Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Tuff Rider Winter Riding Boot

TuffRider
- Item #15655
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Tuff Rider Winter Riding Boots have a waterproof PVC upper and neoprene ankle flex that allows for greater comfort in the stirrup. The upper lining is a durable mesh with PU foam and tricot. The molded foot bed lining is multi-spandex with PU waterproof membrane.

Favorite Features

  • Stretch calf gusset
  • Full length zippers
  • Comfortmax classic insulation and synthetic sheepskin throughout leg for warmth
  • Specially designed under sole to give grip in winter conditions
  • Reflector on heel for night visibility

Imported

Sizing It Up

out of 5
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Tuff Rider Winter Riding Boot is rated 4.215909090909091 out of 5 by 88.
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Nice boots...for hiking Boots appeared to be well made but I returned them. The bottoms of the soles had lugs like hiking boots. Pony Club was decades ago but the lessons about proper boots, sturrip irons and safety have stayed with me.
Date published: 2016-01-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Does the job These are much less bulky than I was expecting. I still feel like I have contact with my horse riding in them. Warm and hold up to mud and muck well.
Date published: 2016-01-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I'm keeping them but... Based on other reviews, I was looking forward to a boot that actually fit my little legs. I am 5'4" and 105 lbs. I ordered a size 7 boot and the foot and ankle fit comfortably snug, however the calf area bulges out and is much too large!They are warm and appear sturdy. I really like the bit of neoprene they put in front of the ankle so it can flex easily and I suspect this will improve the longevity, as well as the comfort. I'm keeping them for schooling this winter and I'll bet I end up wearing them for lots of barn chores, but they are not terribly flattering.
Date published: 2015-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best winter boots I've had in a long time!! I bought these boots based on the reviews of them being extremely warm but was still skeptical. Living in Minnesota most of the reviews were from people who don't ride in cold temperatures like we do up here and I was afraid they wouldn't be as warm as people claimed. Everyone was right though! I have yet to have cold feet in these boots with a simple thin sock layer under wool socks even on days when I'm not working hard riding. The reviews said they had an unusually narrow calf so I did order a half size bigger to be safe and to allow for more room for thicker socks but I didn't have any problem with the calf width. I do have fairly small calves but even with 3 layers under the boots I can still stick almost my whole arm down inside the boot when they're on. So if you typically wear a narrow calf in summer boots you shouldn't have a problem.
Date published: 2015-01-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from great quality, hard fit I recieved these boots for christmas. I am normally a 7.5, i have very muscular calves and wear a size 2 pant, so i am not a larger person, but after reading reviews i ordered a size 9 hoping the calves would work out. They were fine as long as i didnt wear wool socks (which isnt an option in the Minnesota wintertime), but were just too snug on the calves for me. Very disappointing as i was very happy with the quality and look of the boot, and they were very comfortable without even having a "break in" period.
Date published: 2015-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product - great price very warm and comfy boots -
Date published: 2014-12-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Warm and Waterproof, but that's about it. I've owned these for two winters. Pros: they're very warm and quite waterproof. Cons: they are very difficult to flex at the ankle, to the point where my trainer has forbidden me from jumping in them. The calf is also extremely tight. I have average calves and zipping them up can be a challenge.I like them for winter weather but unfortunately with the ankles I really can't ride in them any more.
Date published: 2014-05-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Doesn't fit human beings After trying two different sizes, I came to the conclusion that these boots were not designed to fit actual humans. I know I'm short in the leg, so I WILL disregard that - but I can't get over how small this boot assumes your calf is. I am not overweight and I do not have hulk calves but after buying two sizes larger than any boot or shoe that normally would fit me, I couldn't even zip the stupid things up even halfway. At that point I knew if I went a THIRD size up, the boot would then be so tall that it wouldn't be functional anyway, so I asked for a refund. Unless you are a string bean (and hey, some girls are!) Don't waste your time. You'll just have to go to the UPS store to return them.
Date published: 2014-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ordering my 2nd pair! I just wore out my first pair after 3 years of constant winter wear in frigid MN. Super comfortable for riding and all day wear. I muck my stalls in these and they have held up. The are super dry and warm to temps of -30! I use these to snowmobile in and all outside sports. Zipper is sticky at first but they break in nicely. Wish they had a non insulated pair for the spring mud and wet!! Bigger calves will not work in these boots.
Date published: 2014-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boots! These boots are GREAT! Living in Minnesota with really cold temps, these boots have been a livesaver! They have been great for doing chores, trecking through lots of snow, and riding! The only thing about them that I do not like is that the back of the boots above the heel tends to rub until they are broken in. Oh, and I had to go up in sizes. I am usually a 7.5 but went with a 9 so I can wear nice thick socks and still have wiggle room to keep my feet warm for several hours.
Date published: 2014-02-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Didn't fit at the top of boot Boot felt comfortable except it was too tight at my calf muscle
Date published: 2014-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super warm! Bought these for riding and general outside wear in cold temps/snow. LOVE them. Even riding. I thought they'd be big and bulky but were very comfortable and didn't slip all over the place when riding.
Date published: 2014-01-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too Tall Bought these for my 5' 4" daughter who has a calf length of 15 1/2".  These boots are too tall for her and will have to be returned.  The quality of the boot seems to be really good, disappointing that they don't come in a shorter boot height.  Ariat is losing sales on this item.
Date published: 2013-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT BOOTS I have had the boots for 1-1/2 years and wear them a lot even in the Louisiana summers. I bought them a size bigger, per reviews, but find I have lots of room in the foot and the medium size shaft. I have had no problem with fit or with the zippers whatsoever. They are absolutely waterproof and i can go through anything. I find them bareable even in the summer, and nice and warm in the winter months. I have worn them on several limited disatance endurance rides and foud them very comfortable. My daughter has borrowed them on her recent endurance ride and thought the same. They have held up great despite extensive use, and I think I can wear them another year and a half.
Date published: 2013-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from second review b/c they're so great! I wrote a review just after I purchased these boots, but it was before I really had a chance to use them much. Now, I'd like to give a more detailed review. These boots are fantastic! Every now and then, I find that the bend near the ankle will rub my ankle a little, but I attribute that to the socks I use. However, they are super warm and very waterproof and are very nice to ride in once you get used to the extra winter bulk. I use them with my Kerrits Tight n' Warm F/S fleece breeches, which are also fantastic! I definitely recommend these boots.
Date published: 2013-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Update: still love! Wearing these in their second season and just discovered how very waterproof they are: bringing horses in from an absolute downpour, I got stuck walking through puddles that gave me that sinking feeling that I was about to feel squishy for the rest of the day...nope, completely waterproof footbed all the way up to the zipper! Thanks again!
Date published: 2012-12-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Read sizing chart These are tall boots. My lower leg is 15" from heel to back of knee, and the boots are over 16". If your leg is too short, you will be painfully jabbed in the back of your knee. I am so disappointed to have to return these boots. I think they would be perfect for cold weather riding. I wish they sold them in a shorter version.
Date published: 2012-12-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Comfy but large for petite legs I have had these about a year and love how comfy and warm they are. All postings are correct, so order a size up. I am petite at 105 lbs and 5'1 so the calf is really large but after socks it helps a little. It was bulky at first riding but it got better with wear. Would definitely recommend buying
Date published: 2012-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice and well made Super nice, warm boots. I wear a 7-1/2 normally. I ordered an 8 and with a thin sock they were very tight. Not much room in the toe area. Sent back for a size 9. I'm 5`6 , weigh 135lbs and my calves are average size if not less than average. They were tight in the calf area. Although they were nice enough to exchange.
Date published: 2012-11-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good reviews helped! Bought these boots for eastern Canadian winters, am a newish rider, , I bought a bit bigger as per recommended from other reviews and they work well, are a big high in the leg, but I am 5'1" so that is usual for me. I was warm in them, and will be able to get warm socks inside too. Only used once so far.
Date published: 2012-11-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice and toasty! These boots are exceptionally warm and dry. They are perfect for barn chores on a cold day and ground work with your horse any time. It would be nice to see them run in half sizes as well though. They are alright to ride in, but I don't find them as comfortable for riding as I do a regular paddock boot.
Date published: 2012-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boots! I bought these boots at a recommendation from a friend. So far, they are amazing! They don't have half sizes so I ordered up. I'm glad I did because now I can fit thicker socks. They are tight in the calves, but I find if I lean my leg forward at the ankle when zipping they go up no problem and fit fine. Very comfy! They fill the stirrup rather close and are taking some getting used to for riding in, but they are super water proof and very warm!
Date published: 2012-10-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Keeps your feet warm! This (2012) will be the third winter I've been wearing these boots. They are warm in the foot and in the leg. There is room for heavier socks, too. However, these boots are a bugger to zip! They fit tight in the calf, too, which is a bother since in the winter I'm layering to keep my legs warm. They are also a bit chunky to ride in. I have to lower my stirrups by one hole because the sole of the boot is really thick.They've held up really well and even shed muck and mud. And while I'd like to buy a pair of more stylish boots I can't justify it as mine are still in very good shape.
Date published: 2012-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great value! These boots were purchased as schooling boots to school during winter time! The foot fits true and calves are a bit big but fit well. They are very durable and completely waterproof! They are great boots for the price and I would definately but them again!
Date published: 2012-04-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good Value but Bad Fit for size 9 plus Pro's: Out of the box I felt these boots were a good value. The look and feel were all very nice. I'm 5'11" and have hard to fit slender calves, and these fit well.Con's: If you're a size 9 1/2 or larger these most likely won't work. I have normal width feet and am typically a size 9 to 10, 10 being the largest size I go to for winter shoes. These size 10 were very snug and would not have allowed for winter socks. I also found my heel uncomfortable, like a steel shank digging into it. In all fairness this might be due to the fit being to tight to begin with and maybe this wouldn't hurt if they were larger on my foot.
Date published: 2012-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Waterproof AND WARM! These are wonderful boots! I am a 7 to a 7.5 I ordered the 7. At first they were a little tight, but I feel that the insulation is molding to my foot. I do have small calves (13") and there is a little bit of room, but it's not bad at all. They are just the right height (I measure 17") and the slight Spanish top is lovely! I can tromp around in mud and water and my feet stay dry. There is no stiffness in the ankle AT ALL. Very comfy!
Date published: 2012-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thank goodness for these boots I can ride in the winter! It frequently is in the teens and 20s here, and now I can ride and my toes stay warm, plus, the waterproofing and durablility are amazing!
Date published: 2012-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boots. Great quality, nice & warm, love the ease of a zipper. I recommend ordering up a size. I wear a 9 but bought a 10 and was glad I did.
Date published: 2012-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them! I used these boots for the first time last week and they wonderful! My feet stayed dry and warm. Love them!
Date published: 2012-02-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from comfy & warm, but run small I ordered an 8 (7.5-8 is my regular size) and could barely get them on. Exchanged for 9s and LOVE them! Toasty warm (in our relatively mild winters - down to 20F), flexible enough to jump in, and though they're tall enough that I can feel them on the front of my knee when I walk, they're soft enough to wear all day. Not much wear evident after one season of use.
Date published: 2012-02-13
  • 2016-09-26T12:31CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_85
  • loc_en_US, sid_5655, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders