Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Tipperary Sportage Helmet

Tipperary
- Item #14850
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The ASTM-SEI certified New Sportage 8500 from Tipperary includes all of the features that the original Tipperary helmet is most famous for. Listening to riders' feedback they have integrated the original style, fit and ventilation that made it the most comfortable and one of the lightest helmets on the market.

Favorite Features

  • Lightweight, high density ABS material provides superior resistance to high impact
  • Functional low profile
  • Drop back shell for increased protection and a secure fit reducing helmet rotation 
  • Reflective band for safer rides in low light conditions
  • Ventilation system provides increased airflow for a cooler, more comfortable ride
  • Soft touch leather with reinforced nylon harness
  • Soft, rubberized, low profile flexible visor

ASTM-SEI F1163-15 certified.

Sizing It Up

Helmets Comparison Chart

Imported.

Customers Also Shopped For
Helmet not smelling too "fresh"? The Helmet Deodorizer ...
Description:
Helmet not smelling too "fresh"? The Helmet Deodorizer by Charles Owen kills odors and bacteria in the lining and leaves a pleasant citrus fragrance. 150 ml.Due to federal regulations, we are unable to offer expedited shipping, or ship to Alaska ...
The Helmet Cleaner, by Charles Owen, digests any ...
Description:
The Helmet Cleaner, by Charles Owen, digests any dirt and grease from the inside of your hat, ensuring it remains clean and pleasant to wear. Imported Sizing It Up 200ml Due to federal regulations, we are unable to offer expedited ...
The SmartPak Bradley Flower Belt is beautifully constructed ...
Description:
The SmartPak Bradley Flower Belt is beautifully constructed of American leather with a hand rubbed finish and cute flower detailing that will match with any riding outfit! Favorite Features Beautiful details including antiqued sliver-tone Bradley flower conchos, etched belt buckle, ...
The Classic Belt by C4 is taking the ...
Description:
The Classic Belt by C4 is taking the belt industry to a level! Bight fun colors mix and match your favorites! C4 belts are constructed from aSoft flexible plastic called Thermoplastic Elastomer (TPE) which is extremely durable standing up to ...
Our SmartPak Daisy Belt is beautifully crafted from ...
Description:
Our SmartPak Daisy Belt is beautifully crafted from American leather with a hand-rubbed finished and cute daisy detailing!Favorite Features Classic silver-tone buckle Decorative rivets and teal daisy pearled enamel center Interchangeable belt buckle Coordinates perfectly withThe SmartPak Daisy Bracelet Made ...
The Troxel Intrepid Helmet provides an ultralight, low ...
Description:
The Troxel Intrepid Helmet provides an ultralight, low profile design created for the performance-oriented rider. Favorite Features Woven honeycomb mesh keeps debris out of strategically placed vents while channeling fresh air throughout the helmet interior Dri-Lex adding maximizes moisture diffusion ...
The Solstice Tall Buckle Boot by SmartPak is ...
Description:
The Solstice Tall Buckle Boot by SmartPak is the perfect balance of style and function! Great for the barn and everyday use. Favorite Features Rugged soles and waterproof foot bed construction Easy case, nubuck construction Soft leather, minimal break in ...
out of 5
97% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Tipperary Sportage Helmet is rated 4.78169014084507 out of 5 by 426.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great helmet! This is the second Tipperary Sportage Helmet I've bought and I still love it! It's a great value, comfortable and has plenty of vents for a cooler ride in the summer. Replaced the old one after 5 years and a sweaty summer!
Date published: 2015-08-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great price, great fit, great product! This is my third Tipperary Sportage. I always have a primary and a back-up for my Schooling helmets. My third was knocked onto concrete by my horse and not wanting to take a risk, I discarded it. The Tipperary really hugs your head nicely and comes down over the entire skull in the back, but it is not bulbous like other helmets and doesn't make my head ache when worn for long periods. Yay Tipperary!
Date published: 2015-08-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice helmet Bought the XL and returned to get the L. L fits great with the smaller rear foam insert. L looks great, is lightweight, and doesn't feel like I'm wearing a mushroom on my head.
Date published: 2015-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the lightness of the helmet. I bought my Tipperary on National Helmet day. I have worn this particlure style for ten years now,I love it. However riding helmets are only to be worn for five years the. Should be replaced. When I received my helmet the manufacture date was 7-2014. I was concerned because it was a year old. So I called Smartpack right away and they assured me it was from the time I started to wear it. So I got rid of my old one and took my new one to my riding class. My teacher said said no that is not true it's from the date of manufacturing. I was a upset because now I have worn it and tossed my old one out,so now I can only get 4 years out of it. Not good business when customer service gives you wrong information. I recommend the Tipperary Sportage highly but buying from Smartpack.Bonnie from Maryland
Date published: 2015-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent quality Good fit, very light, easy-to-use would buy again.
Date published: 2015-08-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit! This helmet fits my head great and I love the color options!
Date published: 2015-08-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great helmet for the money! This is my second Tipperary Sportage helmet that I have purchased, and for the money I don't think it can be beat. Living in Texas, I appreciate the ventilation riding in the heat. I also appreciate the light weight and the fit. It's a great helmet for schooling and everyday use. I purchased the coco brown color this time and it really looks sharp.
Date published: 2015-08-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Helmet! This helmet is light, cool, and stays in place. I almost forget I have it on.
Date published: 2015-08-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love It! After falling in my IRH I knew I needed a replacement. With the Helmet Awareness Day, I purchased this helmet on sale. I owned one previously but just could not afford at the time. I love the fit, customizing pads that come with it, helmet storage bag, and cool vents. Also, the visor does not flap around in the wind-much like the other break-away kinds. The helmet offers a better protection for the back of the head and the harness is very comfortable. This helmet is excellent for everyday schooling- I just wish Smart Pak offered it in the solid black matte color- then I would wear it for shows!:)
Date published: 2015-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great helmet! I had this brand before and it lasts for years. Due to a recent riding accident, I bought this helmet a month ago and I am so happy I did! It fits perfectly, its airy, and I love the color! I recommend this helmet for any horse lovers, especially if you are new to riding because it is important to protect your head.
Date published: 2015-07-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Helmet but… I bought this helmet and it is great but the buckle broke within 2weeks of me buying it.
Date published: 2015-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit! My daughter suffered a severe concussion after a fall and broke her previous helmet. Although most helmets are rated similarly, I liked this one because it is fitted.
Date published: 2015-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect color! I bought this for my granddaughter and she loves it!
Date published: 2015-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lightweight Very nice lightweight helmet. Fits well a little on the snug side. Came with several extra foam shims to adjust the fit. Good looking.
Date published: 2015-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It fit perfectly from the first time I put it on. This helmet replaces a similar Tipperary Sportage I bought about 6 years ago. It is lightweight and fits perfectly.
Date published: 2015-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Cool The first time I wore it, I could feel a breeze on my head, no lie. I needed a smaller size than I measured, though (went with a small and not a medium). Favorite helmet. Still looks great after carrying around in the Noble Outfitters backpack.
Date published: 2015-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits great! I've worn a few times now and I really like it. Very comfy, love the coverage of the back of the head area. Feels very well made. I wear a 6 7/8 hat and went with a Medium. It's definitely snug- not too tight, but just right.
Date published: 2015-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Most Comfortable Helmet Ever! I have several helmets, and this one is by far the most comfortable ever. Fits like a glove right out of the box! I've had several compliments already on the style and profile, which I love. Light weight and cool - I don't see me using a different helmet again.
Date published: 2015-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lightweight and comfortable Fits great, true to size, and perfect for hot summer riding.
Date published: 2015-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from loved this helmet! this fits much better than my troxel and with the inserts that come with it fits perfectly! very light!
Date published: 2015-05-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Seemed okay, just didn't fit Seems to be well constructed, light, etc, but fits more of a rounded head. Tight enough front to back, but really loose on sides; like I said, more of a rounded shape than my head is. Easily returned and exchanged.
Date published: 2015-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Air Vented Helmet I bought this helmet as a Western gaming /Schooling helmet. It fits really great, nice features.I bought the Brown one, I wear a 7 1/8 and got a medium.
Date published: 2015-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stays in place during barrel race. This is my second Tipperary Sportage helmet and I love it! It stays in place during my runs and is so comfortable I forget I have it on. It is also much cooler than a cowboy hat in the summer and warmer in the winter.
Date published: 2015-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Protection! This helmet offers great protection for the head and neck. We use it as my daughter's schooling helmet, and it has worked out great. Very comfortable and priced right. We are now on our second Tipperary helmet!
Date published: 2015-04-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Durable and Ventilated I decided I needed my own helmet, and I was looking at another brand until I saw how much more protection you get for your money with this helmet. I measured my head with their instructions, expecting the helmet to be low profile... It is not really, although it does fit. (Maybe I have a strange shaped head?) Like the reviews stated it has awesome ventilation! I used a few of the extra pads and it fits perfect. One surprise is that it came with a Tipperary Sportage helmet bag, which is very neat! Overall a very nice and well made helmet.
Date published: 2015-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite helmet!! I first bought this helmet three years ago and I absolutely love it!!! It has lasted beautifully and been through so much weather. I have also done quite a few hunter jumper schooling shows and it was great. I have also had quite a few falls and this hasn't cracked at all and it kept me safe. Just ordered a new one since show season is coming up and my other one was beginning to fall apart. I would recommend this helmet to anyone!!
Date published: 2015-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My 2nd Tipperary Sportage LOVE this helmet - this is a replacement for the one I have had for 4 years, as I like to replace mine a little sooner than suggested due to the TX heat [when it might be sitting in my car for a while, etc]. And I wear it every time I ride, which is 3-4x/week on average. Speaking of the TX heat this helmet has great airflow and is fantastically comfortable. Sizing runs true so measure your head and figure out what size you need. It comes with small and large pads to customize the sizing. This fits my head much better than the Troxel helmets I have had in the past - nothing bad about Troxel, this just has a better shape for me.
Date published: 2015-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite helmet! This is my...3rd Sportage! I love this helmet - it's comfortable, feels sturdy without being heavy, and looks decent when on. Love the vents too.
Date published: 2015-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent helmet I had my original Sportage for about 4 years before I fell in it. I will say that it didn't move in the fall and while I did sustain a concussion, my injury would have been much worse without it. I liked the fit, durability and air flow so much, I bought a replacement identical to my helmet damaged in the fall.
Date published: 2015-01-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Helmet yet I have purchased four helmets in the past 4 years because each time after wearing them for riding they either got very uncomfortable or actually gave me a headache. The Tipperary Sportage has felt great, in fact I forget I have it on!!! I did have to adjust the fit with the pads and Velcro provided. They had a good video on fitting their helmets on their website www.phoenixperformance.com . I am very pleased with the price too.
Date published: 2015-01-02
  • 2016-09-29T12:29CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_33, tr_393
  • loc_en_US, sid_4850, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders