Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Tredstep Raphael Tall Boot

Tredstep Ireland Ltd.
- Item #20394
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for

Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Tredstep Raphael Tall Boot defines a new category of tall boots which brings a refinement of design and performance for use across all disciplines. The Raphael has a noble and graceful profile which captures the beauty of Raphael’s own masterpieces. This Tredstep innovation brings together traditional design with a fusion of beauty and enhanced performance. A truly graceful and harmonious boot enveloped in exquisite leather and details. Imported.

Favorite Features

  • Tredstep's Pro-Flex design allows immediate full flexion of the ankle without the need to break in the boot
  • Discreetly covered rear stretch panel on the inside and top gusset provides a contoured fit
  • Made from exquisite Italian aniline calfskin leather with a full grain leather lining
  • Full length rear zip is supported by a flexible spine which helps maintain the height and protect the zip
  • Side spur rests
  • Zip guard to protect your zipper

Sizing It Up

Field Boots Comparison Chart

Customers Also Shopped For
Beauty in every step! The Tredstep Medici Dress ...
Beauty in every step! The Tredstep Medici Dress Boot is expertly designed with artful flair and the utmost attention to detail. The Medici Tall boot epitomizes the allure of cutting edge heritage and handmade luxury. Impeccable craftsmanship using sumptuous hand ...
Specifically designed to meet the needs of riders, ...
Specifically designed to meet the needs of riders, this sock will start your ride out on the right foot. Favorite Features Anti-friction yarns to prevent chafing and rubs Helps neutralize odors Moisture wicking Stylish detailing Made in Italy Sizing It ...
Give the gift of warm feet this holiday ...
Give the gift of warm feet this holiday season with the Horseware KidsSoftie Socks! These socks are unbelievablySoft and cozy, you'll want them in every color! Favorite Features Plush knee high socks are incrediblySoft and warm Fun colors and designs ...
*This item is on close out* Still made ...
*This item is on close out* Still made in Italy! Sergio Grasso products are designed exclusively using carefully selected full grain calf leather. The shapes are cut by master shoemakers using laser technology to create precision seams and a perfect ...
An air-cooled and cushioned feeling without any bulk, ...
An air-cooled and cushioned feeling without any bulk, Tredstep Aircool Socks are a great option for any rider. Favorite Features Pearl cotton (an ultra fine, sheer natural fabric that has breathability, strength and luster) in the upper foot and foreleg ...
Give long break-in times the boot! The Der ...
Give long break-in times the boot! The Der Dau Boot Stretch Spray helpsSoften and permanently stretch all leathers or suede. It helps relieve tight boots or half chaps. The unique formula willSoften even the stiffest boot or shoe, making it ...
out of 5
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
  • Competitor:


Tredstep Raphael Tall Boot is rated 3.9583333333333335 out of 5 by 48.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to break in, beautiful boot. Although I had to return this because my calf is wider than the boot, these were beautiful boots, soft and seemingly easy to break in. I was sorry I had to return them.
Date published: 2016-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice boot Bought these a couple weeks ago. Only gave me one blister, and they've broken in very quickly. Very comfortable to ride in!
Date published: 2016-07-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from In less then one year zipper failed, The quality of the boot is an odd mix of sturdy leather on the inside but flaky cracked leather on the outside. The spur rest leather has peeled off and I don't use spurs. Zipper leather edge is also just peeling and flaking off. The back ankle area was so stiff I have permanent skin scars from the rubs and can only wear with gel socks. I am a light rider and only ride one horse. The zipper failed after 4 months of use. Now 8 months after that fail am replacing zipper again on same boot.
Date published: 2016-07-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from beautiful boots, made for muscular calves These boots are gorgeous, love the full length elastic in the back and the square toe. They are a bit odd shaped in the calf ...the ankle is super tight (wouldn't get zipped if not for elastic!), the mid part of the calf is really big and kind of sticks out funny in the back and the top of the calf just below the knee fits appropriately. I got medium tall and they are definitely made for much larger athletic type calves. In hindsight, maybe slim would have been better but I followed the sizing chart with my measurements. Haven't used them very long so can't comment on durability but my old Tredstep boots have held up surprisingly well for 3 years despite daily abuse and very infrequent cleanings. Gave them a 4 overall simply because of fit issues, otherwise would give 5 stars.
Date published: 2016-06-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Nice quality Good quality leather and good rugged zippers. However I did return them because they fit odd. Tight in the ankle and odd shape calf. Too bad I had to return them as I thought they were very nice
Date published: 2016-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Boots! I recently bought these boots about a month ago, and I automatically fell in love! I highly advise the square toe, as it adds hint of character to these gorgeous boots! They also come with boot stuffers and a boot bag which is very handy! TredStep also gives you two pairsof soles to switch out. I love these boots!!!
Date published: 2016-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Fit I purchased these boots for shows, after loving my other Tredstep boots I use for schooling. I am in love. These are a wonderful, high quality boot.
Date published: 2016-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits like a glove I had a difficult time finding tall boots that were short and slim, but these worked perfectly. Quality leather and construction. Very little break-in. The Raphael's fit more like custom than the DaVinci model, which is also nice. The footbed and calf in the DaVinci is a little more roomy than the Raphael's of the same size. I use DaVinci as everyday use and Raphael's for show. I've had these boots for about 4-5 months.
Date published: 2016-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality Boot! Great fit. Leather is easy to break in but still good quality. I had to try a couple different sizes before finding the perfect fit but it was worth it. Recommend trying the tall on with the heel inserts as changes how the boot zips up. Zipper can be slightly fickle but once broken in is fine.
Date published: 2016-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely Boots! These are beautiful boots! Was hoping they would fit similar to Tredsteps wide calf models, as the measurement is only a 1/4 inch different but the fit was much narrower in the calf, and the ankle. Loved the look, but fit wasn't right for me!
Date published: 2016-03-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fit makes it hard to love I love the look of these boots, but I have to agree with the lower ratings on fit. I ordered a calf-size up to be safe, but still had a heck of a time getting these on. They are excruciatingly tight around the ankle and lower calf, but then balloon at the widest part of your leg and end up too big there. I've had to replace one of the zippers already, and didn't even get to wear them at the show I bought them for because the OTHER zipper broke as soon as I stood up for my class. (Interestingly, I've since been able to zip that boot up with no busting of the zipper.)Once on and broken in, they do look quite nice. I like the square toe and the soft leather at the front of the ankle. The spanish-cut top molded to my leg really nicely too... They really are beautiful boots; I just hope one day they are actually comfortable to wear.
Date published: 2016-03-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A really elegant look! These are beautiful boots with a really slim ankle and a sleek overall look. Getting the right fit was problematic and like others I found the boot hard to zip the first few times even when the calf was way too wide. I tried two calf widths, regular and full, and as other reviewers have noted the larger calf width pooched out and gave the boot a really strange appearance in profile. I am hoping for a bit of a drop and wish that the manufacturer would offer a shorter height but I am short and this part of tall boot fitting is always a challenge. I gave the fit rating a "just right" because the boots were neither too large nor too small, just unusual in the calf. Absolutely buy them, but be prepared to work a little when zipping them and fitting them.
Date published: 2016-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Attractive and hard wearing I have had several pairs of these boots and they have been great for every day, all day, six horses a day use. I think the quality is super and they are really comfortable.
Date published: 2016-01-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Great fit, poor durability I purchased these boots almost a year ago. I do ride several horses per day but only wear the boots while riding, and have taken superb care of them. After 6 months BOTH zippers had to be replaced. Now 3 months later the sole of one boot is becoming completely unstitched, the toe is hanging off about an inch. The fit of boots have been great, and they are very comfortable but the bad definitely out ways the good here. I would expect boots with this price tag to hold up much longer.
Date published: 2015-09-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Limited durability I love the fit and look of these boots, and I regularly receive compliments regarding them. However, I am disappointed in the length of time they have lasted. After 2 years of training/competitions, I am having to consider purchasing another pair of boots. As described by other reviewers, the zipper has separated from the stitching at the heel of one of the boots. This I was able to have repaired. The top snap closures no longer stay secured, and the boots slowly become unzipped during my rides. This has been remedied using electrical tape (similar to securing standing bandages on a horse). This past weekend I noticed that the thin, flexible leather at the ankle is cracked to the point of having holes. I will need to purchase another pair of boots before the next show season. My dilemma is whether to purchase them again assuming they will last only 2 years, or to try another brand. For the price, I expected them to last longer.
Date published: 2015-09-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I expected a lot more These boots were horrible to break in, but we're comfortable after about 8 months. After about a year of riding in them, they have completely broken down around the zipper, near the heel. The sides (not the zipper itself) around the zipper (near the heel) have come apart, and are flopping around (I hide the floppy pieces under the tabs down there that snap).I was quite surprised that these boots are in the condition that they are in, given that they weren't cheap, and I didn't put them through anything extreme. I didn't purchase them from Smartpak, but wanted to share my opinion. If I were you, I'd save up a little more and go with another brand that has better craftsmanship.
Date published: 2015-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sexy boots Haven't competed in the boots yet, but they fit great and I'm wearing them around the house to get the calves to stretch a teensy bit. Not sure about durability yet.
Date published: 2014-12-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Painful! I bought these boots to replace a pair of Ariats that I'd had for a few years. I thought these looked nicer - I foxhunt and go through tall boots about every 2 seasons, I was hoping these would last longer. I have no doubt that they will last longer, because they're still painful to wear after normal break in, competing, and foxhunting for 8 weeks, 3 days a week. The zipper also broke. They are beautiful, but I don't think they're worth the pain!
Date published: 2014-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice boots I've been wearing them for about 3 weeks. Breaking in nicely. They were a bit painful behind my heels at first, just while walking. They were very tightly fit to my calves and very tall ( I bought the tall slim size) but they are giving just enough to fit really nicely.
Date published: 2014-11-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I hate these boots I bought these boots for a horse show because my toe was broken and my show boots were pull-ons and I didn't think I would be able to get them on, so I needed zip ups and I needed them fast. I've had these for...over 6 months now and I still don't feel like they're broken in, the leather is hard, and impossible to work with, I've oiled them a thousand times, tried every trick in the book to get them to supple and it hasn't worked. They're as stiff as a board, and I am giving up on them. Luckily I can fit back in my real show boots now, so it really doesn't matter.
Date published: 2014-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice boots I bought these boots and then didn't wear them for a bit. I struggled to get them on and thought that I needed to lose a bit of weight first. I was wrong. I finally just made myself wear them and squeezed into them. I needed to have a bit of help to zip them up and they were not comfortable. But by the third time, the stretch panels broken in a bit and wow...they fit like custom now. They look great and are easier and easier to get on now. I'd say the breaking in time is MUCH shorter than with most boots. But yes, if you go tight....they are tough to get on and then break in but they do break in well and quickly. The pro-ankle is really nice and it really is just getting the stretch panels to give. I'm glad I didn't go to large...as I think if they had be super easy to zip up the first time, they may have been too big once broken in. Lovely boots.
Date published: 2014-06-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Beautiful boots, but heels are too tight I loved the over all looks, comfortable foot bed, but once I put my legs in, the curvy design of the heels were too tight and digging into my heels. So, unfortunately, I had to return this pair.
Date published: 2014-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous boot As a dressage rider with a slim and tall calf it has been a struggle to find the perfect boot. I must have tried on dozens that were either too wide (especially in the ankle) or to short. After trying on these boots I feel in immediate love. They fit like a glove! They need barely any breaking in!! With a 14 inch calf and 19 inch height I am delighted to have the perfect boot. They are well worth the money if you are struggling as well. They are keeping up well and I feel they will last me a long time! I have also gotten tons of complemaints!
Date published: 2014-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft and beautiful I bought these boots hesistantly about 2 months ago. I say hesistantly because SmartPak says they only drop about 1/2 an inch. If that were the case these boots would have been too tall for my short legs. I wrote to Tredstep and they suggested the boots would drop between an inch to an inch and a half. On that advice I bought them. I don't think the breaking in period was any more painful than other boots I've worn. They're soft, and very elegant looking. I have average sized ankles/feet and I don't find that area to be too narrow or tight. Very happy I gave these boots a try! I've only owned the boots for two months, so I don't feel that I'm really able to rate the durability (which is why I gave that 4 stars), so far they've held up great!
Date published: 2014-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfection These are my new show boots. If you love the comfort of half-chaps, you will love these boots. From the first ride, they were comfortable. My initial thought was that they would crush down like a pair of socks. They don't. I can wrap my legs around my mare and squeeze and they don't become ankle bracelets. I can't speak to durability because I have worn four times. When my former show boots, now everyday boots wear out, I'll be investing in another pair of Tredstep Raphael Tall Boot.
Date published: 2013-12-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from poor hardware loved the feel and fit of these boots BUT never even rode in them before the zipper broke.
Date published: 2013-12-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Gorgeous Boot These are really beautiful boots and look more expensive than they are. These look more streamlined and appear to have slightly nicer leather than DaVinci's. Love the square toe and was surprised how nice it looked not to have the laces. Sadly am having trouble getting the right fit. With a 14.5" calf I found the med width too wide and reg width too tight. Could go from size 39 to 40 to get a smidge more width, but size 40 adds a bit too much height for me. Also the footbed feels rather hard, so one wouldn't want to walk around in these all day. Still all in all a lovely boot if they fit!
Date published: 2013-11-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from So Mad I order these boots in the size I measured. When they arrived they were way to small, and I could barely zip them past my ankle. I ordered the next size up, and those were to small as well. This time reaching only my lower calf. Then I ordered the largest calf size they make, and still couldn't get them zipped all the way. The last pair made it to about mid calf. Then I realized that if I had zipped them all the way up, the upper calf would have been way to big. I don't know anyone with legs shaped that way. Its taken about three months to realize that I can not have these boots. Thats three months that I could have spent breaking in different boots.
Date published: 2013-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Boots So far so good I have worn these boots 6 times and each time they get a little more comfortable. The workmanship and leather are top quality. I'm very tall and these are the first off the shelve boots that are actually tall enough in fact they are a little bit too tall which causes some discomfort but I'm sure they will drop appropriately. Would much prefer a boot that is too tall (hate short boots). The foot of the boot is true to size and love the tapered ankle.
Date published: 2013-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great crossover boots I was worried that the height would be a little bit short even on the talls but it's right where it should be now. As long as the boots don't drop much, they fit great. I too had the dilemma of whether to go with the 14" calf or 15" calf size. Ended up sticking with the 15" even though there's extra room toward the top of the boot. Again, as long as the boots don't drop or stretch out considerably, they're streamlined enough that I'd rather have the extra room than risk going too small. In the tredstep half chaps, I wear a 14" calf but I believe those have more give than these. If you're in between sizes, you might want to consider trying both calf sizes just to be sure.
Date published: 2013-05-21
  • 2016-10-26T12:56CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_48
  • loc_en_US, sid_10394, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders