. I have an 18" dressage saddle, purchased a large pad and there are several inches of extra pad.
Date published: 2015-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a difference a good half pad makes Although I have only used this pad a total of 3 times I feel so passionately about how well it works that I thought I'd write a review.I have used an ogilvy memory foam jump pad under my Devoucoux Socoa for the past year. I noticed over time that my horse bites at the cross ties as I tack him up with the ogilvy. When I ride I also feel unbalanced and as if I am shifting off to one side. As I tacked up my gelding with the thinline I noticed him go to bit the cross tie before stopping when he realized something had changed. I immediately felt more centered in my saddle and closer to the horse, a feeling that I did not receive when using the ogilvy. I feel that this pad offers the best shock protection out of most of the others on the market.In terms of fit I have an 18" saddle and the medium was perfect for me.
Date published: 2015-03-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely 100% worth the investment! I purchased a new Thinline pad for my horse to help create the perfect saddle fit. It is absolutely one of the best investments I ever made - he's comfortable and forward moving! The pad is super high quality too!
Date published: 2015-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable, Warm and Cozy A beautiful product that all of my horses enjoy. It gives them a lot of comfort and I like that.
Date published: 2015-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse loves this! I could tell the second I tacked my horse up he loved the pad. Our rides have only gotten better since I purchased this! It's a really great deal and I would recommend this to anyone!
Date published: 2014-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly what I expected. Bought this pad about two weeks ago for a birthday present to myself. I had been going back and forth on this pad and a few others. I'm very happy with my purchase and noticed a positive change immediately while riding my older mare who is usually tough to get softened up and moving out. I truely feel this pad has made the difference and given her more comfort while riding. I had heard different opinions I sizing but I bought the medium and it fra perfect under my 17" Prestige-Nona Garson.
Date published: 2014-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this half pad for my sensitive mare. I liked being able to customize and shim for a perfect fit. Nice fleece and extra cushioning with the thin line padding.
Date published: 2014-09-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Pretty but doesn't last I ride two horses a day and am religious about using a baby pad. While I love the traditional look of the pad and the modern function, I have gone through 2 pads in a year and a half. The sheep skin litterally melts away and the fleece peels off the pad rendering it useless. I do not think it's a good buy and will not be getting another sheep skin product from Thinline, unfortuanately
Date published: 2014-08-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great pad, great value, runs big. I love this pad- it does what it advertises. I feel a closer contact with my pony and he feels more supple and more willing to bring his back up when I use this pad.My pony is hard to fit a saddle to because of his narrow build but flat back, and this pad keeps my saddle from sliding up on him. I have a similar Mattes sheepskin pad that was more expensive than my ThinLine. The Mattes looks beautiful but unfortunately does NOT help keep my saddle in place. I would choose the ThinLine over the Mattes again and again.My only critique is that this pad runs big. I have a 17.5" saddle and bought the Medium, and it's just slightly too big. Wish I would have gone with the Small, it would be a cleaner fit/look around the edge of my saddle. Oh well, it still works great!
Date published: 2014-06-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Enjoying it thus far! Really liking it thus far, will be interested to see if it helps with my horses friction rubs.
Date published: 2014-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Nice Pad I bought this pad to replace the same, very old, ThinLine Sheepskin Pad. The new one is working well, and based on experience, it'll last many years. I think it tends to run a little big. If you're not sure which size to get, try the medium first.
Date published: 2014-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great pad for sore backs My Dutch Warmblood got a sore back because he needed his saddle re-fit. My poor baby was letting me know every time I tried to saddle him that he didn't want it on his back. After using the thin line sheepskin pad one time he stopped complaining about getting saddled and since the saddle has been fitted the soreness is slowly reducing. What more do you want from a pad?
Date published: 2014-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this half pad! This pad is high quality and very well constructed. It is TTS (bought for my daughter - 16.5 in saddle. Would definitely fit up to 17 in saddle as well). My daughter likes that she can really feel her horse; definitely promotes close contact with the horse. Our gelding seems happy and comfortable as well (although we really didn't have issues before). Spendy but definitely worth it! I will be buying one to replace my older Mattes half pad for my own horse.
Date published: 2014-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So happy I splurged! After years of having this half pad on my wish list I am so happy to have finally made the plunge and spent the money on this pad! This half pad is high quality and the the thin line technology is incredible! My OTTB has arthritis in this back and needs extra encouragement to stretch out and move while riding in the indoor arena during the winter months. I have seen an improvement in his movement using this half pad. I have also noticed my slight lower back pain I experienced during riding has completely gone away! I have a 17" saddle and I ordered a medium size pad (and it fits great). I am so happy to have made the investment both for my horses back and for mine. This pad was well worth the price!
Date published: 2013-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Incredible Used this for the first time today and I loved it! It's high quality so I expect it will last for many years to come. My horse willingly stretched through his back and used his hind end. At first I was worried it was too thick and it would make me feel high off my horses back, but it really didn't. I ride multiple hard to fit thoroughbreds and I feel this half pad will improve their comfort making it we'll worth the price! The medium fit my 17.5 county dressage saddle perfectly!
Date published: 2013-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from worth.the.money I actually bought this last pad for my best friend.  She sometimes rides my husband's horse (he and I both have one of these pads for our horses) and was wowed by the half pad.  the comfort level, the lift it gives to the saddle - amazing.  makes the ride better for everyone.  One of the trainers at our old barn used mine all the time - I think she was sad to see us go because she had to buy her own!  I cannot recommend this enough.
Date published: 2013-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this pad! I bought this pad for my previous horse, a high-and-hollow withered TB who had sore back issues and was impossible to fit. Once I started using this pad, the back issues disappeared. I love this pad! I have not yet used the shims, but I love that there is always that option to adjust the saddle (slightly) to my horse as his back changes.
Date published: 2013-10-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from comfort pad Good fit,got this for my guy who was having soreness in his back,has a good saddle fit but likes the extra softness this pad gives...so far so good,is his old self again,stretching down and using his back
Date published: 2013-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Supreme Half Pad I bought this for my mare, who has a tendency to be cold backed. Pros: The sheepskin is rich and thick, and the ThinLine material of the pad is impressive. It is a great all-around half pad to protect your horse's back and to customize your saddle fit. Cons: In response to some reviews, I ordered a large to go with my 18 inch saddles, and it is a little too large. I think the regular size will work fine for most people. It adds bulk to your saddle, so you may find the girth fits a lot tighter. It is very expensive, but I think I will have this for years to come.
Date published: 2013-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saddle pad! I have a 17" Tad Coffin english saddle and ordered the medium in white. It fits perfectly. This is the best saddle pad I've ever had, well worth the money. Fits both saddle and horse very well!
Date published: 2013-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Huge fan! I have been a huge fan of Thinline products for years, and this half pad is one of my favorite products they make. My mare likes a good sheepskin pad on her back, and I like the Thinline for mine. This is a great combination that doesn't make your saddle too bulky. She is forward and relaxed and round with this pad on. Several boarders at the barn have purchased this pad since seeing her go in it.
Date published: 2013-03-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best half pad i have ever owned!!! Great half pad! Protects my horses back and looks great under my saddle. I have purchased many fleece half pads before but liked that this one incorporated thinline technology into it without being heavy or bulky like some fleece pads that contain gel.
Date published: 2013-02-01
  • 2016-08-29T11:28CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.3.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_66
  • loc_en_US, sid_6794, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders