Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Leather and Cotton Web Halter

Tory Leather Co.
- Item #12082
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for

Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Web cheeks and nose with leather reinforced ends, snap throat and adjustable nose, double crown buckles and solid brass hardware. Leather with navy cotton or hunter green cotton. 

Favorite Features

  • Ends of webbing are reinforced with leather
  • Adjustable noseband to fit different sized horses

Sizing It Up

Horse or Cob

Don't forget to complete your horse's look with the Tory Leather Lead!

Please note, this leather halter is not a breakaway halter.

Please note: If selecting embroidery, please allow an additional 1-2 days for delivery. 

Made in the USA

Customers Also Shopped For
The Wellfleet Double Raised Padded Halter features a ...
The Wellfleet Double Raised Padded Halter features a distinctive double raised detail on the noseband and browband enhancing the elegance of this beautifully crafted halter. Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest vegetable tanned North American bridle leather available ...
The Hybrid Halter genius design was invented by ...
The Hybrid Halter genius design was invented by Kalley Krickeberg's Horse Education Company. The Hybrid Halter is a combination halter for universal use. With the Hybrid Halter you will have improved training results, better control, and more convenience when compared ...
Why We Love ThisThe Kensington Rope Halter with ...
Why We Love ThisThe Kensington Rope Halter with Side Pulls gives you all the versatility you could want out of a halter. Simply add reins and you've got the perfect blend of style, strength and control. The 13" bosal featuresHeavy ...
The Walsh Heritage Halter is perfect for turnout ...
The Walsh Heritage Halter is perfect for turnout with a 1" wide straight chin. Stamped edging and a single buckle design give this halter a very traditional look, making it a classic barn must-have! The beautiful havana leather with brown ...
Big D Halters are built to last. The ...
Big D Halters are built to last. The halters are made withHeavy duty nylon that is doubled and tripled stitched for strength. The buckles, rings and squares are premium quality and guaranteed not to break. Favorite Features Customizable Triple stitched ...
Each halter is handmade by skilled Amish craftsman ...
Each halter is handmade by skilled Amish craftsman of the highest quality leather. Favorite Features Double stitched 1" nose and cheek pieces with contrastingSoft padding Adjustable chin strap Rolled throat piece, convenient snap at throat for easy on 1" double ...
out of 5
97% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
  • Competitor:


Tory Leather and Cotton Web Halter is rated 4.702702702702703 out of 5 by 37.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really nice but a bit small I can't speak for its durability just yet, but this halter looks awesome. It came pretty quickly for being custom too. The only problem I had with it is that it was too small initially for my 17.1hh ISH who usually fits in horse sized halters. I had to purchase a longer crown piece. But it stretched out to fit him well after a couple days, so it turned out fine and I really like it!
Date published: 2014-12-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from replacement has been great SmartPak replaced the first one that had a broken snap. The replacement has been wonderful. Soft even though wears it outdoors in all weather.
Date published: 2014-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Leather and Cotton Web Halter This is a very nice halter, soft yet sturdy! Color is pretty and far more classy than just a regular nylon halter. I did decide to get the embroidery ... but in hindsight, unless SP decides to put it on the cheek piece, I wouldn't do it. The horses name was put on the noseband. Lettering is just fine - just not my favorite place for the horse's name!
Date published: 2014-09-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Quality, Nice Looking, Too Small This seems to be a good quality halter, especially the fittings (which are almost too substantial for the webbing they use). There was a review earlier that stated the 'horse' size would suffice for larger horses, I did not find this to be the case at all. This is a very average size 'horse' size. :) I had to return it because of this and did not see a larger size available. I would recommend it for the average sized horse. Webbing might be a tad thin for the bigger boned horses anyway, depending on how it's used.
Date published: 2014-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous Halter! I bought this maybe a month ago when my horse broke his breakaway (the Baker halter). I hadn't really liked his previous one and it wore out within a month or two so wanted a change. This was it! Nicely made with durable, but soft, fabric and leather and good hardware. Great price! Quite fair for good quality! Fits great (true to size) and very adjustable! My chestnut gelding looks super snazzy in the navy blue!
Date published: 2014-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit! This halter fit my difficult to fit horse perfectly, a custom halter wouldn't have been better! It seems to be very well made, it looks and feels like it will last for years.
Date published: 2014-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit! This halter fit my difficult to fit horse perfectly, a custom halter wouldn't have been better! It seems to be very well made, it looks and feels like it will last for years.
Date published: 2014-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this halter! I have had this halter for a year or so. I love the combination of leather and cotton along with the personalization. I don't use it everyday, but it is perfect for trailering and for pictures. As I write this I have just ordered one for my best friend as a birthday present.
Date published: 2014-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from In LOVE I bought this halter two years ago and it only now is starting to look a bit dirty. No fraying or breakage on this halter for two years. I ordered this in navy and the white embroidery looks beautiful.I still get compliments on it today. If the halter I have now ever wears down or breaks I won't hesitate to buy it again. I only wish it came in a couple more colors! The picture i posted is from this year, the halter is two years old in it.
Date published: 2013-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simply the best For the money you cannot buy a better halter. It's good looking and sturdy.
Date published: 2013-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Going for Halter #2 I bought this halter about two years ago and it's been great. I got the hunter green, which is more subdued than the picture here on the website. I had my horse's name embroidered in white on the noseband and it looks fabulous! I got tons of compliments but even better, there is NEVER a mistake as to whose halter it is (and we all know how things "walk away" in any barn). I think I even once ran the halter through the washing machine, which isn't great for the leather but it still made it through! Finally, after much wear and hard use, one small section under the chin has frayed away. The halter doesn't owe me anything - it has lasted for a long time with minimum care. I feel I got my money's worth, so I am probably going to order another one.
Date published: 2013-07-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Halter I prefer this cotton webbing halter to the ones with nylon webbing.The leather and hardware look like quality and I think this halter is made in the USA which is a bonus.It's a bit pricey and hard to find so thank you SmartPak for carrying it.
Date published: 2013-06-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Maybe I got a dud? This halter is very attractive, however proves not to be very durable. My horse pulled back for a few seconds on the cross ties and it totally stretched the webbing out and made the halter too big for her face. The cheek pieces are awkward and don't lay flat against her face. I ordered a cob size (she is a 4 yo warmblood with a baby face) and it fit well- initially. The crown piece also broke within a week of using it- not sure how!
Date published: 2013-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from best halter ever Wow, I don't usually get excited about a halter but this has been a truly wise purchase. Looks great and has the added safety of having leather where you need it in a pulling emergency. I keep getting asked where I got it and naturally I say Smartpak, and my friends just nod...of course that's where you got it. Don't hesitate, this is not flimsy, and has quality leather and cotton webbing. If you have a really HUGE horse you might find the webbing narrow, but not any more than a decent leather halter. I bought a cob size for my small quarter horse and it fits just fine.
Date published: 2013-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better in person This halter, that in the photo seemed a bit too brightly colored, is in fact very nice, and not too bright at all. I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the leather (nice and thick) and the cotton webbing which is not too thin at all. I bought the cob halter for my 14 h 2 in quarter horse and it fits perfectly. My beautiful dark gold palamina mare is well dressed in the dark blue and leather of this halter. It may run big in the horse size, but since you can adjust both sides of the headstall as well as the nose band there should be no problem with fit. Great quality, absolutely worth the cost.
Date published: 2013-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pretty and functional I LOVE these web halters. I've had them for multiple horses. this one was purchased for a student's new horse. It's the first one I've had monogrammed. I wasn't so sure at first about the monogram being on the nose but it looks great!The halters hold up really well to daily use and are certainly MUCH safer than a nylon halter as well as more attractive than a leather halter.
Date published: 2012-08-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Won't be the last one! Great halter - fits well, good quality. Will repurchase if/when it needs to be replaced.
Date published: 2012-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from worth the price I have purchased several of these over the years. They last pretty well for the price, and I like knowing that it will break if necessary.
Date published: 2012-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I was shopping around for a leather halter and decided to try this instead. I am so glad!! I love this halter, I have the blue on a dark bay QH/Morgan. It is super cute and very unique. Adjustable, fits well, and seems to be very high quality. Buy this halter, you'll love it!!
Date published: 2012-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well made and looks nice! Have had these halters for 2 years now and they are on my horses for 12 hour turnout everyday so they get abused. I have never conditioned teh leather or cleaned them and they still look good! The do run a bit big.
Date published: 2011-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from i got this for my granddaughter. the halter is really beautiful. the embrodiary across the nose is perfect. only problem is that the horse pulled back and broke the clip ring. it did not tear the nylon, just broke the ring. i wish it had been a stronger metal. aside from that, it is a very attractive halter, very unusual.
Date published: 2011-08-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for Turnout I've had my eye on this halter for a few years now, but never had a reason to buy it. Now that my gelding is required to wear a halter for turnout, I finally had my reason! I wanted a comfortable and soft halter that still provided the safety of a breakaway crown... bonus that it came in his color! The cob size tends to run a bit large, as it barely adjusts small enough to fit him and he can usually fit into horse sized headgear.
Date published: 2010-12-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Halter Nice looking halter. It fits the horses well and is ajustable.
Date published: 2009-12-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A little small My horse has a big head, but still fits into a normal horse size with everything. The crown on this halter is a little small, and it looks funny on him.
Date published: 2009-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pretty Good What I like most about this halter is that you can get your horses's name on it. The halter is a little large so it is flimsy, I don't mind but some do. Durability is ok, I have had this Halter a little over 6 months and have a couple of stands hanging off. I also have to condition the leather periodically.
Date published: 2009-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product! This halter is awesome! It is great quality, and fits my gelding perfectly. I absolutely love it, and look forward to giving it a lot of use! :)
Date published: 2009-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Classy halter This is a great looking halter. It's held up well for me. I love the look of the webbing/leather combination. If the staff forgets to take the halter off in the pasture, it's no problem because this halter is a breakaway. It's durable-- more durable than a plain leather halter. And did I mention how good my horse looks in it?
Date published: 2009-05-04
  • 2016-10-25T12:33CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_32
  • loc_en_US, sid_2082, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders