Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Tuff Stuff

Delta Mustad Hoofcare
- Item #10630
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for

Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Finally, a hoof conditioner and toughener that is also a show quality cosmetic. That is a tough combination to beat. Tuff Stuff® is so effective that after treating an egg with it, you can drive a nail through without cracking the shell.

- Strengthen brittle, shelly, mushy, or cracked hoof walls
- Protect scuffed toes
- Guard against fungus, caustics, and bacteria
- Maintain hoof wall’s natural moisture

Favorite Features

  • Will not wear away after application.
  • More effective than oil-based products that actually block moisture absorption.
  • Tuff Stuff® is an acetone-based application with a cellulose bonding agent that moisturizes the hoof from the inside out.

Sizing It up

7.5 oz w/ applicator.

Made in the USA

Due to federal regulations, we are unable to offer expedited shipping, or ship to Alaska and Hawaii for this product. Please note this item may ship separately from your order. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience.

Customers Also Shopped For
Continuous treatment promotes faster healing! The Veterinary Preference ...
Continuous treatment promotes faster healing! The Veterinary Preference Thrush Treatment is a fast-acting treatment for Thrush and White Line Disease with a unique delivery system. The active medication is saturated into self adhering cotton rolls that, when pressed into the ...
Magic Cushion Hoof Packing is a natural anti-inflammatory ...
Magic Cushion Hoof Packing is a natural anti-inflammatory and analgesic hoof packing for the equine athlete. Provides relief from the soreness resulting from the everyday rigors of training, laminitis, white line disease, pedal osteitis, abscesses, navicular syndrome, bruising, corns, canker ...
EquiFits newly introduced custom-fit, Hoof Savers provide cushionedProtection ...
EquiFits newly introduced custom-fit, Hoof Savers provide cushionedProtection to your horse's hooves. Constructed using EVA Foam technology similar to that used in the running shoe industry, the pads offer pain relief to laminitic and sore-footed horses andProtection to shoeless hooves. ...
The Original Mane 'n Tail Hoofmaker is an ...
The Original Mane 'n Tail Hoofmaker is an exclusive protein enriched formula developed to maintain strong yet flexible hooves.- Deep moisturizing formula helps reduce dry and brittle hooves- Protein enriched formula conditions the entire hoof surface including coronary band, walls, ...
Huuf Magic is an easily applied, non-messy penetrating ...
Huuf Magic is an easily applied, non-messy penetrating treatment that effectively aids in the treatment of thrush, seedy toe, white line disease, coronary band scurf, cracked heel bulbs and other problems associated with the sole, frog and hoof. A unique ...
Why We Love ThisKeratex Frog Disinfectant helps maintain ...
Why We Love ThisKeratex Frog Disinfectant helps maintain a healthy frog. It contains tea tree oil, a powerful and specific disinfectant thatProtects against the organisms that cause thrush. The bottle's site-specific nozzle makes it easy to target the hard-to-reach areas ...
out of 5
92% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
  • Competitor:


Tuff Stuff is rated 4.78125 out of 5 by 64.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works well! I got this for my horse tully because his hooves always crack and chip up. After using this product I have definitely seen a difference in the quality of his hooves!
Date published: 2015-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good stuff, Tuff Stuff! I've used Tuff Stuff for years. My farrier suggested that I use it on the bottom half of my horses' hooves, then use a conditioner/moisturizer on the top half, around the coronary band. Both of my horses go barefoot year-round, and both have great hooves. Admittedly, I also add SmartPak's SmartCombo, which has 25mg of biotin and other goodies for their hooves.
Date published: 2015-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just tried it for the first time but it seems to help harden her hoof. My horse is good barefoot in the winter but her feet get soft in the summer. This seems like it will help.
Date published: 2015-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Actually Works I use this product to help keep my draft's hooves in good shape. It works well and I love it!
Date published: 2015-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gotta have it I've used this product for years and wouldn't be without it. My Thoroughbred has thin walls and soles which TuffStuff does a good job of protecting.
Date published: 2015-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product When applied to clean hooves and let dry, it is a great product for strengthening hooves. I like to put it on before washing a horse to keep moisture out, and also before turning them out if muddy.
Date published: 2015-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from seems to work very well! We started using this on our horse's front feet to seal up the nail holes from his shoes.....
Date published: 2014-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from TUFF STUFF WORKS WELL FOR MY OLD HORSE I buy this to use after trims on my (old horse age near 34) , it works well in keeping his feet comfortable after trims or in wet weather
Date published: 2014-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Toughening Solution My farrier suggested this product, and I use it whenever I have a horse that needs a little work on their feet. Great product, stays on for a while, and does its job. Love it!
Date published: 2013-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from tough as nails My farrier suggested that I get this product for my gleding. He goes barefoot and recently got a crack in his hoof. This stuff is Great! It's been 6 months now and the crack is almost grown out. Thanks for saving his foot!!!
Date published: 2013-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It works! During a MN summer, my horse is working in a sand arena and is stomping flies in the pasture. Her feet tend to get dry and shelly. Last summer, I tried Tuff Stuff and was very happy with the results. Once a week I put it on the nails and around the lower part do her hoof. The shelliness was gone and no loose or lost shoes.
Date published: 2013-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best I have used My horses feet are naturally brittle (appaloosa feet) and ever since I starte using Tuff Stuff he feet have stayed so healthy and clean looking between trims. This is the best stuff I have ever used and it WORKS!
Date published: 2012-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonder Worker My paint gelding is now 14 and for well about 14 years his hooves are a great deal of WORK. I have been using this product for about a year and a half now and will continue to use it! With a new supplement and this product we are making leaps and bounds!
Date published: 2012-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great!~ Worked great to help get my horses feet back under him. He was on irrigated pasture and this helped keep his feet from drying out completely!
Date published: 2012-09-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I use this on my shelly footed TB mare immediately after she's shod and about once a week thereafter. I've noticed a HUGE improvement in the 6 months I've been using this product, her feet are much harder and she hasn't thrown a shoe in months. Even my farrier has commented on how much better she looks!
Date published: 2012-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! I have a Clydesdale with huge soft feet and Tuff Stuff really makes a difference. Regular use helps keep his feet strong.
Date published: 2012-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Great product for brittle and soft hooves!
Date published: 2011-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great hoof protectant I used this product several years ago when I was bathing my grey mare for shows every week but she has been retired for 5 years and I forgot all about it. Last year I moved to coastal Carolina and we started having a terrible time keeping her shoes on. They are corrective and necessary to keep her sound and I tried all the products the locals recommended with no luck and this product popped into my head. I've been using it weekly for 2 months now and we haven't lost a single shoe! It's economical as well as one application a week is all you need. It lasts forever.
Date published: 2011-10-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice shine Easy too use product. It dries fast, though has a strong smell. It gives the hooves with a noticeable shine. I have not noticed too much off a difference in chipping though. I apply it about twice a week.
Date published: 2011-07-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It works but has drawbacks. This stuff does actually toughen up hooves but I don't like using this long term because it contains acetone and that does dry out the hooves over time...acetone is nail polish remover basically. It doesn't go very far either so if you are using it to toughen up hooves in the shortest possible time while starting a horse on hoof supplements it works great for that but not for long term use. There are better products out there.
Date published: 2011-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from always a good choice! my mare was throwing shoes left and right, and ripping hoof off with them, as soon as I started using Tuff Stuff my farrier noticed an incredible difference! I will always use this product and recommend it to friends
Date published: 2011-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse seems to almost have thrush problems.I use tuff stuff to keep his hoof from getting to moist .The only problem is the stuff will dry up fast in the bottle . But its good stuff.
Date published: 2011-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keeps Hooves Healthy I have a thoroughbred with sensitive feet that I've been using this product on since he was trimmed last. I've been using it about twice a week and I think it has really helped strengthen his hooves and keep his shoes on longer. I wish this came in a bit bigger bottle though, because I've been going through this one very quickly. Also, I wouldn't necessarily call this a "show quality cosmetic" ... It makes his hooves shiny for about 15 minutes, but they get dull again after that so unless you plan on applying it right before your class, I'd go with an actual hoof polish. For every day use though I really like this product.
Date published: 2011-03-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Interesting Don't have a formal opinion yet on this product but I will say this, after one application on two different horses, it used up alot....
Date published: 2011-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! My APHA mare has soft soles. She's barefoot and only has problems after being trimmed. She's ouchy for a few days after being trimmed, even with my farrier leaving some extra sole for protection. He suggested that I try using Tuff Stuff instead of putting shoes with pads on her. It has done wonders. I apply it right after she gets trimmed and every other day for a week. Then I go down to once a week depending on the weather. I wouldn't be caught without it in my tack box!!! I love this product! She's still barefoot and not nearly as ouchy after being trimmed. Plus it helps keep the hooves from cracking.
Date published: 2011-01-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Okay Product I use this as my show hoof conditioner. It does not last very long and the hoof quickly looses it's shine. It easily picks up dirt and has to constantly be reapplied. I don't know how it works as a hoof "toughener", but I would not suggest it for a show cosmetic. At the next show I will be trying something else.
Date published: 2010-12-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Tough As Nails! My horse has never been without shoes, but this winter I decided the take off his hind shoes. I started using this product about 4 weeks before the farrier removed the shoes. He has not had a single problem and his hooves are still in excellent condition! Even the farrier was impressed with how strong and resilient his hooves were after the shoes were removed!
Date published: 2010-12-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Helps some with chipping hooves. Tuff Stuff helped some with my horses chipping hooves. I had to put it on twice weekly, because it wore off quickly.
Date published: 2010-09-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tuff Stuff This is a great product, especially if you have problems with cracks in the hooves!
Date published: 2010-08-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Does what it says I wouldn't say this is a good hoof conditioner but it definitely toughens the hoof and is good for filling in nail holes. Smells strong like nail polish remover.
Date published: 2010-07-06
  • 2016-10-23T11:43CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_61
  • loc_en_US, sid_630, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders