Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Tipperary Sportage Helmet

- Item #14850
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for

Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The ASTM-SEI certified New Sportage 8500 from Tipperary includes all of the features that the original Tipperary helmet is most famous for. Listening to riders' feedback they have integrated the original style, fit and ventilation that made it the most comfortable and one of the lightest helmets on the market.

Favorite Features

  • Lightweight, high density ABS material provides superior resistance to high impact
  • Functional low profile
  • Drop back shell for increased protection and a secure fit reducing helmet rotation 
  • Reflective band for safer rides in low light conditions
  • Ventilation system provides increased airflow for a cooler, more comfortable ride
  • Soft touch leather with reinforced nylon harness
  • Soft, rubberized, low profile flexible visor

ASTM-SEI F1163-15 certified.

Sizing It Up

Helmets Comparison Chart


Customers Also Shopped For
Helmet not smelling too "fresh"? The Helmet Deodorizer ...
Helmet not smelling too "fresh"? The Helmet Deodorizer by Charles Owen kills odors and bacteria in the lining and leaves a pleasant citrus fragrance. 150 ml.Due to federal regulations, we are unable to offer expedited shipping, or ship to Alaska ...
The SmartPak Bradley Flower Belt is beautifully constructed ...
The SmartPak Bradley Flower Belt is beautifully constructed of American leather with a hand rubbed finish and cute flower detailing that will match with any riding outfit! Favorite Features Beautiful details including antiqued sliver-tone Bradley flower conchos, etched belt buckle, ...
The Classic Belt by C4 is taking the ...
The Classic Belt by C4 is taking the belt industry to a new level! Bight fun colors mix and match your favorites! C4 belts are constructed from a soft flexible plastic called Thermoplastic Elastomer (TPE) which is extremely durable standing up to ...
Our SmartPak Daisy Belt is beautifully crafted from ...
Our SmartPak Daisy Belt is beautifully crafted from American leather with a hand-rubbed finished and cute daisy detailing!Favorite Features Classic silver-tone buckle Decorative rivets and teal daisy pearled enamel center Interchangeable belt buckle Coordinates perfectly withThe SmartPak Daisy Bracelet Made ...
The Troxel Intrepid Helmet provides an ultralight, low ...
The Troxel Intrepid Helmet provides an ultralight, low profile design created for the performance-oriented rider. Favorite Features Woven honeycomb mesh keeps debris out of strategically placed vents while channeling fresh air throughout the helmet interior Dri-Lex adding maximizes moisture diffusion ...
The Solstice Tall Buckle Boot by SmartPak is ...
The Solstice Tall Buckle Boot by SmartPak is the perfect balance of style and function! Great for the barn and everyday use. Favorite Features Rugged soles and waterproof foot bed construction Easy case, nubuck construction Soft leather, minimal break in ...
out of 5
97% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
  • Competitor:


Tipperary Sportage Helmet is rated 4.779310344827586 out of 5 by 435.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very comfortable and cool! This is my third Tipperary helmet. The fit is better then more expensive helmets and I like the low profile, no bobble head. I also enjoy how cool it is durning the summer. Highly recommend you try on out for yourself.
Date published: 2015-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from comfortable fit and stays put! This is by far my favorite helmet. I love all the large vented air holes!
Date published: 2015-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable Of all the helmets I have worn this is by far my favorite. It is so light and comfortable.
Date published: 2015-11-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from like this helmet worth the wait. really like the way it comes down in the back.
Date published: 2015-10-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the feel and fit Like it alot, had to use the slimmer pads to make it fit correctly...
Date published: 2015-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product & great service! Although i have used it only few times since i got it - i really love my new helmet.It is as promised - lightweight, ventilated, fits well, looks much less bulbous than my previous helmet.Adjustable by using different sized padding and not via mechanism, but it works well for me.Smarkpak service was flawless - delivered right on time, very useful customer service when i thought there is an issue with delivery but there wasn't any :)
Date published: 2015-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is my first "real" helmet purchased and I couldn't have made a better choice. The helmet fit perfectly, is very light, and for someone who is not used to wearing a helmet, was very easy to get used to.
Date published: 2015-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfy plus I've been using troxel helmets since I started riding and my sportage is hands above in comfort and fit.
Date published: 2015-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit great fit, VERY comfortable -- am hoping it is "cooler" than my other helmet.
Date published: 2015-09-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great helmet! This is the second Tipperary Sportage Helmet I've bought and I still love it! It's a great value, comfortable and has plenty of vents for a cooler ride in the summer. Replaced the old one after 5 years and a sweaty summer!
Date published: 2015-08-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great price, great fit, great product! This is my third Tipperary Sportage. I always have a primary and a back-up for my Schooling helmets. My third was knocked onto concrete by my horse and not wanting to take a risk, I discarded it. The Tipperary really hugs your head nicely and comes down over the entire skull in the back, but it is not bulbous like other helmets and doesn't make my head ache when worn for long periods. Yay Tipperary!
Date published: 2015-08-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice helmet Bought the XL and returned to get the L. L fits great with the smaller rear foam insert. L looks great, is lightweight, and doesn't feel like I'm wearing a mushroom on my head.
Date published: 2015-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the lightness of the helmet. I bought my Tipperary on National Helmet day. I have worn this particlure style for ten years now,I love it. However riding helmets are only to be worn for five years the. Should be replaced. When I received my helmet the manufacture date was 7-2014. I was concerned because it was a year old. So I called Smartpack right away and they assured me it was from the time I started to wear it. So I got rid of my old one and took my new one to my riding class. My teacher said said no that is not true it's from the date of manufacturing. I was a upset because now I have worn it and tossed my old one out,so now I can only get 4 years out of it. Not good business when customer service gives you wrong information. I recommend the Tipperary Sportage highly but buying from Smartpack.Bonnie from Maryland
Date published: 2015-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent quality Good fit, very light, easy-to-use would buy again.
Date published: 2015-08-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit! This helmet fits my head great and I love the color options!
Date published: 2015-08-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great helmet for the money! This is my second Tipperary Sportage helmet that I have purchased, and for the money I don't think it can be beat. Living in Texas, I appreciate the ventilation riding in the heat. I also appreciate the light weight and the fit. It's a great helmet for schooling and everyday use. I purchased the coco brown color this time and it really looks sharp.
Date published: 2015-08-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Helmet! This helmet is light, cool, and stays in place. I almost forget I have it on.
Date published: 2015-08-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love It! After falling in my IRH I knew I needed a replacement. With the Helmet Awareness Day, I purchased this helmet on sale. I owned one previously but just could not afford at the time. I love the fit, customizing pads that come with it, helmet storage bag, and cool vents. Also, the visor does not flap around in the wind-much like the other break-away kinds. The helmet offers a better protection for the back of the head and the harness is very comfortable. This helmet is excellent for everyday schooling- I just wish Smart Pak offered it in the solid black matte color- then I would wear it for shows!:)
Date published: 2015-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great helmet! I had this brand before and it lasts for years. Due to a recent riding accident, I bought this helmet a month ago and I am so happy I did! It fits perfectly, its airy, and I love the color! I recommend this helmet for any horse lovers, especially if you are new to riding because it is important to protect your head.
Date published: 2015-07-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Helmet but… I bought this helmet and it is great but the buckle broke within 2weeks of me buying it.
Date published: 2015-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit! My daughter suffered a severe concussion after a fall and broke her previous helmet. Although most helmets are rated similarly, I liked this one because it is fitted.
Date published: 2015-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect color! I bought this for my granddaughter and she loves it!
Date published: 2015-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lightweight Very nice lightweight helmet. Fits well a little on the snug side. Came with several extra foam shims to adjust the fit. Good looking.
Date published: 2015-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It fit perfectly from the first time I put it on. This helmet replaces a similar Tipperary Sportage I bought about 6 years ago. It is lightweight and fits perfectly.
Date published: 2015-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Cool The first time I wore it, I could feel a breeze on my head, no lie. I needed a smaller size than I measured, though (went with a small and not a medium). Favorite helmet. Still looks great after carrying around in the Noble Outfitters backpack.
Date published: 2015-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits great! I've worn a few times now and I really like it. Very comfy, love the coverage of the back of the head area. Feels very well made. I wear a 6 7/8 hat and went with a Medium. It's definitely snug- not too tight, but just right.
Date published: 2015-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Most Comfortable Helmet Ever! I have several helmets, and this one is by far the most comfortable ever. Fits like a glove right out of the box! I've had several compliments already on the style and profile, which I love. Light weight and cool - I don't see me using a different helmet again.
Date published: 2015-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lightweight and comfortable Fits great, true to size, and perfect for hot summer riding.
Date published: 2015-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from loved this helmet! this fits much better than my troxel and with the inserts that come with it fits perfectly! very light!
Date published: 2015-05-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Seemed okay, just didn't fit Seems to be well constructed, light, etc, but fits more of a rounded head. Tight enough front to back, but really loose on sides; like I said, more of a rounded shape than my head is. Easily returned and exchanged.
Date published: 2015-04-21
  • 2016-10-21T11:38CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_33, tr_402
  • loc_en_US, sid_4850, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders